Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC - 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (4)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/20/2007 - MIAMI, FL
MY SPORT TRUCK 2003 CAUGHT ON FIRE ON MARCH 26, 2007 I REPORTED COMPLAIN TO FORD AND THEY SAY THEY WERE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS. TODAY SEPTEMBER 20/07 MY FRIEND CAR HAS A RECALL FOR THE SPEED CONTROL DEACTIVATION SWITCH POSING THE RISK OF AN UNDERHOOD FIRE. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR AND FORD DOES NOT WANT TO ADMIT THAT THE REASON FOR THE FIRE WAS IT. MY CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS. I WAS DRIVING WITH ALL MY FAMILY IN THE CAR. I DID NOT HAVE FULL COVERAGE ON MY CAR SINCE MY CAR WAS PAID IN FULL WHEN I BOUGHT IT IN SAGRASS FORD IN FT. LAUDERDALE FLORIDA.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/14/2007 - MIAMI, FL
I WAS GOING BACK HOME TO MIAMI AND MY CAR 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC CAUGHT ON FIRE AT THE EXIT OF THE MIDTOWN TUNNEL IN NEW YORK CITY. THE FIRE STARTED IN THE FRONT MOTOR AT THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE POLICE USED 3 FIRE EXTINGUISHERS BUT ALL THE EFFORT THEY DID WAS NOT ENOUGH. MY CAR WAS COMPLETELY ON FIRE. THE MOTOR, THE SEATS , ALL THE INTERIOR WAS COMPLETELY DESTROY BY THE FIRE. THE FIREMAN ARRIVED AFTER A FEW MINUTES, BUT IT WAS TO LATE. I BOUGHT THIS CAR CASH BRAND NEW FROM SAWGRASS FORD IN FT LAUDERDALE FLORIDA. I DID NOT HAVE FULL COVER AND I LOST EVERY THING.. I WAS IN NEW YORK WITH MY FAMILY AND WITH NO CAR TO GO BACK HOME.. I CALLED FORD AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT HAPPEN TO THAT CAR. I AM SURE THIS IS NOT FAIR TO ME OR TO ANYBODY. THE CAR WAS A 2003 AND ONLY HAD ABOUT 46,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

7/16/2007 - DEER PARK, TX
CONSTANT LOUD SQUEAL COMING FROM SERPENTINE BELT, REPLACED BY DEALERSHIP AND I HAD TO PURCHASE, STILL SQUEAL, WARRANTY AND REPLACED, STILL SQUEALED DEALERSHIP CALLED FORD, FORD SUGGESTED STRONGER BELT THAT NORMALLY DOES NOT GO IN THIS TRUCK. CURRENTLY NO SQUEAL. TOTAL BELTS: 4

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/5/2006 - BELL CANYON, CA
VEHICLE SHUTS DOWN WHEN DRIVING---BOTH LOW AND HIGH SPEED--BRAKES, STEERING, ELECTRICAL, GAS--ALL QUIT. AFTER A FEW MINUTES THE CAR WILL START AGAIN. HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. DEALER, VISTA FORD, SAYS NOTHING WRONG/CAN'T DUPLICATE.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

6/25/2006 - FUQUAY-VARINA, NC
GOODYEAR WRANGLER RT/S TIRES HAVE 1 TO 3 INCH SPLITS APPROX. 1 INCH FROM THE RIM, I HAVE THIS ON ALL 4 TIRES. THEY ARE ON A FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC 2003.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

5/8/2006 - DENVER, CO
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING A RATTLING NOISE WAS HEARD. THIS OCCURRED AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. UPON INSPECTION, A FRACTURE WAS OBSERVED ON THE FRAME OF THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE . THE FRACTURE BECAME LARGER OVER TIME. THE DEALERSHIP WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FRACTURE, BUT RECOMMENDED REMOVING THE BOLTS, AND ADDING A METAL PATCH TO THE FRAME. UPDATED 06/07/2006.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

1/19/2006 - CIRCLE PINES , MN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ON 1/12/06 AT 6:15 AM. IT WAS RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN MY HOOD FLEW UP. I COULDN'T SEE A THING. I HAD TO MERGE OVER 3 LANES TO GET TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. I COULDN'T SEE ANYTHING IN FRONT OF ME BECAUSE THE HOOD OF MY TRUCK COMPLETELY COVERED MY FRONT WINDOW. WHEN I GOT TO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY A HIGHWAY PATROL STOPPED. HE SAID THAT HE WAS AMAZED THAT I WASN'T SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN DEAD. I GOT THE HOOD TO COME BACK DOWN. THE HOOD WOULDN'T LATCH BECAUSE IT WAS BENT UP. I HAD TO DRIVE 15 MPH DOWN THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY UNTIL I COULD TAKE AN OFF RAMP. I HAD TO TAKE ALL THE BACK ROADS AND DRIVE DOWN THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD TO GET BACK HOME. MY HUSBAND AND I PULLED UP THE HOOD AND WERE SHOCKED TO SEE WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. THE HOOK THAT LOCKED DOWN MY HOOD WAS GONE. THE ENTIRE HOOD HINGE AND ATTACHMENT WAS MISSING. THE ONLY WAY WE KNEW IT WAS EVER THERE WERE THE 2 SCREWS THAT HELD IT THERE. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPENED. THEY KIND OF DISMISSED IT LIKE I WAS OVERSTATING THE FACTS. THE HOOD WAS SHUT. I DIDN'T HIT A POT HOLE OR ANYTHING. MY HUSBAND TOOK THE TRUCK OVER TO THE DEALERSHIP. AS SOON AS THEY SAW IT THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T BELIEVE IT. IT HAD TO BE A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT. THEY SAID THEY HAD TO LOOK IT OVER AND TALK TO THEIR MANAGER AND THEN THEY WOULD CALL US. WE CALLED BACK ON FRIDAY, 1-13-06. THEY ASSURED ME IT WAS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT AND THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACE THE HOOD, GRILL AREA UNDER THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS, AND DO SOMETHING WITH THE TO FRONT QUARTER PANELS BECAUSE THEY WERE BENT UP FROM THE HOOD FLIPPING UP. THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD BE DONE BY TUESDAY AND AT NO COST TO ME. IT IS 1/19/06 AND THEY TOLD MY HUSBAND THEY HAVEN'T ORDERED ANYTHING AND THEY SAID THEY HAVEN'T HAD THE TIME. THEY SAID THEY AREN'T PUTTING NEW PARTS BACK ON MY TRUCK. WHY IS THAT. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR FORD'S MANUFACTURE DEFECT THAT COULD HAVE KILLED ME.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

1/3/2006 - SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
WHEN FILLING GAS TANK OF FORD SPORT TRAC, GASOLINE SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING SPRAYED OUT OF FILLER PIPE COVERING MY CLOTHS WITH GASOLINE. I TOOK VEHICLE BACK TO DEALER AND TOLD IT HAS BEEN REPAIRED. NEXT TIME I FILLED THE TANK, GASOLINE AGAIN WITHOUT WARNING ERUPTED FROM FILL PIPE AND SPRAYED ON MY SHOES AND PANTS. AGAIN RETURNED THE AUTOMOBILE TO DEALER AND TOLD THAT THE VENT PIPE HAD WATER IN IT. TOLD THAT IT HAD BEEN FIXED. AFTER AUTO RETURNED IT FILLED ONCE WITHOUT DIFFICULTY. HOWEVER, THE SECOND TIME I TRIED TO FILLED IT, GASOLINE SPRAYED OUT OF FILL PIPE. I IMMEDIATELY RETURNED TO DEALER. THIS TIME I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A FORD "SERVICE BULLETIN" ON THE VEHICLE INDICATING THAT VENT HOLE WAS TOO LARGE AND WATER AND OTHER MATERIAL COULD THEREFORE INTO VENT PIPE. DEALER REPAIRED AUTOMOBILE BUT WOULD NOT RELEASE AUTOMOBILE UNTIL $500.00 REPAIR BILL PAID, DESPITE FORD ACKNOWLEDGING THAT THIS WAS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT IN CERTAIN SPORT TRAC MODELS. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT, CAUSING GASOLINE TO SPRAY ALL OVER PEOPLE AND RUN OUT ON THE GROUND. WITH THE ADMISSION THAT IT IS A DEFECT, FORD SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO RECALL ALL SPORT TRAC AND PAY FOR REPAIRS. DOES IT REQUIRE THAT SOMEONE FIRST BE BURNING TO DEATH BEFORE APPROPRIATE ACTION IS TAKEN?

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

10/26/2005 - SUTTON, WV
DT THE PASSENGERS REAR DOOR HANDLE BROKE OFF THE VEHICLE AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR DOOR HANDLE WAS STUCK. HAD TO GET OUT AND OPEN THE DOOR IN ORDER TO GET THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPEN. NOW, ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR THE HANDLE HAS BROKE OFF. STARTED NOTICING THE PROBLEM WITH THE DOOR LATCHES ON JULY 31, 2005. CONTACTED THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER, AND THEY SAID IT WOULD BE OVER $300.00 TO HAVE THEM FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

9/21/2005 - BOONE, IA
DT: THE CONSUMER STATED THAT 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC SPECIAL EDITION WITH AVALANCHE ON THE BACK WAS HAVING A STALLING PROBLEM. THE ANTI-THEFT DEVICE LIGHT BLINKED ON THE DASHBOARD, AND THEN THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF THE POWER. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE REPAIR SHOP SEVEN TO EIGHT TIMES FOR THIS PROBLEM. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP LONGER THAN IT HAS BEEN WITH THE CONSUMER. THE DEALERSHIP PUT THE EDR ON THE TRUCK, AND FOUND NO INFORMATION. THE TRUCK STALLED WHEN THE LIGHT CAME ON. THE DEALERSHIP WAS STUNNED BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WAS. THE CONSUMER WAS AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. HE TRIED TO TRADE THE TRUCK IN FOR A NEW VEHICLE, BUT THE DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT GIVE THE CONSUMER ENOUGH MONEY FOR THE TRUCK. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD THE CONSUMER THAT THEY DID NOT WANT THE TRUCK AND WOULD BE AFRAID TO SELL THE TRUCK TO SOMEONE ELSE. THERE HAVE BEEN ENGINEERS FROM FORD TO EXAMINE THE TRUCK AND STILL NO ONE COULD FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. SPEED WAS 30 MPH AND UNDER. THE CONSUMER CONTACTED FORD PERSONALLY, AND THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds