Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/6/2014 - LOS GATOS, CA
MERCEDES-BENZ HAS DIAGNOSED MY SBC PUMP UNIT, IN WRITING, AS "FAULTY." THEY HAVE THEN GONE ON TO DENY AND REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE RECALL PUBLISHED ON THIS WEBSITE: NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000. ACCORDING TO 2 MERCEDES DEALERSHIPS, AND MBUSA CUSTOMER CARE AND CLAIM DEPARTMENT, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, OR HAVE THEY EVER HEARD OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000 -- THERE IS, HOWEVER, A LIMITED WARRANTY FOR THE SBC PUMP. AFTER DOING SOME INDEPENDENT RESEARCH, IT IS CLEAR THAT AFTER RECALL: NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000, HAD BEEN SUBMITTED TO THE NHTSA, IT HAS GONE COMPLETELY UNACKNOWLEDGED FROM THAT POINT ON. MERCEDES HAS INSTEAD "REBRANDED" IT AS A WARRANTY-RECALL, UNDER INTERNAL CAMPAIGN #2005110001, WHICH NO LONGER COVERS THE SBC PUMP ITSELF, ONLY THE WIRING AROUND IT. THERE IS CLEARLY A CONFLICT/CONTRADICTION HERE, AS THE MBUSA.COM WEBSITE REFERS TO THE SERVICE ON MY CAR (BY VIN) AS 05V-311, BUT THE INVOICE I RECEIVED FROM MERCEDES-BENZ REFERS TO IT AS [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - LANHAM, MD
I HAD A GASOLINE TO LEAK IN THE WELL UNDER THE PASSENGER SEATS IN THE BACK OF MY 2003 E320 MERCEDES BENZ. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO, I HAD TO SPEND $1200.00 TO REPLACE A FUEL PUMP ON MY 2003 E 320 MERCEDES BENZ. WHEN WILL MERCEDES BENZ RECALL THESE MODELS FOR FUEL PUMP PROBLEMS? THEY WERE NEVER ABLE TO DETECT THE PROBLEMS WHILE THIS CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT NOW IT'S COMING UP 11 YEARS LATER. OVER 40 COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN SENT TO THE CONSUMER PRODUCT SAFETY COMMISSION (CPSC) ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, BUT MERCEDES IS STILL SAYING THAT THERE ARE NO RECALLS, NOR DO THEY HAVE ANY KNOWLEDGE OF THESE FUEL LEAK PROBLEMS. THERE ARE ALSO OWNERS IN OTHER STATES WITH THE EXACT PROBLEM, BUT LISTED BELOW IS A COMPLAINT ON CPSC'S WEBSITE FROM A LAUREL, MD 2003 E320 OWNER WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS THAT I'M EXPERIENCING: JUL 31, 2011 - LAUREL, MD - GASOLINE MY 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320, IN WHICH THE FUEL FILTERS ARE LOCATED UNDERNEATH THE REAR SEAT, HAD A POWERFUL GASOLINE ORDER INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE BENZ REPAIR SHOP STATED IT WAS A HAIRLINE FRACTURE IN THE FUEL FILTER AND IT WAS LEAKING GAS. THEY REPLACED THE FILTERS, BUT I'VE SEEN THEM REPLACE THE SAME TYPE FILTERS IN 2008 MODELS. I THINK THIS IS A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT AND A SAFETY HAZARD. IF ME OR MY SPOUSE HAD BEEN A SMOKER, OR CAUSED A SPARK, WE COULD'VE POTENTIALLY CAUSED A FATAL EXPLOSION. I THINK THIS NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/18/2014 - HICKORY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SBC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC ). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/16/2014 - CARY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE VISIT WORKSHOP WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SBC PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/10/2014 - LEESBURG, VA
I'M LUCKY TO BE ALIVE! I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2005 AND EVER SINCE I PURCHASED MY 2003 MERC. BENZ E320, IT'S BEEN A CRAZY RIDE! HERE'S A LIST OF DIFFERENT ISSUES THAT HAPPENED TO ME OVER THE COURSE OF ME OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH UNFORTUNATELY I STILL DO. I WAS DRIVING WITH MY LITTLE GIRL IN TOW AND MY BRAKES WENT OUT ON ME SEVERAL TIMES, MY BATTERY DIES CONSTANTLY, I HAD AN ISSUE WHEN AFTER I PUMPED GAS YOU COULD SMELL FUEL BOTH INSIDE MY CAR & OUTSIDE OF MY CAR, I LITERALLY ONE TIME HAD FUEL POURING FROM THE BACK OF MY CAR THAT ENDED ON MY GARAGE FLOOR. (THANK GOD I DON'T SMOKE!) MY SUSPENSION IS CONSTANTLY RATTLING, I HAVE WATER THAT LEAKS ON MY FEET WHEN I DRIVE OCCASIONALLY AND SOMETIMES I HAVE HEAT IN THE WINTER AND SOMETIMES I DON'T. I ALWAYS HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND AS SOON AS I FIX ONE, ANOTHER ONE COMES ON. I CURRENTLY HAD ISSUES WITH CODE PO134, PO135 AND HAD THE O2 SENSOR CHANGED, THEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND NOW I HAVE CODES PO171 & PO174 THAT I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO GET FIXED BECAUSE IT COULD BE A NUMBER OF ISSUES. MY BATTERY DRAINS WHEN MY ELECTRIC SEATS ARE PLUGGED IN AND SO I HAVE TO HAVE THEM UNPLUGGED TO SAVE MY BATTERY. DID I MENTION MY BACK TIRE BLEW OUT ON INTERSTATE 95 AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR. IT'S DEVASTATING TO PAY THE AMOUNT OF MONEY YOU DO FOR THIS PARTICULAR MODEL, IT'S PRETTY ON THE OUTSIDE AND IS A MESS UNDER THE HOOD! IS IT NORMAL WHEN YOU HAVE THE AC ON FOR IT TO SOUND LIKE AN AIRPLANE READY FOR TAKE OFF? I'M TIRED OF INVESTING ALL KINDS OF MONEY INTO THIS CAR, I JUST CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE! I CAN'T EVEN PASS MY VA. STATE EMISSIONS TEST BECAUSE OF ALL THESE ERROR CODES (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND MALFUNCTIONS) AND THE STATE DOESN'T EVEN FIND MY CAR WORTHY OF BEING ON THE ROADS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/10/2014 - LEESBURG, VA
I'M LUCKY TO BE ALIVE! I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2005 AND EVER SINCE I PURCHASED MY 2003 MERC. BENZ E320, IT'S BEEN A CRAZY RIDE! HERE'S A LIST OF DIFFERENT ISSUES THAT HAPPENED TO ME OVER THE COURSE OF ME OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH UNFORTUNATELY I STILL DO. I WAS DRIVING WITH MY LITTLE GIRL IN TOW AND MY BRAKES WENT OUT ON ME SEVERAL TIMES, MY BATTERY DIES CONSTANTLY, I HAD AN ISSUE WHEN AFTER I PUMPED GAS YOU COULD SMELL FUEL BOTH INSIDE MY CAR & OUTSIDE OF MY CAR, I LITERALLY ONE TIME HAD FUEL POURING FROM THE BACK OF MY CAR THAT ENDED ON MY GARAGE FLOOR. (THANK GOD I DON'T SMOKE!) MY SUSPENSION IS CONSTANTLY RATTLING, I HAVE WATER THAT LEAKS ON MY FEET WHEN I DRIVE OCCASIONALLY AND SOMETIMES I HAVE HEAT IN THE WINTER AND SOMETIMES I DON'T. I ALWAYS HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND AS SOON AS I FIX ONE, ANOTHER ONE COMES ON. I CURRENTLY HAD ISSUES WITH CODE PO134, PO135 AND HAD THE O2 SENSOR CHANGED, THEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND NOW I HAVE CODES PO171 & PO174 THAT I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO GET FIXED BECAUSE IT COULD BE A NUMBER OF ISSUES. MY BATTERY DRAINS WHEN MY ELECTRIC SEATS ARE PLUGGED IN AND SO I HAVE TO HAVE THEM UNPLUGGED TO SAVE MY BATTERY. DID I MENTION MY BACK TIRE BLEW OUT ON INTERSTATE 95 AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR. IT'S DEVASTATING TO PAY THE AMOUNT OF MONEY YOU DO FOR THIS PARTICULAR MODEL, IT'S PRETTY ON THE OUTSIDE AND IS A MESS UNDER THE HOOD! IS IT NORMAL WHEN YOU HAVE THE AC ON FOR IT TO SOUND LIKE AN AIRPLANE READY FOR TAKE OFF? I'M TIRED OF INVESTING ALL KINDS OF MONEY INTO THIS CAR, I JUST CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE! I CAN'T EVEN PASS MY VA. STATE EMISSIONS TEST BECAUSE OF ALL THESE ERROR CODES (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND MALFUNCTIONS) AND THE STATE DOESN'T EVEN FIND MY CAR WORTHY OF BEING ON THE ROADS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/10/2014 - LEESBURG, VA
I'M LUCKY TO BE ALIVE! I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2005 AND EVER SINCE I PURCHASED MY 2003 MERC. BENZ E320, IT'S BEEN A CRAZY RIDE! HERE'S A LIST OF DIFFERENT ISSUES THAT HAPPENED TO ME OVER THE COURSE OF ME OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH UNFORTUNATELY I STILL DO. I WAS DRIVING WITH MY LITTLE GIRL IN TOW AND MY BRAKES WENT OUT ON ME SEVERAL TIMES, MY BATTERY DIES CONSTANTLY, I HAD AN ISSUE WHEN AFTER I PUMPED GAS YOU COULD SMELL FUEL BOTH INSIDE MY CAR & OUTSIDE OF MY CAR, I LITERALLY ONE TIME HAD FUEL POURING FROM THE BACK OF MY CAR THAT ENDED ON MY GARAGE FLOOR. (THANK GOD I DON'T SMOKE!) MY SUSPENSION IS CONSTANTLY RATTLING, I HAVE WATER THAT LEAKS ON MY FEET WHEN I DRIVE OCCASIONALLY AND SOMETIMES I HAVE HEAT IN THE WINTER AND SOMETIMES I DON'T. I ALWAYS HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND AS SOON AS I FIX ONE, ANOTHER ONE COMES ON. I CURRENTLY HAD ISSUES WITH CODE PO134, PO135 AND HAD THE O2 SENSOR CHANGED, THEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND NOW I HAVE CODES PO171 & PO174 THAT I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO GET FIXED BECAUSE IT COULD BE A NUMBER OF ISSUES. MY BATTERY DRAINS WHEN MY ELECTRIC SEATS ARE PLUGGED IN AND SO I HAVE TO HAVE THEM UNPLUGGED TO SAVE MY BATTERY. DID I MENTION MY BACK TIRE BLEW OUT ON INTERSTATE 95 AND I ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR. IT'S DEVASTATING TO PAY THE AMOUNT OF MONEY YOU DO FOR THIS PARTICULAR MODEL, IT'S PRETTY ON THE OUTSIDE AND IS A MESS UNDER THE HOOD! IS IT NORMAL WHEN YOU HAVE THE AC ON FOR IT TO SOUND LIKE AN AIRPLANE READY FOR TAKE OFF? I'M TIRED OF INVESTING ALL KINDS OF MONEY INTO THIS CAR, I JUST CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE! I CAN'T EVEN PASS MY VA. STATE EMISSIONS TEST BECAUSE OF ALL THESE ERROR CODES (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND MALFUNCTIONS) AND THE STATE DOESN'T EVEN FIND MY CAR WORTHY OF BEING ON THE ROADS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/3/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320 THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN SUGGESTED AS AN INTERIM FIX TO NOT FULLY FILL THE FUEL TANK BUT PROVIDED NO DIAGNOSIS OR REMEDY FOR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO SMELL THE STRONG FUMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENDING UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/22/2014 - GREER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ODOR OF FUEL WAS PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE ODOR WAS MUCH STRONGER WHILE THE ENGINE WAS TURNED ON. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE INJECTION SYSTEM WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/4/2014 - MENLO PARK , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BRAKING SYSTEM HESITATED TO ENGAGE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED NUMEROUS TIMES IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE GEAR SHIFTER BECAME STUCK IN PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ABS PUMP UNIT FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,714.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds