Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S60 - 2002 VOLVO S60 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLVO S60

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLVO S60. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLVO S60, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (5) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (14) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seats (6) Tires (19) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (44) Service Brakes (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/12/2012 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
BEGAN TO NOTICE STRONG FUEL SMELL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. ALSO NOTICED THAT STARTING THE VEHICLE WHEN ENGINE IS COLD BECAME MORE DIFFICULT. RESEARCHED VARIOUS FORUMS AND NHTSA AND DISCOVERED THAT VOLVO HAS HAD 2 RECALLS FOR FUEL PUMPS. MY VEHICLE EXHIBITED SAME SYMPTOMS AS DETAILED IN BOTH NHTSA RECALLS. CALLED VOLVO AT 800-458-1552 AS INSTRUCTED IN THE NHTSA RECALL NOTICE. INFORMED THE REPRESENTATIVE THAT VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SYMPTOMS DETAILED IN THE RECALL NOTICE. I WAS INFORMED THAT MY VEHICLE VIN NUMBER WAS NOT PART OF RECALL. ALSO CONTACTED LOCAL VOLVO DEALER REGARDING RECALL NOTICE. DEALER WOULD DIAGNOSE PROBLEM - IF PART OF THE RECALL, THEY WOULD REPLACE. DEALER CALLED BACK, INFORMED ME THAT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF RECALL. I CANCELLED APPOINTMENT FOR DIAGNOSIS. ANOTHER LOCAL REPAIR SHOP SPECIALIZING IN EUROPEAN VEHICLES VERIFIED THAT FUEL PUMP HAS CRACKS AND IS LEAKING FUEL. A FULL RECALL TO INCLUDE ALL VIN'S SHOULD BE ISSUED. THE FACT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN TWO PREVIOUS RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE SHOWS THAT THERE IS A SYSTEMIC FLAW WITH THIS PART.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/10/2012 - WEST MINSTER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE THROTTLE FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE TRIED TO ENGAGE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSE THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO STATED THAT ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 06V441000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL) IT WAS NO LONGER ELIGIBLE SINCE THE VEHICLE HAD SURPASSED THE STATUE OF LIMITATION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2012 - GRAND ISLAND, FL
THERE WERE FOUR OCCUPANTS IN THE VEHICLE. AS WE WERE DRIVING HOME FROM THE MALL, WE NOTICED A BRIEF INTERRUPTION IN THE LIGHTS AND RADIO. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD, THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE AND THE CAR SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, BUT WE WERE ABLE TO GET IT CRANKED BACK UP IN LESS THAN A MINUTE. WE DROVE APPROXIMATELY TWO MORE MILES AND PULLED INTO OUR DRIVEWAY AND SHUT THE CAR OFF. WE HEARD A SOUND LIKE AN ALARM, BUT IT WAS SO FAINT; BEFORE WE HAD TIME TO THINK ABOUT IT FURTHER, THE CAB BEGAN TO FILL WITH BLACKISH GREY SMOKE INTO THE BACKSEAT AREA. WE ALL GOT OUT QUICKLY AND WALKED TO THE BACK OF THE CAR. I NOTICED FLAMES BEHIND THE DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT (WHERE THE BATTERY IS LOCATED) AND TOLD MY HUSBAND. HE OPENED THE TRUNK (BURNING HIS FINGERTIPS), AND FLAMES SHOT UP INTO THE AIR. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 BECAUSE THE FLAMES WERE HIGH AND FAST-MOVING. THE 911 DISPATCHER INSTRUCTED US TO STAY AWAY FROM THE CAR AND NOT TRY TO PUT THE FIRE OUT DUE TO THE OBVIOUS DANGERS OF A FAST-MOVING CAR FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED WITHIN FIVE MINUTES AND BEGAN PUTTING THE FIRE OUT; HOWEVER, THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS UP TO THE ENGINE, WHICH WAS NOT BURNED. AFTER INSPECTION, THE FIRE DEPARTMENT DEEMED IT A LOSS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. I HAVE CONTACTED VOLVO, BUT THEY HAVE NOT RESPONDED TO ME AS OF YET. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE, AND WE ARE WORRIED THAT VOLVO MAY HAVE MISSED ONE. FOR THE SAFETY OF OTHERS, I AM REPORTING THIS SAFETY HAZARD. THE CAR REMAINS IN OUR DRIVEWAY AWAITING INSURANCE ADJUSTMENT; HOWEVER, I AM HOPEFUL THAT EITHER VOLVO OR SOMEONE WHO DOES SAFETY INSPECTIONS WOULD CLAIM THE CAR TO INVESTIGATE THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE FURTHER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/4/2012 - GRAND ISLAND, FL
THERE WERE FOUR OCCUPANTS IN THE VEHICLE. AS WE WERE DRIVING HOME FROM THE MALL, WE NOTICED A BRIEF INTERRUPTION IN THE LIGHTS AND RADIO. A FEW MILES DOWN THE ROAD, THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE AND THE CAR SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, BUT WE WERE ABLE TO GET IT CRANKED BACK UP IN LESS THAN A MINUTE. WE DROVE APPROXIMATELY TWO MORE MILES AND PULLED INTO OUR DRIVEWAY AND SHUT THE CAR OFF. WE HEARD A SOUND LIKE AN ALARM, BUT IT WAS SO FAINT; BEFORE WE HAD TIME TO THINK ABOUT IT FURTHER, THE CAB BEGAN TO FILL WITH BLACKISH GREY SMOKE INTO THE BACKSEAT AREA. WE ALL GOT OUT QUICKLY AND WALKED TO THE BACK OF THE CAR. I NOTICED FLAMES BEHIND THE DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT (WHERE THE BATTERY IS LOCATED) AND TOLD MY HUSBAND. HE OPENED THE TRUNK (BURNING HIS FINGERTIPS), AND FLAMES SHOT UP INTO THE AIR. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 BECAUSE THE FLAMES WERE HIGH AND FAST-MOVING. THE 911 DISPATCHER INSTRUCTED US TO STAY AWAY FROM THE CAR AND NOT TRY TO PUT THE FIRE OUT DUE TO THE OBVIOUS DANGERS OF A FAST-MOVING CAR FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED WITHIN FIVE MINUTES AND BEGAN PUTTING THE FIRE OUT; HOWEVER, THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS UP TO THE ENGINE, WHICH WAS NOT BURNED. AFTER INSPECTION, THE FIRE DEPARTMENT DEEMED IT A LOSS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. I HAVE CONTACTED VOLVO, BUT THEY HAVE NOT RESPONDED TO ME AS OF YET. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL RECALLS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE, AND WE ARE WORRIED THAT VOLVO MAY HAVE MISSED ONE. FOR THE SAFETY OF OTHERS, I AM REPORTING THIS SAFETY HAZARD. THE CAR REMAINS IN OUR DRIVEWAY AWAITING INSURANCE ADJUSTMENT; HOWEVER, I AM HOPEFUL THAT EITHER VOLVO OR SOMEONE WHO DOES SAFETY INSPECTIONS WOULD CLAIM THE CAR TO INVESTIGATE THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE FURTHER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/20/2012 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLVO S60. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING 55 MPH WHEN THE SMELL OF FUEL EMITTED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 86,635.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/16/2012 - CAMARILLO, CA
MY VOLVO S60 IS BECOMING DIFFICULT TO START AND IS BEGINNING TO SMELL LIKE GASOLINE. I'VE BEEN RESEARCHING ONLINE AND THE PROBLEM APPEARS TO BE THE FUEL FILTER. THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL IN OTHER STATES LIKE ARIZONA AND FLORIDA BUT APPARENTLY VOLVO HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL FOR CARS IN CALIFORNIA. IT IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION TO DRIVE A CAR THAT IS LEAKING FUEL DUE TO A MANUFACTURES DEFECT REGARDLESS OF WHAT STATE YOU LIVE IN. I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST THAT THE NHTSA INSTRUCT VOLVO TO INCLUDE ALL STATES IN THE RECALL OF THE DEFECTIVE FUEL FILTER. PLEASE SEND ME ANY INFORMATION REGARDING THIS REQUEST. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/9/2012 - BETHLEHEM, PA
I'VE HAD MY CAR ALL OF 4 MONTHS AND I STARTED TO NOTICE WHEN IT GOT REALLY HOT OUTSIDE (SUMMER) AND WHEN I WENT TO START MY CAR IT WOULD STALL AS IF IT WAS HAVING A HARD TIME STARTING UP. LONG STORY SHORT I TAKE IT IN TO THE DEALER, THEY RUN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST AN TELL ME THERE IS A CRACK IN MY FUEL PUMP. I CURRENTLY LIVE IN PENNSYLVANIA WHICH IS NOT ONE OF THE STATES LISTED FOR THE FUEL PUMP RECALL. I HIGHLY BELIEVE MY CAR HAD A DEFECTIVE FUEL PUMP BECAUSE IN THE SPRING TIME, WHEN IT WASN'T SO HOT MY CAR WAS RUNNING FINE. THE VOLVO DEALER SHIP CHARGED ME $98.11/HR TO RUN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST WHICH CAME TO $102.83. THEN ON TOP OF THAT THEY CHARGED ME $795 + TAX FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR TO REPLACE MY FUEL PUMP AFTER FINDING THERE WAS A CRACK IN IT. EVERYONE KEEPS TELLING ME THAT MY FUEL PUMP IS NOT ON THE RECALL BUT IT HAS THE SAME EXACT SYMPTOMS AS ALL OTHER VOLVO CARS THAT ARE LISTED ON THE RECALL. I'M TRYING TO RESEARCH HOW I COULD FIND OUT HOW THESE PEOPLE KNOW IF MY FUEL PUMP WAS RECALLED OR NOT. I HAVE TWIN 2 YEAR OLD GIRLS THAT I HAD IN MY CAR ALL A WHILE IT WAS HAVING THIS UNKNOWN ISSUE. THIS IS NOT SAFE AT ALL AND COULD OF CAUSED US HARM. LUCKILY MY FATHER IS CAR SMART AND INFORMED ME WHAT THE POSSIBLE ISSUE COULD BE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/10/2012 - BERWICK, ME
PURCHASED USED S60 IN NOVEMBER 2011 WITH 137,000 MILES. A FEW WEEKS LATER VARIOUS PROBLEMS MANIFESTED: SCRAMBLED LETTERS IN DASHBOARD MESSAGE, DRIVER DOOR LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY WORKED, RADIO SELF TUNED TO DIFFERENT STATION, SPEEDOMETER GIVING FALSE READINGS OR STUCK AT CURRENT SPEED OR READING ZERO, FUEL GAUGE MALFUNCTION, ALL INSTRUMENTS ON PANEL FLICKERED, ALL INSTRUMENTS WENT "DARK" WHILE DRIVING. AT FIRST RESTARTING CAR WOULD CLEAR PROBLEM. THEN FREQUENCY BETWEEN FAILURES INCREASED. JUST BEFORE COMPLETE FAILURE - CAR NEEDED TO BE "COLD" FOR INSTRUMENTS TO WORK - WITH INSTRUMENTS FAILING ONCE ENGINE WARMED. FINALLY IN FEBRUARY 2012 AT ABOUT 147,021 MILES THE PANEL COMPLETELY FAILED WHILE DRIVING - GIVING DRIVER NO READINGS (SPEED, FUEL, TEMP, MILEAGE, OR WARNING INDICATORS) AND WOULD NOT RESET. INTERNET FORUMS OF VOLVO OWNERS SUGGESTED IT WAS A DRIVER INFORMATION MODULE FAILURE. OWNERS FORUMS PINPOINTED 3 PROBABLE CAUSES OF A DIM FAILURE - 1. LOOSE CONNECTION OF THE MOTOROLA MICROCHIP, 2. LOOSE CAPACITOR/RESISTOR 3. LACK OF PROTECTION FROM HEAT/HEAT TRANSFER TO INDIVIDUAL PRONGS IN MICROCHIP OR BETWEEN CAPACITOR/RESISTOR AND THE CIRCUIT BOARD. SOME ELECTRICALLY SAVVY OWNERS FIXED BY REFLOWING/RESOLDERING/HEAT PROTECTING SAID COMPONENTS. OUR LOCAL VOLVO DEALER CONFIRMED DIM FAILURE AND QUOTED APROX. $1500 FOR A NEW INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND 3 HRS. LABOR. WE CHOSE TO SEND DIM/INSTRUMENT CLUSTER OUT FOR A REFURBISHMENT TO BAA REMANUFACTURING INC. ON REINSTALLATION WARNING MESSAGE READ "SRA/AIRBAG-SERVICE URGENT". ASKED DEALER TO CLEAR DIM CODE FIRST, THEN FROM SRS MODULE PER BAA-REMAN INSTRUCTIONS. DEALER JOB DESCRIPTION/RECEIPT STATED THEY CLEARED CODES DIM 0001, 0003, 0005, 0006, E003, SRS 00D4, E003. NO PROBLEMS WITH LOCKS/RADIO/INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SINCE REMANUFACTURE IN THE LAST 10,000 MILES/5 MONTHS. VOLVO'S ORIGINAL DIM CIRCUIT BOARD POORLY DESIGNED/ASSEMBLED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/10/2012 - BERWICK, ME
PURCHASED USED S60 IN NOVEMBER 2011 WITH 137,000 MILES. A FEW WEEKS LATER VARIOUS PROBLEMS MANIFESTED: SCRAMBLED LETTERS IN DASHBOARD MESSAGE, DRIVER DOOR LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY WORKED, RADIO SELF TUNED TO DIFFERENT STATION, SPEEDOMETER GIVING FALSE READINGS OR STUCK AT CURRENT SPEED OR READING ZERO, FUEL GAUGE MALFUNCTION, ALL INSTRUMENTS ON PANEL FLICKERED, ALL INSTRUMENTS WENT "DARK" WHILE DRIVING. AT FIRST RESTARTING CAR WOULD CLEAR PROBLEM. THEN FREQUENCY BETWEEN FAILURES INCREASED. JUST BEFORE COMPLETE FAILURE - CAR NEEDED TO BE "COLD" FOR INSTRUMENTS TO WORK - WITH INSTRUMENTS FAILING ONCE ENGINE WARMED. FINALLY IN FEBRUARY 2012 AT ABOUT 147,021 MILES THE PANEL COMPLETELY FAILED WHILE DRIVING - GIVING DRIVER NO READINGS (SPEED, FUEL, TEMP, MILEAGE, OR WARNING INDICATORS) AND WOULD NOT RESET. INTERNET FORUMS OF VOLVO OWNERS SUGGESTED IT WAS A DRIVER INFORMATION MODULE FAILURE. OWNERS FORUMS PINPOINTED 3 PROBABLE CAUSES OF A DIM FAILURE - 1. LOOSE CONNECTION OF THE MOTOROLA MICROCHIP, 2. LOOSE CAPACITOR/RESISTOR 3. LACK OF PROTECTION FROM HEAT/HEAT TRANSFER TO INDIVIDUAL PRONGS IN MICROCHIP OR BETWEEN CAPACITOR/RESISTOR AND THE CIRCUIT BOARD. SOME ELECTRICALLY SAVVY OWNERS FIXED BY REFLOWING/RESOLDERING/HEAT PROTECTING SAID COMPONENTS. OUR LOCAL VOLVO DEALER CONFIRMED DIM FAILURE AND QUOTED APROX. $1500 FOR A NEW INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND 3 HRS. LABOR. WE CHOSE TO SEND DIM/INSTRUMENT CLUSTER OUT FOR A REFURBISHMENT TO BAA REMANUFACTURING INC. ON REINSTALLATION WARNING MESSAGE READ "SRA/AIRBAG-SERVICE URGENT". ASKED DEALER TO CLEAR DIM CODE FIRST, THEN FROM SRS MODULE PER BAA-REMAN INSTRUCTIONS. DEALER JOB DESCRIPTION/RECEIPT STATED THEY CLEARED CODES DIM 0001, 0003, 0005, 0006, E003, SRS 00D4, E003. NO PROBLEMS WITH LOCKS/RADIO/INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SINCE REMANUFACTURE IN THE LAST 10,000 MILES/5 MONTHS. VOLVO'S ORIGINAL DIM CIRCUIT BOARD POORLY DESIGNED/ASSEMBLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2012 - BERWICK, ME
PURCHASED USED S60 IN NOVEMBER 2011 WITH 137,000 MILES. A FEW WEEKS LATER VARIOUS PROBLEMS MANIFESTED: SCRAMBLED LETTERS IN DASHBOARD MESSAGE, DRIVER DOOR LOCKS INTERMITTENTLY WORKED, RADIO SELF TUNED TO DIFFERENT STATION, SPEEDOMETER GIVING FALSE READINGS OR STUCK AT CURRENT SPEED OR READING ZERO, FUEL GAUGE MALFUNCTION, ALL INSTRUMENTS ON PANEL FLICKERED, ALL INSTRUMENTS WENT "DARK" WHILE DRIVING. AT FIRST RESTARTING CAR WOULD CLEAR PROBLEM. THEN FREQUENCY BETWEEN FAILURES INCREASED. JUST BEFORE COMPLETE FAILURE - CAR NEEDED TO BE "COLD" FOR INSTRUMENTS TO WORK - WITH INSTRUMENTS FAILING ONCE ENGINE WARMED. FINALLY IN FEBRUARY 2012 AT ABOUT 147,021 MILES THE PANEL COMPLETELY FAILED WHILE DRIVING - GIVING DRIVER NO READINGS (SPEED, FUEL, TEMP, MILEAGE, OR WARNING INDICATORS) AND WOULD NOT RESET. INTERNET FORUMS OF VOLVO OWNERS SUGGESTED IT WAS A DRIVER INFORMATION MODULE FAILURE. OWNERS FORUMS PINPOINTED 3 PROBABLE CAUSES OF A DIM FAILURE - 1. LOOSE CONNECTION OF THE MOTOROLA MICROCHIP, 2. LOOSE CAPACITOR/RESISTOR 3. LACK OF PROTECTION FROM HEAT/HEAT TRANSFER TO INDIVIDUAL PRONGS IN MICROCHIP OR BETWEEN CAPACITOR/RESISTOR AND THE CIRCUIT BOARD. SOME ELECTRICALLY SAVVY OWNERS FIXED BY REFLOWING/RESOLDERING/HEAT PROTECTING SAID COMPONENTS. OUR LOCAL VOLVO DEALER CONFIRMED DIM FAILURE AND QUOTED APROX. $1500 FOR A NEW INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND 3 HRS. LABOR. WE CHOSE TO SEND DIM/INSTRUMENT CLUSTER OUT FOR A REFURBISHMENT TO BAA REMANUFACTURING INC. ON REINSTALLATION WARNING MESSAGE READ "SRA/AIRBAG-SERVICE URGENT". ASKED DEALER TO CLEAR DIM CODE FIRST, THEN FROM SRS MODULE PER BAA-REMAN INSTRUCTIONS. DEALER JOB DESCRIPTION/RECEIPT STATED THEY CLEARED CODES DIM 0001, 0003, 0005, 0006, E003, SRS 00D4, E003. NO PROBLEMS WITH LOCKS/RADIO/INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SINCE REMANUFACTURE IN THE LAST 10,000 MILES/5 MONTHS. VOLVO'S ORIGINAL DIM CIRCUIT BOARD POORLY DESIGNED/ASSEMBLED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds