Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN 350Z - 2003 NISSAN 350Z Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN 350Z. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN 350Z, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Power Train (36) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (110) Visibility (9)
Engine (25) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Tires (58) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/28/2009 - PHOENIX, AZ
HELLO. MY NAME IS ROB TWIETMEYER. I OWN A 2003 NISSAN 350Z TOURING EDITION AUTOMOTIVE VEHICLE. ON APRIL 20TH 2009, MY CAR STARTED STALLING. I WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF CACTUS AND SCOTTSDALE RD DUE TO THE FOLLOWING DEFECT ON THE 2003 NISSAN 350Z I OWN AND DRIVE. ALSO, AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR, LIGHTS IN THE DASH SUCH "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" AND OTHER VARIOUS LIGHTS WARNED ME. I TOOK THE CAR TO AUTOZONE THE NEXT DAY AND THEY REPORTED CODE P0340 WHICH MEANS THE CAM SHAFT POSITIONAL SENSORS WERE BAD. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER ON FRIDAY, APRIL 24TH 2009, AND THE DEALER WOULD NOT REPAIR THE AUTO UNDER THE 2003 NISSAN 350Z RECALL BULLETIN-REFERENCE # NTB03-124. I SPOKE WITH TIM JOHSON AT THE SERVICE DEPT. AT PINNACLE NISSAN OF SCOTTSDALE AND HE SAID "THIS CAR IS NOT IN THE RECALL CAMPAIGN". I WAS UNCLEAR WHY HE REPORTED THIS ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE SOLID PROOF THAT THE CAR'S VIN NUMBER WAS IN THE RANGE OF NISSAN CARS THAT ARE RECALLED FOR THIS DEFECT. I GAVE UP AFTER TIM(THE SERVICE ADVISOR) COULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY MECHANIC THAT DAY TO KELLY CLARK AUTOMOTIVE. KELLY CLARK WAS ALSO UNCLEAR AS TO WHY NISSAN WOULD NOT REPAIR THE CAR UNDER THE RECALL AS WELL. FRUSTRATION CONTINUED FURTHER WHEN NISSAN SALES WERE CALLING ME ON THE 26TH AND THE FOLLOWING DAYS, BRIBING ME TO COME TO THE DEALER AND REIMBURSE ME THE COST OF THE REPAIR THAT I PAID TO GET THE PROBLEM FIXED, GIVEN THAT I BUY A NEW 350Z FROM THEM. I FELT VIOLATED AND HARASSED AND COULD NOT BELIEVE A DEALER WOULD HAVE THE AUDACITY TO ASK ME TO BUY A VEHICLE IN ORDER FOR THEM TO PAY FOR MY REPAIR ON MY CURRENT VEHICLE. (MONICA IN THE SALES DEPARTMENT AT PINNACLE NISSAN STATED THIS). THE CHARGES FOR REPAIRS OUT OF POCKET THAT I PAID WERE $454.65 TO KELLY CLARK TO FIX THE PROBLEM RELATED TO THE RECALL. I FEEL I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR THESE CHARGES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/15/2009 - OCEANSIDE, CA
2003 NISSAN 350Z ORIGINAL OWNER. WHILE DRIVING AROUND 40 MPH, ENGINE STALLED, TWICE IN 2 HOURS, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, WAITED FOR MAYBE 15 MINUTES AND ENGINE RESTARTED BOTH TIMES . I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, LEFT IT WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER WHO DROVE IT HOME THAT NIGHT TO TRY & RECREATE THE PROBLEM. WAS TOLD IF THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. ABOUT A YEAR LATER A RECALL WAS PLACED FOR THE ENGINE SENSORS BUT MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT ON THE LIST, SO NO REPLACEMENT. IT HAS NEVER HAPPENED SINCE THEN. THERE WAS LESS THAN 20 THOUSAND MILES ON THE CAR AT THAT TIME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/11/2009 - LEWISVILLE, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE CAMSHAFT SENSORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE LESS THAN 53,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

3/9/2009 - MARINA DEL REY, CA
TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS-GRINDING BETWEEN 3RD AND 4TH GEAR SOMETIMES IN 5TH WHEN CLUTCH FULLY ENGAGED. DEALERSHIP STATED TO CHANGE FLYWHEEL AND CLUTCH. AFTER ABOUT $1300 REPAIRS, GRINDING STILL EXISTS AND NISSAN UNWILLING TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/2/2009 - GLASTONBURY, CT
I OWN A TRACK MODEL 2003 NISSAN 350Z. IN AUGUST 2008, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE WINDOW BEGAN TO INTERMITTENTLY FAIL TO GO UP OR DOWN PROPERLY. BY SEPTEMBER 2008, IT COMPLETELY FAILED TO GO UP OR DOWN. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW MOTOR HAD INTERNAL FAILURE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. MOTOR REPLACED WITH A NEW FACTORY MOTOR BY A CT NISSAN DEALERSHIP AT MY EXPENSE 9/17/2008 AT THE COST OF $581.35.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

10/15/2008 - LA SELVA BEACH, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. THE CONTACT PURCHASED THE VEHICLE ONLY FOR LONG DISTANCE DRIVING. AS SOON AS SHE BEGAN DRIVING THE VEHICLE, SHE SMELLED RUBBER INSIDE THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SMELL WOULD DISSIPATE AND WAS PRESENT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NEW; HOWEVER, THE ODOR REMAINED. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT FROM SECOND INTO THIRD GEAR. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE CLUTCH AND THE FLY WHEEL WERE BURNT. THE CONTACT CALLED NISSAN CUSTOMER SERVICE TO ASSIST WITH THE COST BECAUSE IT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY; HOWEVER, THEY DENIED HER CLAIM. SHE WANTS NISSAN TO ASSIST WITH THE $2,300 REPAIR COST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,000. UPDATED 11/7/08 UPDATED 11/13/08.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/9/2008 - DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT HAD TO PERFORM A HARD START AFTER ATTEMPTING TO RESTART IT SEVERAL TIMES. ALSO, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND REMAINED LIT AT THAT TIME. HE PULLED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE DEALER CURRENTLY HAS THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2008 - HERMITAGE, TN
AFTER BUYING A 2003 350 Z NISSAN, NISSAN REPLACED THE FRONT TIRES TWICE DUE TO BAD ALIGNMENT AND TIRE WEAR AND NOISE. NOW, IT APPEARS, THE SAME UNUSUAL WAR OF THE TIRES ON THE INSIDE IS BACK AS IS THE DEAFENING NOISE WHILE DRIVING. WHY WOULD AN OWNER HAVE TO REPLACE TIRES EVERY 20,000 MILES? THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM. I HAVE JUST ABOUT STOPPED DRIVING MY CAR, PARKING IT IN THE GARAGE AND TAKING THE BUS TO WORK. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE ON THE INTERSTATE IN FEAR OF A BLOW OUT OR ACCIDENT. THIS CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED. THEY ADMITTED THE ALIGNMENT PROBLEM PUBLICLY ON THE INTERNET, GAVE ME 2 SETS OF FRONT TIRES AND NOW IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN. I CALLED THEM TODAY TO REPEAT MY CONCERNS AND THEY ARE REFERRING MY FILE TO THE REGIONS SPECIALIST WHO "HAS THE POWER TO HELP ME OUT". THEY DID SAY THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY CAR OR TIRES AT THIS TIME WHICH ESSENTIALLY MEANS TOUGH. I WILL LET YOU KNOW THE OUTCOME. THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT FROM THE LAW OFFICES OF HOWARD A. GUTMAN CURRENTLY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/27/2008 - CHINO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOSES SPEED WHENEVER HE SHIFTS GEARS TO ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE REVS, BUT THE VEHICLE DOES NOT ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THEY HAVE CHANGED NUMEROUS SENSORS, THE ENGINE COMPUTER, AND EVEN THE WATER PUMP OF THE VEHICLE. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, HE DISCOVERED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, NISSAN STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. HE HAS BEEN UNABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 81,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2008 - CHINO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN 350Z. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOSES SPEED WHENEVER HE SHIFTS GEARS TO ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE REVS, BUT THE VEHICLE DOES NOT ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THEY HAVE CHANGED NUMEROUS SENSORS, THE ENGINE COMPUTER, AND EVEN THE WATER PUMP OF THE VEHICLE. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, HE DISCOVERED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V455000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, NISSAN STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. HE HAS BEEN UNABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE LACK OF ACCELERATION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 81,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds