Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS FUEL FUMES THAT EMITTED FROM THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL ODOR EMITTED EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL SENDING UNIT WAS LEAKING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 111,860. UPDATED 9/4/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE GAS SMELL WAS SO STRONG IT MADE THE OWNER DIZZY AT TIMES. THE FUEL TANK SENDING UNIT WAS THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. AS OF 7/25/2014 THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY GERMAN MOTORS IN LAS VEGAS, NV. UPDATED 12/17/2014

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/8/2014 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL FAILURE. THE CONSUMER STATED A WARNING LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD THAT READ BRAKING EFFECT REDUCED PLEASE VISIT WORKSHOP. THE CONSUMER WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $1925.00 FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE HYDRAULIC UNIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - ORINDA, CA
THERE IS A SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT THAT IS DEFECTIVE CAUSING THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG TO TURN OFF, EVEN WHEN A PASSENGER IS PROPERLY SEATED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/31/2014 - ORINDA, CA
THERE IS A SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT THAT IS DEFECTIVE CAUSING THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG TO TURN OFF, EVEN WHEN A PASSENGER IS PROPERLY SEATED.

View Details

SEATS

3/31/2014 - ORINDA, CA
THERE IS A SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT THAT IS DEFECTIVE CAUSING THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG TO TURN OFF, EVEN WHEN A PASSENGER IS PROPERLY SEATED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/19/2014 - MANSFIELD, TX
I HAVE A 2003 E320 SEDAN, I CAN SMELL VERY STRONG GAS FUMES ALL IN THE CAR CABIN EVERY TIME I FILL UP WITH GAS - NOT TOPPING OFF, AND NO FUEL LEAKING. THIS IS SO PREVALENT I HAVE TO LEAVE MY CAR PARKED OUTSIDE INSTEAD OF IN MY GARAGE. THIS CAN LAST FOR AROUND THREE DAYS. I HAVE INVESTIGATED POSSIBLE CAUSES AND NONE SEEM TO ACTUALLY CORRECT THE ISSUE. THIS CAN BE QUITE COSTLY. I ALSO HAVE NOTICED MANY MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS FILED FOR THE SAME REASON. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/13/2014 - SHELBYVILLE, TN
IT STARTED WITH A ESP WARNING ON THE CLUSTER, WITH INCREASED BRAKE DISTANCE, AFTER RESTART THE WARNING WAS GONE, AFTER MANY MONTHS THE WARNING CAME BACK ON IN NOV OF 2013, WENT BACK OFF AND CAME BACK ON JAN 14 2014, CALLED THE MERCEDES DEALER IN NASHVILLE TN, WAS ADVISED THAT THE AUTO DID HAVE A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, WHICH IS THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM, BUT THE RECALL ENDED ON 11-12, WHICH I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW A SAFETY RECALL CAN EXPIRE WITH MILEAGE OR DATE. THE REPAIR WILL COST ABOUT $2000.00 WITH NO MANUFACTURE SUPPORT OR HELP. MERCEDES HAS KNOW ABOUT THE BOSCH SYSTEM HAVE ONLY SO MANY BRAKE CYCLES, I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED IN 2009 AND HAVE NEVER RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION ON THE RECALL. THIS IS NOT THE WAY A RECALL IS SUPPOSED TO WORK.. MERCEDES SAID SORRY, THAT'S NOT GOOD ENOUGH, THIS IS THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY AND OTHERS THAT OWN THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - SHELBYVILLE, TN
IT STARTED WITH A ESP WARNING ON THE CLUSTER, WITH INCREASED BRAKE DISTANCE, AFTER RESTART THE WARNING WAS GONE, AFTER MANY MONTHS THE WARNING CAME BACK ON IN NOV OF 2013, WENT BACK OFF AND CAME BACK ON JAN 14 2014, CALLED THE MERCEDES DEALER IN NASHVILLE TN, WAS ADVISED THAT THE AUTO DID HAVE A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, WHICH IS THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM, BUT THE RECALL ENDED ON 11-12, WHICH I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW A SAFETY RECALL CAN EXPIRE WITH MILEAGE OR DATE. THE REPAIR WILL COST ABOUT $2000.00 WITH NO MANUFACTURE SUPPORT OR HELP. MERCEDES HAS KNOW ABOUT THE BOSCH SYSTEM HAVE ONLY SO MANY BRAKE CYCLES, I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED IN 2009 AND HAVE NEVER RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION ON THE RECALL. THIS IS NOT THE WAY A RECALL IS SUPPOSED TO WORK.. MERCEDES SAID SORRY, THAT'S NOT GOOD ENOUGH, THIS IS THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY AND OTHERS THAT OWN THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/3/2014 - IRVINE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER REFUELING, A STRONG GASOLINE ODOR WAS PRESENT OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT WAS ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL SENDING UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/26/2014 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
RED WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON DASH FLASHING WARNING DRIVER " REDUCED BRAKING EFFECT VISIT WORKSHOP" AND " INCREASE BRAKING DISTANCE VISIT WORKSHOP:. AFTER RESEARCH THIS WARNING IS DISPLAYED BECAUSE THE SENSOTRONIC BRAKING SYSTEM HAS FAILED AND REVERTED TO HYDRAULIC SYSTEM HAS TAKEN EFFECT AS BACKUP. THIS CONDITION WAS SUBJECT TO NHSTB RECALL #'S 2004050014 AND 2005110001. I CONTACTED MERCEDES USA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS REFUSED HELP. I ASKED TO SPEAK TO SOMEONE UP THE CHAIN OF COMMAND AND RECEIVED A CALL FROM A CASE MANAGER WHO STATED THAT MY VEHICLE HAD BEEN REPAIRED BY MERCEDES AND THAT THEY HAD NO FURTHER OBLIGATION TO ASSIST ME WITH THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE STUDIED MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETINS AND BY THEIR OWN ADMISSION THE VEHICLES THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THESE RECALLS HAVE NOTES WITHIN THE SERVICE BULLETIN THAT "PLEASE NOTE THAT RECALL AND SERVICE CAMPAIGNS DO NOT EXPIRE AND MAY BE PERFORMED ON A VEHICLE WITH A VEHICLE STATUS INDICATOR" IT IS FURTHER STATED IN MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN THAT THE "SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL UNIT PUMP MOTOR MAY RUN OUT OF PERMISSIBLE TOLERANCES THEREBY TRIGGERING THE HYDRAULIC BACK UP FUNCTION MODE. FURTHER, "GREATER BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE IS REQUIRED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVEL WILL BE NOTICEABLY LONGER WHICH COULD LEAD TO A VEHICLE CRASH". TO THIS DAY MERCEDES ENGINEERS ARE ATTEMPTING TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM WITH SOFTWARE FIXES WHICH IS THE SUBJECT OF ANOTHER MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN. THE REFUSAL OF MERCEDES TO REPAIR AN OBVIOUS HAZARDOUS CONDITION OF A COMPONENT THAT DOES NOT FUNCTION AS DESIGNED IN UNACCEPTABLE. IT IS MY OPINION THAT THE VEHICLE POSES A THREAT TO NOT ONLY THE OPERATOR BUT OTHERS IF OPERATED UNDER THESE CONDITIONS. PLEASE HELP ME I HAVE NOT ALLOWED MY WIFE TO OPERATE WHAT I BELIEVE TO BE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds