Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/19/2013 - IRVINE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT GASOLINE FUEL WAS SMELLED WITHIN THE CABIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/15/2013 - LAKE FOREST, IL
REFERENCE NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE12001. FUEL SMELL INSIDE CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/3/2013 - ROWLETT, TX
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN SHE SMELLED A NOXIOUS GASOLINE ODOR. TOOK CAR FOR REPAIRS ON AUG 23, 2013. HAD TO REPLACE THE AUXILIARY (SENDING) PUMP AND THE CABLE HARNESS ATTACHED TO THE FUEL TANK. MERCEDES HAS HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THE FUEL TANK AND PUMP BUT THEY REFUSE TO DO A RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS REPAIR COST $664.18 TO FIX ITEMS THAT ARE INHERENTLY DEFECTIVE IN THE MERCEDES VEHICLES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/23/2013 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, A STRONG GASOLINE ODOR WAS EMITTED INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,700. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/19/2013 - NAMP, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A FUEL ODOR WAS EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS FOUND THAT THERE WAS A FUEL LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 113,800.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/16/2013 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
THERE WAS GASOLINE LEAKING FROM THE TOP OF THE FUEL SENDING UNIT, AROUND THE FUEL SENDING UNIT, UNDER THE REAR PASSENGER SEAT AND ACTUAL LIQUID FUEL WAS GOING INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE STRONG AND INTENSE FUMES AND VAPORS ARE INSIDE THE CABIN AND APPARENT AFTER FILLING THE FUEL TANK ONLY HALF TO THREE-QUARTERS FULL. BOTH OF THESE POSE AN EXTREME DANGER OF FIRE HAZARD, AS WELL AS A HEALTH RISK FROM CONSTANTLY INHALING GASOLINE FUMES. THIS ALLOWED FUMES TO LEAK INTO MY GARAGE AND PRESENTED A HUGE FIRE RISK HAD I NOT DISCOVERED THE PROBLEM. A GAS TANK SHOULD NOT FAIL UNDER NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR, BUT IN OCTOBER 2012 I PAID OVER $1,600 FOR A NEW FUEL TANK, IN APRIL 2013 I PAID OVER $1,200 FOR A NEW FUEL PUMP AND IN AUGUST 2013 I PAID OVER $700 FOR ANOTHER NEW FUEL PUMP. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM AND THE COMPANY DOES NOT SEEM INTERESTED IN TAKING ANY ACTION WHATSOEVER. I BELIEVE THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AND I HOPE SOMETHING CAN BE DONE TO RECTIFY AND REMEDY THIS SITUATION. CONSUMERS DESERVE BETTER THAN THIS. UPDATE09/17/13 UPDATED 09/24/2013

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/24/2013 - ROCKVILLE, MD
LEFT COIL SPRING BROKE WHILE I WAS DRIVING, AND THE CAR VEERED ABRUPTLY TO THE LEFT APPROXIMATELY 3 FEET. THE CAR SHOULD'VE BEEN TOWED, BUT I WAS SO CLOSE TO MITCH CARRS'S THAT I DROVE IT VERY SLOWLY TO THEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/15/2013 - LAS VEGAS, NV
STRONG GASOLINE SMELL AFTER FILLING. THE SMELL LASTS AT LEAST 2-3 DAYS BEFORE DISSIPATING AND HAPPENS EVERY TIME WE FILL IT. PROBLEM WAS REPORTED TO THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/14/2013 - GILBERT , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EMITTED A STRONG GASOLINE FUEL ODOR WHEN THE FUEL TANK WAS FILLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE FAILURE WAS LOCATED AT THE FUEL SENDING UNIT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 153,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 159,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2013 - HOUSTON , TX
ON JUNE 6, 2013, WHILE BRAKING ON APPROACHING INTERSECTION, BRAKES FAILED AND TRANSMISSION LOCKED. MERCEDES CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE TOWED VEHICLE TO DEALER, M-B GREENWAY, HOUSTON, TX, WHERE THE SERVICE ADVISOR EXPLAINED THAT THE PRESSURE RESERVOIR OF THE SENSOTRONIC BRAKE UNIT HAD FAILED AND MUST BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1,350. I COMPLAINED THAT THE SBC UNIT WAS THE SUBJECT OF NHTSA SAFETY RECALL 05V0133 AND TWO MBUSA RECALL CAMPAIGNS (2005070007 AND 2005110001) RESULTING IN THE EXTENSION OF THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS WITH NO MILEAGE LIMITATION. THE DEALER REFUSED TO HONOR THE WARRANTY OR REPLACE THE ENTIRE SBC UNIT, BECAUSE THE ELECTRONIC DIAGNOSTIC CODE REQUIRED BY MB USA, LLC FOR A DEALER TO FILE A WARRANTY CLAIM UNDER THE NHTSA 05V033 CAMPAIGN DID NOT APPEAR ON THE DIAGNOSTIC EQUIPMENT. I PAID THE DISPUTED $1,350 CHARGE AND DROVE THE CAR ABOUT 6 MILES ON JUNE 6, 2013, AND THE BRAKES AGAIN FAILED AND THE TRANSMISSION LOCKED. MERCEDES CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE TOWED IT BACK TO M-B GREENWEAY, WHERE THE SERVICE STATED THE ENTIRE SBC UNIT HAD FAILED AND MUST BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $2,030. I COMPLAINED THAT THE REPLACEMENT WAS MANDATED AT NO COST BY NHTSA 05V0133, BUT SHE SAID MB USA LLC WOULD ALLOW THE DEALER TO HONOR THE SBC WARRANTY BECAUSE THE CAR WAS "DRIVEN OUT OF THE SHOP." SHE ALSO REFUSED TO CREDIT THE $1,350 CHARGE I PAID FOR THE SBC PRESSURE RESERVOIR REPLACEMENT, BUT OFFERED TO "DISCOUNT" THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENTIRE SBC UNIT TO "$1,799."

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds