Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 745LI - 2003 BMW 745LI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2003 BMW 745LI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 BMW 745LI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 BMW 745LI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - GREENVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE CHIME SOUNDED THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON THE SECOND ATTEMPT. AFTER RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745L. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STARTING THE IGNITION, THE AIR BAG PASSENGER RESTRAINT WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S RESTRAINT MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE 2006 BMW 745LI MODEL VEHICLE BUT NOT THE 2003 MODEL (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:13V564000: AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2014 - LINCOLN, CA
IN 2011 ROSEVILLE BMW BEGAN WORK ON A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE (RECALL CAMPAIGN 10V- 446.) THE FIRST STEP OF THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED BUT DUE TO A ?VISUAL INSPECTION? IT WAS DEEMED THAT THE REMAINING STEPS WERE NOT NECESSARY. ACCORDING THE RECALL NOTICES THEY DID NOT PROPERLY PERFORM THE RECALL AND WITHIN 18 MONTHS THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND PUMP BEGAN TO FAIL, WHICH CAUSED THE POWER ASSIST BRAKING TO BE INOPERABLE. AFTER BRINGING IT TO 2 BMW TECHNICIANS AND THE ROSEVILLE BMW DEALERSHIP IT HAS BEEN CONSISTENTLY DEEMED THAT THE PROBLEM IS THE EXACT SAME RESULT OF THE RECALL WITH THE SAME CAUSE. IN FACT, NO ONE HAS DENIED THAT THE PROBLEM I AM NOW EXPERIENCING IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE RECALL PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP AND BMW HAVE BEEN UNABLE OR UNWILLING TO GET APPROVAL TO FINISH THE RECALL CLAIM SINCE THE WORK WAS ALREADY STARTED. I HAVE NOT BEEN FURNISHED WITH ANY OF THE DETAILS FOR DENIALS AND THUS FAR NEITHER THE DEALERSHIP NOR BMW ARE WILLING TO BE TRANSPARENT ABOUT THE DENIAL DETAILS, OR INITIAL RECALL WORK THAT WAS CONDUCTED (I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THIS WORK AT THE TIME AND THOUGHT THEY JUST REPLACED MY BATTERY, WHICH WAS THE PURPOSE OF THE SERVICE.) IF THIS IS NOT RESOLVED WHAT IS MY NEXT STEP? LEGAL ACTION?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/7/2013 - THE VILLIAGES , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 760LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE EMISSION FILTER AND FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/21/2012 - TALLAHASSE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE SEAT BELTS FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE ALSO COULD NOT BE SHIFTED FROM PARK. THE CONTACT HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE ENGAGED IN NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 171,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/21/2012 - TALLAHASSE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE SEAT BELTS FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE ALSO COULD NOT BE SHIFTED FROM PARK. THE CONTACT HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE ENGAGED IN NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 171,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/21/2012 - TALLAHASSE , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE SEAT BELTS FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE ALSO COULD NOT BE SHIFTED FROM PARK. THE CONTACT HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE ENGAGED IN NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 171,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2012 - RICHMOND, VA
TERRIBLE TRANSMISSION IN THIS CAR!!!WHILE DRIVING, THIS CAR JUMPS INTO GEAR. FEELS LIKE SOMEONE HIT ME FROM BEHIND WHENEVER I STOP. IT ALSO STARTED LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS CAR, I HAVE FOUND OUT THE 745LI MODELS ARE KNOWN FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS,AND LEAKS. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE A RECALL ON IT,BECAUSE APPARENTLY BMW KNOWS THIS,AND HAS DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. THEY SHOULD MAKE CONSUMERS AWARE THEY HAVE ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSIONS. I WENT TO DROP CAR OFF FOR REPAIR,AND THERE WERE 4 OTHER 745LI'S NEEDING SAME REPAIR. BMW SHOULD BE MADE TO RECALL THESE CARS,AND PAY TO HAVE THEM REPAIRED,OR REIMBURSE US IF WE ALREADY HAD THIS FIXED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/16/2012 - RICHMOND, VA
TERRIBLE TRANSMISSION IN THIS CAR!!!WHILE DRIVING, THIS CAR JUMPS INTO GEAR. FEELS LIKE SOMEONE HIT ME FROM BEHIND WHENEVER I STOP. IT ALSO STARTED LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS CAR, I HAVE FOUND OUT THE 745LI MODELS ARE KNOWN FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS,AND LEAKS. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE A RECALL ON IT,BECAUSE APPARENTLY BMW KNOWS THIS,AND HAS DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. THEY SHOULD MAKE CONSUMERS AWARE THEY HAVE ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSIONS. I WENT TO DROP CAR OFF FOR REPAIR,AND THERE WERE 4 OTHER 745LI'S NEEDING SAME REPAIR. BMW SHOULD BE MADE TO RECALL THESE CARS,AND PAY TO HAVE THEM REPAIRED,OR REIMBURSE US IF WE ALREADY HAD THIS FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2012 - RICHMOND, VA
TERRIBLE TRANSMISSION IN THIS CAR!!!WHILE DRIVING, THIS CAR JUMPS INTO GEAR. FEELS LIKE SOMEONE HIT ME FROM BEHIND WHENEVER I STOP. IT ALSO STARTED LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS CAR, I HAVE FOUND OUT THE 745LI MODELS ARE KNOWN FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS,AND LEAKS. THIS CAR SHOULD HAVE A RECALL ON IT,BECAUSE APPARENTLY BMW KNOWS THIS,AND HAS DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. THEY SHOULD MAKE CONSUMERS AWARE THEY HAVE ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSIONS. I WENT TO DROP CAR OFF FOR REPAIR,AND THERE WERE 4 OTHER 745LI'S NEEDING SAME REPAIR. BMW SHOULD BE MADE TO RECALL THESE CARS,AND PAY TO HAVE THEM REPAIRED,OR REIMBURSE US IF WE ALREADY HAD THIS FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds