Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 243 complaints filed for the 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (9)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (32) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (36) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (6) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (33) Wheels (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/11/2017 - LANCASTER, PA
THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH HAD TO BE REPLACED OR ELSE THE FOG LIGHTS REMAIN ON AND DRAIN THE BATTERY.

View Details

WHEELS

8/10/2017 - BASTROP, TX
WHEEL BEARINGS KEEP GOING OUT. THIS TIME IT AFFECTED MY GEAR SHIFT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/17/2017 - BEDFORD, VA
MY CAR CAUGHT FIRE UNDER THE HOOD WHILE I WAS BACKING OUT A DRIVEWAY AND THEN THE WHOLE CAR JUST BURNED TO TOTAL LOSS OF IT AND IT CAUGHT FIRE DOWN IN THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2017 - OTTAWA LAKE, MI
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS DRIVING A 2003 PT CRUISER WHEN MY WIFE AND I WERE HIT HEAD ON BY A TRUCK THAT WENT LEFT OF CENTER WHEN A VAN TURNED LEFT IN FRONT OF HIM. WE WERE HIT AGAIN ON THE DRIVERS SIDE AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED AND THE STEERING COLUMN FELL ON MY LEFT LEG. MY GRANDDAUGHTER STOPPED AT THE SCENE BECAUSE SHE WAS DRIVING PAST AND SAW US. SHE SAW I WAS BLEEDING FROM MY HEAD AND PUT PRESSURE ON IT AS SOON AS SHE COULD. UPON BEING TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL I HAD BOTH OF MY EARS NEARLY SEVERED OFF. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE SHRAPNEL FROM THE AIR BAGS HAD CUT BOTH MY EARS AND SEVERED THEM. ALSO IT HAS BEEN TWO YEARS AND I AM STILL GETTING MATERIAL OUT OF MY HEAD FROM THEM. I HAVE BIG SORE SPOTS WHERE THE MATERIAL HAS RISEN AND CAME OUT OF MY HEAD.I ALSO GOT MERSA IN MY LEG AND MY WIFE GOT 4 BROKEN BACK RIBS. THEY ALSO DETERMINED I RECEIVED A CONCUSSION. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION BUT GOING ABOUT 25 AS I WAS SLOWING DOWN AS THE VAN IN FRONT OF US WAS TURNING.WE DO HAVE PHOTOS AND MEDICAL RECORDS AS WE HAD A LAWYER WHO SUED THE DRIVER WHO TURNED IN FRONT OF US AND WE CAN GET PICTURES AND RECORDS IF YOU WOULD LIKE.I DO NOT HAVE THEM ON MY COMPUTER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

2/6/2017 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE CHECK ENGINE AND AIR BAG WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WHERE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, CPU, SPARK PLUGS, AND FUEL CAP WERE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2017 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE CHECK ENGINE AND AIR BAG WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WHERE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, CPU, SPARK PLUGS, AND FUEL CAP WERE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/6/2017 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE CHECK ENGINE AND AIR BAG WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WHERE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, CPU, SPARK PLUGS, AND FUEL CAP WERE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2017 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE CHECK ENGINE AND AIR BAG WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WHERE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER, CPU, SPARK PLUGS, AND FUEL CAP WERE REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/29/2016 - MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE THROTTLE MECHANISM SEEMED TO HAVE BECOME STUCK SEVERAL TIMES AT A HIGH THROTTLE SETTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TOWED TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/29/2016 - MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE THROTTLE MECHANISM SEEMED TO HAVE BECOME STUCK SEVERAL TIMES AT A HIGH THROTTLE SETTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TOWED TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds