Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2003 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2003 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (11) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes Electric (3) Suspension (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (6) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2008 - PARSIPPANY, NJ
2003 AUDI A6 HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT, SMOKING, AND LITTLE TO NO ACCELERATION. CONSUMER STATES THAT AFTER A FEW REPAIRS THE PROBLEM IS NOT SOLVED AND WANTS TO BE REFUNDED HER MONEY. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE #1 AND #3 COIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONSUMER DROVE LESS THAN A MILE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON BLINKING AND THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING VERY HARD. WHEN THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER, THEY DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AGAIN, THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD THE #6 IGNITION COIL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. BECAUSE NO ONE EVER TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE WHEN IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE FIXED THE FIRST TIME, THE DEALER REPLACED THE #6 COIL FOR FREE. THE CONSUMER LEFT THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN ONLY TO HAVE THE ENGINE LIGHT COME AGAIN, BUT IT WASN'T BLINKING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AND STATED IT WAS THE TORQUE CONVERTER CLUTCH CIRCUIT PERFORMANCE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/24/2008 - DARIEN, CT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 AUDI A6. APPROXIMATELY ONE YEAR AGO, THE CONTACT SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE WHENEVER HE PLACED FUEL IN THE VEHICLE. HE ALSO NOTICED FUEL LEAKING ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. HE ASSUMED THAT HE WAS PLACING TOO MUCH FUEL INTO THE VEHICLE. IN THE BEGINNING OF JUNE OF 2008, THE CONTACT MADE SURE TO FILL THE VEHICLE TO THE CORRECT AMOUNT TO AVOID ANY FUEL LEAKAGE. WITHIN HALF AN HOUR OF PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT SMELLED A STRONG GASOLINE ODOR AND NOTICED A MUCH LARGER PUDDLE OF GASOLINE UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. HE CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS ADVISED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT REFUSED AND DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. A DIAGNOSIS WAS PERFORMED AND THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS A CRACK IN THE CHECK VALVE OF THE FUEL TANK THAT COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE ENTIRE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT PROCEEDED WITH THE REPAIRS, WHICH WERE COMPLETED WITHIN A WEEK. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 40,000. UPDATED 07/16/08. UPDATED 07/16/08

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2008 - CRESSKILL, NJ
I WAS DRIVING MY 2003 AUDI A6 3.0 QUATTRO ON THURSDAY 04/03/2008 AROUND 10:30PM. I WAS TRAVELING 25MPH ON SYLVAN AVENUE IN ENGLEWOOD CLIFFS, NJ THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON MY DASH BOARD AND STARTED FLASHING, I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM, WHEN I PULLED OVER I SAW SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD OF MY CAR. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED OF THE VEHICLE AND POPPED THE HOOD TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON... I POPPED THE HOOD TO FIND THE IGNITION COIL ON THE THIRD CYLINDER (BACK LEFT CYLINDER) HAD STARTED ON FIRE WITH ABOUT 12INCHES OF FLAMES. THANK GOD THIS ALL HAPPENED I ABOUT 30 SECONDS AND I WAS ABLE TO GET THE FIRE OUT, OTHERWISE THE WHOLE CAR WOULD HAVE BURNED TO THE GROUND. IF I WAS STUCK IN TRAFFIC OR ON THE HIGHWAY THIS CAR WOULD HAVE MOST DEFINITELY BURNED TO THE GROUND. I FEEL VERY LUCKY MY TWO YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS NOT IN THE CAR WITH ME. NEVERTHELESS, THE IGNITION COIL IS COMPLETELY MELTED AS WELL AS THE WIRING HARNESS. I ALWAYS HAVE DONE ALL THE MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDATIONS ON THE VEHICLE AND THE CAR WAS JUST AT THE DEALER SERVICE CENTER ON 04/01/2008 FOR MAINTENANCE, I HAD THEM LOOK OVER THE WHOLE CAR AND THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS FINE. AFTER SPEAKING TO SERVICE TECHNICIANS AT AUDI I HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE A COMMONLY RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THEIR IGNITION COILS, SPECIFICALLY PERTAINING TO THE THIRD CYLINDER, THEY CLAIM IT OVERHEATS BECAUSE THE DESIGN IS TO CLOSE TO THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. ALL I KNOW IS SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE, I HAVE PICTURES OF THE DAMAGE WHERE YOU CAN CLEARLY SEE SOME TYPE OF ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION THAT I WOULD BE MORE THEN WILLING TO SHARE. PLEASE SOMEONE DO SOMETHING BEFORE A LIFE IS LOST FROM THIS MANUFACTURER ERROR.!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

4/5/2008 - CRESSKILL, NJ
I WAS DRIVING MY 2003 AUDI A6 3.0 QUATTRO ON THURSDAY 04/03/2008 AROUND 10:30PM. I WAS TRAVELING 25MPH ON SYLVAN AVENUE IN ENGLEWOOD CLIFFS, NJ THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON MY DASH BOARD AND STARTED FLASHING, I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM, WHEN I PULLED OVER I SAW SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD OF MY CAR. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED OF THE VEHICLE AND POPPED THE HOOD TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON... I POPPED THE HOOD TO FIND THE IGNITION COIL ON THE THIRD CYLINDER (BACK LEFT CYLINDER) HAD STARTED ON FIRE WITH ABOUT 12INCHES OF FLAMES. THANK GOD THIS ALL HAPPENED I ABOUT 30 SECONDS AND I WAS ABLE TO GET THE FIRE OUT, OTHERWISE THE WHOLE CAR WOULD HAVE BURNED TO THE GROUND. IF I WAS STUCK IN TRAFFIC OR ON THE HIGHWAY THIS CAR WOULD HAVE MOST DEFINITELY BURNED TO THE GROUND. I FEEL VERY LUCKY MY TWO YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS NOT IN THE CAR WITH ME. NEVERTHELESS, THE IGNITION COIL IS COMPLETELY MELTED AS WELL AS THE WIRING HARNESS. I ALWAYS HAVE DONE ALL THE MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDATIONS ON THE VEHICLE AND THE CAR WAS JUST AT THE DEALER SERVICE CENTER ON 04/01/2008 FOR MAINTENANCE, I HAD THEM LOOK OVER THE WHOLE CAR AND THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS FINE. AFTER SPEAKING TO SERVICE TECHNICIANS AT AUDI I HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE A COMMONLY RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THEIR IGNITION COILS, SPECIFICALLY PERTAINING TO THE THIRD CYLINDER, THEY CLAIM IT OVERHEATS BECAUSE THE DESIGN IS TO CLOSE TO THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. ALL I KNOW IS SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE, I HAVE PICTURES OF THE DAMAGE WHERE YOU CAN CLEARLY SEE SOME TYPE OF ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION THAT I WOULD BE MORE THEN WILLING TO SHARE. PLEASE SOMEONE DO SOMETHING BEFORE A LIFE IS LOST FROM THIS MANUFACTURER ERROR.!!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

11/6/2007 - PASADENA, CA
WITH NO INCIDENT TO MY AUDI (ACCIDENT, IMPACT, DIS-REPAIR) FUEL AND GAS FUMES LEAK. VEHICLE NOW SPILLS FUEL/FUMES WHEN TANK IS FULL TO 3/4. VISUAL INSPECTION SHOWS FUEL STAINS STARTING FROM THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK ON THE DRIVER SIDE JUST UNDER THE REAR SEAT. VEHICLE IS NOW NOT BEING DRIVEN TO DETERMINE WHAT IS THE BEST COURSE OF ACTION FOR REPAIR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

8/23/2006 - SARASOTA, FL
FUEL PUMP FAILURE & VEHICLE TOTALLY & IMMEDIATELY DISABLED.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

7/25/2006 - NEW YORK, NY
2003 AUDI A6 HAD FOUR TIRES REPLACED DUE TO CRACKING OF THE SIDEWALL. ***** THE CONSUMER BELIEVES THAT WHEN TOUCHING THE CURB WHILE PARKING, THE SIDEWALL BEING SO THIN AND LOW PROFILE, SIMPLY CRACK, FAIL AND PUNCTURE. THE SIDEWALLS CANNOT BE FIXED. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED FOUR TIMES IN THE LAST TWO YEARS. (PIRELLI P6 FOUR SEASON LOW PROFILES TIRES).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

2/27/2006 - DANBURY, CT
MY 2003 A6 AUDI QUATTRO "DIED" WHILE IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC ON AN INTERSTATE HWAY. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THIS WAS DUE TO FUEL PUMP FAILURE. VIN # NOT PART OF RECENT FUEL PUMP RECALL BY MANUFACTURER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/9/2006 - GLASTONBURY, CT
FAULTY IGNITION COILS (SO FAR 3 OUT OF 6 CYLINDERS WENT BAD). ON THREE OCCASIONS AFTER STARTING AND PUTTING THE CAR INTO THE GEAR, SHAKING ENSUED AND THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT TURNED ON. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED EACH TIME TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAULTY PARTS WERE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

2/9/2006 - GLASTONBURY, CT
FAULTY IGNITION COILS (SO FAR 3 OUT OF 6 CYLINDERS WENT BAD). ON THREE OCCASIONS AFTER STARTING AND PUTTING THE CAR INTO THE GEAR, SHAKING ENSUED AND THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT TURNED ON. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED EACH TIME TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAULTY PARTS WERE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds