Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/13/2017 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
I PUSHED THE REMOTE BUTTON ON THE KEY FOB TO UNLOCK THE CAR AND THE LEFT REAR DOOR POPPED OPEN , NOW I CANNOT CLOSE THE DOOR. THE LOCK WILL NOT CATCH TO CLOSE THE DOOR. HAD TO TIE THE DOOR SHUT WITH THE SEATBELT TO DRIVE IT HOME. I'M BEING TOLD THAT THE DOOR LOCK JUST ALL OF A SUDDEN WENT BAD , IT COULD HAVE HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING. THE LOCK HAS TO BE REPLACED , COST ...OVER $500 IT SEEMS STRANGE TO ME THAT THIS PART IS SO OVERPRICED COMPARED TO OTHER MODELS. IT HAS TO BE A DEFECT THAT MERCEDES IS WELL AWARE OF. I'M GLAD I WASN'T IN MOTION WHEN IT HAPPEN . I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/4/2017 - HUDSON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A STRONG FUEL ODOR WAS PRESENT IN AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS FUELED. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (LOKEY MERCEDES-BENZ, 19820 US HWY 19 N, CLEARWATER, FL 33764) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK, FUEL LINES, AND EXHAUST SYSTEM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FUEL TANK AND FUEL LINES WOULD BE COVERED UNDER AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. ANY ADDITIONAL PARTS OR LABOR WOULD BE AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/9/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I PURCHASED MY CURRENT VEHICLE 18 MONTHS AGO USED. THIS WEEKEND THE GIANT STOP LIGHT CAME ON ASKING ME TO TAKE THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP DUE TO DEFECTIVE BRAKES. IT TURNS OUT IT'S THE SBC PUMP WHICH WAS RECALLED BY MERCEDES BENZ. EXCEPT, BENZ WILL NOT REPAIR IT AS IT'S A 2003 AND OUT OF THEIR 10 YEAR RULE. IT'S A $2100 I CANNOT AFFORD AND CANNOT SELL VEHICLE WITH THIS ISSUE AS I FEAR IT MAY CAUSE HARM TO OTHERS. A FRIEND SUGGESTED I ASK FOR NHTSA'S HELP AS BENZ IS UNWILLING TO STAND BY THE RECALL AND REPAIR THE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/10/2017 - DOVER, DE
BRAKES SEEEMED TO WORKING FINE AND OUT OF NO WHERE AT 65MPH A RED NOTIFICATION CAME ON THE DASH SAYING "REDUCED BRAKING EFFECT/LONGER STOPPING DISTANCE VISIT WORKSHOP". MERCEDES IS AWARE OF THIS BECAUSE THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE SBC UNIT THE IS NEEDED TO SAFELY OPERATE THE CAR BUT DIDN'T DO A RECALL AND EVENTUALLY STOPPED INSTALLING THIS PART IN THE MODELS. IF THE VEHICLE IS 10 YEARS OLD PLAN TO SHELL OUT THOUSANDS SINCE THE PART ISN'T COVERED AND IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE BECAUSE YOUR BRAKES MAY GO AT ANY TIME. I HAVE 96K ON MY VEHICLE AND BECAUSE IT IS OVER 10 YEARS OLD THE FAULTY PART THAT THE MANUFACTURER KNEW ABOUT IS NOT COVERED. THE PART IS DESIGNED TO MALFUNCTION AT 300,000 COMPRESSIONS AND THIS CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME. THIS IS UNSAFE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED! I HOPE SOMEONE DOESN'T HAVE TO DIE FOR BENZ TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/3/2017 - DALLAS, TX
MERCEDES DEALER SAYS THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT UNDER THIS RECALL. I BOUGHT THE CAR ON JULY 31,2009 AND THE RECALL FOR THE BRAKE PUMP CAME OUT IN OCTOBER 2009. I HAVE HAD THE CAR SERVICED AT THE SAME MERCEDES DEALER FOR 8 YEARS AND THEY HAVE NEVER TOLD ME ABOUT ANY RECALL. IS MY CAR COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL. I UNDERSTAND THERE IS A 10 YEARS LIMIT ON THE RECALL AND MERCEDES HAS BEEN REGULARLY SERVICING MY CAR SINCE YEAR 6 TO YEAR 10 I.E. @009 TO 2013 AND THEY HAVE NEVER MENTIONED ANY RECALLS IN ANY OF THE TIMES I HAVE HAD THE CAR SERVICED SINCE JULY 31, 2009.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/3/2017 - DALLAS, TX
MERCEDES DEALER SAYS THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT UNDER THIS RECALL. I BOUGHT THE CAR ON JULY 31,2009 AND THE RECALL FOR THE BRAKE PUMP CAME OUT IN OCTOBER 2009. I HAVE HAD THE CAR SERVICED AT THE SAME MERCEDES DEALER FOR 8 YEARS AND THEY HAVE NEVER TOLD ME ABOUT ANY RECALL. IS MY CAR COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL. I UNDERSTAND THERE IS A 10 YEARS LIMIT ON THE RECALL AND MERCEDES HAS BEEN REGULARLY SERVICING MY CAR SINCE YEAR 6 TO YEAR 10 I.E. @009 TO 2013 AND THEY HAVE NEVER MENTIONED ANY RECALLS IN ANY OF THE TIMES I HAVE HAD THE CAR SERVICED SINCE JULY 31, 2009.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/23/2016 - HUNTINGDON VALLEY, PA
MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR WITH MY 10 YEAR OLD SON ON I276 AT 55MPH WHEN THE BRAKES FAILED. LUCKILY ENOUGH THERE WAS NO CAR IN FRONT OF THEM AND SINCE THEY WERE ON A HIGHWAY HE HAD TIME TO STOP WITHOUT CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR CRUSHING. WE TOWED THE CAR TO THE MERCEDES DEALERSHIP AND WE WERE TOLD THAT SBC FAILED AND WE HAVE TO PAY $2000. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MERCEDES BENZ OF FORT WASHINGTON IN FORT WASHINGTON, PA. THE DEALER EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND SAID THE SBC UNIT HAS TO BE REPLACED AND THE COST IS $2000. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND IT APPEARS THAT I WAS NOT THE ONLY CUSTOMER WITH THIS MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM. THIS UNIT FAILED ON MANY CUSTOMERS AND APPARENTLY THERE WAS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY OFFERED UP TO 10 YEARS. I HAVE TO SAY THAT I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT MERCEDES NEVER NOTIFIED ITS CUSTOMERS OF THIS SITUATION. THE DEALER NEVER NOTIFIED ME OF THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM AND THEY EXPECT ME TO PAY THE REPAIR COST FOR A SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED?? TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE, AFTER I REACHED OUT TO MERCEDES-BENZ USA, I WAS TOLD THAT THE PART WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER THE 10 YEAR TERM ONLY IF IT FAILED WHICH IS AN APPALLING STATEMENT. SO I WOULD HAVE TO CRASH BEFORE THE PART IS REPLACED?? THIS IS THE ABSOLUTELY MOST RIDICULOUS THING I HAVE EVER HEARD FROM A CAR MANUFACTURER. I HAVE ASKED THE REPRESENTATIVE FOR HIS MANAGER'S CONTACT INFORMATION AND HE REFUSED TO PROVIDE IT. THE SBC UNIT SHOULD BE COVERED AT NO EXPENSE TO THE CONSUMER BECAUSE IT WAS KNOWN FAULTY SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/19/2016 - MORAGA, CA
I OWN A 2003 E320 MERCEDES BENZ WITH 67,000 MILES. I TOOK MY CAR TO A DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD MY SBC UNIT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THE WARRANTY ON THIS COMPONENT WAS EXTENDED BUT IS NOW OUTSIDE THE EXTENDED WARRANTY PERIOD. WHY WAS NOT COVERED BY A RECALL RATHER THAN JUST AN EXTENDED WARRANTY? THIS SEEMS TO INDICATE MERCEDES IS ACKNOWLEDGING A FAULTY COMPONENT. THIS APPEARS TO POTENTIALLY AFFECT SAFETY SO I WOULD HOPE MERCEDES WOULD BE EAGER TO REPLACE THE SBCS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/7/2016 - LAKE ZURICH, IL
I BEEN DRIVING MERCEDES FOR PASSED 20 YEARS BUT NEVER EXPERIENCED SCARY MOMENT LIKE THIS. THURSDAY 09/01/16 ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK OUT OF NOWHERE RED BRAKE WARNING LIGHT LID UP MY WHOLE DASH WITH BIG STOP SIGN IN THE MIDDLE, FLASHING WITH ESP AND ABS SAYING VISIT WORKSHOP AND I LOST 90% OF BRAKING POWER.LUCKILY, IT HAPPENED ON OPEN ROAD WITH CARS FAR AHEAD OF ME. PULLED ASIDE AND AFTER FEW RESTARTS WARNING WENT OFF AND I MADE IT SAFELY HOME WITHOUT TOWING SERVICE, KEEPING MY LEFT FOOT CLOSE TO EMERGENCY BRAKE PEDAL. GOOGLE SEARCH REVEALED TO MY SURPRISE VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH BOSCH SBC UNITS INSTALLED IN THIS MODEL. IS THIS EVEN POSSIBLE FOR ONE OF THE TOP NAMES IN THE WORLD TO LIMIT THEIR SERVICE CYCLE TO 300,000 BRAKE PEDAL APPLICATIONS? ARE SOME OF THE TOP ENGINEERS INVOLVED OUT OF THEIR MIND? MERCEDES, IS IT SAFE TO DRIVE THIS CAR IN HIGHWAY SPEEDS WITH TWO KIDS IN IT? WOULD ONE OF THE ENGINEERS LIKE TO TAKE MY CAR ON THE AUTOBAHN NOW TO PROOF THEIR POINT? I BELIEVE THE COUNTER IS UP WITH 13 YEARS AND 122K MILES OF SERVICE BECAUSE ALL OTHER BRAKE COMPONENTS CHECKED FINE. UNBELIEVABLE??? WHERE IS THE SAFETY RECALL??? ENDED IN 10 YEARS??? WHAT A SHAME FOR BOTH MERCEDES AND BOSCH NAMES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/5/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ABS BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE A WARNING LIGHT BLINKS IN THE CLUSTER PANEL. THEN THE VEHICLE LOSES ALL BRAKING POWER. ON MONDAY SEPTEMBER 5TH, I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, 110TH SOUTH BOUND 1 MILE SOUTH FROM DOWNTOWN LOS ANGELES, SUDDENLY A WARNING LIGHT APPEAR WITH THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE +BRAKES DEFECTIVE STOP VEHICLE+ THE CARS BEGINS TO DOWNSHIFT AND IT SLOWS DOWN. HOWEVER THE BRAKE DOES NOT WORK IN FULL. IT APPEARS THAT THE BRAKE WORKS ENOUGH TO COME TO STOP AFTER THE VEHICLE HAS DOWNSHIFTED TO THE LOWEST GEAR. ALL BRAKING ABILITY IS DISABLE. AFTER I RESEARCH THE CODE AND NARROW TO THE PROBLEM THAT I HAD, I NOTICED THAT MERECEDES BENZ HAD EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR THE ABS PUMP FOR THESE MODELS FOR 10 YEARS, SINCE MY VEHICLE IS 2003 THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED ON 2013. THIS IS AN ELECTRONIC BRAKING SYSTEM SO IF AN ELECTRIC FAILURE OCCURS THERE IS NO WAY TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THERE IS NO MANUAL BRAKE POWER OTHER THAN THE EMERGENCY BRAKE IN ORDER TO STOP THIS VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds