Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2003 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2003 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Electric (3) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (6) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/25/2014 - JEFFERSON HILLS, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO RESET THE CODES BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT THE ENGINE MOUNT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, SMOKE STARTED TO EMIT FROM THE ENGINE COMPLARTMENT. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FIRE HAD CONSUMED AND BURNED THROUGH THE HOOD AROUND TO THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. NO INJURIES HAD BEEN SUSTAINED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 11V267000 (FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER), NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 07V375000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V157000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT WAS AWAITING AN INSURANCE ADJUSTOR TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,434. UPDATED 08/25/14 UPDATED 09/5/2014

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2013 - COLLEGE PARK, GA
ON MAY 3, 2013, I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 10MPH. SUDDENLY, I BEGAN SMELLING SMOKE. I THOUGHT THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM NEARBY TRUCKS. HOWEVER, SOON AFTER, SMOKE WAS PROFUSELY COMING THROUGH MY GLOVE COMPARTMENT. I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF, AND EXITED THE CAR. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER, THIS VEHICLE ENGULFED IN FLAMES, BEGINNING WITH THE HOOD! THE WIND SHIELD THEN SHATTERED APPROXIMATELY 3 MINUTES LATER. BY THIS TIME, THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND BATTLED THE FIRE APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. THERE WAS NO PREVIOUS SIGN THAT CAR SERVICE WAS NECESSARY. FURTHERMORE, ACCORDING TO THE DEALER AND DMV, 3 MONTHS AGO, THERE WAS A CLEAN EMISSIONS AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2013 - COLLEGE PARK, GA
ON MAY 3, 2013, I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 10MPH. SUDDENLY, I BEGAN SMELLING SMOKE. I THOUGHT THE SMOKE WAS COMING FROM NEARBY TRUCKS. HOWEVER, SOON AFTER, SMOKE WAS PROFUSELY COMING THROUGH MY GLOVE COMPARTMENT. I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF, AND EXITED THE CAR. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER, THIS VEHICLE ENGULFED IN FLAMES, BEGINNING WITH THE HOOD! THE WIND SHIELD THEN SHATTERED APPROXIMATELY 3 MINUTES LATER. BY THIS TIME, THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND BATTLED THE FIRE APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. THERE WAS NO PREVIOUS SIGN THAT CAR SERVICE WAS NECESSARY. FURTHERMORE, ACCORDING TO THE DEALER AND DMV, 3 MONTHS AGO, THERE WAS A CLEAN EMISSIONS AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/9/2012 - GLENDALE, NY
CAR BRAKE LIGHTS ARE ON ALL THE TIME AND IT REVES ALL THE TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/26/2012 - BISMARCK, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6 2.7 QUATTRO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING 20 MPH THE ABS SYSTEM ACTIVATED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO VEER TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 90,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2012 - EL PASO, TX
TRANSMISSION STARTED TO SHUDDER AND SOMETIMES THE TRANSMISSION DOES NOT GOES TO NEUTRAL WHEN THE CAR IS STOPPED, ENGINE REVS AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO STOP. PRND DISPLAY ON DASHBOARD IS BLINKING. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. FAULT CODE SHOWS FAILURE ON TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/26/2012 - ALABASTER, AL
FILLING THANK MORE THAN 2 QUARTERS WILL START SPILLING GAS, THE FUMES ARE COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE GAS THANK, DRIVER SIDE, UNDER THE REAR SEAT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

12/20/2011 - KENT WOOD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 55 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHUDDER DECELERATED ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 07V375000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP) BUT WAS ADVISED BY THE DEALER THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000. ...UPDATE 01/20/12 UPDATED 02/03/12

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/20/2011 - KENTWOOD, MI
ON DECEMBER 18, 2011 I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND MY VEHICLE STALLED. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO THE LOCAL AUDI DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT NEEDED A NEW FUEL PUMP. I CONDUCTED AN INTERNET SEARCH AND DISCOVERED THAT MY AUDI HAD BEEN PART OF A RECALL AND I ASKED THE LOCAL DEALER IF THE RECALL REPAIR HAD EVER BEEN CONDUCTED, THEY TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF A RECALL. THEY TOLD ME THAT ONLY AUDI A-4'S WERE PART OF THE RECALL. HOWEVER, THE NHTSA WEBSITE SHOWS A LETTER DATED JULY 23, 2007 SENT FROM VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC. (PARENT COMPANY OF AUDI OF AMERICA, INC.) TO [XXX] OF NHTSA NOTIFYING NHTSA THAT VW OF AMERICA IS RECALLING AND REPLACING FUEL PUMPS ON VW PASSAT'S, AUDI A-4'S AND AUDI A-6'S, ADDITIONALLY, THE LETTER LISTED A RANGE OF VIN'S FOR EFFECTED AUDI A6'S THAT INCLUDED MY VIN. IN THE AFOREMENTIONED LETTER, VW OF AMERICA TOLD NHTSA THAT -++ANY SUBJECT VEHICLE THAT IS PRESENTED FOR SERVICE TO AN AUTHORIZED VOLKSWAGEN/AUDI DEALER WILL BE REPAIRED FREE OF CHARGE. COULD SOMEONE PLEASE ASSIST ME IN CAUSING VW OF AMERICA TO DO WHAT THEY TOLD NHTSA THEY WERE GOING TO DO? VW OF AMERICA NEVER NOTIFIED ME OF THE SAFETY ISSUE OR OF THE RECALL, AND WHEN I PRESENTED THIS INFORMATION TO THE DEALER THEY STILL REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. AUDI ENDANGERED ME AND LIKELY OTHER CONSUMERS BY NEVER INFORMING US OF THE RECALL AND I HAVE BEEN FORCED TO PAY OVER $500 TO REPAIR A PART THAT WAS PART OF A RECALL AND WOULD BE REPAIRED FREE OF CHARGE. COULD YOU PLEASE ASSIST ME IN COLLECTING MY FUNDS FROM AUDI? ADDITIONALLY, I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD BE SUBJECT TO SIGNIFICANT PENALTIES AND FINES FOR DECEIVING NHTSA. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/12/2011 - NASHVILLE, TN
BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH FAILURE. HAD IT FIXED, BUT THE PROBLEMS SEEMS TO BE NOT IN THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH ITSELF, BUT THE WIRING OR SOCKETS TO THE SWITCH. USED SAME SWITCH, BUT SOON AS CAR IS TURNED OFF AND TURNED BACK ON, SWITCH TENDS TO WORK ONLY FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS AND ABS SYSTEM SHOWS UP AGAIN WITH NO BRAKES LIGHTS AT ALL. TOOK TO AUDI DEALER IN WHICH THEY SAID THAT THERE HAS BEEN MANY PROBLEMS WITHIN THIS SYSTEM. BUT TO TOTALLY FIX THE PROBLEM WOULD RUN ANYWHERE FROM 700.00 TO 1200 DOLLARS ON A 35.00 TO 45.00 PART. NO BRAKES COULD LEAD TO SERIOUS ACCIDENTS NOT KNOWING THAT YOUR BRAKES LIGHTS ARE ACTUALLY OUT. PLEASE PLEASE RECALL THIS ISSUE ON ALL AUDI'S.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds