Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2002 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (5) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (14) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seats (6) Tires (19) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/27/2014 - MARICOPA, AZ
VOLVO IS REFUSING TO DO RECALL WORK NHTSA ACTION NUMBER PE09039 VOLVO SAFETY RECALL #R220 09V-483 THE FUEL PUMP IS ONE OF THE TYPE VOLVO IS TO REPLACE FUEL PUMP IS SPRAYING GAS EVERYWHERE THE SERVICE MANAGER SAYS TO DRIVE IT IN TO HAVE IT INSPECTED THAT'S AFTER I TOLD HIM ITS SPRAYING GAS ON CAT. CONVERT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - OAKLAND, CA
THE VEHICLE JUST STOPS WHILE DRIVING, ALL OF THE PANEL LIGHTS COME ON CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS. HAD TO REPLACE THE OCM SENSOR AND THE ECM SENSOR MCKIVITT VOLVO IN SAN LEANDRO ([XXX]) SERVICE MGR. HAS NEVER MENTION ANY TYPE OF RECALLS TO THE CAR. THEY ALSO REPLACED THE FUEL INJECTION AT MY COST. HAD TO GET A SMOG IN AUG 2013, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME BACK ON NOT ALLOWING ME TO SMOG WITH OUT REPAIRS TO OXYGEN SENSORS, DURING THIS VISIT MY CONTROL ARMS WERE NOTICEABLY BROKEN, THEY SAID NOTHING. I FOUND OUT WHEN I GOT THE CAR BACK AFTER THEM CHANGING THE OXYGEN SENSORS TO PASS SMOG AND I GOT THE SMOG AND A OIL CHANGE THEY NOTIFIED ME, I HAD THEM REPLACED BY A CHEAPER MECH IN APRIL 2014 @ 75,000 MILES. NOW IT'S AUGUST 2014 AND I WAS DRIVING DOWN VERY STEEP [email protected] 45MPH AND THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF CAUSING LIMP MODE AND ME HITTING A CURB TO STOP. TOWED BACK TO [email protected] 84,601 MILES AND BEING TOLD IT'S NORMAL, CLEAN OR REPLACE THE ETM SENSOR NOW CHARGING ME $2,000. I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED RECALL. I'M LOST NOW WITHOUT A VEHICLE. ISN'T VOLVO SUPPOSED TO FIX THIS ISSUE OR DO WE HAVE TO DIE AND THEN YEARS LATER YOU GUYS AT VOLVO CORPORATION FIGURE THERE WAS A MALFUNCTION.. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT TO DO??? ALL THIS SERVICE MANAGER WANTS IS MONEY AND DOESN'T CARE ABOUT ANYONE'S SAFETY. I WAS LAUGHED AT TODAY BEING TOLD THAT OH YOU'VE ONLY TRAVEL 25,000 MI AND I'VE SEEN YOU 4 TIMES SINCE THEN, IT'S NOT A HONDA AND YOU REALLY HAVE TO PUT SOME MUSCLE INTO IT WHEN IT DOES THIS LIMP MODE. I WAS SCARED TO DEATH ALONG WITH MY FAMILY AND WAS LAUGHED AT IN MY FACE WITH A SMILE TELLING ME HE'LL CALL AND TELL ME HOW MUCH$$$. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CAR CONTINUES TO HAVE SHIFT FLARES AND SLIPPAGE WHEN SHIFTING UP FROM 1 TO 2, 2 TO 3 OR SHIFTING BETWEEN THE SAME GEARS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/31/2014 - EAST BERLIN , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR EMITTING FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 THE CONSUMER SMELLED FUEL ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE, WHICH WOULD CEASE ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND PLACED IN PARK. IT OCCURRED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED, WHICH IN TURN PUT PRESSURE ON THE FUEL LINE AND FUEL PUMP. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER RECENTLY FOUND THE FUEL SMELL WORSENING AND A LOSS OF FUEL. A MECHANIC CHECKED OUT THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THE FUEL PUMP FLANGE WAS CRACKED. AFTER, THE DIAGNOSIS, THE CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER, AND WAS INFORMED, HER VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL, AND IT HAD EXPIRED IN 2011. UPDATED 08/12/14

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/31/2014 - EAST BERLIN , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR EMITTING FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 THE CONSUMER SMELLED FUEL ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE, WHICH WOULD CEASE ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND PLACED IN PARK. IT OCCURRED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED, WHICH IN TURN PUT PRESSURE ON THE FUEL LINE AND FUEL PUMP. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER RECENTLY FOUND THE FUEL SMELL WORSENING AND A LOSS OF FUEL. A MECHANIC CHECKED OUT THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THE FUEL PUMP FLANGE WAS CRACKED. AFTER, THE DIAGNOSIS, THE CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER, AND WAS INFORMED, HER VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL, AND IT HAD EXPIRED IN 2011. UPDATED 08/12/14

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/28/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, SHE SMELLED FUEL INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FUEL ODOR WAS PRESENT ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 163,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/16/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
RECALL DONE. BUT VOLVO SAYS THROTTLE BODY IS BAD,SHOULD THROTTLE BODY BE COVER? IF PROGRAM IS EXTENDING SWEEPS INTERNALLY OF POTENTIOMETERS. WOULD THAT WEAR PATTERN FROM PREVIOUS PROGRAM WEAR OUT POTENTIOMETERS,CREATING MORE PROBLEM WITH THROTTLE BODY.VOLVO SHOULD REPLACE THROTTLE BODY.AS A SAFETY ASSURANCE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/11/2013 - CAROLINA, PR
SMELL GASOLINE, HAD THAT FIX, BUT AUTO HARD START WHEN HOT, NOT WHEN COLD, TAKE AWHILE FOR AUTO TO START, BELIEF TO BE THE GASOLINE PUMP. NEED RECALL INF. THANK YOU [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/15/2013 - NARBERTH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. WHEN ENTERING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL INSIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION AND REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT FALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V152000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/20/2013 - IRVING, TX
SMELL OF GAS LEAKING BUT NO LEAK ON GROUND...HAS RECALL FOR SAMETHING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds