Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2003 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2003 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Electric (3) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (6) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

6/2/2011 - TORRINGTON, CA
FAULTY ABS MODULE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2011 - LUSBY, MD
2003 A6 QUATTRO AVANT 3.0 CAR RAN FINE DRIVING TO WORK. WHEN LEAVING AT END OF DAY, STARTED CAR AND IT RAN VERY ROUGH I DECIDED TO REVERSE BACK INTO PARKING SPACE AND AT THAT POINT NOTED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER HOOD (CAR HAD RUN FOR APPROXIMATELY 20 SECONDS). TURNED OFF ENGINE, OPENED HOOD, AND FOUND THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR COIL PACK BURNING. EXTINGUISHED FLAME USING A BASEBALL CAP TO SMOTHER IT OUT. COIL PACK CONTINUED TO SMOKE AND REIGNITE DUE TO BURNING INSIDE COIL PACK. JAMMED SCREWDRIVER INTO PACK TO ROOT OUT FLAME. HAD CAR TOWED TO AUDI DEALER - AWAITING REPAIR. THERE IS AN ACTIVE RECALL CAMPAIGN FOR BAD COIL PACKS (28F2 / J1) - RECALL STATES CHECK ENGINE LIGHT MAY COME ON AND CAR WILL RUN ROUGH, FURTHER RECOMMENDS RETURING VEHICLE TO DEALER AT THAT TIME. THERE IS APPARENTLY TWO WAYS THE PACK CAN FAIL - A FAULT ON THE HIGH VOLTAGE END JUST BYPASSES THE SPARK TO THE ENGINE BLOCK CAUSING A MISFIRE. A FAULT AT THE LOW VOLTAGE END RESULTS IN A SHORT AND MOST LIKELY A FIRE. THIS POTENTIAL FOR FIRE IS UNDERSTATED BY AUDI AND SHOUD BE CLEARLY IDENTIFIED IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN TO ENSURE THE RIGHT URGENCY IS PLACED ON THIS ISSUE. THE FACT IS, I WAS ABLE TO REACT AND EXTIGUISH THE FIRE, HAD THIS OCCURED IN OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES THE CAR WOULD MOST LIKELY HAVE COMPLETELY BURNED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

1/19/2011 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
JANUARY 15, 2011 RE: DEFECTIVE INVESTIGATION PE08008 AUDI 2003 A6 LEAKING FUEL FROM GAS TANK ASSEMBLY ATTACHED, PLEASE FIND EVIDENCE I REPORTED MY FUEL TANK LEAKED FUEL TO A LOS ANGELES AUDI DEALER. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2006 WITH 66,000 MILES AND REMAINS WITH NO DAMAGE HISTORY. IN 2008, FUEL BEGAN DRIPPING AT THE LOWER DRIVER SIDE VACUUM NIPPLE FLANGE WHICH SHIFTED OFF THE RIM OF THE FUEL TANK. WHEN THE TANK WAS FILLED PASSED HALF FULL, IT WOULD DRIP ONTO THE GROUND. THERE IS A VALID RECALL FOR MOST 2003 SEDAN MODELS AND THE 4.2L OFF-ROAD QUATTRO. THIS MODEL IS A 2003 SEDAN WITH THE 4.2L ENGINE SIZE AND SHOULD CERTAINLY BE INCLUDED IN THESE TWO RELATED RECALLS. DUE TO NO FAULT OF MY OWN, THE NATURE AND SEVERITY OF THE DEFECT, I QUESTIONED THE PROBLEM WAS A MANUFACTURES DEFECT WARRANTING REPAIR AND POTENTIAL RECALL. THEY DISAGREED, SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND QUOTED ME A REPAIR. VALENTINE ASSERTED THE CONDITION WAS NOTED TO MY VIN IN THEIR SYSTEM. LATER THAT YEAR, LA AUDI MADE DIFFERENT REPAIRS AND THE FUEL LEAK CONDITION WAS AGAIN PUT ON THE WORK ORDER. FINALLY IN JUNE 2010, A NEIGHBOR WROTE NOTE THE CAR WAS LEAKING FUEL. IT TANK WAS POURING FUEL AFTER FILLING TO THE THREE-QUARTERS MARK AND PARKING IN OUR SUBTERRANEAN PARKING GARAGE. REPAIR COULD NOT BE AVOIDED. BASED ON LA AUDI+S POSITION, A LOCAL MECHANIC REPLACED THE ENTIRE TANK WITH A SALVAGE ONE HE FOUND. ATTACHED ARE PHOTOS, WORK REPAIR ORDERS, A HAZARD NOTE FROM NEIGHBOR OF THE FUEL LEAK, AND SIGNED DECLARATION THESE ITEM AS AUTHENTIC AND ALL ASSERTIONS ABOVE ARE TRUTHFUL. I APPRECIATE ASSISTANCE OBTAINING RECOVERY FROM AUDI FOR THE REPAIRS AS THEY REFUSED TO WHEN PRESENTED TWICE. YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER IS APPRECIATED. UPDATED PORTABLE 02/18/11

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/19/2011 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
JANUARY 15, 2011 RE: DEFECTIVE INVESTIGATION PE08008 AUDI 2003 A6 LEAKING FUEL FROM GAS TANK ASSEMBLY ATTACHED, PLEASE FIND EVIDENCE I REPORTED MY FUEL TANK LEAKED FUEL TO A LOS ANGELES AUDI DEALER. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2006 WITH 66,000 MILES AND REMAINS WITH NO DAMAGE HISTORY. IN 2008, FUEL BEGAN DRIPPING AT THE LOWER DRIVER SIDE VACUUM NIPPLE FLANGE WHICH SHIFTED OFF THE RIM OF THE FUEL TANK. WHEN THE TANK WAS FILLED PASSED HALF FULL, IT WOULD DRIP ONTO THE GROUND. THERE IS A VALID RECALL FOR MOST 2003 SEDAN MODELS AND THE 4.2L OFF-ROAD QUATTRO. THIS MODEL IS A 2003 SEDAN WITH THE 4.2L ENGINE SIZE AND SHOULD CERTAINLY BE INCLUDED IN THESE TWO RELATED RECALLS. DUE TO NO FAULT OF MY OWN, THE NATURE AND SEVERITY OF THE DEFECT, I QUESTIONED THE PROBLEM WAS A MANUFACTURES DEFECT WARRANTING REPAIR AND POTENTIAL RECALL. THEY DISAGREED, SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND QUOTED ME A REPAIR. VALENTINE ASSERTED THE CONDITION WAS NOTED TO MY VIN IN THEIR SYSTEM. LATER THAT YEAR, LA AUDI MADE DIFFERENT REPAIRS AND THE FUEL LEAK CONDITION WAS AGAIN PUT ON THE WORK ORDER. FINALLY IN JUNE 2010, A NEIGHBOR WROTE NOTE THE CAR WAS LEAKING FUEL. IT TANK WAS POURING FUEL AFTER FILLING TO THE THREE-QUARTERS MARK AND PARKING IN OUR SUBTERRANEAN PARKING GARAGE. REPAIR COULD NOT BE AVOIDED. BASED ON LA AUDI+S POSITION, A LOCAL MECHANIC REPLACED THE ENTIRE TANK WITH A SALVAGE ONE HE FOUND. ATTACHED ARE PHOTOS, WORK REPAIR ORDERS, A HAZARD NOTE FROM NEIGHBOR OF THE FUEL LEAK, AND SIGNED DECLARATION THESE ITEM AS AUTHENTIC AND ALL ASSERTIONS ABOVE ARE TRUTHFUL. I APPRECIATE ASSISTANCE OBTAINING RECOVERY FROM AUDI FOR THE REPAIRS AS THEY REFUSED TO WHEN PRESENTED TWICE. YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER IS APPRECIATED. UPDATED PORTABLE 02/18/11

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/3/2010 - BENSALEM, PA
I OWN A 2003 AUDI A6 QUATTRO 4.2L WHICH I BOUGHT USED AND HAVE DRIVEN IT SINCE 2004. ON OCTOBER 27, 2010 I STARTED SMELLING GAS AND AFTER CHECKING FOUND A LEAK AT THE BASE OF THE GAS TANK. I CHECKED THE WEB AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHER SUB-MODELS. I CALLED AUDI USA WHO CONTACTED A DEALER I CHOSE TO FIX THE PROBLEM. BUT THE DEALER IS SAYING THAT ALTHOUGH THE RECALL PROBLEM EXISTS IT IS DUE TO AN ACCIDENT WHICH HAPPENED 6 OR 7 YEARS AGO. I THINK THIS IS NOT FAIR. THANK YOU VIN [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/5/2010 - CAMARILLO, CA
I HAVE LOCKED MY BRAKES AND HAD A NEAR ACCIDENT. MY ABS AND ESP HAS STOPPED WORKING ON MY 2003 AUDI A6. I WAS TOLD THE ABS CONTROL UNITS ARE KNOWN TO GO BAD, AND WILL COST OVER A $1000 TO FIX. I CANNOT AFFORD TO FIX. IF THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM, SHOULDN'T AUDI BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS DUE TO FAILURE, AND SHOULD THERE BE A RECALL?

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/5/2010 - CAMARILLO, CA
I HAVE LOCKED MY BRAKES AND HAD A NEAR ACCIDENT. MY ABS AND ESP HAS STOPPED WORKING ON MY 2003 AUDI A6. I WAS TOLD THE ABS CONTROL UNITS ARE KNOWN TO GO BAD, AND WILL COST OVER A $1000 TO FIX. I CANNOT AFFORD TO FIX. IF THIS IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM, SHOULDN'T AUDI BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS DUE TO FAILURE, AND SHOULD THERE BE A RECALL?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

6/16/2010 - BRATTLEBORO, VT
2003 AUDI A6. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO FUEL LEVEL SENSOR DAMAGED DUE TO RECALL REPAIR THE CONSUMER STATED HE COMPLIED WITH THE RECALL AND TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE AUDI DEALER. THE DEALER FILLED THE GAS TANK; IN ACCORD WITH THE LETTER FROM AUDI. UNFORTUNATELY, AS THE CONSUMER DROVE THE 70 MILES BACK HOME, THE FUEL LEVEL DECREASED TO LESS THAT 1/4 AND THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. SINCE THEN, THE WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND GOES OFF WITHOUT REGARD TO HOW MUCH FUEL IS IN THE TANK. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED HE SMELLED GASOLINE PARTICULARLY IN THE MORNING TIME WHEN HE WENT TO HIS GARAGE. HE STATED HE WAS NOT ABLE TO RELY ON THE FUEL GAUGE BECAUSE IT SOMETIMES SHOWED FULL WHEN IT WAS LESS THAN 1/4 OF A TANK. THE CONSUMER STATED HE HAS RAN OUT OF GAS TWICE, ON A COUNTRY ROAD IN MID-WINTER. AFTER MAKING DOZENS OF FRUSTRATING CALLS TO AUDI, THEY FINALLY ARRANGED TO HAVE THE PROBLEM LOOKED AT. THE DEALER STATED THEY DIDN'T HAVE THE PART THEY NEEDED TO REPAIR THE DEFECT AND THEY WOULD CALL WHEN THE PART ARRIVED. THEY ESTIMATED THE REPAIR AT $483.64. THE CONSUMER STATED HE STILL HAS NOT HEARD FROM THE DEALER. THE CONSUMER STATED HE TOOK HIS VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WITH NO FUEL GAUGE PROBLEMS AND IT WAS RETURNED TO HIM WITH PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/9/2010 - TUXEDO, NY
2003 AUDI A6. CONSUMER SEEKS REPLY FOR REQUEST FOR REIMBURSEMENT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A NEARBY REPUTABLE MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE IGNITION COIL. THE CONSUMER IS SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT, SINCE AUDI ISSUED A VOLUNTARY CAMPAIGN STATING THEY WOULD REPLACE FOR FREE IF NEEDED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/3/2010 - SAGAMORE HILLS, OH
BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE STOPPED WORKING. ALONG WITH ABS, TRACTION & STABILITY CONTROL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds