Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/11/2016 - EIGHT MILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED AND PARKED, AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO PHYSICAL EVIDENCE OF A FUEL LEAK OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,618.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/9/2016 - ORLEANS, MA
AFTER FUEL FILTER REPLACEMENT, VEHICLE OPERATED FINE FOR ABOUT 7 MILES. WHILE IDLING A COUPLE OF MINUTES IN THE DRIVEWAY UPON RETURN FROM THE SHORT TRIP, THE RETURN LINE HOSE EXITING THE FUEL FILTER EXPANDED, RUPTURED, AND SPRAYED FUEL OUT AT A HIGH RATE. AFTER HOSE WAS REPAIRED, FUEL GUSHED OUT OF EVAPORATIVE CANISTER DISCHARGE TUBE AND PURGE VALVE CANISTER. VISE GRIPS PLACED ON THE RUBBER TUBE LEADING FROM THE RETURN LINE TO THE CANISTER STOPPED THE GUSHER. NEW FUEL FILTER THAT WAS JUST INSTALLED (PRONTO PF5416) WAS SUSPECTED TO BE DEFECTIVE - CAUSING EXCESSIVE RETURN LINE FUEL VOLUME. WITH THE POOR DESIGN OF THE RETURN LINE PLUMBING AND RESTRICTION BACK TO THE TANK, THE EXCESS VOLUME WAS PILING UP IN THE EVAPORATIVE CANISTER AND OUT THE PURGE VALVE IN A MASSIVE GUSHING LEAK. ONCE A SECOND NEW FUEL FILTER WAS FITTED (PUROLATOR F65416), VEHICLE RAN PROPERLY AGAIN WITHOUT LEAKAGE - HOWEVER, SEVERE LEAKAGE FROM THE TOP OF THE EVAPORATIVE CANISTER WAS NOTED DURING A FILLUP ATTEMPT SHORTLY AFTERWARDS. THIS NEVER OCCURRED IN THE PRIOR TO THE FILTER REPLACEMENT. FROM ALL INDICATIONS, THE DESIGN IS VERY POOR AND SUSCEPTIBLE TO ANY CONDITIONS WHICH RESULT IN EXCESSIVE RETURN LINE FUEL VOLUME. THE AMOUNT OF FUEL POURING OUT OF THE TOP OF THE EVAPORATIVE CANISTER ASSEMBLY AND DISCHARGE WAS INDEED A FIRE AND ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARD - THE EQUIVALENT OF AN OPEN FUEL PUMP OUTPUT DISCHARGE. IN ADDITION TO ALL OF THIS, DURING THE FILTER REPLACEMENT/TESTING PROCESS, LOUD BANGING WAS HEARD FROM THE TANK ITSELF. REMOVAL OF THE GAS CAP RESULTED IN A MASSIVE PRESSURE RELEASE. FROM MY OBSERVATIONS AS A MECHANIC WITH OVER 25 YEARS EXPERIENCE SERVICING FOREIGN CARS, THE VENTILATION AND FUEL PRESSURIZATION SYSTEM ON THIS VEHICLE IS IMPROPERLY DESIGNED AND UNSAFE. VEHICLE WAS ON A LIFT WHILE BEING SERVICED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2016 - BALDWINSVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH DOWN AN INCLINE, A "BRAKES ARE DEFECTIVE" MESSAGE APPEARED. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP. THE CONTACT HAD TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL AND APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE LEVER TO GET THE VEHICLE TO COME TO A COMPLETE HALT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSATRONIC MODULE FOR THE BRAKE SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER A VOLUNTARY RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/12/2016 - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
RECENTLY ON TODAY 7-12-16 AT 174,000 MILES THE DISPLAY ON MY 2003 E320 4S MERCEDES BENZ ALL OF A SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AN ILLUMINATED MESSAGE IN BRIGHT WHITE : "BRAKE" SERVICE BRAKE VISIT WORKSHOP. MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A BUSY MAJOR HIGHWAY WHEN THE HYDRAULIC BRAKE SYSTEM EXHIBITED THIS MESSAGE. SHORTLY PRIOR TO THIS MESSAGING, I NOTICE MY BRAKES WERE MORE HARD TO APPLY PRESSURE,. I AM GLAD I WASN'T DRIVING FAST, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS TRAGEDY TO MYSELF AS WELL AS THOSE OTHERS ON THE EXPRESSWAY JUST A AS I WAS. 2. PROBLEM WITH MY GAS TANK AFTER I FILL THE TANK , THE GAS FUMES BECOME SO INTENSE AFTER PARKING THIS VEHICLE INSIDE MY GARAGE. I DIDN'T KNOW THERE WERE A RECALL. IS THIS FUEL SAFETY HAZARD RECALL STILL IN EFFECT? IF SO, WHOM DO I CONTACT TO HAVE IT REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME THE OWNER? 3. 4 MONTHS PRIOR IN MARCH 2016 I INCURRED A PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT FLUID LEAKING INTO THE TRANSMISSION RESULTING IN A MAJOR MONETARY EXPENSE OUT OF MY POCKETS ABOVE $5000. CAN THIS BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTUER SO I MAY BE ABLE TO BE REIMBURSED?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/12/2016 - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
RECENTLY ON TODAY 7-12-16 AT 174,000 MILES THE DISPLAY ON MY 2003 E320 4S MERCEDES BENZ ALL OF A SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AN ILLUMINATED MESSAGE IN BRIGHT WHITE : "BRAKE" SERVICE BRAKE VISIT WORKSHOP. MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A BUSY MAJOR HIGHWAY WHEN THE HYDRAULIC BRAKE SYSTEM EXHIBITED THIS MESSAGE. SHORTLY PRIOR TO THIS MESSAGING, I NOTICE MY BRAKES WERE MORE HARD TO APPLY PRESSURE,. I AM GLAD I WASN'T DRIVING FAST, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS TRAGEDY TO MYSELF AS WELL AS THOSE OTHERS ON THE EXPRESSWAY JUST A AS I WAS. 2. PROBLEM WITH MY GAS TANK AFTER I FILL THE TANK , THE GAS FUMES BECOME SO INTENSE AFTER PARKING THIS VEHICLE INSIDE MY GARAGE. I DIDN'T KNOW THERE WERE A RECALL. IS THIS FUEL SAFETY HAZARD RECALL STILL IN EFFECT? IF SO, WHOM DO I CONTACT TO HAVE IT REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME THE OWNER? 3. 4 MONTHS PRIOR IN MARCH 2016 I INCURRED A PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT FLUID LEAKING INTO THE TRANSMISSION RESULTING IN A MAJOR MONETARY EXPENSE OUT OF MY POCKETS ABOVE $5000. CAN THIS BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTUER SO I MAY BE ABLE TO BE REIMBURSED?

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2016 - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
RECENTLY ON TODAY 7-12-16 AT 174,000 MILES THE DISPLAY ON MY 2003 E320 4S MERCEDES BENZ ALL OF A SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AN ILLUMINATED MESSAGE IN BRIGHT WHITE : "BRAKE" SERVICE BRAKE VISIT WORKSHOP. MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A BUSY MAJOR HIGHWAY WHEN THE HYDRAULIC BRAKE SYSTEM EXHIBITED THIS MESSAGE. SHORTLY PRIOR TO THIS MESSAGING, I NOTICE MY BRAKES WERE MORE HARD TO APPLY PRESSURE,. I AM GLAD I WASN'T DRIVING FAST, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS TRAGEDY TO MYSELF AS WELL AS THOSE OTHERS ON THE EXPRESSWAY JUST A AS I WAS. 2. PROBLEM WITH MY GAS TANK AFTER I FILL THE TANK , THE GAS FUMES BECOME SO INTENSE AFTER PARKING THIS VEHICLE INSIDE MY GARAGE. I DIDN'T KNOW THERE WERE A RECALL. IS THIS FUEL SAFETY HAZARD RECALL STILL IN EFFECT? IF SO, WHOM DO I CONTACT TO HAVE IT REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME THE OWNER? 3. 4 MONTHS PRIOR IN MARCH 2016 I INCURRED A PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT FLUID LEAKING INTO THE TRANSMISSION RESULTING IN A MAJOR MONETARY EXPENSE OUT OF MY POCKETS ABOVE $5000. CAN THIS BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTUER SO I MAY BE ABLE TO BE REIMBURSED?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/1/2016 - SOMERSET, NJ
SBC BRAKE UNIT WHICH CONTROL THE BRAKES JUST FAILED WHEN DRIVING ON HIGHWAY,VERY LIMITED BRAKING,VERY SCARY WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING 70MPH. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS MAJOR ISSUE WITH MERCEDES BENZ ,SOME KIND OF PENALTY SHOULD BE ASSESSED TO THEM BECAUSE THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION. IT JUST COST ME 2380.73 TO GET MY CAR FIXED AND I UNDERSTAND THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT WILL KEEP HAPPENING OVER AND OVER AGAIN. HOPEFULLY IT'S A SITUATION THAT THE NTSB CAN LOOK INTO ABOUT THIS DEFECTED UNIT FROM MERCEDES BENZ. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/29/2016 - GOLDSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE AND REAR CEILING AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT A CRACK IN THE RIM CAUSED THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. UPDATED 06/21/16

View Details

WHEELS: RIM

4/29/2016 - GOLDSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE AND REAR CEILING AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT A CRACK IN THE RIM CAUSED THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. UPDATED 06/21/16

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/12/2016 - HOOVER, AL
SBC PUMP WENT OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, ON A LONELY, DARK TWO LANE ROAD WITHOUT ANY NOTICE THAT THERE WAS A BRAKE ISSUE, APPROXIMATELY 200+ MILES FROM MY HOME. MESSAGE INDICATOR IN CAR STARTED BEEPING AND AN EMERGENCY MESSAGE DISPLAYED STATING BRAKE MALFUNCTION, STOP VEHICLE. CAR HARDLY ANY BRAKE POWER AND COULD NOT BE DRIVEN OVER 35 MPH. PULLED OVER AND NOW CAR WOULD NOT COME OUT OF PARK. HAD TO WAIT 3 HOURS FOR A TOW TRUCK! LUCKILY I DID NOT HAVE MY FAMILY WITH ME OF WHICH INCLUDES SMALL CHILDREN!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds