Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/27/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON AND OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2015 - HUNTSVILLE, AL
ISSUE WITH THE STEERING, APPEARED TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE PUMP. OCCURRED AT ABOUT 50K MILES, 6 YRS. WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING WOULD GET HARD LIKE THE PUMP HAD FAILED, AND THEN WITHOUT WARNING, WOULD RETURN TO THE POWER ASSIST AND OVER STEER DUE TO THE PRESSURE I WAS ALREADY EXERTING. THIS TOOK PLACE AT ALL SPEEDS AND UNDER CITY AND HIGHWAY CONDITIONS. VERY DISCONCERTING. AFTER ABOUT A WEEK OF THIS I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THEY DETERMINED IT WAS A FAILING FLUID CONTROL VALVE IN THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND REPLACED IT. IT WAS COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY I HAD PURCHASED BUT WOULD HAVE COST OVER $1500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/6/2015 - WEIRTO, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING DUE TO COST. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE CONTACT UNPLUGGED THE SERVO MOTOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 159,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2015 - DANVILLE, IL
SMELL OF BURNT WIRE/PLASTIC. BLOWER CONTROL SWITCH WOULD NOT WORK (BLOWER MOTOR WOULD NOT RUN). BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR AND PIGTAIL CONNECTION WERE MELTED AND FUSED TOGETHER. THIS WAS IN 2010, IT IS NOW 2015 AND I JUST HAD THE SEVENTH RESISTOR PUT IN WITH THE FIFTH PIGTAIL. THE TIME BEFORE THIS LAST NIGHTMARE, I ALSO HAD THE BLOWER MOTOR REPLACED IN CASE IT WAS THE CAUSE OF THE RESISTOR AND PIGTAIL CONNECTION ISSUES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/10/2015 - HOFFMAN , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE ACCELERATING AT A LOW SPEED, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, WHILE A STOP, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE INCREASED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MULTIPLE INDEPENDENT MECHANICS, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT, UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS, STRUTS, CONTROL ARMS, IDLE ARMS, CONTROL ARM BUSHINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/3/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I BOUGHT MY DODGE DAKOTA BRAND NEW FROM A DEALER. I STARTED TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH IT ALMOST IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE. I'LL BRIEFLY LIST THESE FAILURES. WHILE DRIVING IN VERY COLD WEATHER (WINTER). I WAS DRIVING WITH THE HEATER ON, A LARGE VOLUME OF ENGINE COOLANT CAME POURING OUT OF THE DASHBOARD HEATER VENTS. THIS WAS REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. WITHIN THAT SAME YEAR THE FUEL GAUGE AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHENEVER THE GAS TANK BECAME HALF EMPTY. AT THIS POINT THE FUEL GAUGE WOULD DROP TO ZERO FUEL, CORRECTS WHEN GAS CAP IS TIGHTENED OR FUEL IS ADDED. PLASTIC PIECE BROKE OFF IN TRANSMISSION AT ~ 52,000 MILES, I HAD IT REPLACED AND NOW HAVE A CRACK IN EXHAUST MANIFOLD WHICH CAUSED THERMOSTAT FAILURE, WATER PUMP FAILURE AND LEAKING OF ALL OF THE ENGINE COOLANT. UNABLE TO WELD THE MANIFOLD AND MECHANIC HAD TO INSTALL HEAT SHIELD TO PREVENT ALL OF THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. NOW WHEN I START THE VEHICLE IS SOUNDS LIKE IT MIGHT EXPLODE! THIS HORRENDOUS NOISE SOFTENS AFTER A FEW MINUTES. I DON'T RUN THE HEATER ANYMORE AS I SMELL A VERY STRONG ODOR OF EXHAUST FUMES WHEN HEATER FAN IS ON. VEHICLE OCCASIONALLY SHUTS OFF WHEN IDLING AT ~500RPM.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2015 - VADNAIS HEIGHTS, MN
INTERMITTENT STEERING. SOMETIMES WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT, STEERING WILL NOT RETURN TO CENTER . NOW THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. SOMETIMES IT WILL HAPPEN THEN AFTER DRIVING AWHILE IT WILL CLEAR UP. BUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM. CHECKED POWER STEERING FLUID,AIR PRESSURE. LOOKED AT OTHER FORUMS FOR THIS COMMON PROBLEM. CONSENSUS IS THE STEERING RACK AND/OR THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. WENT AND HAD STEERING RACK AND LOWER SHAFT REPLACED AND IT CURED THE PROBLEM ABOUT 97 PERCENT. DODGE SHOULD HAVE A RECALL FOR SAFETY REASONS AS THIS COULD INVOLVE FATALITIES .

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2015 - VADNAIS HEIGHTS, MN
GOT IN VEHICLE AND STARTED TO DRIVE WHEN I NOTICED MAKING A TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT RETURN TO CENTER. THE STEERING WAS REAL HEAVY LIKE THE POWER STEERING WAS FAILING. CHECKED POWER STEERING FLUID-IT WAS OKAY,TIRE PRESSURE WAS OK. AS I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE STEERING GOT BETTER. SINCE THAT INCIDENT THE PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING COMES AND GOES. I WENT ON THE WEB AND FOUND OUT HOW MANY MORE 2004 DODGE DAKOTA TRUCK OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. THE STEERING PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE IN THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT AND/OR THE STEERING RACK. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS SAFETY PROBLEM OR A CLASS ACTION. ALSO THE 2004 DAKOTA BALL JOINTS WENT OUT AT 60000 MILES AT MY EXPENSE. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR 2003 DAKOTA BALL JOINTS BEING BAD BUT NOT 2004. I HAD BOUGHT A 1993 DAKOTA BRAND NEW AND BOUGHT THE 2004 DAKOTA BRAND NEW BUT I MIGHT HAVE TO RECONSIDER GOING TO ANOTHER MAKE IF THE STEERING DOES NOT GET REMEDIED BY DODGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

10/6/2014 - CORONA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW OPENED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE GLASS BECAME STUCK IN THE DOWN POSITION. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE REGULATOR FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED TWICE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,803.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds