Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (8) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/14/2008 - SALISBURY, MA
TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE TWO CARS GOT INTO A FENDER BENDER ANOTHER CRASHED INTO THEM AND I WAS TRAVELING BEHIND THE THIRD VEHICLE WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND SENT INTO A SKID. MY CAR SLID A GOOD DISTANCE UNTIL IT CRASHED RIGHT INTO THE BACK OF THE THIRD VEHICLE WHICH WAS A VOLVO IN WHICH THEIR AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. MY SEBRING DID NOT STOP NOR DID THE AIR BAGS DEPLOY. I WAS TRAVELING AROUND 30-40 MPH WHEN THE IMPACT HAPPEN. WILL NOT HAVE CONFIRMATION UNTIL TOMORROW BUT IT APPEARS THAT THE CAR WILL NOT BE SALVAGEABLE. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT ANTI-LOCK BRAKES SHOULD PREVENT A SKID ON A DRY SURFACE ON A CLEAR DAY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/22/2008 - TAYLOR, MI
TICKING OF THE ENGINE, NO SLUDGE FOUND AS OF TODAY. STALLING AT LIGHTS OR SITTING IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/25/2008 - YUMA, AZ
VEHICLE HAS DIED FOR NO REASON ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, AND THEN RECENTLY STARTED KNOCKING. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE WAS RUINED WITH SLUDGE. IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. WE HAVE DONE A FEW OF THE OIL CHANGES OURSELVES, AND HAD SOME DONE AT AUTO SERVICES OTHER THAN CHRYSLER SO THEY DO NOT WISH TO WARRANTY THE ENGINE. THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM I DISCOVERED AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET AND CHRYSLER IS TRYING NOT TO HONOR THE WARRANTY BY CLAIMING THE OIL WAS NOT CHANGED CORRECTLY BY THE OWNER, AND OR, THE SERVICE COMPANIES OTHER THAN CHRYSLER. I CANNOT AFFORD TO CONTINUE PAYING FOR A CAR THAT DOES NOT RUN, AND I CANNOT AFFORD A NEW ENGINE FOR A CAR THAT IS A 2004 MODEL, OR ANY YEAR MODEL FOR THAT MATTER. A $20,000 VEHICLE SHOULD LAST MORE THAN 4 OR 5 YEARS. 20,000.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

7/9/2008 - DANVILLE, CA
IN MAY OF 2008, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE WITH HER PURSE ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. SHE SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING AND LOOKED OVER TO DISCOVER THAT HER PURSE WAS BURNING ALONG WITH THE PASSENGER SEAT. SHE PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE BOTTOM OF HER PURSE WAS CHARRED AND THE PASSENGER SEAT HAD A BURN WHOLE ABOUT THE SIZE OF A QUARTER. THE FIRE WAS DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE SEAT WARMER. THE SEAT WARMER HAS A RANGE OF 1-5 WITH 1 BEING THE LOWEST. THE WARMER WAS ON 3. I HAD BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES WHEN IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY WITH THE COMPLAINT OF THE SEAT WARMERS OVERHEATING. I HAD FELT A BURNING ON THE DRIVERS SIDE AND WAS CONVINCED THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE SEAT WARMER. ADDITIONALLY MY WIFE HAD MENTIONED THAT SHE FELT SIMILAR OVERHEATING ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. EACH TIME I BROUGHT IT IN TO CHRYSLER, I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. I HAD ASKED THEM TO SEARCH FOR RECALLS AS WELL AS TSB'S. I WAS TOLD THERE WERE NONE. THERE WAS IN FACT A TSB ISSUED FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM BEFORE I HAD BROUGHT MY CAR IN TO BE EXAMINED. IT SEEMS THAT THIS WAS EITHER IGNORED OR OVERLOOKED ON AT LEAST 2 OCCASIONS. WE KEPT THE CONTROL AT 3 OR BELOW AND THIS SEEMED TO HELP FOR A BIT, HOWEVER IT STILL GOT TOO HOT ON MANY OCCASIONS AND WE HAD TO TURN THEM OFF. I HAVE DISCOVERED RECENTLY THAT THE CHRYSLER JEEP FOR 2004 WAS RECALLED FOR EXACTLY THE PROBLEM THAT I HAD. NOW THE MERCEDES (DAMLIERCHRYSLER) IS UNDER INVESTIGATION FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AS WELL. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 7/2/2008 HOPING THAT THEY WOULD HELP RESOLVE THIS. I WAS TOLD THAT A MANAGER WAS PUTTING A CALL INTO CHRYSLER TO SEE WHAT COULD BE DONE. I CALLED LATTER IN THE DAY FOR STATUS AND WAS TOLD THAT THE MANAGER WAS AT THE DENTIST. WHEN I PICKED UP THE CAR, I WAS TOLD THAT HE NEVER RETURNED FORM THE DENTIST. I AM NOW (7/9/08) BEING TOLD THAT THE CHRYSLER FACTORY REP IS ON VACATION AND WILL NOT BE BACK UNTIL 7/14/08.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

6/20/2008 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE AIRBAG LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF AT RANDOM. CHRYSLER HAS REPLACED THE SEATBELT TENSIONER ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TO FIX THE PROBLEM. IT IS NOW RECURRING AND THE LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER WANTS TO REPLACE BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEATBELT TENSIONERS TO TURN OFF THE LIGHT. I BELIEVE, FROM ONLINE QUERIES, THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS PARTICULAR CAR MODEL SERIES. THE CONDITION IS CLEARLY UNSAFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/28/2008 - HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SLOW DOWN WHEN HE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CURB. THIS CAUSED THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AND THE DRIVER SIDE REAR TIRE TO GO FLAT. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE MECHANIC AND AS OF APRIL 28, 2008, THE MECHANIC HAD NOT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 92,000.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

4/14/2008 - WARWICK, RI
2004 SEBRING CONVERTIBLE TOURING EDITION WITH 25,700 MILES. LEATHER INTERIOR WITH HEATED SEATS. WHILE SITTING IN THE PARKING LOT OF MY SON'S SCHOOL, MY SON FELT SOMETHING HOT ON HIS BACK. THE HEATED SEATS WERE ON 1, THE HEATING ELEMENT BURNT THROUGH THE CUSHION AND LEATHER SEAT BACK AND ALSO BURNT A HOLE INTO HIS COAT. THE CUSHION OR THE POLYESTER FILL IN HIS COAT WAS IN A BLACK MOLTEN FORM AND BURNT THE TIP OF HIS FINGER AND HE JUMPED OUT OF THE CAR. THE HOLE IN THE SEAT WAS THE SIZE OF A QUARTER AND NEEDED TO BE EXTINGUISHED WITH A WATER BOTTLE TO STOP IT FROM BURNING,THE SEAT WAS ON FIRE! CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP WOULDN'T COVER REPAIRS, NOT A WARRANTY PROBLEM. SEPARATE WARRANTY THAT WAS PURCHASED DIDN'T WANT TO COVER DAMAGES, UPHOLSTERY IS NOT COVERED, BUT I ARGUED THIS IS NOT NORMAL WEAR, SEATS DON'T CATCH ON FIRE. THE FINAL OUTCOME, WARRANTY COMPANY SENT A USED SEAT TO MY HOME. CAR DEALERSHIP CHARGED 65.00 TO CALL WARRANTY COMPANY WITH A LIST OF PARTS TOTALING $ 3,200.00 FOR SEAT BACK. WHEN AN AGREEMENT BETWEEN WARRANTY COMPANY AND MYSELF TO INSTALL A USED SEAT, DEALER WANTED AN ADDITIONAL $ 85.00 TO INSTALL SEAT. THUS THE REASON THE SEAT WAS SENT TO MY HOUSE. HAD THIS OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AN ACCIDENT WOULD'VE BEEN CERTAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

4/4/2008 - WESTERVILLE, OH
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING REAR WINDOW BROKE. CONSUMER STATES THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ON AND THE REAR WINDOW BROKE INTO PIECES WITHOUT WARNING. THE REAR WINDOW ALSO BROKE WHEN PUTTING THE CONVERTIBLE TOP DOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/17/2008 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
BRAKES AND AIR BAGS THE BRAKES WOULD NOT CATCH UPON TRYING TO STOP AND CAUSED A REAR END COLLISION. ALSO THE AIR BAGS CAME OUT UPON CRASH AT MAYBE 20 MILES PER HOUR AND CAUSED A BROKEN ARM AND A LACERATION UNDER THE CHIN AND HAD TO BE STITCHED AND PERSON IS HOSPITALIZED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

2/10/2008 - LOUISVILLE , KY
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE 2.7 LITER ENGINE FAILURE. THIS ENGINE SEIZED WHILE I WAS DRIVING LUCKILY IT I WAS ONLY GOING 35 MPH AND I HAD TIME TO PULL THE VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD AN AIR BAG LIGHT ON SINCE I BOUGHT IT AND NO DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN ABLE TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM THERE HAS BEEN NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THE CAR THROUGHOUT THE THREE YEARS I HAVE OWNED IT. I AM A SINGLE PARENT WHO IS WITHOUT A CAR FOR OVER TWO MONTHS NOW BUT PAYING $350.00 A MONTH ON IT. I HAVE MAINTAINED THIS CAR ON A REGULAR BASIS AND CHRYSLER HAS DENIED THE CLAIM EVEN THOUGH EVERY MECHANIC I HAVE TALKED TO SAYS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE. I HAVE TO INVEST ALMOST $5,000.00 IN A CAR THIS MONTH THAT BLUE BOOKS AT MAYBE $8,000.00. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER AGAIN AND WANT ANYONE THAT IS CONSIDERING ONE OF THEIR PRODUCTS TO RECONSIDER. THIS ISSUE CAN CRUSH YOU FINANCIALLY I HAD TO DECIDE WEATHER TO LET THEM REPO THE CAR AND DEVASTATE ME FINANCIALLY OR TO JUST SAVE ALL OF MY EXTRA MONEY TO MAKE THE REPAIR. IT HAS BEEN THE MOST FINANCIALLY DEVASTATING EVENT IN MY LIFE. I SERVICED THIS CAR REGULARLY THROUGH INDIVIDUALS AND SOMETIMES JIFFYLUBE BUT IT STILL WAS MAINTAINED. REGARDLESS THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT AND ANY VEHICLE THAT IS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD AND HAS 80,000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT HAVE A BLOWN ENGINE. I TRUSTED THIS CAR WOULD AT LEAST LAST ME THROUGH MY LOAN. THIS IS IRRESPONSIBLE ON CHRYSLERS PART FOR NOT TAKING SOME RESPONSIBILITY FOR THESE CARS HOW COULD THEY ABUSE THE PUBLIC IN THIS WAY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds