Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2003 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2003 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Electric (3) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (6) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/8/2018 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER AND THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, BUT WAS UNABLE TO ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 149,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2018 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. A DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 149,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/11/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, VEHICLE WILL NOT PASS EMISSIONS TESTING. AUDI DETERMINED THAT IT WAS DUE TO A FUEL LEAK FROM A CRACK IN THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR ROLLOVER VALVE. VEHICLE HAD BEEN RECALLED IN PAST FOR SIMILAR ISSUE (PERFORMED). TANK HAS 4 ROLLOVER VALVES, ONLY ONE (FRONT DRIVER) INCLUDED IN PRIOR RECALL. INITIAL QUOTED $3,300 TO REPLACE TANK. AUDI OFFERED TO PAY FOR REPLACEMENT TANK WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ~$600 (REPAIR ORDER ATTACHED). REPAIR COMPLETED ON 2/23/2017, CAR PASSES STATE INSPECTION. AS YOU CAN SEE BY THE "STAINING" IN THE ATTACHED PHOTO, THE LEAK WAS SIGNIFICANT DEALER THEN CALLS TO SAY THAT CAR NEEDS TO BE RETURNED TO PERFORM PRIOR RECALL ON THE NEWLY INSTALLED TANK. RECALL TO BE PERFORMED ON ONLY THE ONE ROLLOVER VALVE (DRIVER FRONT) THAT CAN BE ACCESSED WITH OUT REMOVING FUEL TANK. NOT THE VALVE THAT WAS LEAKING AND NECESSITATED THE REPLACEMENT. I REQUESTED THAT AUDI PERFORM RECALL ON ALL 4 ROLLOVER VALVES AS THEY INSTALLED A KNOWINGLY DEFECTIVE PART AND THE RISK OF ANOTHER CRACK/LEAK EXISTS. DEALER SAYS AUDI REFUSES. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL CALLS TO BOTH DEALER AND AUDI WITH NO RESPONSE FROM AUDI BEYOND A CONVERSATION WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BACK ON 5/08/2017. EMAILED DEALER ON 5/11/2017 (ATTACHED PDF) WITH MY REQUEST (AGAIN), AND HAVE RECEIVED NO CONTACT FROM AUDI. RETURNING CAR TO DEALER FOR RECALL ON THE ONE ROLLOVER VALVE ON 7/12/17. AUDI IS PUTTING THIS CAR BACK ON THE ROAD WITH THE STRONG POTENTIAL OF A FUEL LEAK.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2017 - CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO
I WAS DRIVING IN LIGHT RAIN AND SAW A SMALL PUDDLE OF WATER AHEAD SO I SLOWED DOWN AND WENT THROUGH IT AT 10MPH, ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP AND IS STUCK GOING RIGHT, GRINDING NOISE CAME FROM THE FRONT DRIVERS WHEEL. I SOMEHOW MANAGED TO GET THE VEHICAL TO A FIRE STATION AND PARK IT THERE AFTER 30M AND ONLY GOING 20FT THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN WHILE I'M PRESSING THE GAS PEDDLE THE HORRIBLE GRINDING NOISE COMES BACK AND THE CAR GOES NO WHERE IN DRIVE OR REVERSE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/12/2017 - CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO
I WAS DRIVING IN LIGHT RAIN AND SAW A SMALL PUDDLE OF WATER AHEAD SO I SLOWED DOWN AND WENT THROUGH IT AT 10MPH, ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP AND IS STUCK GOING RIGHT, GRINDING NOISE CAME FROM THE FRONT DRIVERS WHEEL. I SOMEHOW MANAGED TO GET THE VEHICAL TO A FIRE STATION AND PARK IT THERE AFTER 30M AND ONLY GOING 20FT THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN WHILE I'M PRESSING THE GAS PEDDLE THE HORRIBLE GRINDING NOISE COMES BACK AND THE CAR GOES NO WHERE IN DRIVE OR REVERSE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/2/2017 - CORONA, CA
SUNROOF EXPLODED WHILE TRAVELING ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/30/2016 - CARMI, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED A PUDDLE OF FUEL IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROLLOVER VALVE HAD A CRACK, CAUSING THE FUEL TANK TO LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER A RECALL, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE RECALL INFORMATION WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

10/17/2014 - MUNITH, MI
I HAVE 2003 AUDI A6 QUATTRO 4.2 L. I HAD IN SHOP FOR REAR BRAKES AND MECHANIC NOTED FUEL LEAKING/DRIPPING FROM FRONT DRIVERS SIDE OF PLASTIC FUEL TANK. I DID INTERNET SEARCH AND FOUND RECALL CAMPAIGN 11V267000 AND MANY COMPLAINTS REGARDING SIMILAR LEAKS. I VERIFIED MANUFACTURE DATE 4/3/(2002 OR 2003?) FROM VEHICLE WHICH FALLS IN WINDOW COVERED BY RECALL OF UNITS MANUFACTURED BETWEEN JUNE 19, 2001 THROUGH JUNE 8, 2004. I CONTACTED AUDI AMERICA AND EVENTUALLY SPOKE WITH XXXX AT [XXX]. SHE ASSURED ME THAT MY CAR WAS EITHER NOT SUBJECT TO THE RECALL OR HAD BEEN FIXED. I TOLD HER I WAS THE OWNER OF THE CAR AT THE TIME OF THE RECALL ( MAY 2011) AND MY CAR HAD NOT BEEN FIXED. SHE ROBOTICALLY REPEATED THAT MY CAR HAD EITHER BEEN FIXED OR NOT PART OF THE RECALL. I ASKED HER TO VERIFY THAT IT HAD BEEN FIXED AND SHE SAID THEY HAVE NO RECORDS TO SHOW THAT. SHE SAID I COULD CONTACT THE DEALER THAT ORIGINALLY SOLD THE CAR. I SAID WHY WOULD A DEALER IN WISCONSIN WHO SOLD THE CAR IN 2003 HAVE ANY RECORDS REGARDING A RECALL ISSUED IN 20011 WHEN I OWNED THE CAR? SHE WAS SILENT. I ASKED FOR A LIST OF ALL VINS IN THE RECALL. SHE SAID SHE COULD NOT GIVE ME THAT. SHE AGREED TO SEND ME A "RANGE" OF AFFECTED VIN'S. SHE SAID THEY MIGHT BE ABLE TO HELP ME OUT BUT I NEED TO HAVE AND EVALUATION DONE AT MY EXPENSE AT AN AUDI DEALER TO DETERMINE WHAT IS WRONG. I SAID I KNOW WHAT IS WRING, IT IS LEAKING GAS FROM THE ROLLOVER VALVE CONNECTION ON THE TANK AND REPORTED ALL OVER THE INTERNET IN AUDI FORUMS ETC. I HAVE MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH AUDI FOR 31 OCTOBER MIN 1 HR LABOR AT $110/HR TO EVALUATE MY LEAK. THIS RECALL NEEDS TO BE ENFORCED AND AUDI NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR EVASIVE RESPONSES. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/10/2014 - SUFFIELD, CT
FAILED CT EMISSIONS TEST. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. CONFIRMED CODE TO BE P0741. INFORMED BY AUTHORIZED TECHNICIAN THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER REQUIRES REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - SUFFIELD, CT
FAILED CT EMISSIONS TEST. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. CONFIRMED CODE TO BE P0741. INFORMED BY AUTHORIZED TECHNICIAN THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER REQUIRES REPLACEMENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds