Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 745LI - 2003 BMW 745LI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2003 BMW 745LI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 BMW 745LI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 BMW 745LI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (6) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/10/2015 - EUGENE, OR
BOUGHT 2003 745LI NEW. MANY PROBLEMS FROM THE START AND OFTEN IN FOR SERVICE. DRIVER SIDE WINDOW MOTOR QUIT WORKING A YEAR AGO. LEARNED THIS IS COMMON WITH OTHER BLOGS AND BMW OWNERS. CURRENT MILES ARE ONLY 70,000. OVER THE PAST YEAR THE ENGINE HAS RUN EXTREMELY ROUGH EVEN HAVING TO STOP THE CAR BECAUSE OF IT. OCCASIONALLY HAS BEEN DIFFICULT TO RESTART. AFTER THREE WEEKS IN THEIR SERVICE CENTER BMW CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT THE CAUSE BUT WANT TO DO $4500 OF WORK IN THE ENGINE WHILE TELLING ME THEY CAN'T BE SURE THAT WHAT THEY DO WILL TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM!?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2015 - EUGENE, OR
BOUGHT 2003 745LI NEW. MANY PROBLEMS FROM THE START AND OFTEN IN FOR SERVICE. DRIVER SIDE WINDOW MOTOR QUIT WORKING A YEAR AGO. LEARNED THIS IS COMMON WITH OTHER BLOGS AND BMW OWNERS. CURRENT MILES ARE ONLY 70,000. OVER THE PAST YEAR THE ENGINE HAS RUN EXTREMELY ROUGH EVEN HAVING TO STOP THE CAR BECAUSE OF IT. OCCASIONALLY HAS BEEN DIFFICULT TO RESTART. AFTER THREE WEEKS IN THEIR SERVICE CENTER BMW CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT THE CAUSE BUT WANT TO DO $4500 OF WORK IN THE ENGINE WHILE TELLING ME THEY CAN'T BE SURE THAT WHAT THEY DO WILL TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM!?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/2/2015 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
THE CAR IS BUCKING AT HIGH RATES OF SPEED LIKE IT IS TRYING TO THROW ME OUT THE WINDOW

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2014 - WINNSBORO, SC
I HAVE A SERIOUS OIL LEAK MY, LIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM IS NOT WORKING, AIRBAG IN THE SEAT NOT WORKING, BRAKES AND HUD ASSEMBLY HAS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2014 - WINNSBORO, SC
I HAVE A SERIOUS OIL LEAK MY, LIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM IS NOT WORKING, AIRBAG IN THE SEAT NOT WORKING, BRAKES AND HUD ASSEMBLY HAS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - WINNSBORO, SC
I HAVE A SERIOUS OIL LEAK MY, LIGHT CONTROL SYSTEM IS NOT WORKING, AIRBAG IN THE SEAT NOT WORKING, BRAKES AND HUD ASSEMBLY HAS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - GREENVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE CHIME SOUNDED THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON THE SECOND ATTEMPT. AFTER RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AND STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745L. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STARTING THE IGNITION, THE AIR BAG PASSENGER RESTRAINT WARNING INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S RESTRAINT MODULE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE 2006 BMW 745LI MODEL VEHICLE BUT NOT THE 2003 MODEL (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:13V564000: AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2014 - LINCOLN, CA
IN 2011 ROSEVILLE BMW BEGAN WORK ON A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE (RECALL CAMPAIGN 10V- 446.) THE FIRST STEP OF THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED BUT DUE TO A ?VISUAL INSPECTION? IT WAS DEEMED THAT THE REMAINING STEPS WERE NOT NECESSARY. ACCORDING THE RECALL NOTICES THEY DID NOT PROPERLY PERFORM THE RECALL AND WITHIN 18 MONTHS THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND PUMP BEGAN TO FAIL, WHICH CAUSED THE POWER ASSIST BRAKING TO BE INOPERABLE. AFTER BRINGING IT TO 2 BMW TECHNICIANS AND THE ROSEVILLE BMW DEALERSHIP IT HAS BEEN CONSISTENTLY DEEMED THAT THE PROBLEM IS THE EXACT SAME RESULT OF THE RECALL WITH THE SAME CAUSE. IN FACT, NO ONE HAS DENIED THAT THE PROBLEM I AM NOW EXPERIENCING IS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE RECALL PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP AND BMW HAVE BEEN UNABLE OR UNWILLING TO GET APPROVAL TO FINISH THE RECALL CLAIM SINCE THE WORK WAS ALREADY STARTED. I HAVE NOT BEEN FURNISHED WITH ANY OF THE DETAILS FOR DENIALS AND THUS FAR NEITHER THE DEALERSHIP NOR BMW ARE WILLING TO BE TRANSPARENT ABOUT THE DENIAL DETAILS, OR INITIAL RECALL WORK THAT WAS CONDUCTED (I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THIS WORK AT THE TIME AND THOUGHT THEY JUST REPLACED MY BATTERY, WHICH WAS THE PURPOSE OF THE SERVICE.) IF THIS IS NOT RESOLVED WHAT IS MY NEXT STEP? LEGAL ACTION?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/7/2013 - THE VILLIAGES , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 760LI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE EMISSION FILTER AND FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds