Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/29/2016 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ATTEMPTING TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYDRAULIC PUMP FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/4/2016 - LUBBOCK, TX
THE SBC BRAKE UNIT FAILED WHILE I WAS ON VACATION. THE REST OF THE BRAKE SYSTEM WORKS FINE. MERCEDES RECALLED THIS BRAKE SYSTEM AND KNEW IT WAS UNSAFE, HOWEVER NOW THEY WILL NOT REPLACE THE PART UNLESS I PAY AND THE COST IS $2,500.00 PER THE DEALER. WITHOUT IT THE CAR IS GARBAGE. IT IS AN ELECTRONIC BRAKING SYSTEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/1/2015 - SPOKANE, WA
I HAVE OWNED MY 2003 E320 FOR OVER 10 YEARS NOW, HAVING PURCHASED IT AS A CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE WITH APPROXIMATELY 19,000 MILES. EVERYTIME I PARK IT IN MY GARAGE AFTER FILLING UP THE FUEL TANK, MY GARAGE SMELLS OF GASOLINE, EVENTHOUGH THERE HAS NEVER BEEN A VISIBLE LEAK ONTO THE GARAGE FLOOR. RECENTLY AFTER I REFUELED, THE SMELL WAS NO LONGER JUST OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE, BUT HAD NOW PERMEATED INTO THE CABIN. THESE FUMES HAVE MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE TO DRIVE THE CAR, BECAUSE THEY ARE SO OVERWHELMING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/27/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE'S "SERVICE BRAKES-VISIT WORKSHOP" LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE'S "SERVICE BRAKES-VISIT WORKSHOP" LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/18/2015 - BRANDYWINE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON ROUTE 5, BRANCH AVE., NEAR CLINTON, MD, ABOUT 30 MPH, DOWN SLIGHT DECLINE OF A HILL, APPROACHING A PLACE IN THE ROAD WHERE CARS CAN ENTER THE HIGHWAY FROM BOTH THE LEFT AND THE RIGHT. AS WE NORMALLY DO, I PRESSED ON THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN, IN CASE ONE OF THE CARS SITTING ON BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT, DECIDED TO ENTER ON TO BRANCH AVE. MY BRAKES FAILED - THE FOOT PEDDLE WENT COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR WHEN I WAS TRYING TO SLOW DOWN, THERE WAS LITTLE TO NO CONTROL IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND I LOOKED AT THE DASHBOARD AND IT WAS LIT UP IN RED WARNING LIGHTS , FIRST SAYING BRAKE NEED MAINTENANCE (OR SOMETHING) AT FIRST. I MANAGE TO GET THE CAR TO STEER TOWARDS THE RIGHT TO GET ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, HOPING THE ROUGH TERRAIN WOULD HELP TO SLOW THE CAR TO A STOP. BY THIS TIME THE RED WARNING LIGHTED UP DASH BOARD SAID STOP, BRAKE FAILURE OR SOMETHING. THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED AND I TURNED IF OFF. I AM 59 YEAR OLD WOMAN AND WAS ABSOLUTELY PETRIFIED - MY WHOLE BODY WAS SHAKING FROM THE FEAR THAT I WAS GOING TO WRECK ON THIS BUSY HIGHWAY. LUCKILY FOR ME THE CARS WAITING TO ENTER THE ROAD, DID NOT AND CARS ON THE HIGHWAY SLOWED DOWN AND WENT AROUND ME WHILE THE CAR WAS COASTING TOWARDS THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHT TELLING ME TO GET THE BRAKES SERVICES - THEY JUST FAILED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. I CALLED MERCEDES ROADSIDE SERVICE FOR THEM TO PICK UP THE CAR. AFTER AN HOUR AND THEY HAD NOT ARRIVED, I TURNED THE CAR ON, THERE WAS NO RED LIGHT. I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND IT DIDN'T GO TO THE FLOOR BUT IT WAS SOFT AND WENT NEARLY TO THE FLOOR. I KEPT PUMPING THE BREAKS - SOMETHING I USED TO SEE MY FATHER DO - THINKING THAT WOULD BRING THE BREAKS BACK UP SO THAT I COULD AT LEAST DRIVE BACK HOME TO AWAIT SERVICE TRUCK. I LET MERCEDES SERVICE KNOW, THEN I SLOWLY DROVE BACK, SIDE ROADS, PULLING OVER TO ALLOW CARS TO PASS UNTIL GOT HOME.

View Details

STEERING

9/18/2015 - BRANDYWINE, MD
I WAS DRIVING ON ROUTE 5, BRANCH AVE., NEAR CLINTON, MD, ABOUT 30 MPH, DOWN SLIGHT DECLINE OF A HILL, APPROACHING A PLACE IN THE ROAD WHERE CARS CAN ENTER THE HIGHWAY FROM BOTH THE LEFT AND THE RIGHT. AS WE NORMALLY DO, I PRESSED ON THE BREAKS TO SLOW DOWN, IN CASE ONE OF THE CARS SITTING ON BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT, DECIDED TO ENTER ON TO BRANCH AVE. MY BRAKES FAILED - THE FOOT PEDDLE WENT COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR WHEN I WAS TRYING TO SLOW DOWN, THERE WAS LITTLE TO NO CONTROL IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND I LOOKED AT THE DASHBOARD AND IT WAS LIT UP IN RED WARNING LIGHTS , FIRST SAYING BRAKE NEED MAINTENANCE (OR SOMETHING) AT FIRST. I MANAGE TO GET THE CAR TO STEER TOWARDS THE RIGHT TO GET ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, HOPING THE ROUGH TERRAIN WOULD HELP TO SLOW THE CAR TO A STOP. BY THIS TIME THE RED WARNING LIGHTED UP DASH BOARD SAID STOP, BRAKE FAILURE OR SOMETHING. THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED AND I TURNED IF OFF. I AM 59 YEAR OLD WOMAN AND WAS ABSOLUTELY PETRIFIED - MY WHOLE BODY WAS SHAKING FROM THE FEAR THAT I WAS GOING TO WRECK ON THIS BUSY HIGHWAY. LUCKILY FOR ME THE CARS WAITING TO ENTER THE ROAD, DID NOT AND CARS ON THE HIGHWAY SLOWED DOWN AND WENT AROUND ME WHILE THE CAR WAS COASTING TOWARDS THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHT TELLING ME TO GET THE BRAKES SERVICES - THEY JUST FAILED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. I CALLED MERCEDES ROADSIDE SERVICE FOR THEM TO PICK UP THE CAR. AFTER AN HOUR AND THEY HAD NOT ARRIVED, I TURNED THE CAR ON, THERE WAS NO RED LIGHT. I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND IT DIDN'T GO TO THE FLOOR BUT IT WAS SOFT AND WENT NEARLY TO THE FLOOR. I KEPT PUMPING THE BREAKS - SOMETHING I USED TO SEE MY FATHER DO - THINKING THAT WOULD BRING THE BREAKS BACK UP SO THAT I COULD AT LEAST DRIVE BACK HOME TO AWAIT SERVICE TRUCK. I LET MERCEDES SERVICE KNOW, THEN I SLOWLY DROVE BACK, SIDE ROADS, PULLING OVER TO ALLOW CARS TO PASS UNTIL GOT HOME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/15/2015 - NORTH MASSAPEQUA, NY
I WAS TRAVELING ON A SECONDARY ROAD AT A SPEED OF 30MPH WHEN THE MFD TURNED RED, STARTED BEEPING AND STATED BRAKE FAILURE, STOP DRIVING. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO STOP, THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND THE TRANSMISSION AUTOMATICALLY DOWN SHIFTED. AFTER PULLING THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN PARK WHERE IT LOCKED IN PLACE. AFTER FIFTEEN MINUTES THE SBC RESET ITSELF AND THE TRANSMISSION UNLOCKED. THE VEHICLE WAS REMOVED TO THE MERCEDES DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED IT. THE MERCEDES TECH STATED THAT THE SBC NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A 10 YEAR WARRANTY ON THE SBC UNIT, BUT IT EXPIRED IN JUNE 2013. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND MERCEDES BENZ USA STATED THAT THEY DID NOT NOTIFY THE OWNERS OF THE WARRANTY EXTENSION OR OF THE PROBLEMS WITH THE SBC. THE COST TO REPLACE THE SBC IS $2,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
WHEN I'M STOPING THE CAR, THE BREAKS DID NOT WORK AS IT SHOULD, AND THE STOP DISTANCE INCREASED BY 50% !! ON AUGUST 10TH I WAS IN THE ON THE WAY BETWEEN CHARLOTTE AND NASHVILLE, IN THE MOUNTAINS CURVES WAY DOWN, I USED THE BREAKS, THE CAR ALMOST GOT OUT OF CONTROL.... I FELT LIKE THE FRONT AND REAR BREAKS DON'T DO ANY SYNCHRONIZATION TO STOP THE CAR, ITS MAKING THE CAR LOSING CONTROL ON THE CURVES..... I RED ON THIS ISSUE ON INTERNET I FOUND THAT MERCEDES HAS USED A NEW BREAKING SYSTEM FOR THIS CAR AND STOP INSTALLING THIS SYSTEM IT IN 2006! THE REASON WHY THEY STOP USING THIS BECAUSE IT 100% ELECTRONIC BREAKS SYSTEM, IT CALLED SBC (SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL ) WHEN THIS THRESHOLD IS REACHED THE BRAKE SYSTEM DEFAULTS TO NON POWER ASSISTED HYDRAULIC MODE TO THE FRONT WHEELS ONLY. THIS OCCURS WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING AND RESULTS IN INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE. I HAVE SENT A COPY OF THE MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN S142.46-P-0012A WHICH ADDRESSES THIS ISSUE. MERCEDES STOPPED INSTALLING THIS SYSTEM IN 2006. AT THE VERY LEAST, MERCEDES SHOULD ISSUE A MANDATORY RECALL TO INTERROGATE THESE VEHICLES WITH STAR DAS TO DETERMINE HOW CLOSE TO THE SERVICE THRESHOLD THE SBC UNIT IS AND REPLACE THEM AT THE DEALER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/15/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
VEHICLE PRESENTED WITH RED LIGHT INDICATING TO TAKE VEHICLE TO WORKSHOP IN RED. BRAKING WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT, SRS SYSTEM STALLED THE VEHICLE, EMERGENCY MODE WAS ACTIVITED,WE WERE UNABLE, AT FIRST TO TURN ON THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS IF IT WAS PARALYZED. WE FINALLY GOT THE VEHICLE TO RUN AND RESET THE CODE BY TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE IS VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE IF YOU ARE NOT PREPARED FOR LONGER STOPPING DISTANCES, THANKFULLY MY HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP. I FOUND MYSELF NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO PRESS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL FOR ADEQUATE BRAKING DISTANCE. THIS CAR LEFT ME WITH NO BRAKES AT ALL DRIVING WITH CHILDREN IN THE CAR. THIS I'D NOT SAFE!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds