Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2018 - LOGANSPORT, IN
SHIFTER WILL MOVE WITHOUT KEY IN IGNITION. WILL ROLE IN ANY DIRECTION IN ANY POSITION BUT PARK. CAN REMOVE KEY FROM IGNITION WHILE RUNNING. WHILE IT'S STILL RUNNING WITH KEY OUT CAN SHIFT AND DRIVE. OTHER TIMES WHEN I GO TO START ENGINE THE KEY WON'T TURN. I HAVE TO HIT THE END OF THE KEY WITH THE PALM OF ONE HAND WHILE THE OTHER TURNS IT. REPLACED THE BALL JOINTS THE FIRST OF THIS YEAR AND VEHICLE ONLY HAD 87000 MILES AT THE TIME. CHANGED BRAKES AND HAD TO HAVE ROTOR TURNED. DRIVER SIDE BRAKE CALIPER PLUNGER HAD MULTIPLE PIECES BREAK OFF GETTING STUCK BETWEEN BREAK PAD AND REMAINING PIECES OF PLUNGER CASTING THE VEHICLE TO PULL LEFT WHILE DRIVING. WHEN APPLYING THE BREAK IT PULL SO HARD IT CAUSED ME TO START GOING INTO ANOTHER LANE BARELY MISSING THE SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY

6/6/2018 - MIRARMER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW BECAME DISLODGED FROM THE VEHICLE, FELL TO THE GROUND, AND SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED. THE REGULATOR WAS REPLACED AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE LOCAL DEALER (ROB LAMBDIN+S UNIVERSITY DODGE RAM IN DAVIE, FL) AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE BOTH NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT OVER THE YEARS, THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW, THREE TIMES ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW, THREE TIMES ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW, AND THREE TIMES ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2018 - UNIONVILLE, NY
THE STEERING IS VERY HARD TO TURN EITHER LEFT OR RIGHT AT MOST TIMES. FEELS AS IF THE POWER STEERING HAS FAILED, BUT HAD IT INSPECTED BY MECHANIC AND SAYS POWER STEERING PUMP AND BELTS ARE FINE. THIS DIFFICULTY IN STEERING IS ALSO ACCOMPANIED BY A GRINDING TYPE OF NOISE IN THE STEERING COLUMN BEHIND THE STEEING WHEEL. IT HAS BECOME MORE THAN JUST AN OCCASIONAL ANNOYANCE BUT RATHER A MORE PERMANENT SAFETY ISSUE SINCE MY WIFE IS NO LONGER ABLE TO USE THE TRUCK BECAUSE OF THE DIFFICULTY WITH THE STEERING. PLEASE ADVISE ON WHAT MAY BE THE CAUSE AND IF THE MANUFACTURER IS AWARE OF SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH OTHER DAKOTA PICK UPS AND IF THEY HAVE ISSUED A RECALL IN THE PAST TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM. I AM HOPING TO HAVE THIS RESOLVED QUICKLY SINCE I FEAR IT MAY ONLY LEAD TO SOME TRAGIC OR CATASTROPHIC RESULT. THANK YOU

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/18/2017 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHEN THE HEATER WAS ACTIVATED, THERE WAS NO AIR FLOW DISTRIBUTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL DEALER AT HIS OWN EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,448.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2017 - SUTHELRIN, OR
THE DRIVER HEADLIGHT QUIT WORKING. I WENT TO THE STORE TO REPLACE IT THINKING IT HAD BURNT OUT. WHEN I REPLACED THE LIGHT IT DID NOT WORK STILL AND THE OLD HEADLIGHT STILL HAD BOTH FILAMENTS PROVING IT WAS STILL GOOD. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER BOTH HEADLIGHTS QUIT WORKING ON ME WHEN I WAS OUT AT NIGHT DRIVING LESS THAN A 10TH OF A MILE FROM HOME. I MANAGED TO NOT GET IN AN ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE CTM AND HEAD LIGHT SWITCH WERE BAD HOWEVER THE CTM WAS A "OBSOLETE" PART AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET ME ONE. AFTER THEY RELEASED MY TRUCK BACK TO ME TO DRIVE AS I PLEASE, I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE AN OLDER CTM FROM A 2003 4X4 AUTOMATIC DAKOTA 4.7L. NOW MY LIGHTS WORK AND I HAVE A "GUARANTEE" FROM THE EBAY SELLER THAT IT WILL WORK FOR 6 MONTHS. I HAVE A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND I CAN NOT TRUST MY HEADLIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT AT ANY TIME SO I CAN NOT DRIVE IT AT NIGHT IN GOOD CONFIDENCE OR MORAL CONSCIENCE. THE DEALERSHIP LILITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON HAS RECORD OF MY TRUCK BEING IN THEIR POSSESSION FOR MULTIPLE DAYS BEFORE RELEASING IT BACK INTO MY POSSESSION WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING BUT A DIAGNOSTICS TEST.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/8/2017 - SUTHELRIN, OR
THE DRIVER HEADLIGHT QUIT WORKING. I WENT TO THE STORE TO REPLACE IT THINKING IT HAD BURNT OUT. WHEN I REPLACED THE LIGHT IT DID NOT WORK STILL AND THE OLD HEADLIGHT STILL HAD BOTH FILAMENTS PROVING IT WAS STILL GOOD. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER BOTH HEADLIGHTS QUIT WORKING ON ME WHEN I WAS OUT AT NIGHT DRIVING LESS THAN A 10TH OF A MILE FROM HOME. I MANAGED TO NOT GET IN AN ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE CTM AND HEAD LIGHT SWITCH WERE BAD HOWEVER THE CTM WAS A "OBSOLETE" PART AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET ME ONE. AFTER THEY RELEASED MY TRUCK BACK TO ME TO DRIVE AS I PLEASE, I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE AN OLDER CTM FROM A 2003 4X4 AUTOMATIC DAKOTA 4.7L. NOW MY LIGHTS WORK AND I HAVE A "GUARANTEE" FROM THE EBAY SELLER THAT IT WILL WORK FOR 6 MONTHS. I HAVE A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND I CAN NOT TRUST MY HEADLIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT AT ANY TIME SO I CAN NOT DRIVE IT AT NIGHT IN GOOD CONFIDENCE OR MORAL CONSCIENCE. THE DEALERSHIP LILITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON HAS RECORD OF MY TRUCK BEING IN THEIR POSSESSION FOR MULTIPLE DAYS BEFORE RELEASING IT BACK INTO MY POSSESSION WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING BUT A DIAGNOSTICS TEST.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/8/2017 - SUTHELRIN, OR
THE DRIVER HEADLIGHT QUIT WORKING. I WENT TO THE STORE TO REPLACE IT THINKING IT HAD BURNT OUT. WHEN I REPLACED THE LIGHT IT DID NOT WORK STILL AND THE OLD HEADLIGHT STILL HAD BOTH FILAMENTS PROVING IT WAS STILL GOOD. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER BOTH HEADLIGHTS QUIT WORKING ON ME WHEN I WAS OUT AT NIGHT DRIVING LESS THAN A 10TH OF A MILE FROM HOME. I MANAGED TO NOT GET IN AN ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE CTM AND HEAD LIGHT SWITCH WERE BAD HOWEVER THE CTM WAS A "OBSOLETE" PART AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET ME ONE. AFTER THEY RELEASED MY TRUCK BACK TO ME TO DRIVE AS I PLEASE, I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE AN OLDER CTM FROM A 2003 4X4 AUTOMATIC DAKOTA 4.7L. NOW MY LIGHTS WORK AND I HAVE A "GUARANTEE" FROM THE EBAY SELLER THAT IT WILL WORK FOR 6 MONTHS. I HAVE A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND I CAN NOT TRUST MY HEADLIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT AT ANY TIME SO I CAN NOT DRIVE IT AT NIGHT IN GOOD CONFIDENCE OR MORAL CONSCIENCE. THE DEALERSHIP LILITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON HAS RECORD OF MY TRUCK BEING IN THEIR POSSESSION FOR MULTIPLE DAYS BEFORE RELEASING IT BACK INTO MY POSSESSION WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING BUT A DIAGNOSTICS TEST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/28/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
THE HEATER BLOWER RESISTOR KEEPS BURNING UP. I HAVE REPLACED THE RESISTOR VARIOUS TIMES AND IT KEEPS BURNING UP. I REPLACED THE BLOWER MOTOR AND THE RESISTOR KEEPS BURNING UP. I HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED FOR AN ELECTRICAL SHORT CIRCUIT AND IT HAS NONE. THE WIRING TO THE RESISTOR ALSO BURNS UP. I CHECKED THE INTERNET AND THERE ARE NUMEROUS REPORTS AND COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MANY OWNERS OF THE SAME TYPE OF VEHICLE. IN ONE OF THE CASES THE RESISTOR CAUSE A FIRE INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE BURNED DOWN. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING ON THESE VEHICLES FOR A LONG TIME AND IT HADN'T BEEN REPORTED TO THE MANUFACTURER. I AM AFRAID THAT SOMEDAY THE VEHICLE WILL CATCH ON FIRE BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. I KEEP ON REPLACING THE RESISTOR AND THE HARNESS EVERY TIME IT BURNS AND I'VE ALSO REPLACED THE BLOWER MOTOR. I CAN'T SEEM TO GET ANSWER FROM ANYONE FROM DODGE OR CHRYSLER ON THIS PROBLEM. AT THE TIME THAT THE RESISTOR BURNED DOWN THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING ON THE CITY STREETS AT 30 MPH. IT HAS HAPPENED VARIOUS TIMES ON THE SAME RUNNING SENARIO.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2017 - WAYNESVILLE, NC
DRIVING ON A RAINY NIGHT AND HEADLIGHTS AND WIPERS QUIT WORKING ALL AT ONCE. CENTRAL TIMER MODULE FAILED AND SHUT THE LIGHTS AND WIPERS OFF AS WELL AS INTERIOR LIGHTS AND DOOR LOCKS. ALMOST DIDN'T GET VEHICLE STOPPED WITHOUT WRECKING. LEFT VEHICLE AND CAME BACK DURING DAYLIGHT AND DROVE TO REPAIR SHOP. WHERE LOCATED THE ISSUE WAS A FAILED CENTRAL TIMER MODULE. CONTACTED DODGE AND SAID ITS OUT OF WARRANTY? ITS NOT ABOUT WARRANTY OR NOT IT COULD HAVE THE POTENTIAL FOR A FATALITY. STILL HAVE THE OLD CTM IF ANYONE IS INTERESTED IN LOOKING INTO THE MATTER. WHY WOULD HEADLIGHTS BE RAN THROUGH A MODULE LIKE THIS JUST ASKING FOR TROUBLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/10/2016 - GERMANTOWN, NY
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON TOOK IT TO DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS CLOCK SPRING WENT BAD ,I HAD IT REPLACED WITH NEW ONE . I HAD TO BRAKE FAST TO AVOID HITTING AND AIR BAG CAME ON AGAIN. THESE THINGS COST 100.00 WHAT IS UP WITH THAT?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds