Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 148 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Exterior Lighting (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (35) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (12) Structure (8) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/5/2014 - YODER, IN
BOUGHT THIS VW BEETLE USED. HAD TERRIBLE SMELL, LIKE BURNT CRAYONS. CLEANED IT INTENSELY, INSIDE AND OUTSIDE. THOROUGH DETAIL JOB. STILL SMELLS, CAUSING HEADACHE. AIR BAG LIGHT AND BUZZER STAYED ON EVEN AFTER LATCHING SEAT BELT. CRUISE CONTROL WORKS ERRATICALLY, LUNGING FORWARD SUDDENLY, THEN CHUGS, THEN LUNGES FORWARD QUICKLY AGAIN. SPEED WORKS CONSISTENTLY WHEN CRUISE CONTROL IS NOT ENGAGED. VERY UNSAFE WITH CRUISE CONTROL IN USE. LIGHTING ISSUES. INTERIOR LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK, UNABLE TO SEE INTERIOR GAUGES IN THE DARK. TURN SIGNALS BLINKING ERRATICALLY, AND NOT IN SYNC. TOOK VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIRS AT AN AUTHORIZED VW DEALER, PAID $1,300.00. STILL NOT WORKING PROPERLY. TOOK IT BACK IN 4 DAYS LATER BECAUSE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW ALMOST FELL OUT WHILE DRIVING, AND INTERIOR LIGHTING ISSUES STILL DID NOT WORK. WAS CHARGED ANOTHER $600.00. VEHICLE WILL NOT ENGAGE INTO DRIVE POSITION EASILY, AND SOMETIMES NOT AT ALL UNLESS THE STEERING WHEEL IS JERKED ON. DEALER SAID SENSORS WERE THE PROBLEM, AND THAT I WILL NEED TO BRING IT BACK AGAIN TO HAVE THE CRUISE CONTROL FIXED AT A COST OF $250.00. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE NOW. THERE SHOULD BE SOME RECALLS ON THE SMELL ISSUE, AND THE AIR BAG/SEAT BELT ISSUE. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL ISSUE, BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/5/2014 - YODER, IN
BOUGHT THIS VW BEETLE USED. HAD TERRIBLE SMELL, LIKE BURNT CRAYONS. CLEANED IT INTENSELY, INSIDE AND OUTSIDE. THOROUGH DETAIL JOB. STILL SMELLS, CAUSING HEADACHE. AIR BAG LIGHT AND BUZZER STAYED ON EVEN AFTER LATCHING SEAT BELT. CRUISE CONTROL WORKS ERRATICALLY, LUNGING FORWARD SUDDENLY, THEN CHUGS, THEN LUNGES FORWARD QUICKLY AGAIN. SPEED WORKS CONSISTENTLY WHEN CRUISE CONTROL IS NOT ENGAGED. VERY UNSAFE WITH CRUISE CONTROL IN USE. LIGHTING ISSUES. INTERIOR LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK, UNABLE TO SEE INTERIOR GAUGES IN THE DARK. TURN SIGNALS BLINKING ERRATICALLY, AND NOT IN SYNC. TOOK VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIRS AT AN AUTHORIZED VW DEALER, PAID $1,300.00. STILL NOT WORKING PROPERLY. TOOK IT BACK IN 4 DAYS LATER BECAUSE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW ALMOST FELL OUT WHILE DRIVING, AND INTERIOR LIGHTING ISSUES STILL DID NOT WORK. WAS CHARGED ANOTHER $600.00. VEHICLE WILL NOT ENGAGE INTO DRIVE POSITION EASILY, AND SOMETIMES NOT AT ALL UNLESS THE STEERING WHEEL IS JERKED ON. DEALER SAID SENSORS WERE THE PROBLEM, AND THAT I WILL NEED TO BRING IT BACK AGAIN TO HAVE THE CRUISE CONTROL FIXED AT A COST OF $250.00. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE NOW. THERE SHOULD BE SOME RECALLS ON THE SMELL ISSUE, AND THE AIR BAG/SEAT BELT ISSUE. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL ISSUE, BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/5/2014 - YODER, IN
BOUGHT THIS VW BEETLE USED. HAD TERRIBLE SMELL, LIKE BURNT CRAYONS. CLEANED IT INTENSELY, INSIDE AND OUTSIDE. THOROUGH DETAIL JOB. STILL SMELLS, CAUSING HEADACHE. AIR BAG LIGHT AND BUZZER STAYED ON EVEN AFTER LATCHING SEAT BELT. CRUISE CONTROL WORKS ERRATICALLY, LUNGING FORWARD SUDDENLY, THEN CHUGS, THEN LUNGES FORWARD QUICKLY AGAIN. SPEED WORKS CONSISTENTLY WHEN CRUISE CONTROL IS NOT ENGAGED. VERY UNSAFE WITH CRUISE CONTROL IN USE. LIGHTING ISSUES. INTERIOR LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK, UNABLE TO SEE INTERIOR GAUGES IN THE DARK. TURN SIGNALS BLINKING ERRATICALLY, AND NOT IN SYNC. TOOK VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIRS AT AN AUTHORIZED VW DEALER, PAID $1,300.00. STILL NOT WORKING PROPERLY. TOOK IT BACK IN 4 DAYS LATER BECAUSE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW ALMOST FELL OUT WHILE DRIVING, AND INTERIOR LIGHTING ISSUES STILL DID NOT WORK. WAS CHARGED ANOTHER $600.00. VEHICLE WILL NOT ENGAGE INTO DRIVE POSITION EASILY, AND SOMETIMES NOT AT ALL UNLESS THE STEERING WHEEL IS JERKED ON. DEALER SAID SENSORS WERE THE PROBLEM, AND THAT I WILL NEED TO BRING IT BACK AGAIN TO HAVE THE CRUISE CONTROL FIXED AT A COST OF $250.00. I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE NOW. THERE SHOULD BE SOME RECALLS ON THE SMELL ISSUE, AND THE AIR BAG/SEAT BELT ISSUE. ALSO CRUISE CONTROL ISSUE, BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/30/2014 - SHAMOKIN DAM, PA
ON FRIDAY, AUGUST 15, 2014 AT 12:19 PM, I REAR ENDED A TOYOTA HIGHLANDER AT A SPEED OF ABOUT 30 MPH. MY PASSENGER WAS NOT WEARING A SEAT BELT AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT AND ON IMPACT MY PASSENGER WAS EJECTED OUT OF THE SEAT AND SMASHED HER HEAD OFF THE WINDSHIELD AND THEN ONTO THE DASHBOARD. ALSO SHE HIT HER LEGS OFF THE GLOVE BOX HARD ENOUGH THAT SHE COULD NOT WALK AFTER THE ACCIDENT. THE WINDSHIELD IS SMASHED AND THE GLOVE BOX DOOR IS BROKEN. I ON THE OTHER HAND HAD MY SEAT BELT ON, BUT MY SIDE OF THE CAR HAD SUSTAINED THE MOST DAMAGE, BUT NEITHER THE DRIVER OR PASSENGER AIR BAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/1/2014 - KING CITY, CA
ON JUNE 13TH I WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND I WENT TO TURN OFF THE AC AND IT MADE A LOUD CLICKING NOISE, AFTER THE NOISE THE AC WOULDN'T TURN OFF SO I ENDED UP DRIVING 3 HOURS WITH THE AC FULL BLAST. A FEW DAYS AFTER THIS I WAS ABLE TO TURN OFF THE AC, AND LEFT IT LIKE THIS FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS. AT THIS POINT THE MIDDLE KNOB WAS STUCK AND THE AC WOULD RANDOMLY WORK AND NO LONGER WOULD TURN AT ALL. ON JUNE 30TH AS I WAS LEAVING THE PARKING LOT OF MY APARTMENT AND WENT TO TURNED ON THE AC, IT MADE A WEIRD NOISE BUT I CONTINUED DRIVING ANYWAYS. THE AC STOPPED WORKING SO I TURNED THE KNOB AGAIN AND I STARTED GETTING A BURNING SMELL, I LOOKED DOWN AND SAW SMOKE COMING OUT FROM BEHIND THE KNOB SO I DROVE BACK TO MY APARTMENT BECAUSE I DECIDED IT WASN'T SAFE TO DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY. IN A MATTER OF A MINUTE THE SMOKE GOT WORSE AND STARTED COMING OUT FROM THE ENTIRE AREA UNDER MY RADIO. I PARKED MY CAR ONCE I GOT BACK HOME AND STOOD OUTSIDE AS I ALLOWED MY CAR TO AIR OUT, NOT LONG AFTER THIS I SAW FLAMES COMING OUT FROM THE MIDDLE KNOB AND GROWING BIGGER. I WAS LUCKILY ABLE TO PUT IT OUT WITH A CUP OF WATER AND WAS FORCED TO CALL 911 TO MAKE SURE THE FIRE WAS COMPLETELY OUT. THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCES THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME AND IT WAS TERRIFYING, IF I DIDN'T HAVE A CUP OF WATER AT THE TIME THE FIRE COULD HAVE EASILY BURNED UP THE REST OF MY CAR IN A MATTER OF SECONDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - KING CITY, CA
ON JUNE 13TH I WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND I WENT TO TURN OFF THE AC AND IT MADE A LOUD CLICKING NOISE, AFTER THE NOISE THE AC WOULDN'T TURN OFF SO I ENDED UP DRIVING 3 HOURS WITH THE AC FULL BLAST. A FEW DAYS AFTER THIS I WAS ABLE TO TURN OFF THE AC, AND LEFT IT LIKE THIS FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS. AT THIS POINT THE MIDDLE KNOB WAS STUCK AND THE AC WOULD RANDOMLY WORK AND NO LONGER WOULD TURN AT ALL. ON JUNE 30TH AS I WAS LEAVING THE PARKING LOT OF MY APARTMENT AND WENT TO TURNED ON THE AC, IT MADE A WEIRD NOISE BUT I CONTINUED DRIVING ANYWAYS. THE AC STOPPED WORKING SO I TURNED THE KNOB AGAIN AND I STARTED GETTING A BURNING SMELL, I LOOKED DOWN AND SAW SMOKE COMING OUT FROM BEHIND THE KNOB SO I DROVE BACK TO MY APARTMENT BECAUSE I DECIDED IT WASN'T SAFE TO DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY. IN A MATTER OF A MINUTE THE SMOKE GOT WORSE AND STARTED COMING OUT FROM THE ENTIRE AREA UNDER MY RADIO. I PARKED MY CAR ONCE I GOT BACK HOME AND STOOD OUTSIDE AS I ALLOWED MY CAR TO AIR OUT, NOT LONG AFTER THIS I SAW FLAMES COMING OUT FROM THE MIDDLE KNOB AND GROWING BIGGER. I WAS LUCKILY ABLE TO PUT IT OUT WITH A CUP OF WATER AND WAS FORCED TO CALL 911 TO MAKE SURE THE FIRE WAS COMPLETELY OUT. THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCES THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME AND IT WAS TERRIFYING, IF I DIDN'T HAVE A CUP OF WATER AT THE TIME THE FIRE COULD HAVE EASILY BURNED UP THE REST OF MY CAR IN A MATTER OF SECONDS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/29/2014 - ARLINGTON, MA
THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AS THEY SHOULD HAVE IN A HEAD ON CAR ACCIDENT. SOMEONE HIT MY CAR IN THE RIGHT REAR END AND I LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR AND IT CAREENED HEAD FIRST INTO A TREE. BEFORE THE CAR WAS HIT IT WAS GOING ABOUT 30 - 35 MPH BUT AFTER IT WAS HIT IT WENT FASTER, I CAN'T SAY HOW MUCH (I ESTIMATED ABOVE). I WAS THE DRIVER AND ONLY OCCUPANT. THE CAR WAS TOTALED BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AS THEY SHOULD HAVE. I GOT WHIPLASH (REAL WHIPLASH) AND INJURED MY HIP AS IT BROKE THE ARM REST. THE VIN NUMBER I PROVIDED IS FOR THIS CAR THAT WAS TOTALED - IT'S NO LONGER ON THE STREET.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/29/2013 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS SITTING IN STANDSTILL TRAFFIC, BY MYSELF, WAS HIT FROM BEHIND AT FULL FREEWAY SPEED, FORCED INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, RESULTING IN A DOMINO EFFECT AND A 6 CAR PILE UP. I SUSTAINED BOTH FRONT END AND BACK END DAMAGE, TOTALING MY CAR, MY PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED (AGAIN, I WAS ALONE) THE DRIVERS SIDE ONE DID NOT, FORCING ME INTO THE STEERING WHEEL AND DASHBOARD. I AM CURRENTLY UNDER A DOCTORS CARE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/24/2013 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE FRONT SEAT BELT BUCKLE BECOMES DEFECTIVE AND SETS AN AIRBAG CODE MAKING THE AIR BAG LIGHT TURN ON AND POSSIBLY NOT WORK. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BUCKLE ON THIS VEHICLE IN 187,000 MILES. I HAVE CHECKED A NUMBER OF VW CLUB FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE ON THESE VEHICLES. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NHTSA SHOULD LOOK INTO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/24/2013 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE FRONT SEAT BELT BUCKLE BECOMES DEFECTIVE AND SETS AN AIRBAG CODE MAKING THE AIR BAG LIGHT TURN ON AND POSSIBLY NOT WORK. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BUCKLE ON THIS VEHICLE IN 187,000 MILES. I HAVE CHECKED A NUMBER OF VW CLUB FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE ON THESE VEHICLES. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NHTSA SHOULD LOOK INTO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds