Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2002 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (5) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (14) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seats (6) Tires (19) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/27/2018 - GEORGETOWN, KY
BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED ON ITS OWN IN THE GARAGE

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/25/2018 - AURBURN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT SMELLED A FUEL ODOR INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 134,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/6/2018 - PORTLAND, OR
TAKATA RECALL LATRICE TAYLOR 3601 NE 162ND AVE AP12 PORTLAND OREGON, 97230 5036075377. FOR MY SSN NUMBER, DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER CALL ME FOR THAT INFORMATION I DONT LIKW TO PUT IT ON WEBSITE SO THAT OTHER PEOPLE CAN GET IT BUT HERES MY VIN YV1RS8D722118683 EMAIL IS [email protected] THE WHOLE DISHBORE MY LIGHTS WON'T COME ON THE KEY WONT COME OUT I HAVE TO WAIT 5 OR 10 MIN TO WAIT FOR IT TO COME OUT IT SMELL LIKE GAS SOMETIMES THE KEYLESS WONT WORK I CHANGE THE THANG IN THE BACK DIVE TIMES IN ONE MONTH THE GEAR SOMETIME DONT WORK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/6/2018 - PORTLAND, OR
TAKATA RECALL LATRICE TAYLOR 3601 NE 162ND AVE AP12 PORTLAND OREGON, 97230 5036075377. FOR MY SSN NUMBER, DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER CALL ME FOR THAT INFORMATION I DONT LIKW TO PUT IT ON WEBSITE SO THAT OTHER PEOPLE CAN GET IT BUT HERES MY VIN YV1RS8D722118683 EMAIL IS [email protected] THE WHOLE DISHBORE MY LIGHTS WON'T COME ON THE KEY WONT COME OUT I HAVE TO WAIT 5 OR 10 MIN TO WAIT FOR IT TO COME OUT IT SMELL LIKE GAS SOMETIMES THE KEYLESS WONT WORK I CHANGE THE THANG IN THE BACK DIVE TIMES IN ONE MONTH THE GEAR SOMETIME DONT WORK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/6/2018 - PORTLAND, OR
TAKATA RECALL LATRICE TAYLOR 3601 NE 162ND AVE AP12 PORTLAND OREGON, 97230 5036075377. FOR MY SSN NUMBER, DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER CALL ME FOR THAT INFORMATION I DONT LIKW TO PUT IT ON WEBSITE SO THAT OTHER PEOPLE CAN GET IT BUT HERES MY VIN YV1RS8D722118683 EMAIL IS [email protected] THE WHOLE DISHBORE MY LIGHTS WON'T COME ON THE KEY WONT COME OUT I HAVE TO WAIT 5 OR 10 MIN TO WAIT FOR IT TO COME OUT IT SMELL LIKE GAS SOMETIMES THE KEYLESS WONT WORK I CHANGE THE THANG IN THE BACK DIVE TIMES IN ONE MONTH THE GEAR SOMETIME DONT WORK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2018 - ST CHARLES, MO
SERVICE LIGHTS SCROLL IN SPORADIC MOTION FLIPPING THROUGH CONSTANT ALERTS, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AIR BAG LIGHT, CONSTANT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS GOING ON, FUEL DOOR WONT OPEN, BOTH FRONT SEATS HAVE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS, OBVIOUS BURN THRU ON PASSENGER SIDE INDICATES ITS BEEN OVERHEATED AND DANGEROUS. EVERYTIME I'VE TAKEN IT IN THE SHOP THEY SAY THERE ARE NO RECALLS - YET PLENTY OF COMPLAINTS OVER FIRES WITH SEATS. CAN'T USED HEATED SEATS AT ALL. ENGINE SEEMS TO REMAIN INCONSISTENT IN SPEED, DASHBOARD LIGHTS GO COMPLETELY OUT AND THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES AFFECT BACK BRAKE LIGHTS. THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES BOUNCE IN CYCLES TO WHERE NO ONE CAN DETECT THE PROBLEMS. CHECK ENGINE LINE CONTINUES TO HAVE TO BE RESET AND SERVICE LIGHTS CONTINUALLY SEND SCROLLED WARNING TO PULL OVER. ALREADY HAD VEHICLE TOWED AND CAN'T TRUST VEHICLE WILL START. ALWAYS A WIRING ISSUE INVOLVED. THE CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW AGAIN. 3/16/18 (SAME ISSUES)

View Details

SEATS

3/16/2018 - ST CHARLES, MO
SERVICE LIGHTS SCROLL IN SPORADIC MOTION FLIPPING THROUGH CONSTANT ALERTS, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AIR BAG LIGHT, CONSTANT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS GOING ON, FUEL DOOR WONT OPEN, BOTH FRONT SEATS HAVE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS, OBVIOUS BURN THRU ON PASSENGER SIDE INDICATES ITS BEEN OVERHEATED AND DANGEROUS. EVERYTIME I'VE TAKEN IT IN THE SHOP THEY SAY THERE ARE NO RECALLS - YET PLENTY OF COMPLAINTS OVER FIRES WITH SEATS. CAN'T USED HEATED SEATS AT ALL. ENGINE SEEMS TO REMAIN INCONSISTENT IN SPEED, DASHBOARD LIGHTS GO COMPLETELY OUT AND THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES AFFECT BACK BRAKE LIGHTS. THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES BOUNCE IN CYCLES TO WHERE NO ONE CAN DETECT THE PROBLEMS. CHECK ENGINE LINE CONTINUES TO HAVE TO BE RESET AND SERVICE LIGHTS CONTINUALLY SEND SCROLLED WARNING TO PULL OVER. ALREADY HAD VEHICLE TOWED AND CAN'T TRUST VEHICLE WILL START. ALWAYS A WIRING ISSUE INVOLVED. THE CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW AGAIN. 3/16/18 (SAME ISSUES)

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/16/2018 - ST CHARLES, MO
SERVICE LIGHTS SCROLL IN SPORADIC MOTION FLIPPING THROUGH CONSTANT ALERTS, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AIR BAG LIGHT, CONSTANT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS GOING ON, FUEL DOOR WONT OPEN, BOTH FRONT SEATS HAVE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS, OBVIOUS BURN THRU ON PASSENGER SIDE INDICATES ITS BEEN OVERHEATED AND DANGEROUS. EVERYTIME I'VE TAKEN IT IN THE SHOP THEY SAY THERE ARE NO RECALLS - YET PLENTY OF COMPLAINTS OVER FIRES WITH SEATS. CAN'T USED HEATED SEATS AT ALL. ENGINE SEEMS TO REMAIN INCONSISTENT IN SPEED, DASHBOARD LIGHTS GO COMPLETELY OUT AND THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES AFFECT BACK BRAKE LIGHTS. THE ELECTRICAL ISSUES BOUNCE IN CYCLES TO WHERE NO ONE CAN DETECT THE PROBLEMS. CHECK ENGINE LINE CONTINUES TO HAVE TO BE RESET AND SERVICE LIGHTS CONTINUALLY SEND SCROLLED WARNING TO PULL OVER. ALREADY HAD VEHICLE TOWED AND CAN'T TRUST VEHICLE WILL START. ALWAYS A WIRING ISSUE INVOLVED. THE CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW AGAIN. 3/16/18 (SAME ISSUES)

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
FUEL LEAK FIRE HAZARD WON'T PASS INSPECTION. GAS SMELL. CAR LEAKING WHILE PARKED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2017 - BRONX, NEW YORK, NY
I WAS INVOLVED IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN BRONX, NY ON 8/16/2017 THAT CAUSED SEVERE DAMAGE TO MY 2002 VOLVO S60. THANKFULLY, I WAS THE ONLY ONE IN MY CAR. I HAD JUST LEFT MY LAST DESTINATION, MOVING SLOWLY AND DRIVING STRAIGHT FOR A SHORT BLOCK OR SO, WHEN MY 2002 VOLVO S60, WITH AN ODOMETER READING OF 45,000 MILES, BEGAN TO ACCELERATE OUT OF NOWHERE AND RACE - ALL ON ITS OWN. I TRIED BRAKING (FOOT AND HAND) BUT IT WAS TOO SUDDEN AND NEITHER COULD SLOW IT DOWN. THE CAR ACCELERATED OUT OF MY CONTROL, JUMPED THE SIDEWALK AND PLOWED THROUGH A FENCE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. I+M STILL SHAKEN, THINKING OF WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED, BUT THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE INVOLVED AND NO ONE WAS IN FRONT OF ME OR WALKING BY. WHILE THIS IS SHOCKING AND SURPRISING TO ME, I BELIEVE THIS IS A KNOWN SAFETY MALFUNCTION ON CERTAIN MODELS OF VOLVO CARS. I HAVE READ THAT OTHER DRIVER+S HAVE COMPLAINED TO THE COMPANY ABOUT A RACING/SLIPPING TRANSMISSION BEFORE, WHICH SUGGESTS THAT VOLVO HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS.FOR SOME TIME. THERE ARE SO MANY SITUATIONS IN WHICH THIS TYPE OF MALFUNCTION CAN EASILY BE FATAL SO I AM TREATING IT AS AN IMPENDING DISASTER FOR OTHERS THAT NEEDS TO BE ACTED ON URGENTLY. I AM SEEKING YOUR ASSISTANCE TO INVESTIGATING THIS AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE SO THAT YOU MAY HAVE A CHANCE TO PRESERVE THE CAR FOR ADDED TESTING IF NECESSARY. I HAVE PROVIDED ALL THE PERTINENT INFORMATION THAT I POSSIBLY CAN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds