Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (36) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (9) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (1) Suspension (54) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/1/2019 - UTICA, NY
SUB FRAME WAS REPLACED DUE TO HIDDEN ROTTING OF INTERNAL MOUNTING STRUCTURE SEPARATION OF SUSPENSION COMPONENTS, CAUSING POOR CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND TIRE WEAR IN AUG. 2013. UNDER BODY WAS EXPOSED TO CORROSIVE WATER IN JULY, 2017 ABOUT THREE YEARS AGO AND HAS TURNED THE STEEL TO " CRACKERS " RUST CONDITION AND MADE IT UNSAFE TO BE ROAD WORTHY DUE TO POSSIBLE SEPARATION OF SUB FRAME AT BODY MOUNTS.. ALL REPAIRS WHERE AT MY EXPENSE. I FOUND SOME RECALLS TO LATE ON THE COMPUTER. I`M IN THE PROCESS OF REPLACING THE UNIT. I KEPT ALL RECORDS OF REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE SINCE I PURCHASED IT USED. THE POWER TRAIN IS IN GOOD RUNNING ORDER. I`M NOT TO COMPUTER SAVEY ! I HAVE A FAX MECHINE. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/1/2019 - UTICA, NY
SUB FRAME WAS REPLACED DUE TO HIDDEN ROTTING OF INTERNAL MOUNTING STRUCTURE SEPARATION OF SUSPENSION COMPONENTS, CAUSING POOR CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND TIRE WEAR IN AUG. 2013. UNDER BODY WAS EXPOSED TO CORROSIVE WATER IN JULY, 2017 ABOUT THREE YEARS AGO AND HAS TURNED THE STEEL TO " CRACKERS " RUST CONDITION AND MADE IT UNSAFE TO BE ROAD WORTHY DUE TO POSSIBLE SEPARATION OF SUB FRAME AT BODY MOUNTS.. ALL REPAIRS WHERE AT MY EXPENSE. I FOUND SOME RECALLS TO LATE ON THE COMPUTER. I`M IN THE PROCESS OF REPLACING THE UNIT. I KEPT ALL RECORDS OF REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE SINCE I PURCHASED IT USED. THE POWER TRAIN IS IN GOOD RUNNING ORDER. I`M NOT TO COMPUTER SAVEY ! I HAVE A FAX MECHINE. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/25/2019 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
IN LATE AUGUST MY CAR WAS DUE FOR INSPECTION, SO I DROVE IT TO MY MECHANIC WHO INFORMED ME THAT EVERYTHING WAS GOOD TO GO EXCEPT WHAT I BELIEVE WAS THE FRONT ROCKER ARM(COULD BE WRONG) WAS RUSTED BUT WAS DO FOR A FREE RECALL BECAUSE OF RUST ISSUES. HE INSTRUCTED ME TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER AND HAVE IT DONE FOR FREE, AND HE KEPT TELLING ME NOT TO LET THEM TRICK ME INTO PAYING FOR IT LIKE DEALERS TEND TO DO, SO HE HIGHLIGHTED ON THE RECALL THE LINES WHICH READS "ALL PARTS AND PROCEDURES WILL BE DONE FREE OF CHARGE" SO I DRIVE TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAY IT SHOULDNT TAKE MORE THAN A COUPLE DAYS, BUT MONTHS STARTED GOING BY WITH NO WORD FROM THEM AND ANYTIME I CALLED TO CHECK UP ON THE CARS STATUS, THEY WOULD LIE TO ME AND SAY "THE PART JUST ARRIVED AND WE'RE WORKIN ON ITNOW" BUT THEY TOLD ME THIS LIKE 6 TIMES, SO I ASKED THEM TO RETURN THE CAR UNTIL PARTS ARRIVED, THEY REFUSED AND CLAIMED LEGAL REASONS. THEN THEY DID RANDOMLY CONTACT MY SICK MOTHER AND TRY TO GET HER TO PAY 2400 DOLLARS! BEFORE THEY WOULD BEGIN WORK, EXPLAINING THEY WOULD BREAK SO MUCH STUFF IN THE PROCESS THAT IT WOULD COST 2400 FOR THE FREE RECALL, BUT 2 MECHANICS INCLUDING THE 1 THAT SENT ME ASSURED ME THAT WAS A LIE, AND THAT THE ONLY THING THEY SHOULD HAVE TO TOUCH DURING THE PROCEDURE IS BOLTS. SO I CALL THEM BACK AND ASK WHATS GOING ON WITH MY CAR AND FINALLY SOMEONE COMES CLEAN SAYING THAT WHILE THEY HAD MY CAR, THEY STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION, SO THEY START TELLING ME THEY NEED TO WORK ON MY TRANSMISSION BEFORE RELEASING THE CAR. I SAID NO, DONT WORRY ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION, ILL WILL HAVE MY GUY WORK ON THAT AFTER THE RECALL IS COMPLETE. BUT THEY REFUSED TO WORK ON THE RECALL UNLESS I PAID THEM. THEY ALSO REFUSED TO RELEASE THE CAR, THEN A FEW MONTHS LATER I RECEIVED A LETTER TELLING ME TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED, THEY R NOT FIXING IT. SO NOW THE CAR I DROVE THERE NO LONGER WORKS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/2/2019 - ROCHESTER, NY
BREAKS LOCK UP WHILE DRIVING BAD SMELL CAR WONT MOVE

View Details

WHEELS

12/18/2018 - EWING, NJ
I CAN HEAR A STRONG RUBBING AGAINST THE TIRE WHEN I COME TO SLOW DOWN AND STOP

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/18/2018 - EWING, NJ
I CAN HEAR A STRONG RUBBING AGAINST THE TIRE WHEN I COME TO SLOW DOWN AND STOP

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2018 - GOSHEN, OH
"TAKATA RECALL" MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT WHEEL FEELS LIKE IT'S GONNA FALL OFF ALL THE LUG NUTS ARE TIGHT

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/19/2018 - GOSHEN, OH
"TAKATA RECALL" MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT WHEEL FEELS LIKE IT'S GONNA FALL OFF ALL THE LUG NUTS ARE TIGHT

View Details

WHEELS

11/19/2018 - GOSHEN, OH
"TAKATA RECALL" MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT WHEEL FEELS LIKE IT'S GONNA FALL OFF ALL THE LUG NUTS ARE TIGHT

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2018 - VAN METER, IA
2003 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, 180K MILES, 2ND OWNER. CUSTOMER STATES: FUEL LEAKING FROM FUEL TANK ONTO GROUND; SAFETY CONCERN & FIRE HAZARD. UNABLE TO PARK IN GARAGE/DRIVEWAY. FUEL LIGHT ON; LOW FUEL LEVEL. FILLED WITH $7.00 IN GAS ($2.70/GAL). AFTER FUELING, FUEL GAUGE HASN+T MOVED. ADDED MORE FUEL & SET GAS STATION FUEL NOZZLE TO AUTO STOP WHEN FULL. GAUGE SAYS 3/4 TANK (NORMALLY WOULD READ FULL TANK).THEN DROVE 12 MILES NO ISSUES. PARKED ON RESIDENTIAL STREET FOR 1-2 DAYS. SEARCHED ONLINE FOUND +WARRANTY EXTENSION+ ON FUEL TANK. DRIVING TO CERTIFIED HYUNDAI DEALER, 15 MILES AWAY. DROVE 5 MILES ON INTERSTATE, LOSING POWER. PULLED OFF AT NEAREST EXIT, DIED WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC, OVER INTERSTATE BRIDGE. OIL, BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, ETC. ON. CARS BEHIND ME MAD, HONKING, RUSH HOUR. GOT IT STARTED, NOWHERE SAFE TO PULL OVER, LANE IEADS ME TO INTERSTATE, NOW HEADED IN OPPOSITE DIRECTION TOWARDS HOME. LOST POWER, DIED AGAIN, <1 MILE FROM HOME ON EXIT RAMP. LET SIT 4-5 HRS. DARK;11PM. RESTARTED, DROVE FEW FEET, DIED. DARK OUTSIDE. PUT IN NEUTRAL, ROLL BACKWARDS, STEER ONTO SHOULDER FOR SAFETY. DOT/SHERIFF TAGGED CAR NEXT A.M. CALLED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS & WAS ADVISED TO TOW TO DEALER. I DID. HYUNDAI STATING OUTSIDE OF MILAGE ALLOWANCE & NOT COVERED. WHY IS THIS NOT A SAFETY RECALL? THIS IS A PUBLIC SAFETY HAZARD! EVEN WHEN PARKED! FUEL LEAKS/ISSUES PUT THE PUBLIC AT RISK! NOT SAFE PARKING IN MY GARAGE/DRIVEWAY, PUBLIC/RESIDENTIAL STREETS, NEIGHBORHOODS, SCHOOLS, BUSINESSES/RETAIL PROPERTIES, LET ALONE DRIVING. WHAT IF A CIGARETTE IS TOSSED BY A PASSERBY, ROLLS UNDER A LEAKING FUEL TANK & LEADS TO FIRE, DAMAGES, INJURIES AND/OR DEATH(S) TO THOSE IN/AROUND VEHICLE? THIS SHOULD BE TAKEN MORE SERIOUSLY! IT+S A PUBLIC SAFETY HAZARD! MILEAGE SHOULDN+T MATTER (SEE LEXUS RECALL, JUNE 2018; CBS NEWS). CUST=SINGLE MOM & FT COLLEGE STUDENT=THE STRUGGLE IS REAL. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds