Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 145 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Exterior Lighting (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (33) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (12) Structure (8) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/29/2014 - ARLINGTON, MA
THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AS THEY SHOULD HAVE IN A HEAD ON CAR ACCIDENT. SOMEONE HIT MY CAR IN THE RIGHT REAR END AND I LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR AND IT CAREENED HEAD FIRST INTO A TREE. BEFORE THE CAR WAS HIT IT WAS GOING ABOUT 30 - 35 MPH BUT AFTER IT WAS HIT IT WENT FASTER, I CAN'T SAY HOW MUCH (I ESTIMATED ABOVE). I WAS THE DRIVER AND ONLY OCCUPANT. THE CAR WAS TOTALED BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AS THEY SHOULD HAVE. I GOT WHIPLASH (REAL WHIPLASH) AND INJURED MY HIP AS IT BROKE THE ARM REST. THE VIN NUMBER I PROVIDED IS FOR THIS CAR THAT WAS TOTALED - IT'S NO LONGER ON THE STREET.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/29/2013 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS SITTING IN STANDSTILL TRAFFIC, BY MYSELF, WAS HIT FROM BEHIND AT FULL FREEWAY SPEED, FORCED INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, RESULTING IN A DOMINO EFFECT AND A 6 CAR PILE UP. I SUSTAINED BOTH FRONT END AND BACK END DAMAGE, TOTALING MY CAR, MY PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED (AGAIN, I WAS ALONE) THE DRIVERS SIDE ONE DID NOT, FORCING ME INTO THE STEERING WHEEL AND DASHBOARD. I AM CURRENTLY UNDER A DOCTORS CARE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/24/2013 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE FRONT SEAT BELT BUCKLE BECOMES DEFECTIVE AND SETS AN AIRBAG CODE MAKING THE AIR BAG LIGHT TURN ON AND POSSIBLY NOT WORK. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BUCKLE ON THIS VEHICLE IN 187,000 MILES. I HAVE CHECKED A NUMBER OF VW CLUB FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE ON THESE VEHICLES. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NHTSA SHOULD LOOK INTO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/24/2013 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE FRONT SEAT BELT BUCKLE BECOMES DEFECTIVE AND SETS AN AIRBAG CODE MAKING THE AIR BAG LIGHT TURN ON AND POSSIBLY NOT WORK. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BUCKLE ON THIS VEHICLE IN 187,000 MILES. I HAVE CHECKED A NUMBER OF VW CLUB FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE ON THESE VEHICLES. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NHTSA SHOULD LOOK INTO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2013 - MADISONVILLE, LA
THIS IS MY DAUGHTERS CAR AND WE ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF IT WITH HER GOING TO SCHOOL AND WORK. IT HAS BEEN JERKING VERY HARD ENOUGH TO THROW YOU WHOLE BODY FORWARD I JUST CAN'T BELIEVE THE COMPLAINTS I'VE SEEN WITH THIS CAR I WOULD HAVE NEVER BOUGHT IT KNOWING ALL THESE PROBLEMS. PARENTS CONCERNED PLEASE HELP TO GET FIXED. VW SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE AND FIX THESE DANGEROUS ISSUES I PRAY EVERYDAY SHE IS OK DRIVING, CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER CAR LET ALONE FIX IT!!! ALSO HAVE HAD OTHER ISSUES TOO BUT THIS ONE IS THE MOST CONCERNING!!

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2013 - PORTAGE , IN
THE IGNITION COILS ON MY 2.0L AZG ENGINE CRUMBLED DURING A TUNE UP,WHICH RESULTED IN A $647.00 REPAIR BILL. NEW VW IGNITION COIL, SPARK PLUG WIRES AND OEM SPARK PLUGS WERE INSTALLED. TODAY, 4/26/2013, IGNITION COIL CRUMBLES AGAIN DURING TUNE UP. VW CLAIMS THEIR WARRANTY ON PARTS IS 12 MONTHS. VW RECALLED A TON OF IGNITION COILS FOR 1.8L ENGINES IN THE 2001-2003 TIME PERIOD CLAIMING HIGHER THAN NORMAL FAILURE RATES. I WOULD SAY THAT ONE IGNITION COIL EVERY 4 YEARS IS A HIGH FAILURE RATE AS WELL, CONSIDERING OF THE THREE CARS I HAVE CURRENTLY OWN (ONE FOR 15 YEARS), I HAVE NEVER HAD A COIL FAIL EXCEPT FOR TWICE FOR THIS BEETLE. A SEARCH OF VW OWNER WEBSITES AND YOU TUBE VIDEO SITES SHOW A PLETHORA OF FAILED IGNITION COILS AND HOW-TO'S FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE COIL. IF THIS ISN'T A PREVALENT PROBLEM, WHY ARE SO MANY PEOPLE CLAIMING IT HAPPENS? IT SEEMS THAT VW IS LIMITING THEIR LOSSES BY IGNORING THESE FAILURES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/21/2012 - LYNDEN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH IN RAINY WEATHER, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURE AND THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS SENSORS WOULD HAVE TO BE DISENGAGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2012 - HANOVER PARK, IL
VEHICLE STALLED APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION. IT WOULD NOT RESTART, AND NONE OF THE ELECTRONICS FUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PUSHED INTO A NEARBY PARKING LOT. UPON REPAIR, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE BATTERY FUSE BLOCK HAD MELTED, AND THE IN-LINE FUSES WERE ALL DAMAGED. THE BATTERY FUSE BLOCK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/20/2012 - SMOKEHAND VALLEY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL ODOR THAT CAUSED THE CONTACT TO RECEIVE HEADACHES. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE ODOR WAS CAUSED BY A STAIN ON THE FLOOR MATS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ODOR WAS NOT COMING FROM THE FLOOR MATS BUT THE ENTIRE CARPET KIT. THE CONTACT REMOVED THE CARPET KIT BUT THE ODOR PERSISTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/11/2011 - RICHARDSON, TX
THERE IS AN UNUSUALLY STRONG, AND OBNOXIOUS, ODOR (SMELLING OF BURNT CRAYONS) COMING FROM THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE SMELL IS SO OVER-POWERING I HAVE TO OPEN THE WINDOWS, AND LEAVE THEM OPEN, THE ENTIRE TIME I AM DRIVING THE CAR, OTHERWISE I BECOME DIZZY AND NAUSEOUS. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET, AND THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE WHO HAVE BLOGGED THEY HAVE A CAR MADE BY VOLKSWAGEN WITH THE SAME ODOR PROBLEM -- A FEW OF THESE WEBSITES ARE; ----(1) HTTP://WWW.FIXMYSTINKYCAR.COM/?P=706 ----(2) HTTP://FORUMS.AUTOMOTIVE.COM/70/6371584/VOLKSWAGEN/CHEMICAL-ODOR/INDEX.HTML ----(3) HTTP://WWW.CARSURVEY.ORG/REVIEWS/VOLKSWAGEN/JETTA/2001/PAGE-57/ ----(4) HTTP://WWW.WEBANSWERS.COM/AUTOMOBILES/WHAT-IS-CAUSING-MY-CAR-SMELL-5B4BD0.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds