Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT

8/11/2008 - SUTHERLIN, OR
WHILE HAVING MY TIRES ROTATED AT SEARS, THE TECH INFORMED ME THAT THE BALL JOINTS ON MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA WERE VERY BADLY WORN, BOTH UPPER AND LOWER. THE VEHICLE HAS ONLY 54,000 MILES AND IS DRIVEN ALMOST EXCLUSIVELY ON PAVEMENT. I CONTACTED THE DEALER, LITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON, I SPOKE WITH SERVICE MANAGER PHIL TYLER AND LOT MANAGER WAYNE KNOWLES, AND DODGE CORPORATE, BUT BOTH REFUSED TO DISCUSS THE ISSUE FURTHER.

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2008 - HARTFORD CITY, IN
STEERING WHEEL WOULD STIFFEN AS IF THERE WERE NO POWER STEERING ABILITY. WHEN HE TURNS THE STEERING WHEEL, IT DOES NOT TURN BACK UNLESS HE DOES IT MANUALLY. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IT COULD LEAD TO THE STEERING WHEEL DISCONNECTING FROM THE RACK UNIT. I BELIEVE THAT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE IS THE LOWER STEERING INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. IF I SPRAY THE U JOINTS OF THE STEERING SHAFT WITH WD 40 OR PB BLASTER IT STEERS GREAT, BUT WEARS OFF WHEN YOU LEAST EXPECT IT!! NOW TRUCK HAS 57,000 MILES. HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM SINCE I HAVE HAD IT.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2008 - HARRISBURG, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD STIFFEN AS IF THERE WERE NO POWER STEERING ABILITY. WHEN HE TURNS THE STEERING WHEEL, IT DOES NOT TURN BACK UNLESS HE DOES IT MANUALLY. THE FAILURE BEGAN APPROXIMATELY ONE WEEK AGO. THE CONTACT FEELS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IT COULD LEAD TO THE STEERING WHEEL DISCONNECTING FROM THE RACK UNIT. HE BELIEVES THAT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE IS THE LOWER STEERING INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 43,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/8/2008 - FONTANA, CA
CAN HEAR A POPPING NOISE FROM RIGHT FRONT END WHEN GOING INTO DRIVEWAYS OR MAKING RIGHT TURNS. ON 6/4/08 TOOK VEHICLE INTO DEALER AND THEY STATED THE UPPER CONTROL ARMS WERE WORN OUT AS WELL AS THE SHOCKS. 1500$ LATER THEY REPLACED THE UPPER CONTROL ARMS, SHOCKS, AND A FULL ALIGNMENT. ALL OF THIS AT ONLY 37K MILES! AS SOON AS I GOT THE VEHICLE HOME THE NOISE IS STILL THERE ALBEIT LESS NOTICEABLE. TOOK VEHICLE BACK TO SAME DEALER ON 6/6/08 AND NOISE COULD NOT BE HEARD AND DEALERS MECHANIC STATED IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE AND TO BRING IT BACK IF THE NOISE IS REPRODUCIBLE. BE READING OTHER COMPLAINTS AND SUSPECT THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ARE BAD OR GOING BUT DEALER SAID THEY WERE OK. SOMETHING IS WRONG WHEN SO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THEIR FRONT ENDS GO OUT AT SUCH LOW MILES. PLEASE CONTACT ME SO WE CAN GET THIS FIXED THROUGH A RECALL. DEALER SAID HE KEPT THE BROKEN PARTS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/8/2008 - FONTANA, CA
CAN HEAR A POPPING NOISE FROM RIGHT FRONT END WHEN GOING INTO DRIVEWAYS OR MAKING RIGHT TURNS. ON 6/4/08 TOOK VEHICLE INTO DEALER AND THEY STATED THE UPPER CONTROL ARMS WERE WORN OUT AS WELL AS THE SHOCKS. 1500$ LATER THEY REPLACED THE UPPER CONTROL ARMS, SHOCKS, AND A FULL ALIGNMENT. ALL OF THIS AT ONLY 37K MILES! AS SOON AS I GOT THE VEHICLE HOME THE NOISE IS STILL THERE ALBEIT LESS NOTICEABLE. TOOK VEHICLE BACK TO SAME DEALER ON 6/6/08 AND NOISE COULD NOT BE HEARD AND DEALERS MECHANIC STATED IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE AND TO BRING IT BACK IF THE NOISE IS REPRODUCIBLE. BE READING OTHER COMPLAINTS AND SUSPECT THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ARE BAD OR GOING BUT DEALER SAID THEY WERE OK. SOMETHING IS WRONG WHEN SO MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THEIR FRONT ENDS GO OUT AT SUCH LOW MILES. PLEASE CONTACT ME SO WE CAN GET THIS FIXED THROUGH A RECALL. DEALER SAID HE KEPT THE BROKEN PARTS.

View Details

STEERING

6/4/2008 - SAULT STE. MARIE, 00
IN REFERENCE TO ODI COMPLAINT 10224785... I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE ON MY VEHICLE TWICE. IT IS THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL, THAT BEING 04' DAKOTA. I BELIEVE THE ISSUE IS KNOWN TO DODGE AS THEY HAVE A VERY SMALL NOTATION IN THE OWNER'S MANUAL IN REFERENCE TO THE STEERING SHAFT. AT PRESENT THIS FAILURE SEEMS TO OCCUR EVERY 2ND SPRING (AFTER SPRING THAW AND WET ROADS), AND IN MY OPINION IT'S DUE TO A LACK OF GREASE FITTINGS ON THE STEERING LINKAGE. AFTERMARKET REPLACEMENT PARTS HAVE THESE "GREASE TIPS", HOWEVER THE STANDARD DODGE SUPPLIED PARTS DO NOT. IT IS AN EXTREME SAFETY ISSUE AS IT OCCURS WITHOUT WARNING AND SIMULATES THE FEELING OF COMPLETE POWER STEERING LOSS. PERSONALLY IT ALMOST RESULTED IN 2 ACCIDENTS, HOWEVER I WAS ABLE TO CORRECT MY VEHICLE BEFORE ANY ONCOMING TRAFFIC BECAME INVOLVED. AS I AM CANADIAN I HAVE FILED A REPORT WITH TRANSPORT CANADA, HOWEVER FELT IT IMPORTANT TO REPORT TO ODI AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

5/15/2008 - WESTFIELD CITY, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND DOES NOT ALLOW THE CONTACT TO TURN THE VEHICLE IN ANY DIRECTION. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE OCCURS EVERYTIME THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/17/2008 - NATICK, MA
I AM REPORTING THE PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT RESULTING IN LOSS OF STEERING. MY METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED 2004 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB EXHIBITED INTERMITTENT BINDING OF THE STEERING MAKING THE VEHICLE EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED MY SUSPENSION THAT IT WAS THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT THAT WAS BINDING DUE TO ?RUST? AND REPLACED THE COMPONENT AT A COST TO ME OF $310.00 PARTS AND LABOR. THIS COMPONENT HAD SURFACE RUST ONLY ON A SEALED NON-GREASY FITTING AND SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED WITH A VEHICLE LESS THAN 4 YEARS OLD WITH ONLY 58,000 MILES OF USE. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER DIRECTLY TO ADDRESS THIS SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND THEY INDICATED THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

4/3/2008 - CARSON CITY, NV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR HAS BEEN RECALIBRATED ONE TIME. WHEN A PASSENGER OR OBJECT IS SEATED IN THE SEAT, THE AIR BAG LIGHT DIMS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE RECALIBRATED EACH TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED, ACCORDING TO A FEDERAL LAW. THE DEALER CHARGED $100 FOR EACH RECALIBRATION. THE POWERTRAIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 27,129. UPDATED 06/09/2008.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2008 - CARSON CITY, NV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR HAS BEEN RECALIBRATED ONE TIME. WHEN A PASSENGER OR OBJECT IS SEATED IN THE SEAT, THE AIR BAG LIGHT DIMS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE RECALIBRATED EACH TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED, ACCORDING TO A FEDERAL LAW. THE DEALER CHARGED $100 FOR EACH RECALIBRATION. THE POWERTRAIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 27,129. UPDATED 06/09/2008.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds