Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 762 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (104) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (264) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Steering (73) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (219) Structure (10) Visibility (12)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (3) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (11) Wheels (6)
Equipment (10) Power Train (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE AC/HEATER PASSENGER VENT DUCTS DO NOT RELAY HEATER AIR FLOW FUNCTION - ONLY DIRECTS COLD AIR, BOTH OVER AND UNDER DASHBOARD. THE DRIVER'S SIDE IS OK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
BRAKES FAILED ON HIGHWAY DUE TO RUSTED LINES. BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED. BRAKE LINE WAS SO RUSTED IT HAD A HUGE HOLE IN IT DUE TO THE RUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2017 - LIVERMORE, CA
SINCE IT WAS NEW MY TRUNK SURGES UNCONTROLLABLY AND VIOLENTLY AT TIMES. ITS NORMALLY WHEN I FIRST START IT IN MORNING AND FOR FIRST BLOCK OR TWO. ITS VERY DANGEROUS, IF IT EVER HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY I WILL DIE. GM THREATENED TO BANKRUPT ME IF I SUED UNDER LEMON LAW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2017 - BROWNS MILLS, NJ
I KNOW MY TRUCK IS 14 YEARS OLD. BUT MY BRAKE LINES RUST OUT NEAR THE ABS BLOCK AND NEAR THE FUEL TANK ON THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK. WHICH IS ODD TO HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE HEARD OF PEOPLE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS TRUCK LINE SOONER THEN ME. NOW I HAVE A 85 TRANS AM MADE BY GM AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM . I THINK THE NHTSA AND GM NEED TO LOOK AT THIS CLOSER. THIS HAPPEN TO ME THIS MORNING ON MY WAY OUT TO WORK AND IT SCARED THE HELL OUT ME LUCKY I WAS JUST IN MY DRIVE WAY. I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY TRUCK AND DON'T ABUSE IT. I TRY TO KEEP UP ON THE UNDER BODY AND FRAME AFTER SNOW STORMS BY RINSING OFF THE UNDER BODY AND FRAME. NOW I WAS INFORMED I WILL COST ME ANY WERE FROM $1500.00 TO$ 2000.00 TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER. JUST GLADE I WASN'T ON THE ROAD DOING 50. AS I TAKE LOCAL AND STATE HIGH WAYS TO WORK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/5/2017 - SAYVILLE, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, TRAFFIC MOUNTED UP AND CARS VIGOROUSLY APPLIED BRAKED. BRAKED TRUCK, WHICH SLOWED AT FIRST, THEN PEDAL SANK TO FLOOR AND CEASED TO STOP. EMERGENCY BRAKE DEPLOYMENT PERFORMED REMAINING NECESSARY STOPPING (JUST BARELY). INSPECTION FOUND BADLY RUSTED BRAKE LINE RUPTURED NEAR THE PASSENGER REAR TIRE, AS THE METAL LINE MEETS RUBBER. ALL LINES BADLY RUSTED WHILE LITTLE OTHER UNDERCHASSIS SHOWS ANY RUST AT ALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/3/2017 - BROOKFIELD, IL
YESTERDAY MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND I COULD NOT STOP THE TRUCK. I PUT MY BLINKERS ON AND DROVE ABOUT TWO MILES AN HOUR TO MY REGULAR MECHANIC AND HE SAID ALL THE BRAKE LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THE ARE RUSTED OUT AND LEAKING FLUID TO A COST OF $750.00. IT IS IN THE SHOP RIGHT NOW SO I WON'T HAVE THE INVOICE FOR A FEW DAYS. HE ALSO SAID THE THE FUEL LINES LOOK RUSTED ALSO AND HOPES THEY WON'T BREAK WHILE FIXING THE BRAKE LINES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/6/2017 - NORTH ENDOVER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 15 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CUT IN FRONT, CAUSED THE CONTACT TO APPLY THE BRAKE PEDAL FORCEFULLY AND PUNCTURED THE BRAKE LINE. THE CONTACT SLOWLY DROVE THE VEHICLE TO HIS RESIDENCE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/27/2017 - RANTOUL, KS
UPON EXITING HIGHWAY AT 75 MPH, I APPLIED BRAKES TO SLOW DOWN. THE BRAKES FELT SPONGY THEN WENT TO THE FLOOR. TRIED TO PUMP WITH NO RESULTS. THIS WAS A SINGLE LANE EXIT RAMP WITH A CAR TURNING LEFT AND ONE TURNING RIGHT AT THE END OF THE RAMP. STILL AT APPROX. 60 MPH I HAD NOWHERE TO GO. DOWN SHIFT TO 2ND AND APPLY PARKING BRAKE. FINALLY ONE CAR TURNS AND I BLAST THROUGH INTERSECTION ABOUT 40-45MPH AND JUST MISSED T-BONING ANOTHER VEHICLE. AS I WENT DOWN THE ENTRANCE RAMP BACK ONTO HWY. I WAS ABLE TO BRING TRUCK TO A STOP. LATER INSPECTION OF TRUCK SHOWED ALL 4 BRAKE LINES FROM ABS TO FRONT OF TRUCK SEVERELY RUSTED WITH ONE RUPTURED. REAR BRAKE LINE ALSO RUSTED. G.M. NEED TO RECALL THESE VEHICLES BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. AT THE SPEED I WAS TRAVELING I HAD SECONDS TO MAKE A DECISION. I WAS LUCKY THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME TURNED AND I MISSED THE CAR ON THE CROSSROAD. THIS TRUCK HAS 85,XXX MILES AND HAS ONLY BEEN DRIVEN IN SNOW OR BAD WEATHER MAYBE A HALF DOZEN TIMES DURING ITS LIFE SO CORROSION SHOULD HOT HAVE BEEN AN ISSUE. I'VE OWNED MANY CARS WITH 200,000 PLUS MILES AND NEVER HAD BRAKE LINE ISSUES. I BELIEVE WITH AS MANY COMPLAINTS AS I READ ABOUT THIS PROBLEM YOU NEED TO FORCE A RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS DISABLED FOR THE REST OF THERE LIFE, OR SOMEONE LOSES A FAMILY MEMBER!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/16/2017 - NICHOLSON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, ALL THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED. AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT CAUGHT ON FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2017 - NICHOLSON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, ALL THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED. AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT CAUGHT ON FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 88
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds