Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 218 complaints filed for the 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (3) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (29) Steering (44) Visibility (12)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (14) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Wheels (2)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: CLOCKSPRING

6/24/2019 - ST JOHNS, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCKSPRING PIN WAS FRACTURED AND CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 367,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2019 - FAIRMONT, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND POWERED OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 238,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2018 - GREENVILLE, SC
THERE ARE TWO PROBLEMS THAT ARE VERY SERIOUS. FIRST, IN 2017 AS I WAS EXITING THE INTERSTATE, I DROVE THROUGH A PUDDLE. AS I ATTEMPTED TO TURN LEFT ONTO THE ROAD, MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND IT WAS ONLY WITH EXTREME FORCE AND SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES THAT I KEPT FROM RUNNING THROUGH THE GUARDRAIL, AND DROPPING DOWN TO THE INTERSTATE BELOW. I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE THE TURN AND STOPPED ON THE OVERPASS UNTIL MY STEERING WHEEL UNLOCKED. YES, MY ENGINEER HUSBAND KEEPS UP WITH ALL OF OUR REGULAR MAINTENANCE, INCLUDING THE BELTS. NEXT, WITH AN UNUSUALLY HEAVY RAIN THIS PAST WEEK, MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER PARKING FOR AN HOUR, MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT TURN WHEN I ATTEMPTED GO AGAIN. I RESTARTED THE CAR FIVE TIMES BEFORE THE STEERING UNLOCKED. ALL WEEK, DURING THAT HEAVY RAIN, THE STEERING LOCKED REGULARLY. THESE PROBLEMS ARE ALL OVER THE WEB. WOMEN AND CHILDREN EVERYWHERE ARE IN DANGER OF DYING FROM SOMETHING THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED YEARS AGO. WHY IS THERE NO RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM? IF YOU ARE REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS, THEN YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR BEING SUED ALONG WITH CHRYSLER, FOR ALLOWING THIS TO CONTINUE UNCORRECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2018 - GREENVILLE, SC
THERE ARE TWO PROBLEMS THAT ARE VERY SERIOUS. FIRST, IN 2017 AS I WAS EXITING THE INTERSTATE, I DROVE THROUGH A PUDDLE. AS I ATTEMPTED TO TURN LEFT ONTO THE ROAD, MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND IT WAS ONLY WITH EXTREME FORCE AND SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES THAT I KEPT FROM RUNNING THROUGH THE GUARDRAIL, AND DROPPING DOWN TO THE INTERSTATE BELOW. I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE THE TURN AND STOPPED ON THE OVERPASS UNTIL MY STEERING WHEEL UNLOCKED. YES, MY ENGINEER HUSBAND KEEPS UP WITH ALL OF OUR REGULAR MAINTENANCE, INCLUDING THE BELTS. NEXT, WITH AN UNUSUALLY HEAVY RAIN THIS PAST WEEK, MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER PARKING FOR AN HOUR, MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT TURN WHEN I ATTEMPTED GO AGAIN. I RESTARTED THE CAR FIVE TIMES BEFORE THE STEERING UNLOCKED. ALL WEEK, DURING THAT HEAVY RAIN, THE STEERING LOCKED REGULARLY. THESE PROBLEMS ARE ALL OVER THE WEB. WOMEN AND CHILDREN EVERYWHERE ARE IN DANGER OF DYING FROM SOMETHING THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED YEARS AGO. WHY IS THERE NO RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM? IF YOU ARE REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS, THEN YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR BEING SUED ALONG WITH CHRYSLER, FOR ALLOWING THIS TO CONTINUE UNCORRECTED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/30/2017 - MORLEY, IA
THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHT TURNS ON EVEN WHEN THERE IS NO ONE IN THAT SEAT AND THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT RELEASES WHEN THERE IS SOMEONE IN THE SEAT! ADULTS AND OLDER CHILDREN HAVE PUT THE SEAT BELT IN PLACE BUT THE WARNING LIGHT STAYS ON. WHILE DRIVING OR SITTING STILL, THE SEAT BELT WILL RELEASE AT RANDOM, CAUSING THE PASSENGER TO HAVE TO CLICK IT INTO PLACE AGAIN. WHEN THE PASSENGER CLICKS THE SEAT BELT IN PLACE AND PULLS ON IT, IT EITHER STAYS IN POSITION OR RELEASES. IF IT STAYS IN POSITION, THEN WHILE DRIVING AND OR PARKED, THE SEAT BELT WILL SUDDENLY RELEASE. WHEN THE DRIVER HAD TO STEP HARDER ON THE BRAKE TO AVOID A DRIVER WHO STOPPED SUDDENLY, THE SEAT BELT RELEASED YET AT OTHER TIMES, THE SEAT BELT REMAINS IN PLACE. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHETHER OR NOT THE VAN IS IN GEAR OR PARKED, OR IF WE'RE STOPPED, MOVING, HIGHWAY DRIVING OR CITY DRIVING, THE SEAT BELT WILL RELEASE AT RANDOM TIMES. THIS HAD HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES SINCE WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, SOMETIMES MULTIPLE TIMES IN ONE TRIP. OTHER TIMES IT DOESN'T HAPPEN AT ALL. THE DATE GIVEN IS THE MOST RECENT TIME THAT IT RELEASED ON ITS OWN. I HAD BEEN PARKED AND THEN WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE WHEN MY DAUGHTER'S SEAT BELT (PASSENGER SIDE) RELEASED ON ITS OWN. I STOPPED AND PUT THE VAN IN PARK THEN HAD HER CLICK IN PLACE AGAIN. WE BOTH PULLED ON IT AND SINCE IT DIDN'T RELEASE, WE CONTINUED OUR TRIP, PRAYING THAT IT WOULDN'T DISCONNECT AGAIN WHILE WE WERE DRIVING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

11/8/2017 - LAKE ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE SUN ROOF EXPLODED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE COVER WAS CLOSED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER (CENTURY DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM, 13500 VETERANS MEMORIAL PKWY, WENTZVILLE, MO 63385) WAS CALLED AND STATED THAT THERE WERE NO OPEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/9/2017 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING FROM THE GAS STATION AT 5 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO WORK WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON HIGHWAY 52 IN FLORIDA WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRAME THAT HELD THE MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2017 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WHILE DRIVING FROM THE GAS STATION AT 5 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO WORK WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC ON HIGHWAY 52 IN FLORIDA WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRAME THAT HELD THE MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2016 - LANSING, MI
DURING A MARCH 2016 ROAD TRIP TO ATLANTA, GA, FROM MICHIGAN, WHILE TRAVELING ABOUT 65 MPH ON I-75, TEMPERATURE GAUGE NEEDLE BEGAN TO CLIMB TOWARD THE RED ZONE ON THE INSTRUMENT DIAL. WITHIN MINUTES I PULLED OFF ONTO A HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION SITE WHERE I STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION SWITCH. OPENING THE HOOD, I BEGAN TO INVESTIGATE THE PROBLEM(S). COOL UPPER RADIATOR HOSE. COOL RADIATOR CAP. TURNED CAP OFF AND DISCOVERED NO COOLANT IN RADIATOR. NO APPARENT SOURCE OF LEAKING. ADDED ICE WATER FROM ICE CHEST TO RADIATOR HOPING TO LOCATE SOURCE OF LEAK. TURNED ENGINE ON AND LOCATED LEAK BENEATH PASSENGER SIDE OF VEHICLE: TWO SMALL HOLES IN CORRODED EXPOSED STEEL TUBING ROUTING COOLANT TO REAR HEATER ASSEMBLY IN REAR OF VAN. THE NEXT DAY DISCOVERED THAT CHRYSLER HAD CHANGED THE PART FROM STEEL TO ALUMINUM IN LATE 2000'S TO HELP PREVENT THE CORROSIVE ACTION OF ROAD SALT IN THE NORTHERN CLIMATES THAT HAD AFFECTED MANY SIMILAR VEHICLES DURING THE MID-2000'S. HOWEVER, DAIMLER CHRYSLER CHOSE NOT TO INSTITUTE A RECALL OF THE FAULTY DESIGNED PART FULLY EXPOSED BENEATH THE VEHICLE. THE COST OF REPLACING THE PART AT THE DEALERSHIP IN STONE MOUNTAIN, GA, WAS AROUND $650.00 USD, NOT A HUGE SUM, BUT OBVIOUSLY NOT COST-EFFICIENT FOR THE AUTOMAKER AND ITS SHAREHOLDERS. THIS PROBLEM COULD BE LIFE-THREATENING IF THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS WERE STRANDED DURING THE WINTER MONTHS IN NORTHERN U.S. OR CANADA, WHEN LOSS OF ALL COOLANT OCCURRED. OPERATING VEHICLE WITH NO COOLANT COULD RESULT IN THE ENGINE SEIZING UP WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, CAUSING INJURY TO DRIVER AND PASSENGERS AND POSSIBLY OTHER MOTORISTS. A DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT CHRYSLER HAS CORRECTED ON ITS LATER MODEL VEHICLES SINCE 2010 OR 2011.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2016 - NORFOLK, VA
TRANSMISSION

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds