Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN 350Z - 2003 NISSAN 350Z Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN 350Z. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (36) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (110) Visibility (9)
Engine (25) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (58) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/8/2011 - FLORAL CITY, FL
2003 NISSAN 350Z SHUTS DOWN IN TRAFFIC WITHOUT WARNING. NHTSA HAS THIS CAR LISTED ON THEIR RECALL LIST BUT THE MANUFACTURER SAYS THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I CONTACTED NISSAN, THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO UNTIL I HAD IT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALERSHIP. I WENT TO MY LOCAL NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND HAD MY CAR DIAGNOSED AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE CAM POSITION SENSOR WHICH WOULD CAUSE THE CAR TO SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING, THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT GOES ON, THE TCS LIGHT, AND SLIP LIGHT, LIGHT UP AFTER RESTARTING AND IT TAKES A FEW CRANKS TO RESTART. SO AFTER SPENDING $88.00 TO HAVE THIS DIAGNOSIS DONE THEY STILL SAY SORRY WE CAN'T HELP YOU. THIS IS THE VEHICLE THAT MY SON DRIVES BACK AND FORTH TO COLLEGE AND AS OF RIGHT NOW HE IS WALKING BECAUSE WE ARE AFRAID TO LET HIM DRIVE IT UNTIL IT IS REPAIRED. DO I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE MOST DEFINITELY! DRIVING 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN SHUT DOWN WITH CARS BEHIND YOU I FEEL IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN! THE CAR CAN NOT BE DRIVEN LIKE THIS, EVERY TIME THE CAR IS USED IT HAPPENS MORE THEN ONCE. THESE ARE THE SAME EXACT SYMPTOMS THAT THE RECALL LISTS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE 3/25/11 TILL THE PRESENT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/3/2011 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE GAS GAUGE ON MY 2003 NISSAN 350Z REGISTERS EMPTY WHEN THERE IS APPROXIMATELY 5-6 GALLONS OF FUEL LEFT IN THE 20GALLON TANK.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/18/2010 - BRISBANE, CA
I OWN A 2003 NISSAN 350Z, WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER, AND THE CHECK ENGINE, VDC ,AND SLIP LIGHTS ALL CAME ON. ENGINE NOW RUNS SLUGGISHLY. THE ERROR CODE IS P0340, WHICH IS CRANK SENSOR FAILURE. I FEEL THIS IS RELATED TO THE NTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 03V455000, BUT THAT CAMPAIGN ONLY ALLOWS FOR A VERY SMALL VIN RANGE OF 2003 350ZS. I HAVE READ MANY INSTANCES OF THIS FAILURE AND SITUATION ONLINE. THE RECALL SHOULD BE EXPANDED TO ALL 2003 350ZS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/18/2010 - BRISBANE, CA
I OWN A 2003 NISSAN 350Z, WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER, AND THE CHECK ENGINE, VDC ,AND SLIP LIGHTS ALL CAME ON. ENGINE NOW RUNS SLUGGISHLY. I FELL THIS IS RELATED TO THE NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 03V455000, BUT THAT CAMPAIGN ONLY ALLOWS FOR A VERY SMALL VIN RANGE OF 2003 350ZS. I HAVE READ MANY INSTANCES OF THIS FAILURE AND SITUATION ONLINE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/25/2010 - SAN BRUNO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING 30 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AS THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE, TRACTION CONTROL AND THE TIRE SLIP WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND ADVISED THAT THE CRANK SHAFT SENSOR FAILED AND WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) BUT WAS ADVISED BY THE DEALER THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

4/28/2010 - BELTON, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN THIRD GEAR, HE EXPERIENCED MANUAL TRANSMISSION FAILURE. IT ONLY FAILED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO THIRD GEAR OR WHEN SHIFTED DOWN TO SECOND GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/11/2010 - EAST SETAUKET, NY
DRIVERS' SIDE DOOR LOCK FAILED TO DISENGAGE, RESULTING IN THE PASSENGER BEING UNABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE IN THE NORMAL MANNER. DRIVER, AGE 67, WAS FORCED AT GREAT DIFFICULTY,TO CLIMB ACROSS THE CONSOLE AND EXIT THROUGH THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. IF AN EMERGENCY SITUATION OCCURRED, SUCH AS VEHICULAR FIRE OR SUBMERGE, SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH IS POSSIBLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/26/2009 - KAHULUI , HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. HIS VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS EXCLUDED FROM RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 54,022. UPDATED 12/10/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/18/2009 - SAN DIEGO , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE FAILURE OCCURRED IN 2005 WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED ON ITS OWN IN 3 TO 5 SECONDS. THE FAILURE RECURRED 4 TIMES DURING AN 18 HOUR DRIVE. THE NISSAN DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THREE DAYS AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER LATER STATED THAT THE HEAT MAY HAVE CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF. WHILE ADDING FUEL TO THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, IT LOST ALL POWER AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART IT. THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD TO OBSERVED THAT THERE WERE NO WIRES DISCONNECTED AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT IS AWARE OF THE RISK AND STATED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM MAY HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE. IN DECEMBER 2007 THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V455000 COMPONENT: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING, WAS NOT RELATED TO HIS VIN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35400.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

5/25/2009 - KELLER, TX
I AM WONDERING, WHY IS THERE NOT A RECALL ON THE 2003 NISSAN 350Z TRANSMISSION? THERE HAS BEEN MORE THAN ENOUGH COMPLAINTS ON THIS YEARS TRANSMISSION. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE, BECAUSE THE TRANSMISSION LOCKS OUT OF GEAR. I CANNOT EVEN PUT IT INTO 1ST GEAR ON A DEAD STOP AND SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING IT WON'T EVEN SHIFT INTO GEAR. I FEEL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE BEING ON THE ROAD AND FEEL FOR MY SAFETY AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON THIS 2003 NISSAN 350Z YEAR AND MODEL; AND MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS, AND I FEEL MORE THAN ENOUGH TO GET A RECALL. PEOPLE JUST DON'T KNOW WHERE TO GO TO REPORT THIS PROBLEM. I JUST STUMBLED UPON THIS MYSELF. THIS IS THE ONLY CAR I HAVE TO DRIVE TO WORK AND SCHOOL, AND EVERYTIME I GET IN IT, I FEEL UNSAFE AND ASK MYSELF WHEN IS IT GOING TO LOCK UP ON ME AGAIN? FOR A $30,000.00 +, I FEEL NISSAN OWES US THE RIGHT TO HAVE A CAR THAT IS SAFE AND DRIVABLE FOR MANY YEARS TO COME. PLEASE HELP ME, WHAT CAN I DO TO HELP YOU GUYS HELP ALL THE OWNERS OF THE 2003 350Z 'S FEEL THAT THEY HAVE A RELIABLE, DEPENDABLE AND ESPECIALLY SAFE CAR. TODAY, I WAS HEADING TO THE STORE TO GROCERY SHOP, I COULD NOT SHIFT INTO FIRST OR SECOND GEAR AT A LIGHT, AND HAD MULTIPLE CARS BEHIND ME. I STARTED TO PANIC, BECAUSE THEY WERE ALL HONKING, SO I TURNED OFF THE CAR. THE CARS THAT WENT AROUND ME THREW THE BIRD AT ME AND SOME BELITTLED ME WITH SOME CURSE WORDS. IT WAS SHAMEFUL AND EMBARRASSING. SO I TOLD MYSELF I HAD TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS, SO I CALLED FRIENDS FOR SUPPORT, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS WAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR THE 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE TRANSMISSION IS A BIG PROBLEM. EITHER GRINDING GOING INTO GEAR OR LOCKING OUT OF GEAR. SO THEN I ASK MYSELF, WHO DO I TURN TO? AND I FOUND YOU GUYS AFTER HOURS OF RESEARCHING. I NEED YOUR HELP. WE NEED THIS YEARS TRANSMISSION TO BE RECALLED, BECAUSE IT IS DANGEROUS FOR US AS THE DRIVER, AND ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE ON THE ROADS. NISSAN NEEDS TO STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND FIX THIS PROBLEM,THEY KNOW ITS THERE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds