Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/19/2012 - LEDYARD, CT
A GOOD FRIEND OF MINE HAS THE EXACT SAME TRUCK AND HIS WHOLE TIRE FELL OFF GOING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. HE THANK GOD DID NOT GET HURT OR HURT ANYONE ELSE IN THE PROSESS. HE TOLD ME THAT IN 2004 THEIR WAS A RECALL ON THE BALL JOINTS OF THIS VEHICLE. I BOUGHT MY TRUCK FROM A PRIVATE OWNER AND DO NOT HAVE A RECALL NOTICE OF MY OWN, IS THERE A WAY NOW THAT I AM THE 2ND OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE THAT I CAN STILL HAVE THIS RECALL BE TAKEN CARE OF AT A DEALERSHIP BEING THAT IT IS UNDER 10 YEARS WITHIN THE RECALL TIME LIMIT. I DON'T WANT TO HAVE WHAT HAPPENED TO MY FRIEND HAPPEN TO ME. THANK YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/2/2012 - ENDICOTT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA 4X4. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A TURN THEN UNEXPECTEDLY THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL COLLAPSED DUE TO A FRACTURED BALL JOINT. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CEMENT POST IN A PARKING LOT. THERE WERE NO PERSONAL INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V596000 (SUSPENSION:FRONT:CONTROL ARM:UPPER BALL JOINT); HOWEVER THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/20/2012 - PIQUA, OH
ON FEB.15, 2012 WAS DRIVING AND WENT TO MAKE A TURN AND THE AFTER A QUARTER OF THE WAY INTO THE CURVE THE STEERING LOCKED UP AND BECAME VERY HARD TO TURN, CAUSING ME TO ALMOST HIT THE CAR SETTING AT THE LIGHT. AND SINCE THAT TIME THE STEERING IS HARDEST TO TURN WHEN COLD AND EASIER WHEN WARM. THE STEERING WHEN IT IS COLD IS STIFF WHEN YOU ARE A QUARTER THE WAY INTO THE CURVE AND THEN RELEASES THEN HARD AGAIN ALL IN THE SAME TURN, MAKING IT VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE IT MAKES YOUR VEHICLE SWERVE AND BECOME RECKLESS. DODGE NEEDS TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE DEFECTIVE STEERING PARTS. I HAVE BEEN TOLD IT BECAUSE OF POOR DESIGN AND LACK OF LUBRICATION POINTS CAUSING THE FAILURE. PLEASE MANDATE THAT THEY ISSUE A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE FOR THIS PROBLEM, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

View Details

STEERING

1/30/2012 - QUARRYVILLE, PA
BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE HEAVY, DIFFICULT STEERING, ESPECIALLY WHEN COLD, AND METALLIC CLUNKING OR GRINDING NOISES WHEN TURNING TIGHTLY AT LOW SPEEDS ACCOMPANIED BY POWER STEERING PUMP WHINE ON A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA 4.7L V8 4X4 QUAD CAB. STEERING HAS ALSO BECOME ABNORMALLY HEAVY AT NORMAL DRIVING SPEEDS WITH DIFFICULTY CENTERING STEERING WHEEL AND REDUCED POWER STEERING ASSIST. INSPECTION OF STEERING COMPONENTS REVEALED SEVERE RUST ON STEERING INTERMEDIATE SHAFT UPPER U JOINT CAUSED BY ROAD SALT AND MOISTURE, WHICH RESULTED IN STEERING DIFFICULTY AND STRAIN ON POWER STEERING SYSTEM. THIS CONDITION IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS DUE TO THE EXTRA EFFORT REQUIRED TO STEER THE VEHICLE. LUBRICATING THE JOINT WITH GREASE TEMPORARILY ALLEVIATES THE ISSUE, BUT PROBLEM RETURNS AFTER A PERIOD OF TIME AND WILL REQUIRE EVENTUAL REPLACEMENT OF UPPER/LOWER INTERMEDIATE SHAFT(S) AT A PARTS COST OF APPROXIMATELY $226, PLUS LABOR. INTERNET RESEARCH REVEALS THIS IS A WIDELY OCCURRING ISSUE ON THIS GENERATION OF DAKOTA PICKUP CAUSED BY POOR DESIGN (LACK OF LUBRICATION, NO PROTECTION FROM THE ELEMENTS, AND INADEQUATE RUST PROOFING) OF A CRITICAL STEERING COMPONENT, WHERE FAILURE CAN RESULT IN A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD BY MAKING THE VEHICLE MORE DIFFICULT TO STEER, AND THUS CHRYSLER GROUP LLC SHOULD BE HELD LIABLE FOR REPAIR COSTS OF THIS COMPONENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2012 - CRESCENT CITY, CA
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AN BEEN REPLACED...NOW IM GOING WITHOUT A HEATER BECAUSE THE BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR STARTED SPARKING AN THE SMELL OF BURNING RUBBER AN MELTED PLASTIC FILLED THE CAB OF THE VEHICLE SO I QUICKLY PULLED OVER TO AVOID A ACCIDENT AN I REACHED UNDER TO THE TO WHARE THE RESISTOR IS LOCATED AN IT WAS SCORTCHING HOT TO THE TOUCH. IT LOOKS LIKE IT HAD STARTED TO CATCH FIRE. ARE YOU GUYS GOING TO WAIT UNTIL SOMEONE DIES OR GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED FOR THERE TO BE A RECALL ON THIS...THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFTEY ISSUE WITH ATLEAST 298 PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND THATS JUST ONE WEBSITE, I HAVE CONCRETE INFORMATION TO BACK THIS MESSAGE SO PLEASE DONT JUST IGNORE THIS.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2011 - CARMEL, IN
POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND TOOK IT IN TO FLUSH THE FLUID. DIDN'T DO ANYTHING BUT WAS TO GIVE IT A FEW HUNDRED MILES. I WAITED TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN AND AFTER 1 MONTH AND NOTHING CHANGING I REPLACED THE FLUID AGAIN WITH SOME CORRECTION FLUID. DIDN'T WORK, THEN ANOTHER MONTH LATER THE STEERING RELEASED BACK TO NORMAL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TURN. TWO WEEKS LATER THE POWER STEERING BECAME INTERMITTENT AND SOMETIMES IN THE SAME TURN. AT THIS POINT I SEARCHED DEEPER ON THE INTRANET AND FOUND MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ABOUT DODGE DAKOTA STEERING AND MANY THAT WERE SPECIFIC TO A 2004 DAKOTA AND MORE THAN A HANDFUL THAT HAD ABOUT 70K MILES LIKE MINE. AFTER SPRAYING PENETRATING OIL ON THE U-JOINT WITH A SHORT TERM CORRECTION, I'M CONVINCED THAT I NOW HAVE ONE OF THESE FAULTY STEERING SHAFTS.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2011 - LASALLE, MI
TRUCK HAS BECOME VERY HARD TO STEER. LIKE THE POWER STEERING HAS FAILED. WHEN GOING INTO A TURN IS VERY HARD TO TURN AND WHEN COMING BACK IT STICKS AND HAVE TO TURN HARD ON THE WHEEL. THIS COMES AND GOES, SEEMS TO WORK FINE WHEN THE WEATHER IS HOT OUT AND SEEMS TO FAIL WHEN THE WEATHER IS COOL OR COLD.

View Details

STEERING

10/6/2011 - WATERFORD, MI
STEERING BECAME INCONSISTENT. VEHICLE WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN , BUT WOULD BECOME OCCASIONALLY EASIER MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL GOING INTO AND OUT OF TURNS. DEALER REPLACED INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT AT A COST OF $420. THIS FIXED PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

9/7/2011 - GRAFTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE MAKING A TURN THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED IN THE DIRECTION THE VEHICLE WAS TURNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: BLOWER

8/26/2011 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THE THE WIRE CONNECTED TO THE HEATER BLOWER MELTED AND THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED WITH THE POTENTIAL OF A FIRE. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE FAILURE NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FIALURE BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF ANOTHER REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds