Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC - 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 FORD EXPLORER SPORT TRAC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (4)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/5/2004 - HOWELL, MI
WHILE DRIVING AND ATTEMPTING TO APPLY THE BRAKES THEY FAILED INTERMITTENTLY. NO IMPACT REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS REPLACED BUT THE BRAKES FAILED AGAIN AFTER IT WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AT LEFT FOR TWO WEEKS. DURING THAT TIME THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE CONSUMER FEELS THAT THE ENTIRE BRAKE SYSTEM SHOULD BE REPLACED SINCE THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY

7/20/2004 - EAST POINT, GA
VEHICLE WILL STALL AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT AND THE ENGINE HAS NOT REACH NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE, FUEL TANK FULL AND THE VEHICLE IS PROCEEDING UP AN INCLINE. WHEN VEHICLE STALLS YOU CAN START THE VEHICLE AND PROCEED. AFTER REACHING NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURE OR THE VEHICLE HAVE TRAVEL FORTY TO EIGHTY MILES ON THE TANK OF GAS IT WILL NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM UNTIL YOU REFILL THE TANK AGAIN. IF THE TANK IS KEPT FULL OR NO MORE THAN ONE OR TWO GALLONS ARE USED UP. IT WILL NOT STALL. I HAVE HAD IT BACK FOR REPAIR FIVE OR SIX TIMES BUT NO LUCK. THE LAST VISIT TO THE DEALER THEY PUT A RECORDER ON THE VEHICLE WHICH I KEPT FOR THREE WEEKS AND IT RECORDED THE STALL. THE DEALER STATED THAT IT WAS BEING OVERFILLED BUT I NEVER OVERFILL THE VEHICLE AND I EXPLAINED THAT TO THEM. I PURCHASE THE VEHICLE NEW ON 7/31/03 AND DROVE IT HOME ON THE TANK OF GAS THE DEALER PUT IN IT. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR TEN DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION AND WHEN I RETURNED I DROVE IT THE NEXT DAY AND IT STALLED AND IT HAD NOT BEEN REFUELED. THE TANK WAS STILL FULL FROM THE DEARLER'S ORIGINAL FILL-UP. I TOOK IT BACK THE FIRST TIME 8/19/03 AND THE DEALER REPLACE A PART(VALVE) THAT THEY INDICATED MAY HAVE BEEN DEFECTIVE BUT IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DIFFERENTIAL UNIT

7/16/2004 - WALLACE, WV
THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW WITH A BENT FRAME AND A BENT REAR AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. 6 SETS OF TIRES WERE USED AND REPLACED DURING THIS DEFECT. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A BENT FRAME. HOWEVER, THE DEALER WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT THE PROBLEM. THERE WAS A VIBRATION IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, THE DEALERS DIDN'T FIND A PROBLEM. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, THE CONSUMER NOTICED THAT THE TIRES WERE WORN ON THE INSIDE. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR END WAS TILTED AND THERE WAS NO ADJUSTMENT FOR THIS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRAME WAS BENT. THREE SETS OF TIRES IN 20K MILES AND ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER, THEY HAD TO REPLACE 1 OF THE BACK TIRES AGAIN. THE NOISE AND VIBRATION REMAINED THE SAME. THE CONSUMER REQUESTED TO BE COMPENSATED FOR THE BENT FRAME. THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL COVER LEAKED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/16/2004 - WALLACE, WV
THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW WITH A BENT FRAME AND A BENT REAR AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. 6 SETS OF TIRES WERE USED AND REPLACED DURING THIS DEFECT. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A BENT FRAME. HOWEVER, THE DEALER WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT THE PROBLEM. THERE WAS A VIBRATION IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, THE DEALERS DIDN'T FIND A PROBLEM. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, THE CONSUMER NOTICED THAT THE TIRES WERE WORN ON THE INSIDE. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR END WAS TILTED AND THERE WAS NO ADJUSTMENT FOR THIS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRAME WAS BENT. THREE SETS OF TIRES IN 20K MILES AND ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER, THEY HAD TO REPLACE 1 OF THE BACK TIRES AGAIN. THE NOISE AND VIBRATION REMAINED THE SAME. THE CONSUMER REQUESTED TO BE COMPENSATED FOR THE BENT FRAME. THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL COVER LEAKED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

7/16/2004 - WALLACE, WV
THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW WITH A BENT FRAME AND A BENT REAR AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. 6 SETS OF TIRES WERE USED AND REPLACED DURING THIS DEFECT. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A BENT FRAME. HOWEVER, THE DEALER WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT THE PROBLEM. THERE WAS A VIBRATION IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, THE DEALERS DIDN'T FIND A PROBLEM. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, THE CONSUMER NOTICED THAT THE TIRES WERE WORN ON THE INSIDE. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR END WAS TILTED AND THERE WAS NO ADJUSTMENT FOR THIS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRAME WAS BENT. THREE SETS OF TIRES IN 20K MILES AND ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER, THEY HAD TO REPLACE 1 OF THE BACK TIRES AGAIN. THE NOISE AND VIBRATION REMAINED THE SAME. THE CONSUMER REQUESTED TO BE COMPENSATED FOR THE BENT FRAME. THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL COVER LEAKED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

2/19/2004 - HANAHAN, SC
IF THE REMOVABLE LIFTGATE HAS ANY PRESSURE ON THE BOTTOM, IT WILL RELEASE. WHEN IT RELEASES, IT IS HEAVY ENOUGH TO CAUSE HARM OR INJURY TO A PERSON. PLEASE PROVIDE FURTHER DETAILS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/3/2003 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2003 SPORTRACK IN DECEMBER OF 2002 FROM SUNRISE FORD. I DROVE MY SUV HOME, PARKED IT AND WENT INSIDE FOR LESS THAN 20 MINUTES. WHEN I CAME OUT TO DRIVE DRIVE MY GUESTS AROUND THE BLOCK, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. I CALLED SUNRISE FORD AND SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY SENT THE SALES PERSON TO MY PLACE RATHER THAN A MECHANIC. HE BASICALLY BELITTLED ME INFRONT OF MY GUESTS BY TELLING ME I DID SOMETHING TO MY CAR. IT WAS EMBARASSING ENOUGH THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START NOW I HAD TO DEAL WITH THE SALES PERSON, WHO AS IT TURNS OUT KNEW ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT THE SPORTRACK, TELLING ME I DID SOMETHING WRONG TO MY VEHICLE TO MAKE IT NOT WANT TO START. HE FINALLY CALLED THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, HAD A MECHANIC COME OUT AND THEY TRIED TO START IT. NO LUCK. LONG STORY SHORT I FOUND SUNRISE FORD'S SALES AND SUPPORT STAFF WERE VERY HARD TO WORK WITH RIGHT AFTER MY SALE. I FELT MISLEADED. FROM ARRANGING A LOANER BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM TO GETTING A QUALIFIED PERSON TO DIAGNOSE MY VEHICLE. I HAD HAD THE CAR NEARLY 1 WEEK BEFORE THE PROBLEM COULD BE COMPLETELY SOLVED. MY NEXT PROBLEM BEGAN IN AUGUST OF 2003, ROUGHLY 9 MONTHS LATER. IT IS NOW STALLING. MOST CASES HAVE BEEN WHILE STOPPING FOR A STOP SIGN OR LIGHT. OTHER TIMES JUST AFTER LEAVING THE STOP LIGHT OR SIGN, IT USUALLY STALLS IMMEDIATELY WHEN I ACCECELERATE. THE WORST CASE HAS BEEN WHILE ON THE ON RAMP TO THE FREEWAY. IN ALL CASES I LOST ALL POWER, EXCEPT FOR THE RADIO, AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. AFTER HAVING THE FORD DEALERSHIP RUN A DIAGNNOSTIC TEST ON MY VEHICLE THE FOUND NOTHING...

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: RECLINER

9/3/2003 - ATLANTA, GA
I WAS HIT FROM BEHIND AND PUSHED INTO A VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. DURING THE IMPACT, MY SEATBACK (DRIVER'S) MOVED BACK SLIGHTLY AND THE CENTER OF THE SEAT BACK COLLAPSED, CAUSING ME TO INJURE MY BACK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

8/15/2003 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
GASOLINE IS EXPELLED FROM THE FILLER PIPE EVERYTIME I TRY TO REFUEL THE TANK. THE PROBLEM WORSENS WITH EACH ATTEMPT TO REFUEL BECAUSE THE GAS PUMPS CONTINUOUSLY SHUT OFF FOR SAFETY REASONS. DEALER HAS REPLACED A SAFETY VALVE TO THE TANK WHICH TEMPORARILY HELPED BUT THE PROBLEM IS NOW WORSE THAN EVER. THERE IS CURRENTLY NO MANUFACTURER'S RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

8/5/2003 - CYPRESS, TX
STEERING WHEEL SHAKES WHILE MAKING SHARP, SLOW RIGHT OR LEFT TURNS. DEALER NOT SURE WHAT THE PROBLEM IS, SAYS ALL SPORT TRACKS DO THAT, HOWEVER WHEN I BOUGHT IT, IT DIDN'T. I DROVE ANOTHER NEW ONE FROM THE DEALER WHILE MINE WAS IN SERVICE...AND THE STEERING WAS FINE. ALSO, THE A/C COMPRESSOR IS OUT AND BEING REPLACED AND I'VE ONLY MADE ONE PAYMENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds