Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (8) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/27/2012 - CHUNCHULA, AL
ON MY 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING TOURING CONV., WHILE PARKED I OBSERVED THE PASSENGER REAR TIRE LEANING OUT AT THE BOTTOM AND LEANING IN AT THE TOP OF THE TIRE. IT WAS VERY NOTICEABLE THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG. I DROPPED THE CROSSMEMBER FRAME FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND FOUND OUT THAT BOTH BOLTS WERE BROKE OFF ON THE PASSENGER REAR UPPER CONTROL ARM. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE BROKEN BOLTS PIECES WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

2/27/2012 - CHUNCHULA, AL
ON MY 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING TOURING CONV., WHILE PARKED I OBSERVED THE PASSENGER REAR TIRE LEANING OUT AT THE BOTTOM AND LEANING IN AT THE TOP OF THE TIRE. IT WAS VERY NOTICEABLE THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG. I DROPPED THE CROSSMEMBER FRAME FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND FOUND OUT THAT BOTH BOLTS WERE BROKE OFF ON THE PASSENGER REAR UPPER CONTROL ARM. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO REMOVE THE BROKEN BOLTS PIECES WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/10/2011 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
PURCHASED 2004 SEBRING CONVERTIBLE MEMORIAL WEEKEND 2011. DURING DELIVERY FROM UTAH AUTO GALLERY OIL LIGHT FLICKERED. DEALER CHEATED OIL AND SAID WAS ION. OIL CHANGE IN JULY WITH SYNTHETIC OIL. VEHICLE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE ON MOUNTAIN HIGHWAY I80, OUT SIDE OF SALT LAKE CITY. DISCOVERED VIA INTERNET THAT 2.7 ENGINES DEFECTIVE. DEALER NOT RETURNING CALL. RESEARCH SAYS THE SIGN THAT THE ENGINE IS STARTING TO SEIZE IS THE FLICKER OF THE OIL LIGHT. VEHICLE SOLD WITH THE POTENTIAL OF A CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE, WHICH HAPPENED A MONTH AND A HALF AFTER VEHICLE SOLD. CAR HAS ONLY BEEN DRIVEN 922 MILES SINCE PURCHASED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

7/17/2011 - APOPKA, FL
FRONT-END NOISES WERE REPORTED TO THE SELLING DEALER WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER WARRANTY. AFTER THREE SHOP VISITS TO A CARY, NC, DEALER DURING WHICH THE TECHNICIANS "COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM," WE DECIDED TO JUST LIVE WITH THE NOISES. AFTER MOVING FROM NORTH CAROLINA TO FLORIDA, THE NOISES GOT WORSE. A CLERMONT, FL, CHRYSLER DEAL CHARGED US $100 TO CHECK OUT THE PROBLEM AND "COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING," BUT THEY DID OFFER TO REPLACE THE BALL JOINTS AND CONTROL ARMS FOR ABOUT $1100. BY THAT TIME, OF COURSE, IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. WE TOOK IT TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC, WHO FOUND THAT THE BALL JOINTS AND CONTROL ARMS DID INDEED NEED TO BE REPLACED, SO WE DID. THE DISCONCERTING PART OF THIS IS THAT THE PROBLEM WHEN THE VEHICLE ONLY HAD ABOUT 30,000 MILES ON IT AND THAT THE TECH'S AT TWO DEALERS EITHER COULDN'T DETERMINE OR DIDN'T BOTHER TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THEN, THE REPLACEMENT THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE UNDER WARRANTY HAD TO BE DONE OUT OF POCKET AT ABOUT 58,000. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS SORT OF THING COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS. NOW, FROM THE FRONT END SOUNDS WE'RE HEARING AGAIN, WE MAY NEED TO HAVE CV JOINTS REPLACED. WE HAVE AN EXTENDED DRIVETRAIN WARRANTY, AND THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE COVERED, SO IT WILL BE INTERESTING TO SEE HOW THE CHRYSLER DEALER HANDLES IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/24/2011 - YOUNGSVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE RATTLED WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE CONTACT WAS UNAWARE IF THE FAILURE ALSO OCCURRED ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 10E059000 (USPENSION:FRONT:CONTROL ARM:LOWER ARM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 82,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TRUNK LID

6/1/2011 - DEBARY, FL
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. CONSUMER STATES PROBLEM WITH TRUNK LIDS FAILURE THE CONSUMER STATED SHE WAS LEANING INSIDE THE TRUNK, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE LID COLLAPSED OH HER BACK WHICH ULTIMATELY REQUIRED SURGERY AND ONE MONTH OF REHABILITATION. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY CHRYSLER SHE WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR MAKING SURE THE STRUTS ON THE LID WERE IN WORKING ORDER AS THE PROBLEM WAS CONSIDERED A MAINTENANCE ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

4/18/2011 - GENIVA , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE BECAME UNCONTROLLABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE REAR PASSENGER STRUT FAILED DUE TO CORROSION. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE STRUTS WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED BUT THEY STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO ASSIST WITH THE REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE 102,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

12/4/2010 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
CHRYSLER 2.7 L V6 ENGINE PRONE TO SLUDGE AND FAILURE, DESPITE CONTINUOUS MAINTENANCE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/2/2010 - DETROIT, MI
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING LIMITED. OIL SLUDGE IN ENGINE LED TO ENGINE FAILURE AT 50,000 MILES. THIS CAR WAS PERFECTLY MAINTAINED, INCLUDING REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND OTHER MAINTENANCE. THE ENGINE SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED. APPARENTLY THIS IS A CHRONIC PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS. MY MOTHER WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY ROAD WHEN THIS HAPPENED. SHE HAD JUST HAD DENTAL SURGERY THE DAY BEFORE AND WAS RECOVERING FROM A SEVERE INFECTION. SHE HAD TO SIT IN 98 DEGREE TEMPERATURES FOR MANY HOURS AFTER HAVING TO PUSH THE CAR TO A SAFE SPOT. THE CAR WAS ALMOST HIT BY OTHER CARS AS SHE PUSHED IT AND SHE SUFFERED HEAT EXHAUSTION AND OTHER PROBLEMS AS A RESULT OF THE INCIDENT. WE HAVE NOT YET BEEN ABLE TO FIX THE CAR AS IT WILL REQUIRE COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENGINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/13/2010 - KIRKWOOD, MO
WE HAVE A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE WHICH HAS A PROBLEM WITH LURCHING FORWARD AND UNABLE TO STOP (NO BRAKES). THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES AND WE FEEL IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. IT HAS NOW BEEN DIAGNOSED AS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. WE FEEL WE SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS DEFECT BUT CHRYSLER HAS REFUSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN WE CONTACTED CHRYSLER, WE WERE TOLD WE HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT NOW ARE TOLD WE DO NOT. WE ARE AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR AND FEEL STRONGLY THAT CHRYSLER SHOULD BE WILLING TO REPAIR OR TAKE IT OFF THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds