Auto Recalls for Consumers

HUMMER H2 - 2003 HUMMER H2 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 72 complaints filed for the 2003 HUMMER H2

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 HUMMER H2. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 HUMMER H2, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (12) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility (8)
Engine (3) Seat Belts (2) Steering (15) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Seats (1) Structure (11) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (4)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/19/2019 - FOREST RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. IT TOOK THE CONTACT UP TO THIRTY MINUTES TO START THE VEHICLE AND THE LOCK WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2019 - FOREST RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. IT TOOK THE CONTACT UP TO THIRTY MINUTES TO START THE VEHICLE AND THE LOCK WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/28/2018 - SAUTEE NACOOCHEE, GA
ONE EVENING WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN ON A LOCAL ROAD HEADED HOME MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS WHICH OFCOURSE WERE IN OPERATION SUDDENLY STOPPED STUCK IN THE UPRIGHT POSITION I IMMEDIATELY HEARD A SOMEWHAT LOUD HUMMING NOISE SOUNDING AS IF IT WERE COMING FROM INSIDE THE UPPER DASHBOARD I COULDN'T SEE TO DRIVE AS I NATURALLY RESPONDED TO THE WIPERS SUDDENLY STOPPING AND IN THE UPWARD POSITION MAKING IT HARD FOR ME TO SEE WHILE DRIVING, I QUICKLY TURNED THE KNOB ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL WHICH OPERATES THE WIPERS SPEED AND ON & OFF FUNCTION IN HOPES IT WOULD BRING THE WIPERS DOWN TO THE RESTING POSITION ESPECIALLY IF TURNED OFF HOWEVER EVEN THOUGH I TURNED THE KNOB TO THE OFF POSITION THE WIPERS REMAINED FROZEN IN THE SAME UPWARD STATE AS WHEN NO LONGER WIPING BUT THE HUMMING NOISE STOPPED. I QUICKLY PULLED OFF THE ROAD TURNING THE WIPERS ON AGAIN I COULD HERE THE HUMMING NOISE BUT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STILL FAILED TO MOVE. WHEN I TURN THE WIPERS OFF AGAIN NO NOISE COULD BE HEARD AND YET STILL NOT MAKING A DIFFERENCE IN MOVING THE WIPERS WHICH STOPPED WORKING WHILE IN THE UP ON WINDSHIELD POSITION. AFTER TOGGLING AROUND WITH THE ON AND OFF KNOB AND THE NOISE COMING ON AND OFF IN SEQUENCE WITH BUT NOT THE WIPERS I CONCLUDED THAT THE MOTOR WAS THE NOISE I WAS HEARING ESTABLISHING IT STILL WORKS HOWEVER NOT MOVING THE WIPERS IT IS INTENDED FOR. A WORKING WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR OR WHATEVER OPERATING MECHANISM BUT NO FUNCTIONAL WIPERS. THEREFORE I CAN NOT SEE ANYTIME DRIVING AND ALONG COMES THE RAIN FOR IT QUICKLY IMPAIRS THE VISIBILITY TO SEE THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD TO SEE THE ROAD OR TRAFFIC IN FRONT OF YOU MAKING EXTREMELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND PUTTING OTHER DRIVERS AT RISK ESPECIALLY IF ON THE HIGHWAY DOING FAST SPEEDS AND/ OR A PLACE WHERE IT IS NOT EASY TO PULL OVER SUDDENLY MAKES VERY STRESSFUL AND INCONVENIENT

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/22/2017 - PLEASANT GROVE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH ON A RAINY DAY, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 205-588-4478. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT PART OF A RECALL AND THE CONTACT HAD TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/12/2017 - SUNNYVALE, CA
WHEN I AM PARKED ON MY DRIVEWAY, THE TWO FRONT DOORS WILL NOT STAY OPEN TO LET ME AND MY WIFE SAFELY ENTER AND EXIT. THE DOORS ARE SUPPOSED TO BE HELD OPEN BY WHAT IS CALLED A DOOR CHECK. THESE TWO LEFT AND RIGHT DOOR CHECKS HAVE A DEFECTIVE DESIGN BECAUSE I ORDERED TWO NEW ONES, AND THE 2 DOORS WILL NOT STAY OPEN AS WE ARE ENTERING, AND EXITING THE HUMMER. THE DOORS QUICKLY CLOSE AND ALMOST BREAK OUR HIP , LEGS AND FEET. IT IS A DEFECTIVE DESIGN BECAUSE THEY USED PLASTIC AND RUBBER TO MAKE FRICTION TOGETHER IN THE DOOR CHECK. IT WILL NOT HOLD OPEN THE HEAVY DOOR(S) ON THE HUMMER H2. THE HUMMER ONLY HAS 14,710 MILES ON IT. SO, I KNOW THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM. NORMALLY, MY LAST GM CHEVROLET TRUCK USED DOOR CHECKS WITH STEEL ROLLER(S) THAT ROLLED AGAINST A STEEL SPRING(S). I AM HAVING DIFFICULTY ON YOUR WEBSITE TO UPLOAD A PHOTO OF THE DOOR CHECK WITH THE DEFECTIVE DESIGN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2017 - OKC, OK
I BOUGHT A VEHICLE FROM MOTOR FAIR LLC LOCATED AT 2827 N MAY AVE OKLAHOMA CITY OK 73107, I GOT FINANCED THROUGH TINKER FEDERAL CREDIT UNION MOTOR FAIR LLC OWNER HESHAM SHAFIK AND ELIZEBETH SHAFIK TOLD ME MY MILLAGE WAS 98K MILES BUT I FOUND OUT THE RIGHT MILLAGE AND IT IS 174,426 WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT THIS SITUATION?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/6/2017 - HUNTINGDON VALLEY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. AFTER COMING TO A STOP, THE BRAKE PEDAL SUDDENLY TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE INTO A PARKING LOT NEARBY AND NOTICED BRAKE FLUID LEAKING OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE LINE WAS RUSTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000. UPDATED 05/23/2017 UPDATED 06/08/17

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/22/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. WHILE DRIVING IN RAINY WEATHER AT 45 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V456000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,737. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/5/2016 - JEFFERSON, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ABS WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER DRIVING OVER 15 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,500.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

5/5/2016 - JEFFERSON, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 HUMMER H2. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL AND ABS WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER DRIVING OVER 15 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds