Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LAREDO - 2003 JEEP LAREDO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by JEEP

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2003 JEEP LAREDO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 JEEP LAREDO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 JEEP LAREDO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (1) Visibility (10)
Equipment (3) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/10/2014 - ATHENS , IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 12V527000 (AIR BAG) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL LETTER A YEAR AGO AND THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. LI

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/23/2014 - HINTON , WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V527000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE AND THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE THAT IT WOULD BE AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THERE ARE NO FAILURES AT THIS TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/3/2013 - KINSTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF A MANUFACTURER+S RECALL FOR THE AIR BAGS AND MENTIONED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG COULD DEPLOY ANY MOMENT AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/9/2013 - TROY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED SHE RECEIVED NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V527000 (AIR BAGS) IN DECEMBER 2012. SHE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS BUT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED CHRYSLER ABOUT THE RECALL IN JULY 2013 AND THEY DID NOT HAVE A ESTIMATED TIME ON WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2012 - TOMBALL, TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN MY AIRBAGS EXPLODED FOR NO REASON. THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE ROAD, NOR DID A VEHICLE MAKE IMPACT. IT SEEMS THE PASSENGER SIDE WENT OFF A SPLIT SECOND FIRST BECAUSE IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT OR BOMB GOING OFF, OBVIOUSLY SCARING ME AND PUTTING ME INTO SHOCK. LUCKILY I'M A GOOD DRIVER AND WAS ABLE TO GET OVER TO THE SHOULDER SAFELY. THE CHEMICALS FROM THE AIRBAGS FILLED MY LUNGS AND MADE IT HARD TO BREATHE AS WELL AS BURNING MY ARM AND HAND. I DIDN'T HAVE A PHONE WITH ME AND SINCE I WAS ONLY A SHORT DISTANCE FROM MY HOUSE, I DROVE HOME WHERE I WOULD BE SAFE AND HAVE A PHONE TO USE. I CALLED MY INSURANCE COMPANY, FILED A CLAIM AND GOT THEM TO GET ME INTO A RENTAL CAR. AFTER THAT I STILL FELT BAD SO I WENT TO THE ER WHERE THEY GAVE ME A BREATHING TREATMENT, STEROIDS TO OPEN MY LUNGS AND IN INHALER TO KEEP MY AIRWAYS CLEAR. I DID NOT HAVE XRAYS AT THE TIME, BECAUSE I WASN'T HURTING VERY BADLY AND THEY WERE MORE CONCERNED ABOUT MY BREATHING SINCE I HAVE ASTHMA. THAT NIGHT, I GOT A HEADACHE THAT HAS NOT LEFT, MY SPINE, NECK, BACK, SHOULDER, ETC HURT TO THE POINT THAT IT'S HARD TO GET OUT OF BED FOR ANY LENGTH OF TIME. I KEEP GETTING DIZZY AND I JUST OVERALL FEEL AWFUL. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH JEEP AND THE VEHICLE IS SITTING IN A SHOP RIGHT NOW WAITING FOR ADJUSTERS, ETC TO LOOK AT IT. THIS IS A MAJOR MANUFACTURER ERROR AND THEY SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THE DAMAGE TO THE CAR, MY CURRENT AND FUTURE, MEDICAL, FINANCIAL, ETC PROBLEMS FROM THIS INCIDENT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED AND THEY SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE, ESPECIALLY SO IT DOESN'T HAPPEN TO SOMEONE ELSE. THIS IS A JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE WITH LAREDO TRIM. PCO

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/24/2010 - MIDDLETOWN, CT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT COMPLETELY STALL BUT IT SEEMED TO ALMOST SHUT DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ABS MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 96,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/25/2010 - CRETE, IL
TRANSMISSION. SATURDAY MORNING TAKING POP UP TRAILER AND KIDS TO GO CAMPING. DROVE ABOUT FIVE MILES TO GET GAS WITHOUT PROBLEM. LEAVING GAS STATION FELT AS IF THE CAR LOST TRACTION. DID THE SAME THING WHEN STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. TRAVELED ON EXPRESSWAY WITHOUT PROBLEM AT BASIC CONSTANT SPEED. BUT WHEN AT CAMP GROUND TRIED TO GO UP HILL AT SLOW SPEED LOST ALL FORWARD MOVEMENT STARTED TO ROLL BACK DOWN THE HILL. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO CARS BEHIND ME AND A SPOT TO ROLL BACK UNCONTROLLED INTO (NO REVERSE EITHER) AND THE PERSON WHO DID COME UP HELP TO PUSH TRAILER INTO SPOT AND THEN ROLLED JEEP INTO SPOT NEXT TO IT. NO DRIVE NO REVERSE, ATTEMPTED SEVERAL TIMES HOPING THE (APPARENT NO SO BETTER) IDEA OF BEING ABLE TO MOVE BETWEEN DRIVE, NEUTRAL, AND REVERSE WITHOUT PUSHING THE BUTTON HAD A PROBLEM. CHECK FLUID LEVEL ON TRANS AND IT WAS OK. AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF WAITING STARTED THE JEEP AND WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN DRIVE AND GO LATER TO RETURN TO PICK UP TRAILER. APPOINTMENT WITH TRANS PERSON ON 10/26/10 AT HALF THE COST OF DEALER TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS NOW WITH THIS JEEP WITH 67,000 MILES ON IT. JEEP NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THERE PRODUCTS. STARTING WITH THE BRAKES AT 30,000 MILES (WARPED ROTOR) WAS TOLD BY DEALER THERE WAS NO PROBLEMS THEY KNEW ABOUT, ONLY A MONTH LATER GOT CARD ABOUT CLASS ACTION SUIT. PROBLEM EXISTED ON BOTH THE 03 LAREDO AND 02 WRANGLER. SINCE ELECTRIC WINDOW PIECE OF PLASTIC BROKE ON ASSEMBLY MUST REPLACE WHOLE THING, O2 SENSORS 3 OF THE 4 NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ONE BECAUSE IT WAS RAN NEXT TO EXHAUST PIPE AND WORE THROUGH SHORTING WIRES, FAN AND RELAY (INSIDE BUMPER) TOLD CUT HOLE IN BUMPER TO GET TO IT AND MORE. SOME DANGEROUS ( TRANSMISSION, POSSIBLE SAFETY CUTTING HOLE IN BUMPER AREA), SOME SILLY (RUNNING WIRE WITH OR WITHOUT COVER ALONG A VERY HOT EXHAUST PIPE) AND LAST JUST MONEY MAKING SCHEMES ( ELECTRIC WINDOW ASSEMBLY WITH A PIECE OF PLASTIC WITCH IS GOING TO BREAK WITH THE HOT AND COLD. OR FAN MOTOR) BOTH YOU MUST BUY THE WHOLE ASSEMBLY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/21/2010 - WEST PEABODY, MA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN IT SUDDENLY CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 105,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

2/28/2010 - FRESNO, CA
WE OWN A 2003 JEEP CHEROKEE LAREDO WITH APPROXIMATELY 85,000 MILES ON IT. ON AUGUST 14, 2009 WHILE I WAS TRAVELING AT ABOUT 70 MPH BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED FOR NO REASON. I AVOIDED AN ACCIDENT AND GOT TO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. I DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE JEEP DEALERSHIP WHERE I HAD PURCHASED IT (FRESNO CHRYSLER-JEEP). I WAS TOLD THAT THE DEALERSHIP WAS NOT LIABLE TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE BECAUSE THE CAR'S WARRANTY EXPIRED. I WAS TOLD TO CALL CHRYSLER CORPORATION. MY WIFE CONTACTED CHRYSLER ON SEPTEMBER 18, 2009. THE REP ASSIGNED A CASE #18944707 AND TOLD HER WE WOULD BE CONTACTED WITHIN TWO BUSINESS DAYS. NO CALL. SHE CALLED AGAIN ON SEPTEMBER 25, 2009, AND TALKED TO ANOTHER REP. SHE MADE REFERENCE TO THE CASE #, WAS PUT ON HOLD AND THEN DISCONNECTED. SHE CALLED AGAIN AND WAS TOLD WE WOULD BE CONTACTED WITHIN TWO BUSINESS DAYS. NO PHONE CALL. SHE CALLED ON OCTOBER 9, 2009, LEFT A MESSAGE AT REP'S EXTENSION REFERENCING THE CASE #, BUT NO CALL. ON NOVEMBER 24, 2009, WE DROVE THE JEEP TO THE FRESNO CHRYSLER JEEP DEALERSHIP AND TALKED TO THE SERVICE MANAGER. HE WAS NOT AWARE OF ANY CASE #. WE ASKED WHAT WE SHOULD DO NEXT AS WE WERE NOT GETTING ANY HELP BY CALLING CHRYSLER. HE TOLD US HE WOULD CALL CHRYSLER CORPORATION AND GET BACK TO US. THE FIRST WEEK OF DECEMBER MY WIFE RECEIVED A VOICE MESSAGE FROM THE SERVICE MANAGER TELLING HER THAT WE SHOULD BE HEARING FROM CHRYSLER SOON. LATER THE SAME DAY A CHRYSLER REPRESENTATIVE CALLED AND LEFT A MESSAGE STATING CHRYSLER IS NOT RESPONSIBLE SINCE THE CAR WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. WE THEN SUBMITTED A COMPLAINT TO STATE OF CALIFORNIA'S BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR. WE WERE REFERRED TO SUBMIT OUR COMPLAINT TO THIS WEB SITE. THIS IS AN AUTO DEFECT AND A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN. ANY CONSUMER WOULD EXPECT THAT THEIR AUTOMOBILE+S AIR BAGS STAY DEFLATED WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT INCIDENT REGARDLESS OF THE MILEAGE OR AGE OF THE CAR!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/1/2010 - MONROE, LA
TL CONTACT HAS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AROUND 25 MPH. THE CONTACT HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTART THE ENGINE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 88971.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds