Auto Recalls for Consumers

SAAB 9-5 - 2003 SAAB 9-5 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2003 SAAB 9-5

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 SAAB 9-5. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 SAAB 9-5, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (5)
Communications (1) Equipment (2) Other (2) Seats (1) Tires (6)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (3) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/12/2016 - VAILL, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1993 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL DOOR LOCKS WOULD BECOME STUCK WHEN ACTIVATED BY THE ELECTRONIC DOOR LOCK SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2014 - MIDWAY, KY
AFTER DRIVING MY CAR TO MY DESTINATION, I PUT THE CAR IN PARK BUT THE CAR WON'T STAY IN PARK. THE CAR POPS OUT OF PARK INTO REVERSE, THEN IT WON'T START WHEN I GET BACK INTO MY CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2014 - MIDWAY, KY
AFTER DRIVING MY CAR TO MY DESTINATION, I PUT THE CAR IN PARK BUT THE CAR WON'T STAY IN PARK. THE CAR POPS OUT OF PARK INTO REVERSE, THEN IT WON'T START WHEN I GET BACK INTO MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/17/2014 - NEW YORK , NY
THE CONTACTS OWNS A 2003 SAAB 9-5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE DIRECT IGNITION CASSETTE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2014 - IRVINGTON, NY
I WAS DRIVING THE CAR WHEN SUDDENLY THE CAR WHEN DEAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT.I WAS LUCKY THAT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AND THERE WAS A GAS STATION RIGHT NEAR BY. IT DID NOT START UP NORMALLY AND WAS VERY SLUGGISH. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED BUT FORTUNATELY NOT HEAVY TRAFFIC AND IN THE RIGHT LANE. IT WAS VERY SCARY. THEY TOWED MY SAAB TO A SAAB DEALER FOR ME WHO HAD TO INSTALL A NEW IGNITION. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT 4-5 YEARS AGO ON MY SAAB 2003 9-5 STATION WAGON WHICH WAS BUILT BY GM. I BELIEVE IT WAS BUILT ON THE SAME PLATFORM OF ONE OF THE CADILLACS THAT IS UNDER RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/19/2014 - IRVINGTON, NY
I WAS DRIVING THE CAR WHEN SUDDENLY THE CAR WHEN DEAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT.I WAS LUCKY THAT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AND THERE WAS A GAS STATION RIGHT NEAR BY. IT DID NOT START UP NORMALLY AND WAS VERY SLUGGISH. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC WHEN THIS HAPPENED BUT FORTUNATELY NOT HEAVY TRAFFIC AND IN THE RIGHT LANE. IT WAS VERY SCARY. THEY TOWED MY SAAB TO A SAAB DEALER FOR ME WHO HAD TO INSTALL A NEW IGNITION. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT 4-5 YEARS AGO ON MY SAAB 2003 9-5 STATION WAGON WHICH WAS BUILT BY GM. I BELIEVE IT WAS BUILT ON THE SAME PLATFORM OF ONE OF THE CADILLACS THAT IS UNDER RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2014 - VIENNA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 SAAB 9-5. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BRAKES SEIZED AS THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC, WHO PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND DISCOVERED THAT THE IGNITION DISCHARGE MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN I.D. NUMBER: 06V410000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND CALLED THE MANUFACTURER, WHO ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/31/2013 - LONG BEACH, NY
THE FRONT SEATBELTS FRAY NEAR WHERE THE BUCKLE SECURES THE BELT WHEN IN USE. THE SEATBELT WAS REPLACED WITH OEM PARTS FOR THIS REASON. THE NEW BELT HAS FRAYED AGAIN OVER A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. OTHERS REPORT SIMILAR PROBLEMS, PERHAPS DUE TO SOMETHING ROUGH ABRADING THE BELT SOMEWHERE ALONG THE BELT PATH.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/31/2013 - LONG BEACH, NY
THE FRONT SEATBELTS FRAY NEAR WHERE THE BUCKLE SECURES THE BELT WHEN IN USE. THE SEATBELT WAS REPLACED WITH OEM PARTS FOR THIS REASON. THE NEW BELT HAS FRAYED AGAIN OVER A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. OTHERS REPORT SIMILAR PROBLEMS, PERHAPS DUE TO SOMETHING ROUGH ABRADING THE BELT SOMEWHERE ALONG THE BELT PATH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/31/2013 - LONG BEACH, NY
THE HORN OFTEN FAILS TO WORK WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL MOUNTED AIRBAG COVER IS PRESSED. THIS IS AN ONGOING, UNRESOLVED PROBLEM. A DEALER REPLACED A PART UNDER WARRANTY BUT THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL OTHER 2002+ 9-5S WITH THE SAME HORN FAILURE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds