Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY

6/6/2018 - MIRARMER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW BECAME DISLODGED FROM THE VEHICLE, FELL TO THE GROUND, AND SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED. THE REGULATOR WAS REPLACED AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE LOCAL DEALER (ROB LAMBDIN+S UNIVERSITY DODGE RAM IN DAVIE, FL) AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE BOTH NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT OVER THE YEARS, THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW, THREE TIMES ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW, THREE TIMES ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW, AND THREE TIMES ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2018 - UNIONVILLE, NY
THE STEERING IS VERY HARD TO TURN EITHER LEFT OR RIGHT AT MOST TIMES. FEELS AS IF THE POWER STEERING HAS FAILED, BUT HAD IT INSPECTED BY MECHANIC AND SAYS POWER STEERING PUMP AND BELTS ARE FINE. THIS DIFFICULTY IN STEERING IS ALSO ACCOMPANIED BY A GRINDING TYPE OF NOISE IN THE STEERING COLUMN BEHIND THE STEEING WHEEL. IT HAS BECOME MORE THAN JUST AN OCCASIONAL ANNOYANCE BUT RATHER A MORE PERMANENT SAFETY ISSUE SINCE MY WIFE IS NO LONGER ABLE TO USE THE TRUCK BECAUSE OF THE DIFFICULTY WITH THE STEERING. PLEASE ADVISE ON WHAT MAY BE THE CAUSE AND IF THE MANUFACTURER IS AWARE OF SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH OTHER DAKOTA PICK UPS AND IF THEY HAVE ISSUED A RECALL IN THE PAST TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM. I AM HOPING TO HAVE THIS RESOLVED QUICKLY SINCE I FEAR IT MAY ONLY LEAD TO SOME TRAGIC OR CATASTROPHIC RESULT. THANK YOU

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/18/2017 - STERLING HEIGHTS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHEN THE HEATER WAS ACTIVATED, THERE WAS NO AIR FLOW DISTRIBUTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL DEALER AT HIS OWN EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,448.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/8/2017 - SUTHELRIN, OR
THE DRIVER HEADLIGHT QUIT WORKING. I WENT TO THE STORE TO REPLACE IT THINKING IT HAD BURNT OUT. WHEN I REPLACED THE LIGHT IT DID NOT WORK STILL AND THE OLD HEADLIGHT STILL HAD BOTH FILAMENTS PROVING IT WAS STILL GOOD. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER BOTH HEADLIGHTS QUIT WORKING ON ME WHEN I WAS OUT AT NIGHT DRIVING LESS THAN A 10TH OF A MILE FROM HOME. I MANAGED TO NOT GET IN AN ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE CTM AND HEAD LIGHT SWITCH WERE BAD HOWEVER THE CTM WAS A "OBSOLETE" PART AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET ME ONE. AFTER THEY RELEASED MY TRUCK BACK TO ME TO DRIVE AS I PLEASE, I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE AN OLDER CTM FROM A 2003 4X4 AUTOMATIC DAKOTA 4.7L. NOW MY LIGHTS WORK AND I HAVE A "GUARANTEE" FROM THE EBAY SELLER THAT IT WILL WORK FOR 6 MONTHS. I HAVE A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND I CAN NOT TRUST MY HEADLIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT AT ANY TIME SO I CAN NOT DRIVE IT AT NIGHT IN GOOD CONFIDENCE OR MORAL CONSCIENCE. THE DEALERSHIP LILITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON HAS RECORD OF MY TRUCK BEING IN THEIR POSSESSION FOR MULTIPLE DAYS BEFORE RELEASING IT BACK INTO MY POSSESSION WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING BUT A DIAGNOSTICS TEST.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/8/2017 - SUTHELRIN, OR
THE DRIVER HEADLIGHT QUIT WORKING. I WENT TO THE STORE TO REPLACE IT THINKING IT HAD BURNT OUT. WHEN I REPLACED THE LIGHT IT DID NOT WORK STILL AND THE OLD HEADLIGHT STILL HAD BOTH FILAMENTS PROVING IT WAS STILL GOOD. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER BOTH HEADLIGHTS QUIT WORKING ON ME WHEN I WAS OUT AT NIGHT DRIVING LESS THAN A 10TH OF A MILE FROM HOME. I MANAGED TO NOT GET IN AN ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE CTM AND HEAD LIGHT SWITCH WERE BAD HOWEVER THE CTM WAS A "OBSOLETE" PART AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET ME ONE. AFTER THEY RELEASED MY TRUCK BACK TO ME TO DRIVE AS I PLEASE, I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE AN OLDER CTM FROM A 2003 4X4 AUTOMATIC DAKOTA 4.7L. NOW MY LIGHTS WORK AND I HAVE A "GUARANTEE" FROM THE EBAY SELLER THAT IT WILL WORK FOR 6 MONTHS. I HAVE A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND I CAN NOT TRUST MY HEADLIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT AT ANY TIME SO I CAN NOT DRIVE IT AT NIGHT IN GOOD CONFIDENCE OR MORAL CONSCIENCE. THE DEALERSHIP LILITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON HAS RECORD OF MY TRUCK BEING IN THEIR POSSESSION FOR MULTIPLE DAYS BEFORE RELEASING IT BACK INTO MY POSSESSION WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING BUT A DIAGNOSTICS TEST.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/8/2017 - SUTHELRIN, OR
THE DRIVER HEADLIGHT QUIT WORKING. I WENT TO THE STORE TO REPLACE IT THINKING IT HAD BURNT OUT. WHEN I REPLACED THE LIGHT IT DID NOT WORK STILL AND THE OLD HEADLIGHT STILL HAD BOTH FILAMENTS PROVING IT WAS STILL GOOD. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER BOTH HEADLIGHTS QUIT WORKING ON ME WHEN I WAS OUT AT NIGHT DRIVING LESS THAN A 10TH OF A MILE FROM HOME. I MANAGED TO NOT GET IN AN ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE CTM AND HEAD LIGHT SWITCH WERE BAD HOWEVER THE CTM WAS A "OBSOLETE" PART AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET ME ONE. AFTER THEY RELEASED MY TRUCK BACK TO ME TO DRIVE AS I PLEASE, I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE AN OLDER CTM FROM A 2003 4X4 AUTOMATIC DAKOTA 4.7L. NOW MY LIGHTS WORK AND I HAVE A "GUARANTEE" FROM THE EBAY SELLER THAT IT WILL WORK FOR 6 MONTHS. I HAVE A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND I CAN NOT TRUST MY HEADLIGHTS WILL NOT GO OUT AT ANY TIME SO I CAN NOT DRIVE IT AT NIGHT IN GOOD CONFIDENCE OR MORAL CONSCIENCE. THE DEALERSHIP LILITHIA DODGE OF ROSEBURG OREGON HAS RECORD OF MY TRUCK BEING IN THEIR POSSESSION FOR MULTIPLE DAYS BEFORE RELEASING IT BACK INTO MY POSSESSION WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING BUT A DIAGNOSTICS TEST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/10/2016 - GERMANTOWN, NY
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON TOOK IT TO DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS CLOCK SPRING WENT BAD ,I HAD IT REPLACED WITH NEW ONE . I HAD TO BRAKE FAST TO AVOID HITTING AND AIR BAG CAME ON AGAIN. THESE THINGS COST 100.00 WHAT IS UP WITH THAT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2016 - GREENVILLE, SC
WHILE VEHICLE IS PARKED AND ENGINE RUNNING, I NOTICE SMOKE AND BURNING SMELL OF PLASTIC COMING FROM BLOWER FAN MOTOR UNIT. PLEASE TELL ME IS THERE ANY TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS ON THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE YOU RECEIVED ANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM FROM OTHERS. ENGINE SIZE 3.7L V6.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/8/2016 - ROXBURY, PA
WIRING TO BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR GETS SO HOT IT MELTS THE WIRE COVERING AND THE PIGTAIL. IN THE LAST 2 YEARS, HAVE REPLACED THE PIGTAIL 3 TIMES, THE WIRING ONCE, THE RESISTOR TWICE, THE BLOWER MOTOR ONCE, AND THE WHOLE FAN UNIT ONCE. JUST BURNT UP AGAIN WHILE AIR CONDITIONER WAS RUNNING. IT HAS ALSO BURNT UP WHILE USING THE HEATER IN WINTER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2016 - BROWNSTOWN, MI
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds