Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2004 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (77) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (7) Visibility (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (53) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/9/2011 - MANITOWOC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER AND HEAT BLOWER FAN FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE RESISTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE THE WIRING WAS MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/2/2011 - RIGA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME INCREASINGLY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE DIAGNOSIS STATED THAT THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT FAILED. THE FAILED COMPONENT WAS REPLACED AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED.THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 74,000. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/26/2011 - RIGA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, BUT THE PARTS NEEDED TO BE ORDERED FIRST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND FILED A CLAIM ON THE CONTACTS BEHALF. THE CONTACT WAS AWAITING A RESPONSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

5/25/2011 - FORT RUCKER, AL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD NOT FUNCTION WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED UNDER RAINY WEATHER CONDITIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH AND VARIOUS FUSES WERE REPLACED. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V216000 (VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,676 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 73,328.

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2011 - LITITZ, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD BECOME STIFF WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THEY INFORMED THAT THE STEERING MECHANISM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 52,000. UPDATED 06/03/11 UPDATED 06/13/11

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

4/11/2011 - MONTROSE, CO
2004 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB: HAS POWER WINDOWS. ON A TRIP FROM MONTROSE CO. TO DENVER CO. PUT DOWN THE 3 PASSENGER WINDOWS. WHEN TRIED TO PUT THEM BACK UP WOULD NOT GO BACK UP. HAD TO PHYSICALLY PULL WINDOWS UP AND DUCK TAPE THEM....AND HOPED THEY WOULD NOT COME DOWN ON TRIP BACK HOME...IT WAS RAINY, SNOWY COLORADO WEATHER. I FEEL THIS IS UNSAFE BECAUSE OF CHILDREN IN THE TRUCK AND CONSTANTLY WATCH FOR WINDOWS TO GO BACK DOWN. I CAN HEAR THE POWER MOTORS WORKING BUT THE WINDOWS WILL NOT MOVE. HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM? THANKS FOR YOUR HELP.

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2011 - FALLS CITY, NE
MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA BEGAN HAVING STEERING ISSUES LAST FALL WHICH BECAME INCREASINGLY WORSE OVER THE FOLLOWING WEEKS. THE POWER STEERING SEEMED TO HAVE STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I MADE A TURN IT WAS STIFF, THEN LOOSE, THEN STIFF AGAIN AS YOU CRANKED THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS WOULD CAUSE ME TO APPLY MORE PRESSURE TO TURN THE TRUCK, THEN THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD SUDDENLY LOOSEN UP, CAUSING YOU TO SWERVE. THIS CAUSED ME ENOUGH CONCERN ABOUT MY SAFETY THAT I HAD A MECHANIC TAKE A LOOK. HE FIRST THOUGHT THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE POWER STEERING FLUID SO HE FLUSHED OUT THE SYSTEM. PROBLEM PERSISTED. HE THEN REPLACED THE STEERING RACK. JERKY/STIFF STEERING CONTINUED TO OCCUR. AFTER READING ON A DODGE FORUM ABOUT THIS ISSUE HE TRIED THE "TEMPORARY FIX" OF LUBRICATING THE LOWER U-JOINT ON THE INTERMEDIATE ROD AND THIS SEEMS TO HAVE RETURNED THE STEERING TO A NORMAL STATE. HOWEVER, MY MECHANIC FEELS THIS IS A TEMPORARY FIX AND FEELS THE ROD SHOULD BE REPLACED. PREFERABLY WITH A ROD THAT HAS GREASE FITTINGS. APPARENTLY THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL WHICH DODGE IS AWARE OF, BUT HAS FAILED TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

STEERING

2/23/2011 - ANACOSTIA ANNEX, DC
MY DAKOTAS STEERING HAS RECENTLY BECOME VERY JERKY. WHILE TURNING THE WHEEL, IT GETS STIFF, LOOSE, STIFF, LOOSE, STIFF, LOOSE IN ONE FULL TURN OF THE WHEEL. THROUGH SEARCHING FORUMS ON THE INTERNET, I DECIDED TO TEST A THEORY THAT IT WAS THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT/ROD AND THE U JOINT ATTACHED TO IT WAS NOT LUBRICATED ENOUGH. AFTER GREASING UP THE JOINT, THE PROBLEM MOMENTARILY STOPPED, BUT THEN RETURNED. THIS JOINT DOES NOT HAVE ANY GREASE FITTINGS AND SHOULD BE REPLACED WITH ONES WITH FITTINGS. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED AFTER WINTER COMING INTO THE WARMER WEATHER WHERE THERE WERE A LOT OF PUDDLES WHICH MOST LIKELY GOT ON THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT AND JOINTS CAUSING IT TO DRY OUT AND CREATE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

12/31/2010 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
STEERING ON MY 2004 DODGE DAKOTA BECAME HARD TO STEER WON'T RETRACT HAVE TO DO IT BY HAND. ABOUT SIX MONTHS BEFORE THIS STARTED HAPPENING I HAD WENT TO GET A ALIGNMENT AND WAS TOLD MY UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS NEEDED REPLACED. WE BOUGHT THIS TRUCK NEW AND IT HAS WORN OUT EVERY FRONT TIRE THAT HAS EVER BEEN ON IT. 4 SETS BY 100,000 MILES THIS BEGAN TO HAPPEN AT 25,000 MILES THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE FRONT END, NO VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE BAD BALL JOINTS AT 85,000 MILES OR SOONER BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS WEARING TIRES OUT BECAUSE IT NEEDED A ALIGNMENT!!!! I HAVE NOT REPAIRED IT , WE ONLY DRIVE IT AROUND TOWN, I AM WAITING FOR CHRYSLER TO RECALL THIS. I SEE ON THIS SITE THAT SEVERAL OTHERS ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I WOULD HOPE CHRYSLER DON'T WAIT UNTIL PEOPLE ARE KILLED OR INJURED LIKE TOYOTA DID!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2010 - OLD SAYBROOK, CT
HEATER/AC BLOWER MOTOR WIRING MELTS CAUSING FAILURE OF DEFROSTER, HEATER, A/C, PREMATURE FAILURE OF BLOWER MOTOR RESISTOR, ETC. THIS MAY EVEN CAUSE A FIRE IF THE WIRES HAPPEN TO BE TOUCHING COMBUSTIBLES IN THE PASSENGER FOOTWELL WHEN THEY MELT. DODGE HAS RELEASED A KIT TO REPAIR THIS EXTREMELY COMMON PROBLEM. SEE MOPAR # 5017124AC. THIS SHOULD BE A MANDATORY RECALL, NOT A FIX OFFERED AT OWNER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE: 1. WINDSHIELD MAY FOG UP REDUCING VISIBILITY AND LEADING TO ACCIDENT. 2. WIRING GETS HOT ENOUGH TO MELT INSULATION AND CONNECTOR AND COULD EASILY CAUSE A FIRE IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds