Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2003 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1205 complaints filed for the 2003 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Exterior Lighting (45) Other (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (97) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (317) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (86)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Seat Belts (2) Structure (110) Visibility (206)
Engine (22) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (3) Suspension (328) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (67) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (18) Tires (18) Wheels (8)
Equipment (27) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/9/2019 - FARMINGTON, MN
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT POSTED SPEEDS WHEN MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW WITH THE ACCELERATOR STILL PRESSED, ALMOST GETTING REAR ENDED I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SHOULDER OF THE FREEWAY. I REALIZED THE CAR WAS RUNNING BUT WOULD NOT GO FORWARD OR REVERSE. I HAD TO CALL A TOW TRUCK. I WAITED THREE HOURS FOR THE TOW TRUCK TO SHOW UP AND THEN HAD IT TOWED 80 MILES TO MY HOUSE. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER SPLINES WOULD FAIL WITH NO WARNING. I ALSO DID SOME TEST TO CONFIRM IT WAS THE TORQUE CONVERTER. THERE ARE SO MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THE SAME ISSUE AND FORD MOTOR COMPANY HAS DONE NOTHING TO RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEM. DOES IT TAKE SOMEONE GETTING KILLED FIRST? FORD NEEDS TO STEP UP AND RECALL TO FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE PEOPLE ARE KILLED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/29/2018 - TOWANDA, KS
A STRANGE GRINDING NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE PASSENGER FRONT TIRE AREA WHICH WAS VERY NOTICABLE TRYING TO BACK OUT OF DRIVEWAY, SO PULLED BACK IN AND LOOKED TO SEE WHAT MIGHT BE WRONG. I NOTICED A BURNING RUBBER SMELL AND THAT THE WHEEL CLEARANCE WAS SIGNIFICANTLY LESS ON PASSENGER VERSE DRIVER FRONT TIRE. DROVE UP ONTO RAMPS TO LOOK FROM BENEATH AND COULD CLEARLY SEE THE END OF THE COIL POKING INTO THE INSIDE EDGE OF THE TIRE WITH A WORN MARK ALL THE WAY AROUND WHERE IT WAS PUSHING INTO THE RUBBER. AFTER CAREFULLY BACKING OFF RAMPS, IT WAS JACKED UP AND PLACED ON JACK STANDS, AT WHICH TIME IT WAS CLEARLY VISIBLE THE COIL SPRING WAS SNAPPED IN TWO. IT IS A MIRACLE THIS WAS FOUND BEFORE MY SISTER DROVE 70MPH ON THE HIGHWAY SHE WAS ABOUT TO. THIS WOULD+VE CERTAINLY CAUSED A BLOWOUT AND POTENTIALLY A FIRE, AND AT THOSE SPEEDS COULD+VE CERTAINLY BEEN DEADLY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/21/2018 - NORFOLK, VA
I PURCHASED THE CAR 11/17/2018 FROM EARLS CREDIT AUTO SALES IN PORTSMOUTH ON AIRLINE BLVD ; IT RODE WELL UNTIL 11/30/2018 WHEN I DROVE TO THE BARBERSHOP IN THE GREENBRIER AREA OF CHESAPEAKE VA. I WENT TO PULL OUT THE PARKING LOT AND MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE REAL HEAVY AND SLOPPY SO I PARKED IT AND TURNT IT OFF , WHEN I TRIED TO START IT UP IT WOULD NOT START IT KEPT STALLING I CALLED THE DEALERSHIPS AUTO SHOP THEY TOOK THE CAR AND HELD IT AND CLAIM THEY WERE WORKING ON IT , I PICKED THE CAR UP WHEN IT WAS READY 12/04/2018. IT RODE FINE UNTIL 12/14/2018 I WENT TO THE BARBERSHOP AGAIN AND AS I WAS LEAVING BACKING OUT MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE HEAVILY AGAIN THAN BEFORE I COULD PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE TO PULL BACK IN TO THE PARKING SPOT THE CAR JUST CUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE PARKING LOT WHILE A CAR WAS TO THE LEFT OF ME TRYING TO PULL OUT . I HAD TO GET OUT AND PUSH THE CAR IN THE SPOT AND HURRY AND RUSH TO PUSH ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. WHEN I GOT A TOW TO THE DEALERSHIPS AUTO SHOP I EXPLAINED THIS IS MY SECOND TIME HERE UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES , I ALSO CALLED THE DEALERSHIP PLEADING TO GIVE THE CAR BACK AND TO BE REFUNDED I BARLEY GOT TO ENJOY OR USE THE BEGUILE WITHOUT IT BEING A PROBLEM . I WAS TOLD THEY DON+T ALLOW REFUNDS AND THERE AUTO SHOP WILL FIX THE CAR , SO WHEN THEY SAID THE CAR WAS READY ON 12/15/2018 IT DROVE WELL BUT IT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON I WENT TO AUTO ZONE FOR A FREE TEST AND I GOT A PO430 CODE , I CALLED THE AUTO SHOP BEFORE THEY CLOSED BECAUSE THEY TOLD ME ON THE 14TH ALL WHAT WAS WRONG WAS A FUEL PUMP AND THEY REPLACED IT BUT IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE CATALYST SYSTEM I BEEN SMELLING A BURING SMELL COMING THROUGH MY VENTS FOR A WHILE BUT NEVER REALLY KNEW WHAT IT WAS . THE REP ON THE PHONE TOLD ME IT WAS FINE FOR ME TO STILL DRIVE THE CAR AND I ALSO I WON+T BE ABLE TO GET MY CAR WORKED ON TILL 12/26/2018 . I NEED HELP!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/21/2018 - NORFOLK, VA
I PURCHASED THE CAR 11/17/2018 FROM EARLS CREDIT AUTO SALES IN PORTSMOUTH ON AIRLINE BLVD ; IT RODE WELL UNTIL 11/30/2018 WHEN I DROVE TO THE BARBERSHOP IN THE GREENBRIER AREA OF CHESAPEAKE VA. I WENT TO PULL OUT THE PARKING LOT AND MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE REAL HEAVY AND SLOPPY SO I PARKED IT AND TURNT IT OFF , WHEN I TRIED TO START IT UP IT WOULD NOT START IT KEPT STALLING I CALLED THE DEALERSHIPS AUTO SHOP THEY TOOK THE CAR AND HELD IT AND CLAIM THEY WERE WORKING ON IT , I PICKED THE CAR UP WHEN IT WAS READY 12/04/2018. IT RODE FINE UNTIL 12/14/2018 I WENT TO THE BARBERSHOP AGAIN AND AS I WAS LEAVING BACKING OUT MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE HEAVILY AGAIN THAN BEFORE I COULD PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE TO PULL BACK IN TO THE PARKING SPOT THE CAR JUST CUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE PARKING LOT WHILE A CAR WAS TO THE LEFT OF ME TRYING TO PULL OUT . I HAD TO GET OUT AND PUSH THE CAR IN THE SPOT AND HURRY AND RUSH TO PUSH ON THE BREAK AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. WHEN I GOT A TOW TO THE DEALERSHIPS AUTO SHOP I EXPLAINED THIS IS MY SECOND TIME HERE UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES , I ALSO CALLED THE DEALERSHIP PLEADING TO GIVE THE CAR BACK AND TO BE REFUNDED I BARLEY GOT TO ENJOY OR USE THE BEGUILE WITHOUT IT BEING A PROBLEM . I WAS TOLD THEY DON+T ALLOW REFUNDS AND THERE AUTO SHOP WILL FIX THE CAR , SO WHEN THEY SAID THE CAR WAS READY ON 12/15/2018 IT DROVE WELL BUT IT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON I WENT TO AUTO ZONE FOR A FREE TEST AND I GOT A PO430 CODE , I CALLED THE AUTO SHOP BEFORE THEY CLOSED BECAUSE THEY TOLD ME ON THE 14TH ALL WHAT WAS WRONG WAS A FUEL PUMP AND THEY REPLACED IT BUT IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE CATALYST SYSTEM I BEEN SMELLING A BURING SMELL COMING THROUGH MY VENTS FOR A WHILE BUT NEVER REALLY KNEW WHAT IT WAS . THE REP ON THE PHONE TOLD ME IT WAS FINE FOR ME TO STILL DRIVE THE CAR AND I ALSO I WON+T BE ABLE TO GET MY CAR WORKED ON TILL 12/26/2018 . I NEED HELP!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2018 - CANTON, OH
HAD TO REPLACE MY TORQUE CONVERTER FOR $1,300 WHICH IS RIDICULOUS CONSIDERING THERE IS ONLY 87,000 MILES. THERE HAS BEEN THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS. FORD NEEDS TO FIX THIS! WOULDN'T LEAVE PARK, HAD IT TOWED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/21/2018 - SANDY, UT
BRAKE LIGHTS FAILED, HAS ADJUSTABLE PEDALS, AND WHEN I BOUGHT A SWITCH FROM FORD, THE INSERT MENTIONED A RECALL 04S12, LOCAL FORD DEALER DENIED THE RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/23/2018 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AFTER CAR WAS SITTING FOR A MONTH WHILE I WAS ILL. CAR SHAKES VERY BADLY WHEN I PUT ON THE BRAKES. BRAKE FLUID IS NOT LOW. CAR WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/20/2018 - JACKSON, TN
KEEP SHUTTING OFF RANDOMLY WHILE DURING IN THE CITY SITTING AT A TRAFFIC STOP. DOESN'T START ALL THE TIME. THERE'S RATTLING AND CLUNKING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2018 - JACKSON, TN
KEEP SHUTTING OFF RANDOMLY WHILE DURING IN THE CITY SITTING AT A TRAFFIC STOP. DOESN'T START ALL THE TIME. THERE'S RATTLING AND CLUNKING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2018 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE THROTTLE CONTROL CABLE BECAME STUCK. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DRIVER PLACED EXCESSIVE PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT ASSISTED THE DRIVER WITH RELEASING THE STUCK CABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE CONTACT CALLED AVIS FORD INC AT 248-355-7500 (29200 TELEGRAPH RD, SOUTHFIELD, MICHIGAN 48034) AND WAS INFORMED THAT AN UNKNOWN RECALL REPAIR WAS PREVIOUSLY PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE AND WOULD NOT BE DONE AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 115,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds