Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (8) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (10) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/10/2008 - LOUISVILLE , KY
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE 2.7 LITER ENGINE FAILURE. THIS ENGINE SEIZED WHILE I WAS DRIVING LUCKILY IT I WAS ONLY GOING 35 MPH AND I HAD TIME TO PULL THE VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD AN AIR BAG LIGHT ON SINCE I BOUGHT IT AND NO DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN ABLE TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM THERE HAS BEEN NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THE CAR THROUGHOUT THE THREE YEARS I HAVE OWNED IT. I AM A SINGLE PARENT WHO IS WITHOUT A CAR FOR OVER TWO MONTHS NOW BUT PAYING $350.00 A MONTH ON IT. I HAVE MAINTAINED THIS CAR ON A REGULAR BASIS AND CHRYSLER HAS DENIED THE CLAIM EVEN THOUGH EVERY MECHANIC I HAVE TALKED TO SAYS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE. I HAVE TO INVEST ALMOST $5,000.00 IN A CAR THIS MONTH THAT BLUE BOOKS AT MAYBE $8,000.00. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER AGAIN AND WANT ANYONE THAT IS CONSIDERING ONE OF THEIR PRODUCTS TO RECONSIDER. THIS ISSUE CAN CRUSH YOU FINANCIALLY I HAD TO DECIDE WEATHER TO LET THEM REPO THE CAR AND DEVASTATE ME FINANCIALLY OR TO JUST SAVE ALL OF MY EXTRA MONEY TO MAKE THE REPAIR. IT HAS BEEN THE MOST FINANCIALLY DEVASTATING EVENT IN MY LIFE. I SERVICED THIS CAR REGULARLY THROUGH INDIVIDUALS AND SOMETIMES JIFFYLUBE BUT IT STILL WAS MAINTAINED. REGARDLESS THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT AND ANY VEHICLE THAT IS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD AND HAS 80,000 MILES ON IT SHOULD NOT HAVE A BLOWN ENGINE. I TRUSTED THIS CAR WOULD AT LEAST LAST ME THROUGH MY LOAN. THIS IS IRRESPONSIBLE ON CHRYSLERS PART FOR NOT TAKING SOME RESPONSIBILITY FOR THESE CARS HOW COULD THEY ABUSE THE PUBLIC IN THIS WAY.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

2/5/2008 - WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. ONE YEAR AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED, THE HORN FAILED. THE HORN HAS BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER SIX TIMES; THE MOST RECENT REPAIR WAS IN FEBRUARY OF 2008. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED TWO DAYS LATER. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER STATED THAT NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WERE TWO CONTACTS BEHIND THE AIR BAG THAT BECAME LOOSE OR WORN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 61,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

10/18/2007 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE FRONT ROTORS ARE SO THIN WHEN INSTALLED ON NEW CAR THAT WHEN YOU NEED TO REPLACE THE PADS, THE ROTORS ARE TOO THIN TO TURN SO THEY MUST BE REPLACED ALSO. THIS TURNS A $99.00 REPAIR INTO A $350.00 ONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

9/13/2007 - FAIR OAKS, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. ON 09/01/2007, WHILE DRIVING 35MPH THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR END OF A VEHICLE. THE ANTILOCK BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE FRONT PASSENGER BRUISED HER KNEES ON THE DASHBOARD, SEVERELY BRUISED ACROSS HER ABDOMEN CHEST. THE PASSENGER ALSO HAD AN INJURY TO HER NECK AND WAS UNABLE TO WORK FOR TWO DAYS. PICTURES ARE AVAILABLE. A POLICE REPORT IS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MECHANIC HAS NOT DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE. THE WEATHER WAS NOT A FACTOR. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 30,000. THE PURCHASE DATE OF THE VEHICLE WAS 3/5/2006.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/13/2007 - FAIR OAKS, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. ON 09/01/2007, WHILE DRIVING 35MPH THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR END OF A VEHICLE. THE ANTILOCK BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE FRONT PASSENGER BRUISED HER KNEES ON THE DASHBOARD, SEVERELY BRUISED ACROSS HER ABDOMEN CHEST. THE PASSENGER ALSO HAD AN INJURY TO HER NECK AND WAS UNABLE TO WORK FOR TWO DAYS. PICTURES ARE AVAILABLE. A POLICE REPORT IS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MECHANIC HAS NOT DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE. THE WEATHER WAS NOT A FACTOR. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 30,000. THE PURCHASE DATE OF THE VEHICLE WAS 3/5/2006.

View Details

AIR BAGS: ON-OFF SWITCH ASSEMBLY

7/23/2007 - ST LOUIS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT BLINKS ON AND OFF. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY ADVISED HIM TO DRIVE IT AND SHUT THE ENGINE OFF APPROXIMATELY THIRTY TIMES TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT OBEYED AND THE FAILURE STOPPED FOR APPROXIMATELY FOUR MONTHS BEFORE IT RECURRED. THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE AND NO RECALLS WERE FOUND FOR THE AIR BAG. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 32,000. UPDATED 09/05/07

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2007 - JUPITER, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT WAS BURNED ON THE SEAT ITSELF AND ON THE REAR OF THE SEAT. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED FOR NINE HOURS IN SUNLIGHT, HOWEVER, THE WINDOWS WERE TINTED. THE HEAT FUNCTION HAD NOT BEEN USED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 83,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

5/7/2007 - SABETHA, KS
I PURCHASED A USED CHRYSLER, 2004, SEBRING GTC CONVERTIBLE JUST THIS WEEKEND. ON THE WAY HOME , I LIVE SOME DISTANCE FROM THE DEALER, I NOTICED THAT THE BLOWER MOTOR ONLY OPERATED IN HIGH SPEED. UPON RETURNING HOME THE FIRST THING I DID WAS LOG ON TO THE INTERNET, AND DISCOVERED THAT MANY OWNERS HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH ALL MAKES OF SEBRING FROM 2001 TO 2006. I READ THE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB )FOR THE PROBLEM, AND CONTACTED CHRYSLER CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY ADMITTED THERE WAS A PROBLEM, BUT WON'T DISCUSS THE MATTER THAT IT WAS DEFECTIVE, NOR WAS IT COVERED. IN FACT, I WAS INFORMED THAT EVEN IF THE CAR WAS BRAND NEW THAT CHRYSLER HAS NOT OFFERED TO REIMBURSE COSTS OR TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM FOR THE OWNER. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE RAISED HIS VOICE AND CHALLENGED ME, WHEN I CALMLY INFORMED HIM I WOULD BE IN TOUCH WITH COMPANY OFFICIALS AND WITH MY STATE'S ATTORNEY GENERAL, SO THAT SINCE THERE WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THIS SYSTEM, BUT NO RECALL. HE COULD ENFORCE THE LEMON LAW ON THIS MAKE AND MODEL FOR FUTURE AUTOMOBILE CONSUMERS. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE WAS RUDE, AND VERY IMPOLITE---ALMOST THREATENING. ALSO, DESPITE MY DOCUMENTATION, INCLUDING A RECEIPT FOR PAYMENT AND CONTRACT, CHRYSLER DENIED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/3/2007 - SILVER SPRING, MD
AT 30,987 MILES, MY 2004 CHRYSLER CONVERTIBLE 2.7L V6 ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE I WAS DRIVING IN THE HIGH SPEED LANE OF INTERSTATE RT 95 IN PHILADELPHIA, PA. I HAD JUST LEFT PHILA. CITY AND WAS DRIVING ONLY 5-10 MINS WHEN THIS HAPPENED. THERE WAS NO WARNING, NO ENGINE LIGHT OR OIL LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR JUST DIED. LUCKILY TRAFFIC WAS VERY LIGHT AND I COULD COAST SAFELY OVER TO THE BREAKDOWN LANE. ENDED UP AFTER TOWING TO LOCAL SHOP OF PEPBOYS AND THEN AGAIN TO A 5-STAR CHRYSLER DEALER, THE ENGINE WAS DIAGNOSED AS FREEZING UP DUE TO SLUDGE IN OIL. HAD TO REPLACE WHOLE ENGINE AT COST OF $4,855 ON A VIRTUALLY BRAND NEW CAR. WARRANTY COVERAGE DENIED SINCE I COULD NOT PROVIDE PROOF OF OIL CHANGES THROUGH RECEIPTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds