Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2003 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 289 complaints filed for the 2003 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Exterior Lighting (3) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (28) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (81) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (22) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (10) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine (4) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (6) Suspension (9) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (58) Tires (10) Wheels (1)
Equipment (6) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/24/2019 - BREEZY POINT, MN
WHILE SITTING AT THE MAILBOX CHECKING MAIL AND PRESSING ON THE BRAKES FIRMLY, THE BRAKE PEDAL SUDDENLY WENT TO THE FLOOR AND THE WARNING LIGHTS FLASHED RED REPEATEDLY SAYING TO CHECK THE BRAKE SYSTEM. THE BRAKE FLUID WAS LEAKING ALL OVER THE PLACE. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS ENOUGH BRAKING ABILITY LEFT TO PARK THE VEHICLE IN THE DRIVEWAY. ALSO, I AM THANKFUL THIS DID NOT HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/11/2018 - MERRIMACK, NH
RE: "G.M. RESISTS RECALLING TRUCKS OVER BRAKE LINES", NY TIMES, JULY 7, 2014 IN SPITE OF MY 2003 CHEVY SUBURBAN PASSING NEW HAMPSHIRE'S MANDATORY SAFETY INSPECTION IN MAY OF 2018, IN AUGUST OF 2018 A BRAKE LINE BURST, RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKE FUNCTION. THE LINE BURST AT A POINT BELOW THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND JUST FORWARD OF THE ABS MODULATOR, WHERE THE LINES CROSS OVER THE TOP OF THE FRAME AND ARE EXPOSED TO WHEEL SPRAY. AT THE POINT OF FAILURE, THE LINES ARE OVERLAID AND OBSCURED BY A LARGE BUNDLE OF ELECTRIC WIRES. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE FAILURE POINT, WITH THE SHEATHED WIRE BUNDLE MOVED UP OUT OF THE WAY. THE MILEAGE AT THE TIME WAS APPROXIMATELY 167500. WITH REGARD TO THE NHTSA DETERMINATION NOT TO RECALL "ALMOST 1.8 MILLION FULL-SIZE PICKUP TRUCKS AND SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES FROM THE 1999 TO 2003 MODEL YEARS FOR CORROSION-RELATED BRAKE FAILURES", AS SUMMARIZED IN THE 7/7/14 NY TIMES ARTICLE, DOES NHTSA'S DECISION TO ABSOLVE GM OF RESPONSIBILITY ON THIS ISSUE ALSO ABSOLVE NHTSA AND/OR GM OF RESPONSIBILITY TO NOTIFY OWNERS THAT THEY ARE IN GRAVE DANGER IF THEY ARE STILL OPERATING THEIR VEHICLES WITH THE ORIGINAL BRAKE LINES? NHTSA SHOULD KNOW FROM THEIR OWN RECORDS THAT A LARGE NUMBER OF THESE VEHICLES ARE STILL ON THE ROAD. I KNOW BECAUSE I SEE THEM EVERY DAY. AS FOR GM'S EXCUSES: +"G.M. HAS RESISTED RECALLING THE PICKUPS AND SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES, TELLING REGULATORS THAT RUSTED BRAKE LINES ARE A ROUTINE MAINTENANCE ISSUE." OBRAKE LINES ARE NOT A MOVING PART. HOW ARE THEY "MAINTAINED"? I HAVE MORE TO SAY, BUT YOU ARE LIMITING ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2018 - CULPEPER, VA
MY COMPLAINT IS THAT GM USED SUBSTANDARD MATERIALS IN OF ALL THINGS THE BRAKE LINES! I LOST ALL BRAKING ABILITY WHEN ONE OF MY BRAKE LINES BLEW DUE TO RUST. HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN? I SHOULD HAVE HAD AT LEAST PARTIAL BRAKING ABILITY DUE TO THE FRONT AND REAR LINES BEING SEPARATE. LUCKILY FOR ME THIS HAPPENED RIGHT BEFORE MY FAMILIES THANKSGIVING TRIP, OR ELSE WE WOULD HAVE BEEN DOING 70 ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED! PLEASE DON'T LET GM GET AWAY WITH THIS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/8/2017 - CHANHASSEN, MN
BRAKE LINES RUSTED AND LEAKING. BRAKE LINE TO THE REAR BRAKES LEAKING ON DRIVERS SIDE ABOUT AS FAR BACK AS REAR DOOR LATCH, ABOUT HALF WAY BACK OF THE GAS TANK. BRAKE PEDAL WILL GO TO THE FLOOR WITH MINIMAL STOPPING ABILITY AND BRAKE FLUID LEAKS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/20/2017 - SPRING GREEN, WI
THIS TRUCK IS EQUIPPED WITH A SUPPLIMENTAL VACUUM PUMP ON THE BRAKE BOOSTER, WHEN IT FAILS BRAKING IS REDUCED BY 50%. THE PART HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED BY CHEVY WITH NO PLANS FOR A REPLACEMENT. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE IN 3 SHOPS COMPLAINING OF POOR BRAKES, AND FINALLY THERES A SOLUTION. WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO, SCRAP OUT A $10,000 VEHICLE ? IM SURE THIS HIDDEN PROBLEM HAS CAUSED A MANY ACCIDENTS THAT COULD OF BEEN AVOIDED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. AT VARIOUS TIMES, THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AND ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 225,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/7/2016 - MODESTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER INADVERTENTLY DISABLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000. UPDATED 02/14/17 CONSUMER STATED TECHOMETER, OIL PRESSURE GAUGE. GEAR INDICATOR LIGHTS OFFER LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. UPDATED 7/16/18

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2016 - BARTOW, FL
SATURDAY, I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 TO 50 MPH ON A SPLIT TWO LANE ROAD TO PICK UP MY GRANDCHILDREN AND ALL OF A SUDDEN MY INSTRUMENT PANEL STOPPED WORKING. ALL GAUGES WENT TO 0. THERE WAS NO DIGITAL READINGS EITHER. IT JUST WENT DEAD. PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON, NOTHING CHANGED. PLUGGED MY GARMIN GPS IN FOR MY SPEED GUIDE AND FILLED MY GAS TANK SO I KNEW THAT IT WAS FULL. CALLED MECHANIC TO BRING VEHICLE IN FOR HIM TO CHECK OUT ON TUESDAY. TUESDAY, (TODAY) ON MY WAY TO WORK, DRIVING ON 4 LANE INTERSTATE, 60 TO 70 MPH, ALL OF A SUDDEN, ALL OF THE GAUGES AND DIGITAL READINGS CAME ON AND BEGAN WORKING CORRECTLY. I STILL TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE MECHANIC, HE STATED THAT HE WILL LOOK AT IT AND CALL ME LATER. I DEPEND ON MY CAR, JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE. I CAN NOT JUST GO OUT AND BUY A NEW ONE EVERY TIME SOMETHING GOES WRONG. I PRAY THAT THIS DOES NOT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I TRANSPORT MY GRANDCHILDREN AND WORRY ABOUT THEIR SAFETY. I AM A SAFETY DIRECTOR AND SAFETY IS VERY PASSIONATE TO ME. THERE MUST BE SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT THIS ISSUE. I LOVE MY SUBURBAN AND PLAN ON PURCHASING ANOTHER ONE SOME DAY. IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN A VERY DEPENDABLE VEHICLE BUT THIS ISSUE HAS ME SPOOKED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/1/2016 - WATERLOO, IL
WHILE SLOWING FROM 55MPH TO MAKE A TURN OFF OF STATE HIGHWAY, BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AT APPROXIMATELY 35MPH DUE TO RUPTURED STEEL LINE. PEDAL WENT FULLY TO FLOOR, BRAKES RELEASED AND TURN OFF WAS MISSED. THANKFUL NOBODY WAS IN THE WAY! SHOCKED THAT THIS IS APPARENTLY A COMMON ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE AT JUST 13YRS AND 150K MILES!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2016 - BATESVILLE, AR
VEHICLE SUDDENLY STARTED GOING INTO REDUCED POWER MODE AND PROVIDING AN ERROR CODE INDICATING A PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL SENSOR. FROM THE HUNDREDS OF ONLINE POSTS (SOME BY GM MECHANICS) THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH MANY 2003-2008 TRUCKS AND SUVS MADE BY GM. WHEN I BEGAN TRYING TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM MYSELF, I FOUND OUT FROM MY LOCAL CHEVY PARTS DEPARTMENT THAT "THEY CAN NOT KEEP THESE THROTTLE CONTROL ASSEMBLIES IN STOCK BECAUSE WE ARE REPLACING SO MANY OF THEM..." THERE SEEMS TO BE A KNOW PROBLEM THAT GM IS NOT ADEQUATELY BEING PROACTIVE ABOUT. THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING HIGHWAY, LOCAL STREETS AND AT STARTUP. THIS BECOMES A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHEN THE VEHICLE GOES INTO REDUCED POWER MODE WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN TRAFFIC.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds