Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2002 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (5) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (14) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seats (6) Tires (19) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

CHILD SEAT

8/16/2011 - CLEARWATER, FL
MY TWO-YEAR-OLD SON RIDES REAR-FACING IN HIS SUNSHINE KIDS RADIAN XTSL, INSTALLED WITH SUPERLATCH AND THE REAR-FACING TETHER. I AM A CERTIFIED CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY TECHNICIAN, SO I KNOW THE INSTALLATION WAS CORRECT. WHEN MY SON PLACES HIS FOOT ON THE TILT LOCK MECHANISM OF THE SUPERLATCH, IT SIGNIFICANTLY LOOSENS IT. IT LOOSENS IT SO MUCH THAT THE CHILD RESTRAINT MOVES MORE THAN 1" FROM SIDE-TO-SIDE AND FRONT/BACK. HE DID THIS WHILE WE WERE DRIVING. WHEN I HAD INITIALLY PLACED HIM IN HIS CHILD RESTRAINT, THERE WAS A TIGHT INSTALLATION (I ALWAYS CHECK), BUT WHEN WE ARRIVED AT OUR DESTINATION, IT WAS VERY LOOSE WHEN I TOOK HIM OUT. THAT'S WHEN I NOTICED THAT HOW HE PUTS HIS FOOT ON THE TILT LOCK MECHANISM. IF WE HAD BEEN IN A MOTOR VEHICLE COLLISION DURING THIS TIME, THERE IS A GREAT CHANCE THAT HE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR DIED. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED SUNSHINE KIDS VIA EMAIL. THEIR REPRESENTATIVE WAS QUICK TO RESPOND TO ME AND THEY SENT ME A REPLACEMENT SUPERLATCH. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THE NEW SUPERLATCH. THE REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL REPORTS MADE ABOUT THIS ISSUE, BUT THAT SUNSHINE KIDS HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO "REPLICATE THIS ISSUE" IN THEIR "EXTENSIVE TESTING." SHE SAID THAT THE NEW RADIANS MADE AFTER FEBRUARY 2011 ARE EQUIPPED WITH THE NEW UPDATED SUPERLATCH. THEY HAVE ADDED A RETAINER CLIP TO ALL TILT LOCK MECHANISMS ON THE SUPERLATCH WHICH CHANGES THE RELEASE ANGLE AND PREVENTS ANY LOOSENING. THEY ALSO OFFER THE UPDATED TILT LOCK MECHANISM TO ANY CUSTOMER WHO HAS A CONCERN ABOUT THEIR SUPERLATCH. I FEEL THAT THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL, BECAUSE THERE MAY BE MANY CUSTOMERS WHO ARE UNAWARE OF THIS DEFECT. EVEN IF THE INSTALLATION IS CORRECT WHEN YOU PLACE YOUR CHILD IN THE CHILD RESTRAINT, THE LOOSENING CAN OCCUR, UNKNOWINGLY, WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING AND POSES SERIOUS RISK TO PASSENGERS. (RELATED VEHICLE INFORMATION: MODEL YEAR=2002, MAKE=S60, MODEL=VOLVO)

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/11/2011 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES WERE EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT HE LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE REAR PASSENGER SEAT AND NOTICED THAT THE SURFACE WAS WET WITH FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY INSPECTED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER UNDER THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V483000 (COMPONENT: FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP), BUT THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS NOT ONE OF THE DEFECTIVE PARTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 128,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/19/2011 - MIDDLE TOWN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH THE VEHICLE WOULD GO INTO LIMP MODE AND DECELERATE TO 15 MPH UNEXPECTEDLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON AN INTERMITTENT BASIS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 06V441000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). BOTH THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/12/2011 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE IT AND HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. HOWEVER, NO CODES ARE COMING UP. THEY SEE NO ISSUE WITH THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/4/2011 - LEWES, DE
VERY STRONG PERSISTENT GASOLINE VAPOR EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR OF CAR WITH VERY SERIOUS FIRE SAFETY ISSUE. MATCHES SYMPTOMS RELATED TO KNOWN RECALL#'S 09V48300 AND 07V152000 (WHICH HAVE REGION SPECIFIC CRITERIA RELATED TO DRAMATIC TEMPERATURE CHANGES THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE STATE OF DELAWARE, BUT DOES INCLUDE NUMEROUS OTHER STATES SUCH AS VIRGINIA THAT SHARES A SIMILAR CLIMATE PROFILE). THE CAR IN QUESTION IS A VOLVO S60 2002.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/4/2011 - LEWES, DE
VERY STRONG PERSISTENT GASOLINE VAPOR EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR OF CAR WITH VERY SERIOUS FIRE SAFETY ISSUE. MATCHES SYMPTOMS RELATED TO KNOWN RECALL#'S 09V48300 AND 07V152000 (WHICH HAVE REGION SPECIFIC CRITERIA RELATED TO DRAMATIC TEMPERATURE CHANGES THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE STATE OF DELAWARE, BUT DOES INCLUDE NUMEROUS OTHER STATES SUCH AS VIRGINIA THAT SHARES A SIMILAR CLIMATE PROFILE). THE CAR IN QUESTION IS A VOLVO S60 2002.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/12/2011 - GREENBELT , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 10 MPH WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO STRIKE HER HEAD ON THE WINDOW AND SUFFER INJURIES. THE FRONT AND SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER REGARDING THE NON-DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS AND THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD SEND AN INVESTIGATOR TO EXAMINE WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. SHE STATED THAT IF THE SIDE AIR BAGS WOULD HAVE DEPLOYED, SHE WOULD NOT HAVE STRUCK THE WINDOW. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/6/2011 - GROSSE POINTE WOODS, MI
2002 VOLVO S60 - TRANSMISSION CLUNKS WHEN ENGAGING GEAR IN DRIVE. PROBLEM IS MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN SHIFTING FROM REVERSE. HESITATION TO ENGAGEMENT CAN BE UP TO 2 SECONDS, THEN ENGAGES VERY HARSHLY PRODUCING THE "CLUNKING". WAS TOLD A SOFTWARE FLASH MAY CORRECT ISSUE BUT I AM RELUCTANT TO SPEND $80 TO DISCOVER IT DID NOT WORK. VEHICLE STARTED DEMONSTRATING PROBLEM AT 80K MILES WHEN MANUALLY DOWNSHIFTING TO FIRST GEAR TO COME TO A STOP. NOW HAS 114K MILES AND DRIVEN VERY CAREFULLY WITH FOOT HARD ON BRAKE WHEN SHIFTING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. I NO LONGER PERFORM ANY SORT OF MANUAL SHIFTING WHEN IN FORWARD MOTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/29/2011 - LAGUNA BEACH, CA
I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHT WAITING TO TURN LEFT. UPON LIGHT TURNING GREEN, I ACCELERATED TO TURN LEFT. CAR, WITHOUT WARNING, LOST ACCELERATION, STEERING, AND BRAKING AS IF IN LIMP HOME MODE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I THEN PUT CAR IN PARK AND TURNED OFF ENGINE. CAR STARTED BACK UP AND DROVE WITHOUT INCIDENT. THERE WERE NO INDICATOR LIGHTS. TOOK CAR TO LOCAL GARAGE AND NO CODES CAME UP. THEN AGAIN ON MARCH 23, 2011 CAR AGAIN LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND STEERING. THIS TIME THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH. NO WARNING INDICATORS WERE LIT. PUT CAR INTO PARK AND IT STARTED WITHOUT INCIDENT. TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON MARCH 25, 2011. THE DEALER SAID NO CODES CAME UP AND THEY WERE HAVING TROUBLE DIAGNOSING THE FAILURE. AFTER 4 DAYS THEY CALLED TO TELL ME IT COULD BE THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR AND THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE CLEANED (COST $660). HOWEVER, THEY COULD NOT SAY FOR SURE IF THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. I AM GETTING THE SUGGESTED REPAIRS DONE. HOWEVER AFTER READING THE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS DESCRIBING THIS SAME FAILURE, I FEEL VERY UNEASY ABOUT DRIVING MY CAR. VOLVO NEEDS TO ADDRESS THESE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AS THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. I DRIVE MY CAR WITH TWO SMALL KIDS IN THE BACK SEAT EVERYDAY. I AM TERRIFIED THIS FAILURE WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY MODEL AND YEAR CAR FOR THIS TYPE OF FAILURE, HOWEVER MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/29/2011 - LAGUNA BEACH, CA
I WAS STOPPED AT STOP LIGHT WAITING TO TURN LEFT. UPON LIGHT TURNING GREEN, I ACCELERATED TO TURN LEFT. CAR, WITHOUT WARNING, LOST ACCELERATION, STEERING, AND BRAKING AS IF IN LIMP HOME MODE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I THEN PUT CAR IN PARK AND TURNED OFF ENGINE. CAR STARTED BACK UP AND DROVE WITHOUT INCIDENT. THERE WERE NO INDICATOR LIGHTS. TOOK CAR TO LOCAL GARAGE AND NO CODES CAME UP. THEN AGAIN ON MARCH 23, 2011 CAR AGAIN LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND STEERING. THIS TIME THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH. NO WARNING INDICATORS WERE LIT. PUT CAR INTO PARK AND IT STARTED WITHOUT INCIDENT. TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON MARCH 25, 2011. THE DEALER SAID NO CODES CAME UP AND THEY WERE HAVING TROUBLE DIAGNOSING THE FAILURE. AFTER 4 DAYS THEY CALLED TO TELL ME IT COULD BE THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR AND THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE CLEANED (COST $660). HOWEVER, THEY COULD NOT SAY FOR SURE IF THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. I AM GETTING THE SUGGESTED REPAIRS DONE. HOWEVER AFTER READING THE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS DESCRIBING THIS SAME FAILURE, I FEEL VERY UNEASY ABOUT DRIVING MY CAR. VOLVO NEEDS TO ADDRESS THESE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS AS THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. I DRIVE MY CAR WITH TWO SMALL KIDS IN THE BACK SEAT EVERYDAY. I AM TERRIFIED THIS FAILURE WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY MODEL AND YEAR CAR FOR THIS TYPE OF FAILURE, HOWEVER MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds