Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC - 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (4)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/23/2018 - ORAN, MO
WE HAD PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE BOUT A YEAR AGO AND WHEN WE GOT IT WE WENT TO GET TIRES AND FRONT END ALIGNMENT AND THEY ENDED UP REPLACING UPPER ND LOWER BALL JOINTS, CONTROL ARM AND SWAY BAR ON PASSENGER SIDE.THIS WAS 6/20/2017. IT WASN'T MAKING ANY NOISE UNTIL 1/3/2018. I WAS GOING DOWN CITY STREET AND SOMETHING POPPED AND THEN IT STARTED ROARING. IF YOU PUT IN 4WD IT ROARS LOADER AND JERKS. 1/23/18 REPLACED DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL HUB AND BEARINGS. IT STILL ROARS WHILE ACCELERATING SPEED BUT NOT AS BAD IN 2WD BUT PUT IN 4WD ITS REAL LOUD AND JERKS YOU . I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE FOR THIS YEAR MODEL SPORT TRAC AND IT SEEMS LIKE THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE. EVERYTIME GET ONE THING FIXED ON FRONT END SOMETHING ELSE HAPPENS TO IT. YOU CAN DRIVE IT BUT IF YOU GET OVER 10-15 MPH THE ROARING GETS WORSE AND IT LOCKED THE THE WHOLE WHEEL UP AND JERKED THE TRUCK TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/16/2017 - LAKE ELMO, MN
THE CAB TO FRAME MOUNTING BOLT BUSHINGS, AND STEERING STABILIZER BUSHINGS ARE HAVE AND ARE CRUMBLING. ALL NEED TO BE REPLACED. I FEEL FORD IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND SHOULD HAVE TO FIX IT. I JUST INHERITED THIS TRUCK AND JUST FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS. THANK YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/16/2017 - LAKE ELMO, MN
THE CAB TO FRAME MOUNTING BOLT BUSHINGS, AND STEERING STABILIZER BUSHINGS ARE HAVE AND ARE CRUMBLING. ALL NEED TO BE REPLACED. I FEEL FORD IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND SHOULD HAVE TO FIX IT. I JUST INHERITED THIS TRUCK AND JUST FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS. THANK YOU.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2016 - OCEAN VIEW, NJ
TRUCK WAS RUNNING FINE. THEN ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS IT WOULD SLIP OUT OF GEAR WHILE I WAS COMING OFF OF OR ONTO EXIT RAMPS. SEEMED LIKE AS THE ENGINE DECELERATED IT WOULD SLIP INTO NEUTRAL. SOMETIMES IT WOULD EVENTUALLY FIND THE GEAR AND SOMETIMES I HAD TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, WHICH WAS REALLY SCARY SINCE I WAS IN TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED. A SHORT TIME LATE (A MATTER OF WEEKS). I NOTICED IT WOULD NOT GO INTO GEAR WHEN THE TRUCK WAS COLD (AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT. THIS HAS RAPIDLY PROGRESSED INTO ALMOST COMPLETE FAILURE. I CAN STILL GET THE TRUCK TO MOVE IF I SHIFT MANUALLY INTO L1 OR L2 BUT D DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. ADDITIONALLY I NOTICED THAT SOMETIMES MY O/D LIGHT WOULD BE BLINKING AND SOMETIME O/D WOULD GO COMPLETELY OFF AND THE TRUCK WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO HIGH GEAR. I FOUND IF I STOPPED, TURNED THE TRUCK OFF AND RESTARTED IT WOULD OFTEN FIX THE ISSUE. THIS IS NOT LONGER TRUE. I WILL BE TAKING THE TRUCK TO MY MECHANIC ON MONDAY. I LOOKED UP THE ISSUE AND SEE THAT THIS IS COMMON COMPLAINT WITH MANY EARLY 2000 FORD VEHICLES. SHAME THE COMPANY DOES NOT RECOGNIZE IT'S FAILURE AND STAND UP AND FIX IT. I DID NOT HAVE ANY ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS ISSUE BUT I COULD SEE IF THIS FAILURE OCCURRED AS SOMEONE WAS PULLING INTO TRAFFIC OR IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC THAT THIS COULD DEFINITELY CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/4/2015 - MARTINEZ, GA
I WAS LEAVING THE STORE PARKING LOT. I STARTED THE CAR, PRESSED THE BREAK, PUT THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE AND THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT IN SEPTEMBER 2014. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT HIT OR BUMPED IN ANY WAY. I WAS NOT BACKING OUT, I WAS IN DRIVE TO PULL OUT OF THE SPACE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
TOOK VEHICLE IN FLUID CHANGES, COMPLETE CHECK, AND TO INVESTIGATE A LEAK UNDER VEHICLE. AFTER "COMPLETE" CHECK SAID THEY FOUND BAD SERPENTINE BELT, AIR FILTER AND BUT NOTHING VALVE COVER GASKETS AS CAUSE OF LEAK. COST TO REPAIR GASKETS OVER $1000. WHILE DOING REPAIR THEY CALLED AGAIN AND SAID THEY FOUND THAT THE REAR TIMING CARTRIDGE WAS BROKEN AND PIECES OF IT MISSING. TOLD ME THAT BOLT WAS WORE HALF WAY THROUGH AS TIMING CHAINING WAS RUBBING IT. SAID IF IT BREAKS BEFORE REPAIR ENGINE WILL "BLOW" AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. TOLD ME IT WOULD COSTS OVER $2,500 TO REPLACE THIS CARTRIDGE. TOTAL COST WAS NOW OVER $4,000. I ASKED WHY PART WAS BAD WHEN ENGINE ONLY HAD 84,000 MILES AND WHY THIS WASN'T FOUND WITH THE "COMPLETE" CHECK. MECHANIC STATED ONLY SAW IT BECAUSE HE HAD THINGS APART TO FIX VALVE COVER GASKETS. TOLD ME IT WAS A PLASTIC PART AND EVEN WITH LOW MILEAGE THE PLASTIC DETERIORATES WITH TIME. SAID PART ONLY DESIGNED TO LAST 100,000 MILES. IF I AM TO BELIEVE THIS FORD MECHANIC, FORD USES A PLASTIC PART IN A CRUCIAL PART OF THE ENGINE (TIMING) AND IF THAT PART FAILS THE ENGINE WILL "BLOW". AND THEY CANNOT KNOW THE PART IS BAD UNLESS THEY HAVE THE ENGINE APART FOR OTHER MAJOR REPAIRS. SO IF THE VALVE COVER GASKETS WERE NOT LEAKING THE ISSUE WOULD HAVE BEEN UNDETECTED BY THE FORD MAINTENANCE "COMPLETE" CHECK UP. IN ADDITION FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A WARNING THAT THIS ENGINE WILL POSSIBLY "BLOW" AFTER ONLY 100,000 MILES IF THIS PART NOT REPLACED BY A $2,500.00 - $3,000.00 REPAIR. FORD SHOULD PAY FOR THIS REPAIR. THEY DESIGN A VEHICLE THIS WAY WITH NO WARNING TO THE BUYERS/OWNERS. IF I AM TO BELIEVE THE FORD MECHANIC THERE IS NO WAY TO REALLY KNOW YOU MAY HAVE A PROBLEM. HOW ARE WE TO PROTECT OURSELVES? MY FRIEND SHOWED ME THIS SITE AND DID SOME SEARCHING ON OTHER BLOGS/SITES DEALING WITH VEHICLE ISSUES. THERE ARE NUMEROUS CASES OF THIS UNACCEPTABLE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE IGNITED IN FLAMES WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE CONTACT DID NOT DISCLOSE HOW THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/30/2014 - CREIGHTON, MO
MY FORD SPORT TRAC HAS FAILED TO LOCK WHEN THE GEAR SHIFT IS PUT INTO THE PARK POSITION. WHEN YOU START TO GET OUT THE VEHICLE WILL ROLL AND YOU WILL HEAR A CLICKING NOISE IN THE TRANSMISSION. IT HAS DONE THIS FOR SOME TIME AND I HAD IT FIXED ONCE BUT IT IS DOING IT AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/24/2014 - MARTINEZ, GA
I WAS PICKING MY DAUGHTER UP FROM SCHOOL. WE GOT INTO THE CAR PUT OUR SEATBELTS ON I STARTED THE VEHICLE AND PUT IT IN GEAR. I PICKED MY FOOT UP AND MOVED TO THE GAS WHEN I NOTICED A CAR COMING UP FROM BESIDE ME AND THEN I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED CRACKING THE WINDSHIELD AND PULLING THE DASH COVER AWAY FROM THE RADIO AND AIR VENT. WE CALLED FORD MOTOR AND WE WERE TOLD TO TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP TO BE EXAMINED. FORD CUSTOMER CARE HAS LEFT MESSAGES AT OUR HOME NUMBER WHEN WE RETURN THE CALLS WE ASK THEM TO CALL OUR CELL NUMBERS AND THEY WILL NOT. I THINK THE DO NOT WANT TO TALK TO US. A WEEK LATER THE DEALERSHIP CALLED AND SAID THAT FORD MOTOR WOULD PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC BUT WOULD NOT PAY FOR THE REPAIRS BECAUSE THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. THAT THE AIRBAG FAILING IS NO DIFFERENT THEN HAVING TO CHANGE OUT THE BRAKES FROM WEAR AND TEAR. WE WERE NOT AWARE THAT A SAFETY FEATURE HAD AN EXPIRATION DATE. I WAS TO THE UNDERSTANDING THAT A SAFETY FEATURE SHOULD LAST THE LIFT TIME OF THE VEHICLE. BECAUSE OF THIS I AM WORRIED ABOUT DRIVING ANY CARS WITH AIRBAGS. WE WERE NOT ASKING FORD MOTOR FOR ANYTHING ADDITIONAL BUT TO JUST REPAIR THE CAR AND WE CAN NEVER TALK TO ANYONE AT THE COMPANY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2014 - LAKE ISABELLA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 34 MPH DOWN A MOUNTAIN, THE BRAKES WERE ENGAGED AND THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE STARTED TO ABRUPTLY MOVE FROM SIDE TO SIDE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE GUARD RAIL. THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AND PASSENGER'S DASH BOARD AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT AS THE PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED, FLAMES EMITTED OUT OF IT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds