Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 239 complaints filed for the 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (7)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (16) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (39) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (10) Steering (60) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (5) Structure (15) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (11) Wheels (3)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2019 - DACULA, GA
SOMETIMES THE TAILGATE AFTER OPENING WILL IMMEDIATELY CLOSE AND THERE IS NO WAY TO STOP IT. THEN IT WON'T STAY OPEN. THE LEFT SIDE SLIDING DOOR DOESN'T OPEN WITH REMOTE AND THE REMOTE LOCK/UNLOCK DOESN'T WORK. I HAVE TALKED TO SEVERAL PEOPLE WHO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR VEHICLE (SAME YEAR). SOMEONE COULD GET CRUSHED BY THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/7/2019 - DACULA, GA
SOMETIMES THE TAILGATE AFTER OPENING WILL IMMEDIATELY CLOSE AND THERE IS NO WAY TO STOP IT. THEN IT WON'T STAY OPEN. THE LEFT SIDE SLIDING DOOR DOESN'T OPEN WITH REMOTE AND THE REMOTE LOCK/UNLOCK DOESN'T WORK. I HAVE TALKED TO SEVERAL PEOPLE WHO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR VEHICLE (SAME YEAR). SOMEONE COULD GET CRUSHED BY THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL RUMBLING NOISE WHILE SHIFTING GEARS. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, AN UNKNOWN WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND REFERRED HER TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/18/2017 - GREEN BAY, WI
PLEASE NOTE THAT MY MOTHER'S AIRBAG DETONATED ON IT'S ON WHILE SHE WAS DRIVING HOME. SHE HAD BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN TWICE AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE ATTACHED DOCUMENTATION. GANDRUD AND CHRYSLER ARE REFUSING TO REPAIR THE FAULTY AIR BAG. MY MOTHER'S CAR IS NOT DRIVE-ABLE WITHOUT A HORN PER OUR UNDERSTANDING AND A DANGER TO HER WITHOUT SAID AIR BAG. WE NEED YOUR HELP AS THESE SEEMS TO BE SUCH AN INJUSTICE ESPECIALLY WHEN SHE IS NOT GOING AFTER THEM FOR DAMAGES TO HER FOR BEING WHIPPED AROUND IN HER CAR. SHE JUST WANTS HER CAR REPAIRED AND THE DEFECTIVE AIRBAG REPLACED. WE PRAY YOU CAN HELP US GET ANSWERS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2016 - TAR HEEL, NC
HELLO MY NAME IS [XXX] I AM A SURVIVOR OF A CAR CRASH I WAS ON THE WAY FROM PICKING MY SON UP FROM SCHOOL DRIVING A MAN IN FRONT OF ME WAS DRUNK DRIVING AND AS A MOTHER I SWERVED TO PROTECT MY SON FROM GETTING HIT WHICH I DIDN'T KNOW WAS I ACTUALLY DIDN'T SAVE HIM HE SUFFERED FROM MULTIPLE BRAIN INJURIES AND FRACTURED BONES IN HIS FACE BROKEN RIBS HE LATER DIED FROM THE AIRBAGS NOT DEPLOYING IN MY 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY LX HIS SEATBELT DIDN'T PROTECT HIM AND HE WAS THROWN OUT OF THE VAN. I HAVE BEEN TRYING AND TRYING TO GET CHRYSLERS ATTENTION DON'T KNOW WHY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. MY SON'S NAME IS [XXX] BORN AUGUST 18 2008 DIED ON MY BIRTHDAY JANUARY 29TH 2016 I JUST WANT JUSTICE FOR MY SON. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). SEE ALSO ODI 10872127.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/19/2016 - TAR HEEL, NC
HELLO MY NAME IS [XXX] I AM A SURVIVOR OF A CAR CRASH I WAS ON THE WAY FROM PICKING MY SON UP FROM SCHOOL DRIVING A MAN IN FRONT OF ME WAS DRUNK DRIVING AND AS A MOTHER I SWERVED TO PROTECT MY SON FROM GETTING HIT WHICH I DIDN'T KNOW WAS I ACTUALLY DIDN'T SAVE HIM HE SUFFERED FROM MULTIPLE BRAIN INJURIES AND FRACTURED BONES IN HIS FACE BROKEN RIBS HE LATER DIED FROM THE AIRBAGS NOT DEPLOYING IN MY 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY LX HIS SEATBELT DIDN'T PROTECT HIM AND HE WAS THROWN OUT OF THE VAN. I HAVE BEEN TRYING AND TRYING TO GET CHRYSLERS ATTENTION DON'T KNOW WHY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. MY SON'S NAME IS [XXX] BORN AUGUST 18 2008 DIED ON MY BIRTHDAY JANUARY 29TH 2016 I JUST WANT JUSTICE FOR MY SON. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). SEE ALSO ODI 10872127.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/19/2016 - TAR HEEL, NC
HELLO MY NAME IS [XXX] I AM A SURVIVOR OF A CAR CRASH I WAS ON THE WAY FROM PICKING MY SON UP FROM SCHOOL DRIVING A MAN IN FRONT OF ME WAS DRUNK DRIVING AND AS A MOTHER I SWERVED TO PROTECT MY SON FROM GETTING HIT WHICH I DIDN'T KNOW WAS I ACTUALLY DIDN'T SAVE HIM HE SUFFERED FROM MULTIPLE BRAIN INJURIES AND FRACTURED BONES IN HIS FACE BROKEN RIBS HE LATER DIED FROM THE AIRBAGS NOT DEPLOYING IN MY 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY LX HIS SEATBELT DIDN'T PROTECT HIM AND HE WAS THROWN OUT OF THE VAN. I HAVE BEEN TRYING AND TRYING TO GET CHRYSLERS ATTENTION DON'T KNOW WHY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. MY SON'S NAME IS [XXX] BORN AUGUST 18 2008 DIED ON MY BIRTHDAY JANUARY 29TH 2016 I JUST WANT JUSTICE FOR MY SON. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). SEE ALSO ODI 10872127.

View Details

ENGINE

9/9/2016 - KENTON, OH
I PURCHASED THE VAN FROM A PRIVATE OWNER 2 HOURS PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING. HE TOLD ME IT OVERHEATS SOME. I CALLED MY CHRYSLER MECHANIC IN MT. VICTORY, OH AND ASKED HIM IF HE COULD LOOK AT HIM. HE TOLD ME TO BRING IT DOWN. I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 35MPH ON ST RT 31 S AND IT STARTED OVERHEATING. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED IT OFF. SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WAS CALLING FOR A TOW AND I HEARD THE SOUND OF FIRE CRACKLING AND SMOKE WAS COMING THROUGH THE VENTS. I IMMEDIATELY GOT OUT OF THE VAN AND TOLD THE PERSON I WAS TALKING TO I NEEDED TO CALL 911 BECAUSE IT SOUNDED LIKE THE VAN WAS ON FIRE. FLAMES AND HEAVY SMOKE STARTED SHOOTING OUT FROM UNDER THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE HOOD. I HAD CALLED 911. THE HARDIN COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPT, OHIO STATE HIGHWAY PATROL, KENTON FIRE DEPARTMENT, AND BKP AMBULANCE SERVICE ARRIVED. I SMELLED SO BAD OF SMOKE AND WAS SHAKEN UP BUT THANK GOD I GOT OUT OF IT BEFORE IT BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES!!! IT GOR SO HOT THAT ANYTHING PLASTIC AND RUBBER UNDER THE HOOD MELTED. THE DRIVER'S SIDE MIRROR EVEN MELTED!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/2/2016 - LUMBERTON, NC
THE AIRBAG DID NOT INFLATE WHILE THE VEHICLE RAN OFF THE HIGHWAY AND INTO A DITCH AND OVER TURNED ONTO THE PASSENGER SIDE, THEN CAME BACK UPRIGHT ON IT'S TIRES. THE PASSENGER WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED, HE LATER DIED AS A RESULT OF HIS INJURIES SUSTAINED IN THE ACCIDENT. SEE ALSO ODI 10917404. ...UPDATED 12/11/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/21/2016 - LAREDO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS SPORADIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 118,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds