Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2003 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 969 complaints filed for the 2003 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (19) Suspension (49)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (16) Latches Locks Linkages (83) Service Brakes (7) Tires (22)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (534) Exterior Lighting (15) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (57) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (50) Steering (76) Visibility (25)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (17) Structure (38) Wheels (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2019 - RED OAK, TX
HAD TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION AT 104,000 WENT OUT WITHOUT ANY WARNING.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2019 - DALLAS, TX
REPLACED THE CRANK CENSOR AND IT WON+T START

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2019 - MASON, OH
NEW ONSET BURNING SMELL WHILE DRIVING IN SUBURBAN ENVIRONMENT. PARKED CAR, THEN IT WOULDN+T START. UPON INSPECTION FOUND BATTERY CABLES/SHEATH MELTING. REPLACED BATTERY, CAR STARTED. CAR PARKED AND 1 HR LATER WOULDN+T START- NEW BATTERY IS DEAD. REPLACED WITH 2ND NEW BATTERY, HOOKED UP CABLES AND SPARKS CAME FROM BATTERY (INSTALLED CORRECTLY). CAR STILL WON+T START.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2018 - PEORIA, IL
2003 FORD FOCUS AUTOMATIC LOCK MALFUNCTIONED DOUBLELOCKING THE DOOR CREATING A DEADLOCK EFFECT RESULTING IN NOT BEING ABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2018 - LANCASTER, PA
I WAS LEAVING A PARKING LOT DOING NO MORE THAN 5 MPH WHEN THE CAR MADE A SUDDEN JERKING MOTION. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A GARAGE. THE DAMAGES WERE SEVERE RUST, SUB FRAME ROTTED, RIGHT FRONT AXLE BROKEN, RIGHT FRONT CONTROL ARM BROKEN, SWAY BAR BENT. THE TOW DRIVER SAID THE WHEELS COULD HAVE FALLEN OFF MY CAR AND I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THE THING THAT WENT WRONG. I PUT MYSELF AND MY FAMILY IN DANGER WITH THIS DEATH TRAP. SUPPOSEDLY THIS CAR WAS INSPECTED FEBRUARY 2018. WITH EVERYTHING THAT WENT WRONG WITH IT AND THE DAMAGES, I DONT SEE HOW IT COULD HAVE BEEN. I BELIEVE THERE TO BE FRAUD INVOLVED AND BELIEVE THIS MATTER SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FURTHER FOR PUTTING LIVES IN DANGER. I PAID $3,000 FOR THIS CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF FEB. 2018. IT IS NOW AUGUST AND IT HAD INCURRED $3,000 IN DAMAGES. I SOLD THE CAR FOR SALVAGE AT $125

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/12/2018 - LANCASTER, PA
I WAS LEAVING A PARKING LOT DOING NO MORE THAN 5 MPH WHEN THE CAR MADE A SUDDEN JERKING MOTION. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A GARAGE. THE DAMAGES WERE SEVERE RUST, SUB FRAME ROTTED, RIGHT FRONT AXLE BROKEN, RIGHT FRONT CONTROL ARM BROKEN, SWAY BAR BENT. THE TOW DRIVER SAID THE WHEELS COULD HAVE FALLEN OFF MY CAR AND I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THE THING THAT WENT WRONG. I PUT MYSELF AND MY FAMILY IN DANGER WITH THIS DEATH TRAP. SUPPOSEDLY THIS CAR WAS INSPECTED FEBRUARY 2018. WITH EVERYTHING THAT WENT WRONG WITH IT AND THE DAMAGES, I DONT SEE HOW IT COULD HAVE BEEN. I BELIEVE THERE TO BE FRAUD INVOLVED AND BELIEVE THIS MATTER SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FURTHER FOR PUTTING LIVES IN DANGER. I PAID $3,000 FOR THIS CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF FEB. 2018. IT IS NOW AUGUST AND IT HAD INCURRED $3,000 IN DAMAGES. I SOLD THE CAR FOR SALVAGE AT $125

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2018 - LANCASTER, PA
I WAS LEAVING A PARKING LOT DOING NO MORE THAN 5 MPH WHEN THE CAR MADE A SUDDEN JERKING MOTION. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A GARAGE. THE DAMAGES WERE SEVERE RUST, SUB FRAME ROTTED, RIGHT FRONT AXLE BROKEN, RIGHT FRONT CONTROL ARM BROKEN, SWAY BAR BENT. THE TOW DRIVER SAID THE WHEELS COULD HAVE FALLEN OFF MY CAR AND I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THE THING THAT WENT WRONG. I PUT MYSELF AND MY FAMILY IN DANGER WITH THIS DEATH TRAP. SUPPOSEDLY THIS CAR WAS INSPECTED FEBRUARY 2018. WITH EVERYTHING THAT WENT WRONG WITH IT AND THE DAMAGES, I DONT SEE HOW IT COULD HAVE BEEN. I BELIEVE THERE TO BE FRAUD INVOLVED AND BELIEVE THIS MATTER SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FURTHER FOR PUTTING LIVES IN DANGER. I PAID $3,000 FOR THIS CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF FEB. 2018. IT IS NOW AUGUST AND IT HAD INCURRED $3,000 IN DAMAGES. I SOLD THE CAR FOR SALVAGE AT $125

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/9/2018 - TOPEKA, KS
SKIDS TO SIDE AND SPINS ON WET ROAD EVEN IF THE TIRES ARE GOOD EVEN AT 30MPH. TOO MUCH SIDE WAYS SHIFT ON LITTLE BUMPY ROADS.

View Details

STEERING

8/9/2018 - ADDISON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL DETACHED FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/20/2018 - TELLICO PLAINS, TN
THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED LESS THAN A WEEK AGO. NOW, IT IS NEEDING REPLACED AGAIN. THERE SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE ELECTRICAL WIRING IN THESE VEHICLES! THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds