Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 766 complaints filed for the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (104) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (268) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Steering (73) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (219) Structure (10) Visibility (12)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Air (3) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (11) Wheels (6)
Equipment (10) Power Train (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2018 - DALLAS, GA
THE SPEEDOMETER DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY. I CAN BE AT A RED LIGHT AT COMPLETE STOP & IT STATES I AM DOING 60, WHEN I ACCELERATE IT GOES TO 100, WHEN I KNOW I AM ONLY DOING 10-15 MPH. I AM 70 YEARS OLD ON A FIXED INCOME. I NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING ABOUT A RECALL AND I NOW HAVE AROUND 102,000 MILES ON MY TRUCK. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO REPLACE A DEFECTIVE PART FOR $500- $600. GM SHOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THESE AT FULL COST!

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2018 - SWAINSBORO, GA
ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON WHILE DRIVING, ENGINE POWER DROPS IMMEDIATELY, NO POWER AT ALL. I GET A MESSAGE THAT SAYS ENGINE POWER FAILURE. I CAN STOP AND SHUT TRUCK OFF WAIT ABOUT 10-20 MINUTES, CRANK TRUCK, LIGHT GOES OUT AND ENGINE HAS POWER. THIS HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST 2 MONTHS. TWICE THIS HAPPENED IN THE CITY LIMITS AND TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/3/2017 - BUCKEYE, AZ
1 ISSUE IS THE AC RUNS HOT ON THE LEFT SIDE AND COLD ON THE RIGHT. SOMETIMES IT WILL RUN ALL HOT.. @. THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS GO OFF AFTER I HAVE STARTED DRIVING AND I CAN NOT SEE THE SPEED OR ANYTHING ON IT. WE HAD A RECALL ON THE HARNESS A FEW YEAR AGO, AROUND APRIL 2011 OR 2012 THE TRUCK WOULD NOT PASS STATE INSPECTION AT THE TIME. I HAVE REPLACED IT TWICE ALREADY. CHEVROLET MANUFACTURE REIMBURSED US.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/3/2017 - BUCKEYE, AZ
1 ISSUE IS THE AC RUNS HOT ON THE LEFT SIDE AND COLD ON THE RIGHT. SOMETIMES IT WILL RUN ALL HOT.. @. THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS GO OFF AFTER I HAVE STARTED DRIVING AND I CAN NOT SEE THE SPEED OR ANYTHING ON IT. WE HAD A RECALL ON THE HARNESS A FEW YEAR AGO, AROUND APRIL 2011 OR 2012 THE TRUCK WOULD NOT PASS STATE INSPECTION AT THE TIME. I HAVE REPLACED IT TWICE ALREADY. CHEVROLET MANUFACTURE REIMBURSED US.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE AC/HEATER PASSENGER VENT DUCTS DO NOT RELAY HEATER AIR FLOW FUNCTION - ONLY DIRECTS COLD AIR, BOTH OVER AND UNDER DASHBOARD. THE DRIVER'S SIDE IS OK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
BRAKES FAILED ON HIGHWAY DUE TO RUSTED LINES. BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED. BRAKE LINE WAS SO RUSTED IT HAD A HUGE HOLE IN IT DUE TO THE RUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2017 - LIVERMORE, CA
SINCE IT WAS NEW MY TRUNK SURGES UNCONTROLLABLY AND VIOLENTLY AT TIMES. ITS NORMALLY WHEN I FIRST START IT IN MORNING AND FOR FIRST BLOCK OR TWO. ITS VERY DANGEROUS, IF IT EVER HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY I WILL DIE. GM THREATENED TO BANKRUPT ME IF I SUED UNDER LEMON LAW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2017 - BROWNS MILLS, NJ
I KNOW MY TRUCK IS 14 YEARS OLD. BUT MY BRAKE LINES RUST OUT NEAR THE ABS BLOCK AND NEAR THE FUEL TANK ON THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK. WHICH IS ODD TO HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE HEARD OF PEOPLE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS TRUCK LINE SOONER THEN ME. NOW I HAVE A 85 TRANS AM MADE BY GM AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM . I THINK THE NHTSA AND GM NEED TO LOOK AT THIS CLOSER. THIS HAPPEN TO ME THIS MORNING ON MY WAY OUT TO WORK AND IT SCARED THE HELL OUT ME LUCKY I WAS JUST IN MY DRIVE WAY. I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY TRUCK AND DON'T ABUSE IT. I TRY TO KEEP UP ON THE UNDER BODY AND FRAME AFTER SNOW STORMS BY RINSING OFF THE UNDER BODY AND FRAME. NOW I WAS INFORMED I WILL COST ME ANY WERE FROM $1500.00 TO$ 2000.00 TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER. JUST GLADE I WASN'T ON THE ROAD DOING 50. AS I TAKE LOCAL AND STATE HIGH WAYS TO WORK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/5/2017 - SAYVILLE, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, TRAFFIC MOUNTED UP AND CARS VIGOROUSLY APPLIED BRAKED. BRAKED TRUCK, WHICH SLOWED AT FIRST, THEN PEDAL SANK TO FLOOR AND CEASED TO STOP. EMERGENCY BRAKE DEPLOYMENT PERFORMED REMAINING NECESSARY STOPPING (JUST BARELY). INSPECTION FOUND BADLY RUSTED BRAKE LINE RUPTURED NEAR THE PASSENGER REAR TIRE, AS THE METAL LINE MEETS RUBBER. ALL LINES BADLY RUSTED WHILE LITTLE OTHER UNDERCHASSIS SHOWS ANY RUST AT ALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/3/2017 - BROOKFIELD, IL
YESTERDAY MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND I COULD NOT STOP THE TRUCK. I PUT MY BLINKERS ON AND DROVE ABOUT TWO MILES AN HOUR TO MY REGULAR MECHANIC AND HE SAID ALL THE BRAKE LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THE ARE RUSTED OUT AND LEAKING FLUID TO A COST OF $750.00. IT IS IN THE SHOP RIGHT NOW SO I WON'T HAVE THE INVOICE FOR A FEW DAYS. HE ALSO SAID THE THE FUEL LINES LOOK RUSTED ALSO AND HOPES THEY WON'T BREAK WHILE FIXING THE BRAKE LINES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds