Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LAREDO - 2003 JEEP LAREDO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by JEEP

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2003 JEEP LAREDO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 JEEP LAREDO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 JEEP LAREDO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (1) Visibility (10)
Equipment (3) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Suspension (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

8/13/2014 - WEST VALLEY CITY, UT
DIVER'S SEAT STARTED BREAKING, A LITTLE AT A TIME. THE METAL BRACKETS ARE STILL GOOD AND IN PLACE, IT IS THE FRAME OF THE SEAT. IT LEANS BACK AND TO THE LEFT. IT BREAKS MORE AND MORE EVERY TIME YOU SIT IN THE SEAT, CREAKING WHEN SOMEONE SITS DOWN IN THE SEAT. IF THE CONTROLS ARE SET TO HAVE THE SEAT PUSHED BACK FOR SOMEONE WITH LONG LEGS, THE SEAT LEANS ALL THE WAY BACK AND DOWN AS IF YOU PURPOSELY ARE TRYING TO LAY DOWN. THERE WAS AN INITIAL LOUD POP WHEN GETTING OUT IN JUNE AS IF SOMETHING BROKE, BUT IT DIDN'T SEEM LIKE ANYTHING FEEL OFF. THE SEAT NOW HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2014 - NORMAN, OK
I WAS GOING APPROX. 40 MPH WHEN I RAN OVER A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THE ENTIRE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE UNCONTROLABLY AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND ONLY WHEN I SLOWED TO APPROX. 10 MPH IT CEASED. I HAVE HAD IT IN THE GARAGE SINCE FEB. 3, 2014 AND HAVE SPENT WELL OVER $3000 AND IT STILL ISN'T FIXED. I HAVE HAD THE ENTIRE FRONT END REBUILT AND HAVE REPLACED ALL THE BUSHINGS IN THE REAR END. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY A JEEP AGAIN. I THINK IT WOULD BE NICE OF THEM TO REIMBURSE SOME OF THE MONEY I HAVE SPENT OVER THE LAST 3+ MONTHS. IF I HAD TO GET A RENTAL CAR, I WOULD BE IN THE POOR HOUSE. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO REPLACE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/22/2014 - NORMAN, OK
I WAS GOING APPROX. 40 MPH WHEN I RAN OVER A SMALL BUMP IN THE ROAD AND THE ENTIRE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE UNCONTROLABLY AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL. I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND ONLY WHEN I SLOWED TO APPROX. 10 MPH IT CEASED. I HAVE HAD IT IN THE GARAGE SINCE FEB. 3, 2014 AND HAVE SPENT WELL OVER $3000 AND IT STILL ISN'T FIXED. I HAVE HAD THE ENTIRE FRONT END REBUILT AND HAVE REPLACED ALL THE BUSHINGS IN THE REAR END. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY A JEEP AGAIN. I THINK IT WOULD BE NICE OF THEM TO REIMBURSE SOME OF THE MONEY I HAVE SPENT OVER THE LAST 3+ MONTHS. IF I HAD TO GET A RENTAL CAR, I WOULD BE IN THE POOR HOUSE. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO REPLACE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2014 - ATHENS , IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 12V527000 (AIR BAG) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL LETTER A YEAR AGO AND THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. LI

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/23/2014 - HINTON , WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V527000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE AND THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE THAT IT WOULD BE AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THERE ARE NO FAILURES AT THIS TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/3/2013 - KINSTON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF A MANUFACTURER+S RECALL FOR THE AIR BAGS AND MENTIONED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG COULD DEPLOY ANY MOMENT AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/9/2013 - TROY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED SHE RECEIVED NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V527000 (AIR BAGS) IN DECEMBER 2012. SHE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS BUT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED CHRYSLER ABOUT THE RECALL IN JULY 2013 AND THEY DID NOT HAVE A ESTIMATED TIME ON WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2012 - TOMBALL, TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN MY AIRBAGS EXPLODED FOR NO REASON. THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE ROAD, NOR DID A VEHICLE MAKE IMPACT. IT SEEMS THE PASSENGER SIDE WENT OFF A SPLIT SECOND FIRST BECAUSE IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT OR BOMB GOING OFF, OBVIOUSLY SCARING ME AND PUTTING ME INTO SHOCK. LUCKILY I'M A GOOD DRIVER AND WAS ABLE TO GET OVER TO THE SHOULDER SAFELY. THE CHEMICALS FROM THE AIRBAGS FILLED MY LUNGS AND MADE IT HARD TO BREATHE AS WELL AS BURNING MY ARM AND HAND. I DIDN'T HAVE A PHONE WITH ME AND SINCE I WAS ONLY A SHORT DISTANCE FROM MY HOUSE, I DROVE HOME WHERE I WOULD BE SAFE AND HAVE A PHONE TO USE. I CALLED MY INSURANCE COMPANY, FILED A CLAIM AND GOT THEM TO GET ME INTO A RENTAL CAR. AFTER THAT I STILL FELT BAD SO I WENT TO THE ER WHERE THEY GAVE ME A BREATHING TREATMENT, STEROIDS TO OPEN MY LUNGS AND IN INHALER TO KEEP MY AIRWAYS CLEAR. I DID NOT HAVE XRAYS AT THE TIME, BECAUSE I WASN'T HURTING VERY BADLY AND THEY WERE MORE CONCERNED ABOUT MY BREATHING SINCE I HAVE ASTHMA. THAT NIGHT, I GOT A HEADACHE THAT HAS NOT LEFT, MY SPINE, NECK, BACK, SHOULDER, ETC HURT TO THE POINT THAT IT'S HARD TO GET OUT OF BED FOR ANY LENGTH OF TIME. I KEEP GETTING DIZZY AND I JUST OVERALL FEEL AWFUL. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH JEEP AND THE VEHICLE IS SITTING IN A SHOP RIGHT NOW WAITING FOR ADJUSTERS, ETC TO LOOK AT IT. THIS IS A MAJOR MANUFACTURER ERROR AND THEY SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THE DAMAGE TO THE CAR, MY CURRENT AND FUTURE, MEDICAL, FINANCIAL, ETC PROBLEMS FROM THIS INCIDENT. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED AND THEY SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE, ESPECIALLY SO IT DOESN'T HAPPEN TO SOMEONE ELSE. THIS IS A JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE WITH LAREDO TRIM. PCO

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/24/2010 - MIDDLETOWN, CT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP LAREDO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT COMPLETELY STALL BUT IT SEEMED TO ALMOST SHUT DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ABS MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 96,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/25/2010 - CRETE, IL
TRANSMISSION. SATURDAY MORNING TAKING POP UP TRAILER AND KIDS TO GO CAMPING. DROVE ABOUT FIVE MILES TO GET GAS WITHOUT PROBLEM. LEAVING GAS STATION FELT AS IF THE CAR LOST TRACTION. DID THE SAME THING WHEN STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. TRAVELED ON EXPRESSWAY WITHOUT PROBLEM AT BASIC CONSTANT SPEED. BUT WHEN AT CAMP GROUND TRIED TO GO UP HILL AT SLOW SPEED LOST ALL FORWARD MOVEMENT STARTED TO ROLL BACK DOWN THE HILL. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO CARS BEHIND ME AND A SPOT TO ROLL BACK UNCONTROLLED INTO (NO REVERSE EITHER) AND THE PERSON WHO DID COME UP HELP TO PUSH TRAILER INTO SPOT AND THEN ROLLED JEEP INTO SPOT NEXT TO IT. NO DRIVE NO REVERSE, ATTEMPTED SEVERAL TIMES HOPING THE (APPARENT NO SO BETTER) IDEA OF BEING ABLE TO MOVE BETWEEN DRIVE, NEUTRAL, AND REVERSE WITHOUT PUSHING THE BUTTON HAD A PROBLEM. CHECK FLUID LEVEL ON TRANS AND IT WAS OK. AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF WAITING STARTED THE JEEP AND WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN DRIVE AND GO LATER TO RETURN TO PICK UP TRAILER. APPOINTMENT WITH TRANS PERSON ON 10/26/10 AT HALF THE COST OF DEALER TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS NOW WITH THIS JEEP WITH 67,000 MILES ON IT. JEEP NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THERE PRODUCTS. STARTING WITH THE BRAKES AT 30,000 MILES (WARPED ROTOR) WAS TOLD BY DEALER THERE WAS NO PROBLEMS THEY KNEW ABOUT, ONLY A MONTH LATER GOT CARD ABOUT CLASS ACTION SUIT. PROBLEM EXISTED ON BOTH THE 03 LAREDO AND 02 WRANGLER. SINCE ELECTRIC WINDOW PIECE OF PLASTIC BROKE ON ASSEMBLY MUST REPLACE WHOLE THING, O2 SENSORS 3 OF THE 4 NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ONE BECAUSE IT WAS RAN NEXT TO EXHAUST PIPE AND WORE THROUGH SHORTING WIRES, FAN AND RELAY (INSIDE BUMPER) TOLD CUT HOLE IN BUMPER TO GET TO IT AND MORE. SOME DANGEROUS ( TRANSMISSION, POSSIBLE SAFETY CUTTING HOLE IN BUMPER AREA), SOME SILLY (RUNNING WIRE WITH OR WITHOUT COVER ALONG A VERY HOT EXHAUST PIPE) AND LAST JUST MONEY MAKING SCHEMES ( ELECTRIC WINDOW ASSEMBLY WITH A PIECE OF PLASTIC WITCH IS GOING TO BREAK WITH THE HOT AND COLD. OR FAN MOTOR) BOTH YOU MUST BUY THE WHOLE ASSEMBLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds