Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC - 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (4)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/18/2014 - LIVONIA , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING WITH THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL ENGAGED AT 68 MPH WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND SOME SMOKE WAS PRESENT UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF SMOKE IN THE ENGINE AREA. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE HOUSING UNIT BEING CRACKED OTHER THAN FOR BEING DEFECTIVE, COLD TEMPERATURE OR HIGH HEAT THAT COMES IN CONTACT WITH IT. THE HOUSING UNIT SHOULD NEVER SPLIT APART. THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WAS LEAKING. THE OVER DRIVE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS FORCED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE. THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIVE FORWARD OR IN REVERSE AND IT ALSO FAILED TO FUNCTION IN FIRST GEAR. THE VEHICLE WOULD ONLY MOVE FORWARD IN SECOND GEAR. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING FIVE MILES IN SECOND GEAR TO HIS RESIDENCE AT 35 MPH. AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED THE CONTACT ALSO ADDED ANTI FREEZE TO THE VEHICLE. THE TRANSMISSION ALSO FAILED SHORTLY AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED AND HE WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE IN REVERSE GEAR. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BANDS IN THE TRANSMISSION MAY HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE TO OCCUR. A LOCAL MECHANIC REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WHICH HAS THREE HOSES ATTACHED TO IT. FORD WAS CURRENTLY CHECKING THE TRANSMISSION TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,600. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 96,620.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2014 - LIVONIA , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING WITH THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL ENGAGED AT 68 MPH WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND SOME SMOKE WAS PRESENT UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF SMOKE IN THE ENGINE AREA. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE HOUSING UNIT BEING CRACKED OTHER THAN FOR BEING DEFECTIVE, COLD TEMPERATURE OR HIGH HEAT THAT COMES IN CONTACT WITH IT. THE HOUSING UNIT SHOULD NEVER SPLIT APART. THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WAS LEAKING. THE OVER DRIVE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS FORCED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE. THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIVE FORWARD OR IN REVERSE AND IT ALSO FAILED TO FUNCTION IN FIRST GEAR. THE VEHICLE WOULD ONLY MOVE FORWARD IN SECOND GEAR. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING FIVE MILES IN SECOND GEAR TO HIS RESIDENCE AT 35 MPH. AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED THE CONTACT ALSO ADDED ANTI FREEZE TO THE VEHICLE. THE TRANSMISSION ALSO FAILED SHORTLY AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED AND HE WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE IN REVERSE GEAR. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BANDS IN THE TRANSMISSION MAY HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE TO OCCUR. A LOCAL MECHANIC REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WHICH HAS THREE HOSES ATTACHED TO IT. FORD WAS CURRENTLY CHECKING THE TRANSMISSION TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,600. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 96,620.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/3/2013 - APACHE JUNCTION, AZ
I HAVE A BAD PROBLEM ( 2 ) TIMES WITH THE FUEL PUMP THE FIRST ONE WAS SPRAYING GAS OUT TOP EXTERIOR OF FUEL PUMP .MY HUSBAND WENT TO A WRECKING YARD AND PURCHASED A USED FUEL PUMP THAN 5 TO 6 MONTHS LATER DONE THE SAME THING SPRAYING OUT TOP EXTERIOR ELBOW OF FUEL PUMP. I USE MY TRUCK TO TAKE MY DAUGHTER BACK AND FORTH TO SCHOOL AND IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS CAUSE THE FUMES WERE REALLY BAD INSIDE OF CAB AND PLUS IF SOME ONE WAS TO THROW A CIGARETTE OR ANYTHING THAT COULD IGNITE THE LEAKING GAS . I THINK THAT THIS MATTER SHOULD BE FIXED CAUSE I KNOW THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE THAT HAD OR HAS THIS PROBLEM AND NOT TO SAY ALL OF THE OTHER THINGS THAT ARE WRONG LIKE MY HIGH BEAMS NOT WORKING THE FRONT DOOR WINDOW IS VERY SLOW GOING UP AND DOWN AND THE BACK DOOR ( PASSENGER RIGHT SIDE ) BLOW MOTOR AND ECT. THE BIG ONE IS THE FUEL PUMP I FELL THAT THIS IS THE WORST AND IT SHOULD BE FIX BEFORE SOMEONE GETS BADLY HURT OR KILLED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/11/2012 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
SITTING AT A STOP SIGN VEHICLE WENT INTO ACCELERATION GAS PEDDLE WENT TO FLOOR. FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. CHECKED NO CARPET STUCK UNDER THE GAS PEDDLE. FOOT WAS NOT TOUCHING GAS PEDDLE. IT WAS ALMOST LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDDLE. CRUISE CONTROL WAS OFF. SHUT VEHICLE OFF THEN BACK ON ISSUE WENT AWAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED OTHER TIMES TO MYSELF AND MY WIFE. SOMETIMES WHILE PUSHING THE GAS THE GAS PEDDLE LEAVES YOUR FOOT AND CONTINUES TO THE FLOOR ON ITS OWN, PRESSING THE BRAKE AND TURNING VEHICLE OFF SEEMS TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS ISSUE HAPPENS SO IN FREQUENTLY THAT IT IS HARD TO REPRODUCE FOR SERVICE SHOP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/11/2012 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
SITTING AT A STOP SIGN VEHICLE WENT INTO ACCELERATION GAS PEDDLE WENT TO FLOOR. FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. CHECKED NO CARPET STUCK UNDER THE GAS PEDDLE. FOOT WAS NOT TOUCHING GAS PEDDLE. IT WAS ALMOST LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDDLE. CRUISE CONTROL WAS OFF. SHUT VEHICLE OFF THEN BACK ON ISSUE WENT AWAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED OTHER TIMES TO MYSELF AND MY WIFE. SOMETIMES WHILE PUSHING THE GAS THE GAS PEDDLE LEAVES YOUR FOOT AND CONTINUES TO THE FLOOR ON ITS OWN, PRESSING THE BRAKE AND TURNING VEHICLE OFF SEEMS TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS ISSUE HAPPENS SO IN FREQUENTLY THAT IT IS HARD TO REPRODUCE FOR SERVICE SHOP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2012 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
SITTING AT A STOP SIGN VEHICLE WENT INTO ACCELERATION GAS PEDDLE WENT TO FLOOR. FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. CHECKED NO CARPET STUCK UNDER THE GAS PEDDLE. FOOT WAS NOT TOUCHING GAS PEDDLE. IT WAS ALMOST LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDDLE. CRUISE CONTROL WAS OFF. SHUT VEHICLE OFF THEN BACK ON ISSUE WENT AWAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED OTHER TIMES TO MYSELF AND MY WIFE. SOMETIMES WHILE PUSHING THE GAS THE GAS PEDDLE LEAVES YOUR FOOT AND CONTINUES TO THE FLOOR ON ITS OWN, PRESSING THE BRAKE AND TURNING VEHICLE OFF SEEMS TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS ISSUE HAPPENS SO IN FREQUENTLY THAT IT IS HARD TO REPRODUCE FOR SERVICE SHOP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2012 - ALTADENA, CA
I HAVE HAD FUEL TANK ISSUES FOR A YEAR NOW AND THEY ARE GETTING WORSE. MY GAUGE STOPPED WORKING ABOUT 13 MONTHS AGO WHICH WAS NO BIG DEAL. NOW I AM UNABLE TO PUT MORE THEN 4-5 GALLONS OF GAS IN AT A TIME. THE SAFETY SENSOR STOPS THE PUMP FROM FILLING UP MY TANK AND IF I TRY TO DO IT A LITTLE AT A TIME IT JUST SHOOTS GAS OUT OF MY FILL AREA AND GETS EVERYWHERE. I HAVE BEEN DOUSED IN GAS AND I HAVE RUN OUT OF GAS IN VERY BAD AREAS. THE SENSOR REPLACEMENT WAS ONLY A TEMPORARY FIX, NOW IT'S IMPOSSIBLE TO PUT GAS IN MY TANK AND IT'S STARTING TO RUN POORLY. I HAVE TO STOP EVERYDAY FOR GAS. THIS IS A MALFUNCTIONING FORD PART THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPLACED. I HAVE RUN OUT OF GAS AND WHEN THAT HAPPENS EVERY THING SHUTS DOWN INCLUDING THE POWER STEERING. IT WAS DANGEROUS AND DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER MY TRUCK, I WAS GETTING ON THE FREEWAY AND THE ON RAMP WAS A SEMI-CIRCLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2012 - ELLENWOOD, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY DECELERATED TO 40 MPH. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY ANOTHER DRIVER THAT SPARKS WERE COMING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MANEUVERED THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE WERE FLAMES UNDER THE DRIVER+S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 182,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2012 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR BODY MOUNT FRACTURED AND WAS PROTRUDING THROUGH THE BOTTOM OF THE CAB. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. . UPDATED 04/11/12 UPDATED 04/30/12

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/24/2012 - FORT WORTH, TX
FAULTY CYLINDER HEAD CAUSING A THROWN SPARK PLUG, AND A BROKEN COIL PACK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds