Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 2004 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2004 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (1) Steering (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Wheels (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2018 - GOODYEAR, AZ
RE: SAFETY RECALL 20L8/JY; 08V157000: FUEL TANK ROLLOVER VALVE MODIFICATION; VIN: (XX); 2004 AUDI A6 3.0L QUATTRO AT5 ATTACHED DOCS: 1. 20L8/JY RECALL NOTICE. 2. 7.14.2008 & 11.18.18 AUDI N. SCOTTSDALE, AZ DEALER INVOICES 3. AUDI A6 GAS TANK DIAGRAM. AUDI CORP EMAIL RESPONSE: "AT THIS TIME WE HAVE IDENTIFIED THAT THE 20L8 REPAIR WAS SPECIFIC TO THE DRIVER+S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALERSHIP IS INDICATING THIS CURRENT RECOMMENDED REPAIR IS SPECIFIC TO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE." "SINCE WE ARE SHOWING THE 20L8 COMPLETED IN JULY OF 2008 AND THE ORIGINAL 20L8 REPAIR IS SPECIFIC TO DRIVER+S SIDE ROLLOVER NIPPLE VALVES, ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP THIS CURRENT REPAIR IS UNRELATED TO THE RECALL." "CURRENTLY PER THE NHTSA WEBSITE, THE 20L8 IS NOT SHOWING AS AN OPEN RECALL, SO I WOULD BE UNABLE TO SPEAK TO HOW THEY WOULD REACT TO INFORMATION REGARDING A CLOSED RECALL." 'WE HAVE NO EVIDENCE SUPPORTING AN INCORRECT REPAIR BEING PERFORMED IN JULY OF 2008, SO AT THIS TIME WE WOULD BE UNABLE TO PROVIDE ASSISTANCE TOWARDS THIS REPAIR." CURRENT EMISSIONS CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (NOV 18, 2018) IS DIAGNOSED BY THE AUDI DEALER AS A GAS TANK LEAK. ALSO, THERE IS A STRONG ODOR COMING FROM GAS TANK. DEALER QUOTED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE TANK (SEE ATTACHED #2). THERE ARE SEVERAL ROLLOVER VALVES ON EACH SIDE OF THE GAS TANK ON THE TOP SIDE (SEE ATTACHED #3 GAS TANK DIAGRAM). RECALL (SEE ATTACHED #1) DOES NOT ADDRESS "DRIVERS SIDE OR PASSENGER SIDE" OF GAS TANK. DEALER CLAIMED THAT BACK IN 2008 THAT THEY DID NOT EVEN LOWER THE GAS TANK FOR THE REPAIR. IN SUMMARY: MY VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS A GAS TANK LEAK ON TOP OF THE GAS TANK COMING FROM THE ONE OR MORE ROLLOVER VALVE NIPPLES ON TOP OF THE GAS TANK. THE SAFETY RECALL ADDRESSES REPAIRING AND REINFORCING THESE LEAKING ROLLOVER VALVE NIPPLES SO A REPAIR REQUEST SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE RECALL. PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2017 - ONTARIO, NY
AFTERMARKET RADIO: PIONEER ELECTRONICS AVH-4100 NEX BACKUP CAMERA FAILS AND DISTRACTS DRIVER SIGNIFICANTLY. I HAVE ATTACHED A SCAN OF THE COMPLAINT TO PIONEER ELECTRONICS. THE RADIO LIKELY HAS SOFTWARE DEFECT THAT CAUSES VERY DISTRACTING FAILURES WHEN OPERATING THE BACK-UP CAMERA. PIONEER ADVERTISES THAT THIS BACKUP CAMERA WORKS AS ADVERTISED - IT IS ACTUALLY NOW A DISTRACTION AND HAZARD. AS WELL, OPERATING GOOGLE "ANDROID AUTO" CAUSES MORE SIGNIFICANT DRIVING DISTRACTIONS WHEN USING THE BACKUP CAMERA FUNCTION OF THE AVH-4100. COMPLAINTS TO PIONEER ELECTRONICS HAVE BEEN FRUITLESS. THEY SEEM TO BE ARROGANT AND CLAIM: "ALL OF OUR PRODUCTS ARE THOROUGHLY TESTED." I WOULD LIKE PIONEER ELECTRONICS TO FIX THE SOFTWARE ISSUE AND CREATE A NEW RELEASE THAT ALLOWS THE BACKUP CAMERA TO WORK WITHOUT A DISTRACTION AND SAFTY-HAZARD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/11/2016 - RIVER FALLS, WI
WHEN ENGINE IS COLD, USUALLY BELOW 0 DEGREES FUEL SPRAYS FROM INJECTORS. THIS COULD IGNITE ON EXHAUST MANIFOLDS CAUSING CAR FIRE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2015 - BURLINGTON , WA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 AUDI A6. WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH, SMOKE APPEARED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V198000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/12/2015 - CONNELLYS SPRINGS, NC
WITH THE ELEC STABILITY CONTROL BEING INTERMITTENT THIS IS BEING CAUSED BY THE ABS MODULE GOING BAD/INTERMITTENT THE BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE CHANGES. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS WITH MY 2002 RAM 1500 (4X4) AS WELL. THIS COULD BE A PROBLEM IN ALL CARS AND TRUCKS. THE COST THE FIX FOR AN AUDI IS AROUND $2500.00 AND MY RAM WAS $1300.00.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/12/2015 - CONNELLYS SPRINGS, NC
WITH THE ELEC STABILITY CONTROL BEING INTERMITTENT THIS IS BEING CAUSED BY THE ABS MODULE GOING BAD/INTERMITTENT THE BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE CHANGES. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS WITH MY 2002 RAM 1500 (4X4) AS WELL. THIS COULD BE A PROBLEM IN ALL CARS AND TRUCKS. THE COST THE FIX FOR AN AUDI IS AROUND $2500.00 AND MY RAM WAS $1300.00.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/27/2015 - AVENTURA FLORIDA, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE EMITTED INSIDE AND AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK COLLAPSE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,569.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/12/2014 - CLEARWATER, FL
THE FIRST THROTTLE VALVE MALFUNCTION HAPPENED ON JULY 2013. COST TO REPAIR 1557.95 PART COST 878.00 MILEAGE 66784 THE SECOND MALFUNCTION HAPPENED ON OCT. 14, 2014 TO REPAIR 1200.00 PART COST 913.00, MILEAGE 69202 WHAT HAPPENS HERE IS THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN E MAJOR ACCIDENT IF SHE WAS REAR ENDED. I CALLED AUDI TO TELL THEM THE PART WAS DEFECTIVE, BUT THEY WOULD NOT LISTEN. THAT IS WHY I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL, TO SEND THEM A MESSAGE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/12/2014 - CLEARWATER, FL
THE FIRST THROTTLE VALVE MALFUNCTION HAPPENED ON JULY 2013. COST TO REPAIR 1557.95 PART COST 878.00 MILEAGE 66784 THE SECOND MALFUNCTION HAPPENED ON OCT. 14, 2014 TO REPAIR 1200.00 PART COST 913.00, MILEAGE 69202 WHAT HAPPENS HERE IS THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN E MAJOR ACCIDENT IF SHE WAS REAR ENDED. I CALLED AUDI TO TELL THEM THE PART WAS DEFECTIVE, BUT THEY WOULD NOT LISTEN. THAT IS WHY I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL, TO SEND THEM A MESSAGE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/10/2013 - ONTARIO, NY
SIGNIFICANT GAS LEAK CAUSED BY BROKEN GAS "IN TANK SENDING UNITS" HOUSING AND SEAL. GAS WILL LEAK AND FILL THE INSIDE OF THE CAR WITH FUMS AS WELL AS UNDER THE CAR. REPLACEMENT REQUIRED BUYING A REVISED DESIGN SENDING UNITS THAT INCLUDE ALL THREE SENDING UNITS. THE PRICE IS HIGH ~$500 AND THE CONSEQUENCES VERY DANGEROUS. MY CAR IS: 2004 AUDI A6 [XXX] 2004 A6Q 2.7T INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds