Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/3/2014 - BRATTLEBORO, VT
PAINT PEELING, RUST ON REAR FENDERS AND OTHER SPOTS.

View Details

STEERING

6/1/2014 - LAKE LUZERNE, NY
STEERING WAS LOOSE AT FIRST BUT BECAME VERY HARD TO TURN AT ANY SPEED.CHANGED THE RACK,WITH SAME PROBLEM. I THAN CHANGED THE STEERING PUMP WITH LITTLE TO NO SUCCESS.

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2014 - STEELTON, PA
NOTICED A PROBLEM WITH THE POWER STEERING ON MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA AT THE BEGINNING OF APRIL. THE STEERING IS STIFF AND HARD TO TURN. IT REQUIRES ASSISTANCE TO BRING THE STEERING WHEEL BACK TO CENTER. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHAT SPEED YOU ARE GOING. IT SEEMS TO GET BETTER AFTER ABOUT 30 MINUTES OF DRIVING BUT AFTER SITTING FOR A WHILE THE PROBLEM IS BACK. I BOUGHT THE TRUCK LAST YEAR AS A SECOND VEHICLE AND NOW REGRET DOING SO. I HAVE HAD THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE. 4/14/14 THEY REPLACED THE LOWER BALL JOINTS, FRONT ROTORS AND POWER STEERING PUMP. THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. 4/24/14 THEY REPLACED THE STEERING RACK. $2,300.00 LATER THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. IT IS GOING BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP 5/14/14 BUT I HAVE MY DOUBTS THE PROBLEM WILL BE FIXED AFTER READING OTHER COMPLAINTS ONLINE. I HAVE CONTACTED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS AND HAVE BEEN ASSIGNED A CASE MANAGER. I AM WAITING TO HEAR WHAT THEY HAVE TO SAY. I DO NOT WISH TO SPEND ANYMORE MONEY TRYING TO FIX A DESIGN FLAW IN THEIR STEERING COMPONENTS. THE STEERING POSES A SAFETY ISSUE AND I DO NOT FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING IT VERY FAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
THE HORN STOPPED WORKING, I TOOK IT TO A NON-DEALER MECHANIC WHO FOUND THE HORNS THEMSELVES OPERATIONAL WHEN APPLYING AN EXTERNAL RELAYED VOLTAGE TO THEM AND NO FUSES BLOWN, HE THOUGHT IT MAY BE A SHORT IN SYSTEM. HORN WOULD NOT WORK ON MANY OCCASIONS, THEN ONE DAY IT WORKED, THE NEXT DAY IT DID NOT. A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER IT WOULDN'T WORK, I HAVE A TILT STEERING WHEEL SO I MOVED IT TO AN UPRIGHT POSITION, THE HORN STARTED WORKING, I PUT THE TILT WHEEL BACK DOWN AND IT STILL WORKED. THE NEXT DAY THE HORN WOULDN'T WORK EVEN IF MOVING THE TILT STEERING UP OR DOWN. IT SEEMS AS IF THERE MAY BE AN INTERMITTENT SHORT OF SOME KIND IN THE WIRING FOR THE HORN IN THE STEERING COLUMN. IT HAS AN AIR BAG SO IT ISN'T AN EASY INVESTIGATION. I HAVEN'T TAKEN IT TO A DEALER AS CHRYSLER WAS CLOSING OUTLETS AND I HAVEN'T FOUND ONE TO USE YET.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/19/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
AT VARIOUS TIMES THE BRAKES SEEM TO LOCK UP WHEN COMING TO A STOP QUICKLY. THIS NEVER HAPPENS WHEN BRAKING NORMALLY, ONLY WHEN NEEDING TO BRAKE QUICKLY AND HARD. ALSO HAPPENS AT TIMES DURING NORMAL BRAKING, BUT THEN NEEDING TO ACCELERATE, THEN BRAKING AGAIN QUICKLY. THIS IS DANGEROUS IN WET WEATHER AS THE BRAKES LOCK MOMENTARILY AND THE TIRES HYDROPLANE, IT APPEARS TO BE THE REAR BRAKES DOING THIS, THEY RELEASE QUICKLY BUT THE MOMENTARY LOCK-UP IS DANGEROUS. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO DIDN'T FIND A CAUSE FOR THIS, BUT SAID MAYBE THE ABS WAS PERIODICAL FAILING, AS IT ONLY HAPPENS SPORADICALLY; BUT USUALLY WHEN NEEDING TO BRAKE HARD AS IN AN EMERGENCY. I'VE NEVER RECEIVED ANY RECALL ORDERS ON MY VEHICLE AND HAVE LIVED AT SAME ADDRESS SINCE PURCHASE OF VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2014 - MIDDLETOWN, MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000. RK

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2013 - GOLDEN, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE ENGINE WAS COLD, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WOULD FAIL AND THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD SEIZE. IN WARMER TEMPERATURES, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD EASILY MOVE FROM SIDE TO SIDE BUT WOULD EXHIBIT DIFFICULTIES IN RETURNING TO A STRAIGHT POSITION. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/31/2013 - BATAVIA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH OVER A RAILROAD TRACK, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DROPPED ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,480.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/12/2012 - PICO RIVERA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE STARTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK FAILED AND BEGAN TO LEAK GASOLINE FUEL. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE FUEL TANK NEEDED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/19/2012 - LEDYARD, CT
A GOOD FRIEND OF MINE HAS THE EXACT SAME TRUCK AND HIS WHOLE TIRE FELL OFF GOING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. HE THANK GOD DID NOT GET HURT OR HURT ANYONE ELSE IN THE PROSESS. HE TOLD ME THAT IN 2004 THEIR WAS A RECALL ON THE BALL JOINTS OF THIS VEHICLE. I BOUGHT MY TRUCK FROM A PRIVATE OWNER AND DO NOT HAVE A RECALL NOTICE OF MY OWN, IS THERE A WAY NOW THAT I AM THE 2ND OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE THAT I CAN STILL HAVE THIS RECALL BE TAKEN CARE OF AT A DEALERSHIP BEING THAT IT IS UNDER 10 YEARS WITHIN THE RECALL TIME LIMIT. I DON'T WANT TO HAVE WHAT HAPPENED TO MY FRIEND HAPPEN TO ME. THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds