Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/18/2014 - WHITE PLAINS, MD
CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR - THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN WITHOUT ANY WARNING, SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING AT SPEED. I TRIED TO RESTART IT SEVERAL TIMES, BUT TO NOT AVAIL. IT MAY RESTART AFTER THE ENGINE HAS COOLED OFF (AFTER 20-30 MINUTES) BUT THE PROBLEM REPEATS ITSELF WHEN THE ENGINE HAS BEEN RUNNING AND WARM AGAIN. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND A MALFUNCTION MESSAGE: BATTERY PROTECTION - CONVENTIONAL FUNCTIONS TEMPORARILY UNAVAILABLE DISPLAYS. ONCE AT THE REPAIR SHOP, THE MECHANIC KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM MAY POSSIBLY BE EVEN BEFORE TESTING FOR THE CHECK ENGINE CODE. HE SAID HE'S SEEN THIS PROBLEM FOR QUITE SOME TIME. THE PROBLEM CODE DID COME UP WITH A BAD CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AS HE PREDICTED. I RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM ON SEVERAL MERCEDES BENZ OWNERS? FORUM WEB SITES AND DISCOVERED NUMEROUS ENTRIES FROM OWNERS WITH THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM, AFFECTING SEVERAL MERCEDES MODEL YEARS. I CALLED MERCEDES BENZ AND ASKED WHY A RECALL WAS NOT ISSUED FOR THIS PROBLEM AND WHAT THEY WERE DOING TO COMPENSATE OWNERS FOR THE REPAIR COST OR AT LEAST A NOTIFICATION OF THIS PROBLEM. I DID NOT RECEIVE A FAVORABLE OUTCOME BUT WAS TOLD BY THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE THAT SHE WOULD ESCALATE THE ISSUE INTERNALLY SO THAT THEY WOULD BE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. I BELIEVE THAT MERCEDES BENZ HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR YEARS AND IT CONTINUES TO AFFECT MANY OWNERS. HAVING THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITH NO WARNING IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY IF THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN AT SPEED ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/18/2014 - STUART, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE A FUEL ODOR WAS PRESENT IN THE CABIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 57,638.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/14/2014 - HONOLULU, HI
I WAS DRIVING EWA BOUND ON BERETANIA STREET AT ABOUT 7:45PM AT SPEED 25MPH. THE CAR HAD A RED WARNING AND BEEPS SAID BRAKE MALFUNCTION, STOP VEHICLE! AT THIS TIME MY CAR CAN NOT BRAKE AT ALL BECAUSE THE BRAKE WAS COMPLETELY NOT WORKING WHEN MY CAR IS DRIVING. I HAVE TO PUT IN NEUTRAL AND USE THE ASSISTANCE BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR. LUCKILY I WAS NOT ON HIGHWAY WITH FAST SPEED! I FOUND OUT THIS IS COMMON HAPPEN TO THIS MODEL DUE TO THE FAULT OF SBC ABS BRAKE PUMP. PARTS IS BREAKING DOWN BUT NOT ON BRAKE PUMP HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVING. IT IS TOTALLY DANGEROUS! MERCEDES SHOULD HAVE RECALL TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. PLEASE INVESTIGATE AND ENFORCING MERCEDES TO IMPROVE. THANKS

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/8/2014 - FORT MILL, SC
THE INTERIOR CABIN OF MY 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320 HAS A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE. ESPECIALLY AFTER REFUELING...GASOLINE IS POOLING UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR PASSENGER SEAT... I HAVE TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS TO GET THE GASOLINE SMELL OUT OF THE CABIN. I HAVE TAKEN THIS PROBLEM TO MY MERCEDES BENZ DEALER AND THEY SAID THE FUEL TANK WAS LEAKING AND SENDING UNIT WAS FAULTY ...I WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $3000.00 TO GET UNIT REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
EACH TIME AFTER A REFUEL I GET A FUEL SMELL IN THE CABIN, AND WHEN PARKED IN MY GARAGE I SEE THE GAS LEAKING UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE.I AM FORCED TO LET THE GARAGE DOORS OPENED FOR A WHILE TO EVACUATE THE GAS FUMES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/17/2014 - YORBA LINDA, CA
I STARTED NOTICING THAT EVERY TIME I FILL MY GAS TANK, THERE IS AN EXTREMELY STRONG SMELL OF GAS. I PURCHASED A NEW GAS COVER BUT DIDN'T HELP. SINCE A YEAR AGO IT HAS GOTTEN WORST EVERY TIME. THE GUY AT MERCEDES SAID ITS NOT IMPORTANT BUT THEY WOULD CHARGE ,E 165 DOLLARS TO TAKE A LOOK. I DIDN'T PAY BUT I AM WORRIED IT MIGHT CREATE A FIRE AND WITH 3 SMALL CHILDREN AND CARPOOLING TO SCHOOL ITS A BIG HEADACHE. PLEASE ADVISE IF THIS IS SOMETHING YOU ARE AWARE ABOUT OR CAN HELP ME WITH. THANK YOU

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/26/2013 - BREA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, HE BEGAN TO SMELL GASOLINE FUMES FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/23/2013 - LOVELAND, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED WITH A DELAYED RESPONSE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V296000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC), HOWEVER THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/17/2013 - LEES SUMMIT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD EMIT AN OVERPOWERING GASOLINE ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE WHENEVER THE FUEL TANK WAS REFUELED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/27/2013 - OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN MY BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED. MY CAR DISPLAYED A CODE STATING "BRAKE DEFECTIVE; STOP VEHICLE". THIS OCCURRED ON A BUSY HIGHWAY IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I AM A PREGNANT FEMALE AND WAS IN THE CAR ALONE, IT WAS TERRIFYING. AFTER HAVING MY CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, I LEARNED OF AN EXTENDED 10 YEAR WARRANTY ON THE SBC UNIT OF MY CAR. SINCE I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED, I WAS NOT THE "REGISTERED USER" EVEN THOUGH I HAVE THE LOAN AND TITLE IN MY NAME. THE WARRANTY EXPIRED IN SEPT OF 2013. AFTER MY CAR WAS DIAGNOSED, IT WAS FOUND THAT IT WAS THE DEFECTIVE SBC UNIT THAT FAILED ME. I HAD PREVIOUS SIMILAR CODES (NONE THAT CAUSED MY BRAKES TO FAIL) RELATED TO THIS SBC UNIT DEFECT IN APRIL 2011 & AUGUST 2013 TO WHICH I PURCHASED NEW BRAKES. IT IS NOT KNOW WHETHER THIS WAS NECESSARY OR NOT SINCE MY CODE OF "SERVICE BRAKE" AT THOSE TIMES ARE A PART OF THE FAULTY SBC UNIT AND NOT NECESSARILY RELATED TO THE SAFETY OF MY BRAKES. AFTER MY CASE WAS REVIEWED AND DENIED AT THE CORPORATE LEVEL, MY HUSBAND AND I HAD TO SHELL OUT $1135 TO FIX THE PART OURSELVES. MY HUSBAND WAS PREVIOUSLY LAID OFF AND JUST STARTED A NEW JOB IN JUNE. I FEEL IT IS UNFAIR THAT WE HAD TO PAY THIS MONEY WHEN WE TAKE GOOD CARE OF THE CAR AND WERE NOT PRIVY TO THE INFORMATION TO FIX THE BRAKE SYSTEM WITHIN THE WARRANTY TIME. I WORRY ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAVE THIS CAR, ARE UNAWARE OF THE WARRANTY, AND ARE OUTSIDE THE WARRANTY. I WAS LUCKY TO NOT HAVE DAMAGE OR INJURY. I FEEL MERCEDES SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE. I ALSO FEEL I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED AS THIS WAS NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE AND I FEEL IT WAS HANDLED UNFAIRLY ON THE CORPORATE LEVEL OF MERCEDES. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds