Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 768 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (104) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (268) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Steering (73) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (219) Structure (10) Visibility (12)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (3) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (11) Wheels (6)
Equipment (10) Power Train (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/9/2018 - ST LOUIS, MO
MY HUSBAND HAD A HORRIFIC ONE VEHICLE ACCIDENT. HE WAS TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED, DRIVING ON AN UNFAMILIAR COUNTY HIGHWAY WHEN HE APPROACHED A CURVE IN THE ROAD, HIS VEHICLE LEFT THE ROAD, ROLLED, BECAME AIR BORN, HIT A UTILITY POLE WHILE AIR BORN HARD ENOUGH TO SNAP IT IN HALF AND MOVE THE PART OF THE POLE THAT'S IN THE GROUND ABOUT TWO FEET, THE VEHICLE ROLLED AND LANDED UP SIDE DOWN. NOT ONE SINGLE AIR BAG DEPLOYED. MY HUSBAND WASN'T WEARING HIS SEAT BELT AND WAS THROWN FROM THE VEHICLE. I'M NOT EXCUSING HIS ACTIONS, BUT THE OTHER SAFETY FEATURE DIDN'T PERFORM AS WELL. I'VE CONTACTED GENERAL MOTORS AND THEY IN RETURN TURNED IT OVER TO ESIS THEY'RE ADDRESS IS ESIS/GM CENTRAL CLAIMS UNIT. P.O BOX 300 MAILCODE 482-C19-B61 DETROIT, MI. 48265-3000. PHONE NUMBER 800-888-0164 FAX 248-778-1794. I SENT ESIS MULTIPLE PICTURES OF THE TOTALED VEHICLE SHOWING THAT NOT ONE AIR BAG DEPLOYED. I'VE RECEIVED A LETTER BACK FROM ESIS RELATING THAT THEY HAVE COMPLETED THEIR REVIEW OF MY CLAIM, BASED ON ALL DOCUMENTATION REVIEWED. ALSO TELLING ME THAT IF I HAVE ANY FURTHER EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT MY CLAIM TO PLEASE SUBMIT IT TO THEM. ARE PICTURES OF A TOTALED OUT VEHICLE THAT SUFFERED SEVERE DAMAGE BUT YET NO SIGNS OF AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT NOT PROOF ENOUGH? I'VE ASKED ESIS HOW MANY MORE VEHICLES LIKE OURS MAY BE OUT THERE. NO RESPONSE. MY HUSBAND SUFFERED SEVERE BRAIN TRAUMA, A BROKEN NECK, STERNUM, FOUR BROKEN RIBS, BROKEN RIGHT LEG IN MULTIPLE PLACES AND A BROKEN LEFT ARM THAT WAS ALSO BROKEN IN MULTIPLE PLACES. HE HAD HIS ACCIDENT ON MARCH 12TH 2018 AND DIED AS A RESULT OF IT ON AUGUST 7TH 2018. ESIS HASN'T OFFERED TO PROVIDE ME WITH A COPY OF THEIR FINDINGS NEITHER. I'M FULLY AWARE THAT HE WOULD HAVE SUFFERED INJURIES REGARDLESS OF SEAT BELT ON OR OFF. WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS WHY DIDN'T THE AIR BAGS DEPLOY. THANK YOUR [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/26/2018 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
WORKING DOOR FRAME-AWAY FROM ALL CABLES AND WIRES-TRUCK WAS PARKED IN DRIVEWAY-OFF-DRIVERS AIR BAG WENT OFF-ON ACCIDENT-TRUCK WAS PARKED--NO LUCK WITH GM--AN LUCK WITH DEALER--GM SAID-TRUCK OUT OF WARRANTY AND TO OLD--COST ME OVER $2000.00 TO REPLACE--I AM 70 YRS OLD AND RETIRED--STILL LIKE THE TRUCK--THESE $$$ HURT ME!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2018 - DALLAS, GA
THE SPEEDOMETER DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY. I CAN BE AT A RED LIGHT AT COMPLETE STOP & IT STATES I AM DOING 60, WHEN I ACCELERATE IT GOES TO 100, WHEN I KNOW I AM ONLY DOING 10-15 MPH. I AM 70 YEARS OLD ON A FIXED INCOME. I NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING ABOUT A RECALL AND I NOW HAVE AROUND 102,000 MILES ON MY TRUCK. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO REPLACE A DEFECTIVE PART FOR $500- $600. GM SHOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THESE AT FULL COST!

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2018 - SWAINSBORO, GA
ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE POWER DROPS IMMEDIATELY, NO POWER AT ALL. I GET A MESSAGE THAT SAYS ENGINE POWER FAILURE. I CAN STOP AND SHUT TRUCK OFF WAIT ABOUT 10-20 MINUTES, CRANK TRUCK, LIGHT GOES OUT AND ENGINE HAS POWER. THIS HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST 2 MONTHS. TWICE THIS HAPPENED IN THE CITY LIMITS AND TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2017 - BUCKEYE, AZ
1 ISSUE IS THE AC RUNS HOT ON THE LEFT SIDE AND COLD ON THE RIGHT. SOMETIMES IT WILL RUN ALL HOT.. @. THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS GO OFF AFTER I HAVE STARTED DRIVING AND I CAN NOT SEE THE SPEED OR ANYTHING ON IT. WE HAD A RECALL ON THE HARNESS A FEW YEAR AGO, AROUND APRIL 2011 OR 2012 THE TRUCK WOULD NOT PASS STATE INSPECTION AT THE TIME. I HAVE REPLACED IT TWICE ALREADY. CHEVROLET MANUFACTURE REIMBURSED US.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/3/2017 - BUCKEYE, AZ
1 ISSUE IS THE AC RUNS HOT ON THE LEFT SIDE AND COLD ON THE RIGHT. SOMETIMES IT WILL RUN ALL HOT.. @. THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS GO OFF AFTER I HAVE STARTED DRIVING AND I CAN NOT SEE THE SPEED OR ANYTHING ON IT. WE HAD A RECALL ON THE HARNESS A FEW YEAR AGO, AROUND APRIL 2011 OR 2012 THE TRUCK WOULD NOT PASS STATE INSPECTION AT THE TIME. I HAVE REPLACED IT TWICE ALREADY. CHEVROLET MANUFACTURE REIMBURSED US.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE AC/HEATER PASSENGER VENT DUCTS DO NOT RELAY HEATER AIR FLOW FUNCTION - ONLY DIRECTS COLD AIR, BOTH OVER AND UNDER DASHBOARD. THE DRIVER'S SIDE IS OK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
BRAKES FAILED ON HIGHWAY DUE TO RUSTED LINES. BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED. BRAKE LINE WAS SO RUSTED IT HAD A HUGE HOLE IN IT DUE TO THE RUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2017 - LIVERMORE, CA
SINCE IT WAS NEW MY TRUNK SURGES UNCONTROLLABLY AND VIOLENTLY AT TIMES. ITS NORMALLY WHEN I FIRST START IT IN MORNING AND FOR FIRST BLOCK OR TWO. ITS VERY DANGEROUS, IF IT EVER HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY I WILL DIE. GM THREATENED TO BANKRUPT ME IF I SUED UNDER LEMON LAW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2017 - BROWNS MILLS, NJ
I KNOW MY TRUCK IS 14 YEARS OLD. BUT MY BRAKE LINES RUST OUT NEAR THE ABS BLOCK AND NEAR THE FUEL TANK ON THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK. WHICH IS ODD TO HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE HEARD OF PEOPLE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS TRUCK LINE SOONER THEN ME. NOW I HAVE A 85 TRANS AM MADE BY GM AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM . I THINK THE NHTSA AND GM NEED TO LOOK AT THIS CLOSER. THIS HAPPEN TO ME THIS MORNING ON MY WAY OUT TO WORK AND IT SCARED THE HELL OUT ME LUCKY I WAS JUST IN MY DRIVE WAY. I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY TRUCK AND DON'T ABUSE IT. I TRY TO KEEP UP ON THE UNDER BODY AND FRAME AFTER SNOW STORMS BY RINSING OFF THE UNDER BODY AND FRAME. NOW I WAS INFORMED I WILL COST ME ANY WERE FROM $1500.00 TO$ 2000.00 TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER. JUST GLADE I WASN'T ON THE ROAD DOING 50. AS I TAKE LOCAL AND STATE HIGH WAYS TO WORK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds