Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN 350Z - 2003 NISSAN 350Z Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN 350Z. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (36) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (110) Visibility (9)
Engine (25) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (58) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/29/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE DASH RECENTLY STARTED FLASHING IN THIS VEHICLE WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO GET IT DIAGNOSED AND THEY SAID THE LEFT SIDE AIRBAG MODULE WAS FAULTY AND THAT BOTH IT AND THE SUB-HARNESS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. UPON RESEARCHING THE ISSUE, IT APPEARS THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS. INTERESTINGLY ENOUGH, THIS SAME PART WAS RECALLED ON MY OWN CAR, A 2004 INFINITI G35 COUPE, ALSO A NISSAN PRODUCT. I CONTACTED NISSAN'S CONSUMER AFFAIRS DEPT. TO SEE IF THEY COULD OFFER SOME ASSISTANCE IN RESOLVING THIS ISSUE BECAUSE THE DEALER QUOTED 723$ TO GET IT REPAIRED. NISSAN WOULD NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE BECAUSE THE CAR WAS BEYOND ANY WARRANTIES... TRUE THE CAR IS NOW 13 YEARS OLD, BUT IT HAS BEEN PRETTY MUCH A GARAGED ITS ENTIRE LIFE AND HAS ONLY ABOUT 28,000 MILES. THERE WAS NO REASON FOR THESE PARTS TO GO BAD OTHER THAN BEING DEFECTIVE... CONSIDERING HOW CRUCIAL THESE PARTS ARE FOR PASSENGER SAFETY, HOW COMMON THIS ISSUE IS, AND THE 350Z'S NOT SO STELLAR REPUTATION FOR SAFETY, ONE WOULD THINK A RECALL WOULD HAVE BEEN ISSUED ALREADY.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2016 - AUBURN, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2015 - EL CAJON, CA
ENGINE STOPS WHILE DRIVING CAR. ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON. TAKE CAR TO GARAGE - ENGINE SENSORS ARE BAD - HAD REPLACED. NISSAN STATES THAT THIS VEHICLE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 03V455000 - BUT PROBLEM WAS THE SAME - BAD ENGINE SENSORS. NISSAN NATIONAL COMPLAINT # 19620726 - NISSAN SAYS THEY DON'T HAVE ANY RESPONSIBILITY AND WHAT IS WORSE, DON'T SEEM TO CARE THAT THIS IS A DANGEROUS CONDITION. WENT TO GOOGLE AND FOUND DOZENS OF OTHER CITATIONS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/2/2015 - BARTLETT, TN
IN 2005, I BOUGHT A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. IN EARLY NOVEMBER OF 2011, I STARTED HAVING THESE PROBLEMS. THE ENGINE WOULD DIE SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING, THE CHECK ENGINE AND TCS LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, AND THE CAR WOULD RUN VERY ROUGH ONCE IT DID DECIDE TO START. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A NISSAN SERVICE CENTER ON 11/08/2011. THE MILEAGE ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE INVOICE WAS 83,906. ALONG WITH THE PROBLEMS NOTED ABOVE, THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN ADDED DIAG P0340 AND C1130 STORED, LOSS OF ENGINE SIGNAL. REPLACED CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSORS. MY COST FOR THE REPAIR: $618.61. MY CAR HAD NOT ONE, BUT EVERY SYMPTOM OF A RECALLED CAR. THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR (VERY SPECIFIC REPAIRS) WERE NEEDED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM; SAME AS A RECALLED VEHICLE. AFTER BRINGING THIS TO NISSAN'S ATTENTION, I WAS CONTACTED BY A REGIONAL MANAGER WHO STATED MY CAR WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST AND SHE COULD NOT HELP ME.I HOPE NO OTHER VEHICLES ENGINES SHUT OFF WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/2/2015 - BARTLETT, TN
IN 2005, I BOUGHT A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. IN EARLY NOVEMBER OF 2011, I STARTED HAVING THESE PROBLEMS. THE ENGINE WOULD DIE SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING, THE CHECK ENGINE AND TCS LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, AND THE CAR WOULD RUN VERY ROUGH ONCE IT DID DECIDE TO START. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A NISSAN SERVICE CENTER ON 11/08/2011. THE MILEAGE ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE INVOICE WAS 83,906. ALONG WITH THE PROBLEMS NOTED ABOVE, THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN ADDED DIAG P0340 AND C1130 STORED, LOSS OF ENGINE SIGNAL. REPLACED CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSORS. MY COST FOR THE REPAIR: $618.61. MY CAR HAD NOT ONE, BUT EVERY SYMPTOM OF A RECALLED CAR. THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR (VERY SPECIFIC REPAIRS) WERE NEEDED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM; SAME AS A RECALLED VEHICLE. AFTER BRINGING THIS TO NISSAN'S ATTENTION, I WAS CONTACTED BY A REGIONAL MANAGER WHO STATED MY CAR WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST AND SHE COULD NOT HELP ME.I HOPE NO OTHER VEHICLES ENGINES SHUT OFF WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2015 - BARTLETT, TN
IN 2005, I BOUGHT A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. IN EARLY NOVEMBER OF 2011, I STARTED HAVING THESE PROBLEMS. THE ENGINE WOULD DIE SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING, THE CHECK ENGINE AND TCS LIGHTS WOULD COME ON, AND THE CAR WOULD RUN VERY ROUGH ONCE IT DID DECIDE TO START. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A NISSAN SERVICE CENTER ON 11/08/2011. THE MILEAGE ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE INVOICE WAS 83,906. ALONG WITH THE PROBLEMS NOTED ABOVE, THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN ADDED DIAG P0340 AND C1130 STORED, LOSS OF ENGINE SIGNAL. REPLACED CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSORS. MY COST FOR THE REPAIR: $618.61. MY CAR HAD NOT ONE, BUT EVERY SYMPTOM OF A RECALLED CAR. THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR (VERY SPECIFIC REPAIRS) WERE NEEDED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM; SAME AS A RECALLED VEHICLE. AFTER BRINGING THIS TO NISSAN'S ATTENTION, I WAS CONTACTED BY A REGIONAL MANAGER WHO STATED MY CAR WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST AND SHE COULD NOT HELP ME.I HOPE NO OTHER VEHICLES ENGINES SHUT OFF WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2015 - HILLSBORROUGH , CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, A VEHICLE RAN A STOP SIGN WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE REAR DRIVER SIDE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED EXTREME INJURIES TO THE RIGHT EYE AND A FRACTURED RIGHT ARM, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. MA 10/22/2015 UPDATED 04/19/16 UPDATED 10/26/217

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2015 - CITRUS SPRINGS , FL
I PURCHASE THIS VEHICLE AS SECOND OWNER WITH 24,000 MILES. AFTER A 2 YEARS OF USING THIS VEHICLE ON THE WEEKENDS, I START HEARING THE 5TH GEAR GRIND. I DID NOT PAID TO MUCH MIND BECAUSE IT DID IT NOW AND THEM, NOT EVERY TIME. 4 YEARS DOWN THE ROAD, IT DID IT MORE OFTEN AND I KNEW IT WAS IN FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS.. ABOUT A WEEK AGO MY 3RD GEAR MADE A VIBRATION AND A HORRIBLE SOUND AND THAT WAS WHEN I KNEW SOMETHING REALLY WRONG WAS GOING ON.. TODAY MY CAR LOST 3RD GEAR, IT WON'T TAKE, AFTER I PUT THE VEHICLE ON 3RD I ACCELERATED AND NOTHING HAPPENS. 5TH GEAR STILL GRINDS AND BUT STILL WORK. IT IS NOT MY CLUTCH BECAUSE 1ST 2ND 4TH AND 5TH AND 6TH STILL VERY STRONG PULL.. NOW I'M DRIVING THIS CAR TO WORK, GETTING MONEY TOGETHER WAITING FOR THE BREAK DOWN OR TRANSMISSION LOCK... I FEEL UNSAFE ON THE ROAD, BUT I DO HAVE TO GET TO WORK I HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE AT THE TIME. I HATE MISTREATING MY Z THIS WAY.... 49,500 MILES ON THE TRANSMISSION..

View Details

ENGINE

11/10/2014 - ROCKFORD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE WARNING INDICATOR LLUMINATED. THE PROBLEM RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANK SHAFT SENSOR WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2014 - ESCONDIDO, CA
MY SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AFTER THE CAR HAD TROUBLE STARTING. IT FINALLY STARTED, AND AS I WAS DRIVING TO WORK, MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. THIS WAS TREMENDOUSLY DANGEROUS CONSIDERING I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY FREEWAY. I HAVE CONTACTED NISSAN, AND EVEN THOUGH MY VIN NUMBER FALLS WITHIN THE CAM SHAFT SENSOR REPORT RANGE, I WAS TOLD MY SPECIFIC VIN NUMBER IS BEING REFUSED. THE CHECK ENGINE CODE WAS INDEED FOR A CAM SHAFT SENSOR. THE RECALL CAMPAIGN IS R3022.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds