Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN 350Z - 2003 NISSAN 350Z Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN 350Z. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (36) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (110) Visibility (9)
Engine (25) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (58) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/27/2012 - RESTON , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE HAD TO ENGAGE THE BRAKES AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY AFTER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/30/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE INCIDENT FIRST OCCURRED DURING HIGHWAY DRIVING WHERE THE ENGINE SUDDENLY LOST POWER COMPLETELY. SINCE THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION WAS IN GEAR, THE ENGINE "PUSH STARTED" ITSELF WITH A VIOLENT SURGE MOTION AND REGAINED POWER. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT THREE TIMES ON THIS TRIP. WHEN I GOT OFF THE FREEWAY, THIS HAPPENED AS I SLOWED FOR A STOPLIGHT AND THE ENGINE STALLED COMPLETELY SINCE I WAS NOT IN GEAR. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE VERY DANGEROUS SINCE ALL ENGINE POWER IS LOST AT HIGH SPEEDS AND THE JOLT THAT RESULTS FROM THE "PUSH STARTING" CAN CAUSE THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE VERY EASILY. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY BUT DID NOT CAUSE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT UNTIL LAST WEEK. IT IS SHOWING CODE P 0340 AND I HAVE FOUND THAT NISSAN IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, BUT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE IT AS A BEING ASSOCIATED WITH MY VIN NUMBER- THIS IS HARD TO BELIEVE SINCE MY CAR WAS PRODUCED ABOUT A YEAR BEFORE THE RECALL NOTICE (RECALL ID #03V455000) WAS ISSUED. I WAS INFORMED BY NISSAN REPRESENTATIVES THAT THE ONLY WAY TO APPEAL MY VIN#'S APPLICABILITY TO THIS RECALL IS THROUGH THE NHTSA. MY CASE # WITH NISSAN IS[XXX]. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

7/30/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE INCIDENT FIRST OCCURRED DURING HIGHWAY DRIVING WHERE THE ENGINE SUDDENLY LOST POWER COMPLETELY. SINCE THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION WAS IN GEAR, THE ENGINE "PUSH STARTED" ITSELF WITH A VIOLENT SURGE MOTION AND REGAINED POWER. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT THREE TIMES ON THIS TRIP. WHEN I GOT OFF THE FREEWAY, THIS HAPPENED AS I SLOWED FOR A STOPLIGHT AND THE ENGINE STALLED COMPLETELY SINCE I WAS NOT IN GEAR. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE VERY DANGEROUS SINCE ALL ENGINE POWER IS LOST AT HIGH SPEEDS AND THE JOLT THAT RESULTS FROM THE "PUSH STARTING" CAN CAUSE THE DRIVER TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE VERY EASILY. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED INTERMITTENTLY BUT DID NOT CAUSE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT UNTIL LAST WEEK. IT IS SHOWING CODE P 0340 AND I HAVE FOUND THAT NISSAN IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, BUT DOES NOT RECOGNIZE IT AS A BEING ASSOCIATED WITH MY VIN NUMBER- THIS IS HARD TO BELIEVE SINCE MY CAR WAS PRODUCED ABOUT A YEAR BEFORE THE RECALL NOTICE (RECALL ID #03V455000) WAS ISSUED. I WAS INFORMED BY NISSAN REPRESENTATIVES THAT THE ONLY WAY TO APPEAL MY VIN#'S APPLICABILITY TO THIS RECALL IS THROUGH THE NHTSA. MY CASE # WITH NISSAN IS[XXX]. THANKS FOR YOUR HELP! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/2/2012 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT PRIOR WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED MOMENTS LATER AND RESUMED AS NORMAL. THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AND THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,600. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/10/2012 - TAYLORSVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350 Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE SELF-DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAM SHAFT SENSORS WERE DEFECTIVE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/25/2011 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 35 MPH WHEN THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/24/2011 - LANCASTER , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD EXHIBIT AN ABNORMAL GRINDING WHEN CHANGING TO THIRD GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/22/2011 - SYLMAR, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND WITHIN A FEW MINUTES HE WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THE CAM SHAFT AND THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR HAD TO BE REPLACED. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) MAY BE RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/11/2011 - WAHIAWA, HI
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY MY CAR DIED OUT AND TCS SLIP LIGHTS CAME ON. THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER AND I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE. WHILE DOING SO I ALMOST GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE SEVERAL CARS ALMOST HIT ME AND THE AREA THAT I HAD TO PULL OVER HAD A VERY SMALL MEDIAN. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND EVERY THING WAS FINE. THE NEXT WEEK THE CAR DIED OUT MANY TIMES WHILE GOING UP A HILL ON THE WAY TO THE NISSAN SERVICE DEALER. THEY CHANGED 2 CAM POSITION SENSORS, AND 1 CRANKSHAFT SENSOR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/23/2011 - CANTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 35 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER AND THE DEALER NOTICED A FAULTY CAM SHAFT POSITIONING SENSOR, WHICH HE RECOMMENDED REPLACING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN I.D. NUMBER: 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds