Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN 350Z - 2003 NISSAN 350Z Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN 350Z. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (36) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (110) Visibility (9)
Engine (25) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (58) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2019 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND TOOK NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO RESTART. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL, FLIP, AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. NUMEROUS UNKNOWN DEALERS AND INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WERE NOTIFIED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2019 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND TOOK NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO RESTART. IN ADDITION, THE TRACTION CONTROL, FLIP, AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. NUMEROUS UNKNOWN DEALERS AND INDEPENDENT MECHANICS WERE NOTIFIED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2019 - LAKEWOOD, CO
MY 2003 NISSAN 350Z WAS EXHIBITING THE EXACT SYMPTOMS OF A NHSTA RECALL NUMBER 03V455000 ( NISSAN NUMBER R2202) RECALL. I CONTACTED NISSAN DEALERS AND NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS WITH MY VIN AND WAS TOLD IT DIDN'T FALL UNDER THE RECALL. I THEN TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE NISSAN DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED AND THE DEALER CONCLUDED THAT BOTH (2) CAM POSITION SENSORS AND THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR, WERE FAILING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST TO ME OF 378.86 WHICH I PAID AND HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE BACK ONLY A FEW DAYS (<100 MILES) BUT SO FAR SEEMS TO HAVE RESOLVED THE ISSUE. I AGAIN CONTACTED NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY WOULD DO. I FURTHER EXPLAINED MY BELIEF THAT THE RECALL WAS MORE WIDESPREAD THAN INITIALLY THOUGHT BY NHSTA AND NISSAN TO NO AVAIL. I HAVE SPENT 20-30 HOURS DOING ONLINE RESEARCH AS TO WHAT WOULD CAUSE THE ISSUE AND IT ALL SEEMS TO LEAD BACK TO THE RECALL SYMPTOMS. I FURTHER REALIZED THAT MANY OTHER PEOPLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE BUT CAN'T SPEAK AS TO THEIR SPECIFIC SOLUTION AND THEREFORE THOUGHT IT PRUDENT TO TRY AND BRING IT TO THE NHTSA FOR FURTHER STUDY AND DATABASE INFORMATION. I WOULD VERY MUCH APPRECIATE THE NHTSA ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER TO HAVE THE MONEY I SPENT REIMBURSED TO ME BY NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS AS I BELIEVE THIS REPAIR SHOULD HAVE BEEN UNDER THE RECALL. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2019 - LAKEWOOD, CO
MY 2003 NISSAN 350Z WAS EXHIBITING THE EXACT SYMPTOMS OF A NHSTA RECALL NUMBER 03V455000 ( NISSAN NUMBER R2202) RECALL. I CONTACTED NISSAN DEALERS AND NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS WITH MY VIN AND WAS TOLD IT DIDN'T FALL UNDER THE RECALL. I THEN TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE NISSAN DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED AND THE DEALER CONCLUDED THAT BOTH (2) CAM POSITION SENSORS AND THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR, WERE FAILING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST TO ME OF 378.86 WHICH I PAID AND HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE BACK ONLY A FEW DAYS (<100 MILES) BUT SO FAR SEEMS TO HAVE RESOLVED THE ISSUE. I AGAIN CONTACTED NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY WOULD DO. I FURTHER EXPLAINED MY BELIEF THAT THE RECALL WAS MORE WIDESPREAD THAN INITIALLY THOUGHT BY NHSTA AND NISSAN TO NO AVAIL. I HAVE SPENT 20-30 HOURS DOING ONLINE RESEARCH AS TO WHAT WOULD CAUSE THE ISSUE AND IT ALL SEEMS TO LEAD BACK TO THE RECALL SYMPTOMS. I FURTHER REALIZED THAT MANY OTHER PEOPLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE BUT CAN'T SPEAK AS TO THEIR SPECIFIC SOLUTION AND THEREFORE THOUGHT IT PRUDENT TO TRY AND BRING IT TO THE NHTSA FOR FURTHER STUDY AND DATABASE INFORMATION. I WOULD VERY MUCH APPRECIATE THE NHTSA ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER TO HAVE THE MONEY I SPENT REIMBURSED TO ME BY NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS AS I BELIEVE THIS REPAIR SHOULD HAVE BEEN UNDER THE RECALL. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2018 - DUBLIN, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE 350Z ON THE HIGHWAY AND SLOWING DOWN WITH TRAFFIC AHEAD. THE ENGINE STALLED ALL OF A SUDDEN. THE CARS BEHIND COULD HAVE SMASHED INTO HER AND KILL HER. LUCKILY THAT DID NOT HAPPEN. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET, IT LOOKED LIKE THERE WERE MANY CASES OF 350ZS STALLING. INTERNET TOLD ME THAT IT WAS CAUSED BY FAULTY CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR, WHICH WAS EXACTLY WHAT NISSAN DEALER IN DUBLIN CALIFORNIA REPLACED. IN FACT THEY REPLACED BOTH CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSORS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT COME ON WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED AS INDICATED BY THE DEALER. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START DESPITE MANY TRIES. AFTER 10-15 MINUTES OR SO, THE ENGINE STARTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. SOME OF THE 350Z WAS RECALLED. HOWEVER DEALER INDICATED THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT ON THE LIST. I FEEL THE NISSAN SHOULD PAY FOR MY $674.44 REPAIR BILL AS IT IS VERY DANGEROUS FOR A VEHICLE STALLING WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/18/2018 - DUBLIN, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE 350Z ON THE HIGHWAY AND SLOWING DOWN WITH TRAFFIC AHEAD. THE ENGINE STALLED ALL OF A SUDDEN. THE CARS BEHIND COULD HAVE SMASHED INTO HER AND KILL HER. LUCKILY THAT DID NOT HAPPEN. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET, IT LOOKED LIKE THERE WERE MANY CASES OF 350ZS STALLING. INTERNET TOLD ME THAT IT WAS CAUSED BY FAULTY CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR, WHICH WAS EXACTLY WHAT NISSAN DEALER IN DUBLIN CALIFORNIA REPLACED. IN FACT THEY REPLACED BOTH CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSORS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT COME ON WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED AS INDICATED BY THE DEALER. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START DESPITE MANY TRIES. AFTER 10-15 MINUTES OR SO, THE ENGINE STARTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. SOME OF THE 350Z WAS RECALLED. HOWEVER DEALER INDICATED THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT ON THE LIST. I FEEL THE NISSAN SHOULD PAY FOR MY $674.44 REPAIR BILL AS IT IS VERY DANGEROUS FOR A VEHICLE STALLING WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2018 - TEMPE, AZ
WHILE DRIVING I HEARD A LOUD POP AND FELT A SLIGHT TREMOR ON THE CLUTCH PEDAL WHICH BECAME VERY SOFT THEN STOPPED WORKING MAKING MY CAR IMMOBILE AFTER GETTING IT HOME I PULLED OUT THE TRANSMISSION AND NOTICED THAT THE PIVOT BOLT FOR THE CLUTCH HAD BROKEN OFF AT THE THREADS DESTROYING THE CLUTCH AND FLYWHEEL AND AFTER SOME ONLINE RESEARCH I FOUND OUT THAT IT'S HAPPENED TO MANY OTHER PEOPLE AND MAY BE THE REASON I NEED TO GET MY TRANSMISSION REPAIRED

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

12/14/2017 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE CLUTCH WAS DEPRESSED AND THE CONTACT HEARD A SQUEAKY NOISE. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND TOOK THREE ATTEMPTS BEFORE IT WOULD RESTART. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH DID NOT RECOGNIZE THE CLUTCH; HOWEVER, THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO CALL NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2017 - TWIN PEAKS, CA
PURCHASED FOUR (4) MICHELIN TIRES FROM AMERICA'S TIRE DEPOT AND RECEIVED WARRANTY OF 45,000 MILES ON WEAR. HAVE HAD A DIFFICULT TIME GETTING PRORATED AMOUNT HAVING RECEIVED LESS THAN 20K MILES AND CHUNKING OF TIRES AS A RESULT.. DIFFICULTY RESIDES IN ATD/MICHELIN: NOT WANTING TO REPLACE TIRES WITHOUT ME SPENDING ANOTHER $500-$700 TO HAVE THEM MOUNTED, BALANCED ETC DUE TO THEIR PRO RATION CALCULATION FACTOR. MY ORIGINAL COST WAS $1000! RESEARCHING THE TIRES I FOUND THAT FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REOCCURRING. SINCE 2008 OR EARLIER. MICHELIN DENIES RESPONSIBILITY FOR PRODUCING DEFECTIVE AND UNSAFE TIRES THAT CONTRADICTS THE PUBLIC IMAGE THEY HAVE BUILT OVER MANY YEARS. COMPANY PLACES THE PROBLEM WITH THE CONSUMER THUS 'VOIDING' THE WARRANTY MILEAGE GUARANTY THAT THEY SELL WITH THE TIRES IN TURN COSTING THE CUSTOMER UNTOLD THOUSANDS/MILLIONS OF DOLLARS.THERE ARE NUMEROUS CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET REGARDING THESE UNDER ACHIEVING AND UNSAFE TIRES MICHELIN IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT STILL THEY ARE ALLOWED TO SELL THESE TIRES, DENY ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE DEFECTS AND PRACTICE AN UNETHICAL, AND POSSIBLY ILLEGAL, BUSINESS MODEL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2017 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THERE IS A DEFECT IN THIS VEHICLE THAT WONT LET YOU OPEN THE DOOR AND WINDOW ON EITHER, OR BOTH SIDES. BE IT WITH THE REMOTE OR EVEN WITH THE KEY FROM THE OUTSIDE, AND LEAVE YOU WITH NO OPTIONS TO OPEN FROM THE INSIDE AS THE LATCH REFUSE TO MOVE, I LET YOU CONJURE THE MULTITUDE OF SCENARIOS THAT WOULD PUT YOUR LIFE IN JEOPARDY, IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION WHERE YOU HAVE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE IN A HURRY, A DEATH TRAP AT ANY TIME. A BRIEF SEARCH ON THE INTERNET WOULD SHOW THAT MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH DIFFERENT MODELS OF NISSAN

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds