Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (8) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/17/2010 - ALBANY, NY
CAR STOPPED RUNNING WHEN STOPPED AT RED LIGHT. TOWED TO DEALER. INFORMED IT NEEDS NEW BATTERY AND TRANSMISSION SOLENOID PACK. I AUTHORIZED THE REPAIRS AND ALSO REQUESTED OIL CHANGE. DEALER CALLED BACK STATED ENGINE HAS SLUDGE, ENGINE"VERY VERY BAD" , MAKING KNOCKING NOISE,"MAY NEED NEW ENGINE." I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM THE SAME CHRYSLER DEALER 2 YRS AGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/17/2010 - ALBANY, NY
CAR STOPPED RUNNING WHEN STOPPED AT RED LIGHT. TOWED TO DEALER. INFORMED IT NEEDS NEW BATTERY AND TRANSMISSION SOLENOID PACK. I AUTHORIZED THE REPAIRS AND ALSO REQUESTED OIL CHANGE. DEALER CALLED BACK STATED ENGINE HAS SLUDGE, ENGINE"VERY VERY BAD" , MAKING KNOCKING NOISE,"MAY NEED NEW ENGINE." I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM THE SAME CHRYSLER DEALER 2 YRS AGO.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/5/2010 - CARY, NC
I HAVE A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE V6. THE CAR STALLS EVERY ONCE AND A WHILE, AFTER STOPPING OR WHILE RIDING AT LOWER SPEEDS, MOST OFTEN IN HOT SUMMER DAYS. THE MAIN CONCERN IS THAT WHEN IT STALLS WHILE RIDING, I LOSE POWER TO THE BREAKS AND THE STEERING WHEEL, MAKING IT VERY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL. IT ALSO HAS A PROBLEM THAT AFTER RUNNING FOR A WHILE ON A HIGHWAY USING THE CRUISE CONTROL, WHEN IT COMES TO A STOP, IT BEGINS TO STALL, BUT I GUESS THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM KICKS-IN AND THAT LEADS TO A VERY RAPID ACCELERATION. AT THAT MOMENT, IF I AM NOT PRESSING FIRMLY ON THE BREAKS, THE CAR MAY EVEN JUMP FORWARD AND HIT SOMETHING. I REPORTED THESE ISSUES TO THE DEALER WHILE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY BUT THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE IT. SINCE THIS HAPPENS SPORADICALLY AND I AM ALWAYS PREPARED FOR SUCH EVENTS, I DID NOT INSIST TOO MUCH WITH THE DEALER. BUT LOOKING AT THE INTERNET, I CAN SEE THAT LOTS OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEMS AS I AM AND I AM GETTING TO THE CONCLUSION THAT SUCH ISSUES ARE DUE TO A CHRONIC FLAW IN THE SEBRING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/1/2010 - DAYTONA BEACH, FL
SEVERAL MONTHS AGO I WAS STOPPED AT A STOPLIGHT IN MY 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE, 2.7L AUTOMATIC. I SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AS USUAL AT THE LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED I SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND THE ENGINE WENT "WIDE OPEN." I LURCHED FORWARD, JAMMED ON BRAKES AND TURNED IGNITION OFF. I PAUSED A MINUTE (IN FRONT OF STARTELED ONLOOKERS), RESTARTED THE ENGINE, AND DROVE ON CAUTIOUSLY. NEXT DAY I TOOK CAR TO CHRYSLER DEALER AND THEY "COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR." THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS. IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

1/6/2010 - ISANTI, MN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF LESS THAN 65 MPH UTILIZING THE HEATED SEATS, HE NOTICED THAT THE SEAT BECAME HOTTER THAN USUAL. HE THEN NOTICED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE SEAT AND A SMALL FIRE IMMEDIATELY IGNITED. HE WAS STILL DRIVING AS THE INCIDENT OCCURRED AT 65 MPH. HE ATTEMPTED TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE WITHOUT CRASHING INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AND SWERVED IN AND OUT OF TRAFFIC AS HIS RIGHT PANT LEG WAS ABLAZE. HE WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE WITH A JUG OF WATER THAT WAS INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. HE SUFFERED MODERATE BURNS TO HIS RIGHT LEG. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS A MALFUNCTION IN THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER ALSO STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON HIS VEHICLE AND HIS WARRANTY WAS NOT VALID FOR THE HEATED SEATS THERE WAS NOTHING THAT THEY COULD DO TO ASSIST HIM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000 AND THE CURRENT WAS 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/10/2009 - HAWTHORNE, CA
I PURCHASED A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE ON DECEMBER 25, 2008. THE FIRST COUPLE OF MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASED MY CAR THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. AFTER ANOTHER 1 MONTH OR SO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER. PER THE DEALER I ONLY HAD 3 MONTHS OF WARRANTY THEREFORE THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. AT THE TIME OF THE PURCHASED THE PERSON WHO SOLD THE CAR TO ME STATED I HAD 1 YEAR OF WARRANTY AND IT TURNED OUT I ONLY HAD 3 MONTHS OF WARRANTY. I OF COURSE COMPLAINT BECAUSE THAT'S NOT WHAT THEY SAID IN THE BEGINNING AT THE TIME OF THE PURCHASE. AFTER THAT DAY I WENT BACK HOME AND DECIDED TO GO BACK TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY AND THEY HAD CLOSED THE DEALER PER THEY WERE ALREADY OUT OF BUSINESS. THERE WAS NOTHING I COULD DO AFTER THAT. ON AUGUST 2, 2009 MY CAR STARTED MAKING A KNOCKING NOISE I TOOK THE CAR TO THE MECHANIC AND HE STATED A NEW ENGINE NEEDED TO BE INSTALLED PER THE ENGINE WAS COMPLETELY GONE OUT OF NO WHERE. I HAD 3 OTHER MECHANICS LOOK AT MY CAR AND THEY ALSO STATED A NEW ENGINE NEEDED TO BE PUT IN. SO NOW IM STUCK WITH MY CAR LOAN IN WHICH I STILL OWE ABOUT $6000 AND I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR FOR ABOUT 4 MONTHS NOW PER IT COST TOO MUCH TO REPLACE. WHAT SHOULD I DO IN THIS CASE? PLEASE HELP.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

11/26/2009 - AUSTIN, TX
I HAVE A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CAR WILL START AT TIMES FINE WITH NO PROBLEM, BUT SOMETIMES IT WILL START AND THAN TURN OFF IMMEDIATELY. THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED MORE THAN ONCE. THE CAR WILL ALSO SOMETIMES NOT EVEN TURN ON AT ALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/21/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE WITH 2.7L, 6 CYL ENGINE. ENGINE SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY IN MICHIGAN; WHEN I OPENED THE HOOD, THE RADIATOR WAS STEAMING/BOILING. NO WARNING, NO "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHTS, NO OIL PRESSURE OR TEMPERATURE WARNINGS. HAD CAR TOWED TO MICHIGAN DEALER, THEY COULDN'T GET THE ENGINE TO MOVE; SAID I NEEDED ENGINE REPLACEMENT. CHRYSLER WOULDN'T HONOR ANY WARRANTIES BECAUSE CAR WAS JUST OVER 70K MILES (WARRANTY TO 70K). ALSO, DEALER I TOWED THE CAR TO HAD JUST LOST THEIR CHRYSLER FRANCHISE 3 DAYS EARLIER AS DID THE DEALER I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR FROM; CHRYSLER SAID THEY WOULDN'T EVEN TALK TO THESE DEALERS ANYMORE ABOUT THE CAR, I WAS ON MY OWN. I FOUND NUMEROUS WEBSITES SHOWING COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ENGINE THAT WERE EXACTLY LIKE MINE. THERE'S BEEN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FILED IN NJ REGARDING THIS ENGINE FAILURE BUT I HAVEN'T FOUND ONE THAT I CAN PARTICIPATE IN YET. I SURRENDERED THE CAR TO CHRYSLER AS I WASN'T READY TO PAY OVER $8000 FOR A NEW ENGINE (MORE THAN THE CAR WAS WORTH).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/16/2009 - MONROE, WA
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON THE FREEWAY MY OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN WITHIN A COUPLE OF MINUTES THE CAR STOPPED, I DID NOT KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING, THE BATTERY WAS FINE BECAUSE THE RADIO AND HEAD LIGHTS WERE WORKING, I KNEW HAD OIL, MY HUSBAND CAME OUT AND TRIED TO JUMP START IT BUT HAD NO LUCK, HAD IT TOWED TO CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT THE ENGINE WAS SEIZED. I HAD NO WARNING SIGN THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY ENGINE, THE MECHANIC SAID THAT THE OIL LEVEL WAS FINE AND THAT IT LOOK PRETTY CLEAN AS WELL. THEY TOLD ME A NEED A NEW ENGINE AT A COST OF $5500 FOR A USED ONE WITH A 6 MO. PARTS ONLY WARRANTY OR A FACTORY RECONDITIONED ONE AT A COST OF $7200. I CAN NOT AFFORD EITHER, AND STILL OWE APROX $6500 ON MY CAR LOAN. I FOUND A WEB SITE CALLED AUTO BEEF AND WITH LITTLE SURPRISE THERE WERE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME PROBLEMS. I HONESTLY BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A FAULTY PRODUCT. NOW I HAVE TO PAY FOR A CAR I CANNOT USE OR INVEST ALMOST $7200 PLUS TAX ON A CAR THAT ISN'T WORTH THAT MUCH TO PUT INTO IT ANOTHER $7200.00.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/3/2008 - ALOHA, OR
OIL SLUDGE IN MY LOWER ENGINE. CHRYSLER 2.7 V6 ENGINE. I AM BEING TOLD I NEED TO PAY $8000.00 FOR A NEW ENGINE IN MY 2004 SEBRING WITH ONLY 48,XXX MILES ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds