Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/2/2015 - TACOMA, WA
STRONG GAS ODOR AFTER FILLING GAS TANK. WHILE IN FOR SERVICE ON VEHICLE OTHER THAN GAS ODOR MECHANIC AT DEALERSHIP FOUND GAS ON SKID PAN UNDER CAR WHILE ON RACK. HE SAID TANK OR POSSIBLE O RING MAY BE AT FAULT. THIS WAS SEPTEMBER OF 2012. AT THAT TIME I DECIDED NOT TO PURSUE REPAIRS DUE TO FINANCIAL RESTRAINTS. THIS JANUARY OF 2015 I RECEIVED A WARRANTY EXTENSION ADDENDUM STATING " SPECIFICALLY, THE WARRANTY ON THE FUEL TANK, FUEL FILTER/SENDER, FUEL PUMP, AND RELATED GASKETS ( COLLECTIVELY THE "COVERED FUEL TANK COMPONENTS") FOR GASOLINE-FUELED, NON PZEV CERTIFIED MODEL YEAR 2003-2009 E CLASS AND 2006-2011CLS- CLASS VEHICLES WILL BE EXTENDED FROM ORIGINAL 4 YEAR/ 50,000 MILES (WHICHEVER OCCURS FIRST) TO 15 YEARS, REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE." TODAY I LEFT MY 2003 E320 FOR SERVICE TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. DEALERSHIP CALLED AND SAID THE FUEL TANK SENDING UNIT WAS LEAKING BUT IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY EXTENSION ADDENDUM! AS STATED ABOVE THE "FUEL FILTER/SENDER" IS COVERED UNDER THE ADDENDUM BUT DEALER DOESN'T WANT TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE LETTER I RECEIVED FROM MERCEDES-BENZ USA, LLC. I UNDERSTAND A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT HAS BEEN FILED AGAINST MERCEDES CONCERNING THIS MATTER. IS THERE ANYTHING YOUR AGENCY CAN DUE SO MERCEDES HONORS THEIR ADDENDUM AND NOT CHANGE THE COVERAGE ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR CAR TORN APART. I DID SHOW LETTER TO SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE BEFORE I LEFT THE CAR. THANK YOU FOR YOU TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2015 - NASHUA, NH
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A SIDE ROAD BY A COLLEGE IN LOWELL MA AND MY DASH BOARD LITE UP AND STARTING BEEPING. SAID BRAKE FAILURE SORT STOPPING DISTANCE, VISIT WORK SHOP ASAP. I TRIED TO STOP THE CAR BUT IT WAS VERY HARD STOPPING IT, I HONKED THE HORN BECAUSE I WAS COMING UP ON A SCHOOL CROSSING( THANK GOD) THEY ALL MOVED OUT OF THE WAY BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE RAN OVER THEM ALL. I GOT THE CAR STOPPED AND SHUT IT OFF, POLICE OVER SAW THE WHOLE THING AND PULLED UP BEHIND ME AND I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED, WE WENT TO GO START THE CAR UP AND ALL THE LIGHT WHERE OFF AND THE CAR SEEMED FINE, THERE WAS NO WAY I WAS TAKING THAT CHANCE AGAIN SO I CALLED A TOW TRUCK AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY GARAGE, MECHANIC JUST CALLED ME AND SAID NOTHING WAS STORED IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM AND THE BRAKES ARE WORKING FINE NOW. HE CHECKED ON LINE TO SEE IF THERE WHERE ANY OTHER COMPLAINT ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND INFORMED THERE A LOT OF PROBLEM FROM MERCEDES BENZ OWNERS ON THIS ISSUE. I WILL NOT DRIVE THIS CAR AGAIN, I COULD HAVE KILLED ALL THOSE PEOPLE IN THE WALK WAY BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM THAT MERCEDES IS AWARE OF. PLEASE HELP ! I JUST LOOKED UP THE SAME INFORMATION ON GOOGLE AND THERE ARE HUNDRED OF COMPLAINT ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE, MY BRAKES ARE NEW. IT IS A ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2015 - EDMOND, OK
WE HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING FUMES OF GAS AFTER THE GAS TANK IS COMPLETELY FILLED. LATER THE CAR DEVELOPED ROUGH IDLING. WE TOOK THE CAR TO MERCEDES-BENZ OF OKLAHOMA CITY WHERE THE CAR HAS ALWAYS BEEN SERVICED FOR INSPECTION, THE DEALERSHIP KEPT THE CAR FOR FOUR DAYS. IN THE MEAN TIME WE RECEIVED A LETTER FROM MERCEDES-BENZ OF USA NOTIFYING US OF EXTENSION OF WARRANTY ON FUEL SYSTEM FOR UP TO 15 YEARS. WHEN WE ASKED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT IT WE WERE TOLD THEY KNOW AND ARE FOLLOWING THE "BULLETIN" ISSUED BY THE COMPANY. INITIALLY WE WERE TOLD THERE WAS A LEAK ON THE TOP OF THE GAS TANK, HOWEVER THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO US BY REPLACING THE FUEL FILTER UNDER WARRANTY. THERE WAS NO PAPER WORK SO WE DON'T KNOW WHAT WAS ACTUALLY DIAGNOSED AND DONE. THE CAR IS STILL IDLING ROUGH, THE FUEL GAUGE IS NOT READING CORRECT (THOUGH THE TANK IS FULL, GAUGE SHOWS 1/4TH EMPTY). WE WILL TAKE THE CAR BACK TO THE MERCEDES DEALERSHIP TOMORROW. FUEL LEAK IS A SERIOUS MATTER, WE WISH THE COMPANY HAD TAKEN SERIOUS STEPS TO FIX IT AND HAD INFORMED THE CUSTOMERS OF THE ACTUAL PROBLEM. HOPE NHTSA WILL LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/24/2015 - RICHARDSON, TX
THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL THAT HAS A SERVICE THRESHOLD. WHEN THIS THRESHOLD IS REACHED THE BRAKE SYSTEM DEFAULTS TO NON POWER ASSISTED HYDRAULIC MODE TO THE FRONT WHEELS ONLY. THIS OCCURS WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING AND RESULTS IN INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE. I HAVE SENT A COPY OF THE MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN S142.46-P-0012A WHICH ADDRESSES THIS ISSUE. MERCEDES STOPPED INSTALLING THIS SYSTEM IN 2006. AT THE VERY LEAST, MERCEDES SHOULD ISSUE A MANDATORY RECALL TO INTERROGATE THESE VEHICLES WITH STAR DAS TO DETERMINE HOW CLOSE TO THE SERVICE THRESHOLD THE SBC UNIT IS AND REPLACE THEM AT THE DEALER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - FLORENCE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING, A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL EMITTED INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND THEN SUBSIDED AFTER DRIVING SOME DISTANCE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER ISSUED A VOLUNTARY RECALL RELATED TO THE FUEL SYSTEM HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 181,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - RICHMOND, TX
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS BETWEEN 2005 AND 2015, I SMELLED GAS INSIDE OF MY CAR AFTER FILLING THE TANK. GAS SOAKED MY BACK SEAT AND CARPET BEHIND DRIVER'S SEAT, AND LEAKED OUT THE RIGHT (DRIVER'S) SIDE OF THE CAR. WHEN I TOOK INTO THE MERCEDES DEALER IN SUGAR LAND ON APRIL 9, 2008, THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. AFTER THEN, I AVOIDED FILLING UP THE TANK. ON DECEMBER 12, 2012, I FILLED THE TANK BY ACCIDENT AND THE FUEL SOAKED BY BACK SEAT AND LEAKED OUT THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR SHOP, AND THE FUEL PUMP SEAL WAS REPLACE.THEN ON JULY 1, 2014, THE FUEL PUMP WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED ALONG WITH THE FUEL PUMP RELAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/20/2015 - CORONA, CA
THE W211 MERCEDES (E-CLASS) HAVE SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL (SBC) UNITS FOR THE BRAKES. WHEN, NOT IF, BUT WHEN THEY GO OUT, THERE IS NO PRIOR WARNING OR ANYTHING AT ALL. ALL BRAKING ABILITY JUST STOPS OUT OF NOWHERE. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE ALL BRAKES IN THE CAR STOP WORKING. THIS ISSUE IS WELL KNOWN AND MERCEDES NEEDS TO CHANGE OUT THE SBC PUMPS ON THESE CARS BECAUSE THE CONSEQUENCES CAN, AND WILL, BE DISASTROUS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/21/2014 - CONLEY, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND WAS LEAKING FUEL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/13/2014 - BLYTHEWOOD, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 136,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/6/2014 - LOS GATOS, CA
MERCEDES-BENZ HAS DIAGNOSED MY SBC PUMP UNIT, IN WRITING, AS "FAULTY." THEY HAVE THEN GONE ON TO DENY AND REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE RECALL PUBLISHED ON THIS WEBSITE: NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000. ACCORDING TO 2 MERCEDES DEALERSHIPS, AND MBUSA CUSTOMER CARE AND CLAIM DEPARTMENT, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, OR HAVE THEY EVER HEARD OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000 -- THERE IS, HOWEVER, A LIMITED WARRANTY FOR THE SBC PUMP. AFTER DOING SOME INDEPENDENT RESEARCH, IT IS CLEAR THAT AFTER RECALL: NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000, HAD BEEN SUBMITTED TO THE NHTSA, IT HAS GONE COMPLETELY UNACKNOWLEDGED FROM THAT POINT ON. MERCEDES HAS INSTEAD "REBRANDED" IT AS A WARRANTY-RECALL, UNDER INTERNAL CAMPAIGN #2005110001, WHICH NO LONGER COVERS THE SBC PUMP ITSELF, ONLY THE WIRING AROUND IT. THERE IS CLEARLY A CONFLICT/CONTRADICTION HERE, AS THE MBUSA.COM WEBSITE REFERS TO THE SERVICE ON MY CAR (BY VIN) AS 05V-311, BUT THE INVOICE I RECEIVED FROM MERCEDES-BENZ REFERS TO IT AS [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds